DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 29, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haruna (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0046788).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 9, Haruna discloses a wiring board comprising: a wiring layer (13) including a signal line (12b, paragraph [0157]); and a conductive portion (22c) overlapping the wiring layer at least partially in a planar view, wherein the conductive portion includes an irregularity shape (roughened surface 27c) in which a protruding portion (29c) and a recess portion (28c) are alternately arranged in a direction in which the conductive portion extends, on at least one of a first surface (bottom surface of layer 22c) closer to the wiring layer, and a second surface (top surface of layer 22c) existing on an opposite side of the first surface, and wherein a difference between a thickness of the conductive portion in the protruding portion and a thickness of the conductive portion in the recess portion is 10 micrometers (µm) or
more (the surface roughness Ra of the roughened surface is preferably 0.5 to 20 µm, paragraph [0291]; the thickness [i.e., vertical direction] of the recess portion 28c is about 0, and the thickness of the protruding portion 29c is preferably 0.5 to 20 µm).
Regarding claim 2, Haruna discloses wherein the irregularity shape is provided on the second surface of the conductive portion (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 3, Haruna discloses wherein the thickness of the conductive portion in the recess portion is 0.1 µm or more and 50 µm or less (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 4, Haruna discloses wherein the thickness of the conductive portion in the protruding portion is 10 µm or more and 200 µm or less (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 5, Haruna discloses wherein a pitch of the protruding portion in a direction in which the conductive portion extends is 100 µm or less (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, Haruna discloses wherein the thickness of the conductive portion in the recess portion is smaller than a pitch of the protruding portion in a direction in which the conductive portion extends (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 7, Haruna discloses wherein the difference between the thickness of the conductive portion in the protruding portion and the thickness of the conductive portion in the recess portion is five times or more of the thickness of the conductive portion in the recess portion (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 8, Haruna discloses wherein the conductive portion has a mesh structure (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 9, Haruna discloses wherein a line width of the conductive portion at a first point and a line width of the conductive portion at a second point different from the first point differ from each other (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 10, Haruna discloses wherein the line width of the conductive portion at the first point is 1.1 times or more of the line width of the conductive portion at the second point (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 11, Haruna discloses wherein the first point of the conductive portion is a point at which the recess portion is formed, and the second point of the conductive portion is a point at which the protruding portion is formed (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 12, Haruna discloses wherein the wiring board is a flexible
wiring board (Figure 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruna.
Regarding claim 14, in Figure 9, Haruna discloses an electronic module comprising: a wiring board (comprising layers 20c, 13, 11) having a wiring layer (13) including a signal line (12b, paragraph [0157]), and a conductive portion (22c) overlapping the wiring layer at least partially in a planar view, wherein the wiring board is a flexible wiring board and the conductive portion includes an irregularity shape (roughened surface 27c) in which a protruding portion (29c) and a recess portion (28c) are alternately arranged in a direction in which the conductive portion extends, on at least one of a first surface (bottom surface of layer 22c) closer to the wiring layer, and a second surface (top surface of layer 22c) existing on an opposite side of the first surface, and wherein a difference between a thickness of the conductive portion in the protruding portion and a thickness of the conductive portion in the recess portion is 10 micrometers (µm) or more (the surface roughness Ra of the roughened surface is preferably 0.5 to 20 µm, paragraph [0291]; the thickness [i.e., vertical direction] of the recess portion 28c is about 0, and the thickness of the protruding portion 29c is preferably 0.5 to 20 µm); a rigid wiring board (40, paragraph [0102]) to which an end portion (top surface of layer 20c) of the flexible wiring board is connected; and an electronic component mounted on the rigid wiring board (paragraph [0102]). Haruna does not specifically disclose wherein the wiring board is a flexible wiring board. However, providing a wiring board to be a flexible wiring board is common place and well known in the art, and is merely a design option for a skilled artisan without the exercise of inventive skill.
Regarding claim 15, Haruna discloses wherein the electronic component includes an image sensor (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 16, Haruna discloses an electronic unit comprising: the electronic module according to claim 14; and a drive device configured to move the rigid wiring board (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 17, Haruna discloses an electronic device comprising: the electronic module according to claim 14; and a circuit board to which an end portion different from the end portion of the flexible wiring board is connected, wherein a processor configured to process a signal output from the electronic component is mounted on the circuit board (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 18, Haruna discloses an electronic device comprising: the electronic module according to claim 14; and a housing accommodating the electronic module, wherein the flexible wiring board is accommodated in the housing in a bent state, and wherein the conductive portion is provided on a surface existing on an external side, out of bending surfaces of the flexible wiring board (Figure 9).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847