DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are rejected.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/25/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are amended and are being fully considered by the examiner.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claims 5 and 8-9, all the claim objections of claims 5 and 8-9 as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn. However, applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11 and 16 has introduced new claim objections as set forth in this office action.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claims 12 and 17, all the 35 USC § 112(b) rejections of claims 12-13 and 17-18 as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant responds
(a) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant respectfully submits that Yamada fails to disclose at least the above-emphasized features of amended claim 1.
Yamada's transition time from coating finish time to development starting time does not disclose "determining a predetermined queue time associated with a process recipe, wherein the predetermined queue time is associated with an amount of time a substrate is held at a location prior to being removed from the location to be moved to a second location, and wherein one or more operations associated with the substrate occur at the location during the predetermined queue time," as recited in amended claim 1.
Yamada's transferring a glass substrate via transfer rollers does not disclose "causing control of speed associated with one or more components of a substrate processing system based on the predetermined queue time, the control of speed being associated with transfer of the substrate, wherein at least one of: the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed; or the location is a load lock chamber and the speed is a predetermined pressure change rate," as recited in amended claim 1.
Yamada is silent as to "the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed" and "the location is a load lock chamber and the speed is a predetermined pressure change rate," as recited in amended claim 1.
For at least the reasons stated above, Yamada fails to disclose all the features of claim 1. Similar language is also included in independent claims 11 and 16. Therefore, Yamada does not anticipate claims 1, 11, and 16 and those that depend therefrom.
(Pages: 9-11)
With respect to (a) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11 and 16, a new grounds of rejections in view of Yoshida et al. (US20040069226A1) has been introduced.
Claims 1, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 103 in view of Yamada and Yoshida as presented in the current office action.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, the arguments are moot; therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 11 and 16 recite, the speed is a predetermined pressure change rate. The claim limitation speed being predetermined pressure change rate is vague, and therefore it isn’t clear how pressure change rate is related to speed.
Applicant’s specification ¶20 describes: the processing device determines a predetermined pressure change rate of a load lock chamber based on the predetermined queue time and to cause the control of speed associated with the one or more components, the processing device causes pressure change (e.g., speed of changing pressure) in the load lock chamber based on the predetermined pressure change rate.
As described above, specification describes speed as speed of changing pressure in the load lock chamber based on the predetermined pressure change rate.
For the examination purpose, in light of the specification, the limitation is construed as, the speed is a speed of pressure change in the load lock chamber based on predetermined pressure change rate
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US20200041893A1) [hereinafter Yamada] and further in view of Yoshida et al. (US20040069226A1).
Regarding claim 1 (amended):
Yamada discloses, A method comprising:
determining a predetermined queue time associated with a process recipe, [¶40: the extraction process device 27 reads out at least the coating finish time from the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28 and extracts the transition time that is from the coating finish time to the development starting time…
¶7: A method of producing a substrate including…
¶34: the development control device 25 can control the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B];
causing control of speed associated with one or more components of a substrate processing system based on the predetermined queue time, the control of speed being associated with transfer of the substrate. [¶34: the development control device 25 can control the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22 (the number of rotation of each transfer roller 22B1 per unit time) and the ejection amount of the developer ejected by the developer supply section 22C…
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α,…the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”. If the transition time is fourteen hours, the model is β,…the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “J”. After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG from the extraction process device 27 through the information transmit line 28 and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed];
wherein at least one of:
the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed; or
the location is a load lock chamber and the speed is a predetermined pressure change rate. [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by “or” is required by the claim and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Yamada discloses, the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed as described below:
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α,… the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”….After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed…and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed.
Examiner notes the claim objections as set forth in this office action.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Yoshida discloses, wherein the predetermined queue time is associated with an amount of time a substrate is held at a location prior to being removed from the location to be moved to a second location, and wherein one or more operations associated with the substrate occur at the location during the predetermined queue time; [¶104: wafer conveyer 18 carries the wafers W one by one successively into the substrate processing units 23 a to 23 f at T/X intervals, where T is a time required for the process(es) carried out by using ozone (the ozone gas filling process and the resist-solubilizing process,…T is a time period during which an ozone-containing gas is being supplied to the substrate processing unit,...
¶105: FIG. 8… During the third time section, the arm 18 a of the main wafer conveyer 18 holding the wafer W1 is moved from the position in front of the ozone process unit 23 a to a position in front of the cleaning-and-drying unit 12. During the fourth time section, the arm 18 a of main wafer conveyer 18 holding the wafer W1 enters into the cleaning-and-drying unit 12 to deliver the wafer W1 to the cleaning-and-drying unit 12; the wafer W1 is subjected to the cleaning and during processes;].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the predetermined queue time is associated with an amount of time a substrate is held at a location prior to being removed from the location to be moved to a second location, and wherein one or more operations associated with the substrate occur at the location during the predetermined queue time in order to improve the process efficiency and the throughput of the processing system by effectively operate the processing using the queue time to taught by Yoshida with the method taught by Yamada as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to improve the process efficiency and the throughput of the processing system [Yoshida ¶9: improving the process efficiency and the throughput of the processing system].
Regarding claim 2 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Yamada further discloses, the location is the processing chamber; [¶33: the developing device 22…FIG. 9, the developing device 22 at least includes a development process tank 22A where the development is performed, a substrate transfer section 22B that transfers the mother glass substrate 10MG within the development process tank 22A, and developer supply section 22C that supplies developer onto the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B.];
the predetermined queue time is associated with the amount of time of the substrate being in the processing chamber subsequent to being processed by the processing chamber; and [¶35: transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20…
¶38: a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22.];
the method further comprises causing the substrate to be processed in the processing chamber causing a robot to remove the substrate from the processing chamber based on the predetermined queue time subsequent to being processed in the processing chamber. [¶33: a substrate transfer section 22B that transfers the mother glass substrate 10MG within the development process tank 22A, and developer supply section 22C that supplies developer onto the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B…The substrate transfer section 22B includes transfer rollers 22B1 with which the mother glass substrate 10MG is transferred…Each of the transfer rollers 22B1 is rotated at a rotation number per a unit time by rotation power supplied by a power source (such as a motor)…
¶35: transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20…
¶38: a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22.].
Regarding claim 3:
Yamada discloses, The method of claim 2, and
Yamada further discloses, wherein the predetermined queue time is a wafer residence queue time from ending of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to removal of the substrate from the processing chamber. [¶35: the extraction process device 27 performs a process of extracting transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20].
Regarding claim 4:
Yamada discloses, The method of claim 2, and
Yamada further discloses, wherein the predetermined queue time is a dwell time from end of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to the substrate arriving at a subsequent processing chamber. [¶35: the extraction process device 27 reads the coating finish time and the development starting time that are stored in the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28 and extracts the transition time…
¶8: extract transition time for shifting to development by the developing device after the coating of the resist film by the coating device,].
Regarding claim 5 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Yamada further discloses, further comprising determining the predetermined robot speed based on the predetermined queue time, [¶38: the storing section 27A storing a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22…
¶33: In the developing device 22, the development is performed with the developer elected by the developer supply sections 22C while the mother glass substrate 10MG being transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B at a predetermined transfer speed.];
wherein the causing of the control of speed associated with the one or more components comprises causing control of the robot based on the predetermined robot speed. [¶38: the extraction process device 27 reads the data table stored in the storing section 27A based on the extracted transition time and extracts the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG…
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α, and the target to be processed is the color resist film 19 for the red color filter 14R, the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”….After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG from the extraction process device 27…and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed.].
Regarding claim 11 (amended):
Yamada discloses, A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed cause a processing device to perform operations comprising: [¶35: The extraction process device 27 is a personal computer including a CPU and a memory (a storing section 27A), for example. The extraction process device 27 is configured at least to read the coating finish time at which the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20 is finished out of the information stored in the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28.];
determining a predetermined queue time associated with a process recipe, [¶40: the extraction process device 27 reads out at least the coating finish time from the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28 and extracts the transition time that is from the coating finish time to the development starting time…
¶7: A method of producing a substrate including…
¶34: the development control device 25 can control the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B];
causing control of speed associated with one or more components of a substrate processing system based on the predetermined queue time, the control of speed being associated with transfer of the substrate [¶34: the development control device 25 can control the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22 (the number of rotation of each transfer roller 22B1 per unit time) and the ejection amount of the developer ejected by the developer supply section 22C…
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α,…the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”. If the transition time is fourteen hours, the model is β,…the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “J”. After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG from the extraction process device 27 through the information transmit line 28 and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed];
wherein at least one of:
the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed; or
the location is a load lock chamber and the speed is a predetermined pressure change rate. [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by “or” is required by the claim and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Yamada discloses, the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed as described below:
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α,… the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”….After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed…and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed.
Examiner notes the claim objections as set forth in this office action.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Yoshida discloses, wherein the predetermined queue time is associated with an amount of time a substrate is held at a location prior to being removed from the location to be moved to a second location, and wherein one or more operations associated with the substrate occur at the location during the predetermined queue time; and; [¶104: wafer conveyer 18 carries the wafers W one by one successively into the substrate processing units 23 a to 23 f at T/X intervals, where T is a time required for the process(es) carried out by using ozone (the ozone gas filling process and the resist-solubilizing process,…T is a time period during which an ozone-containing gas is being supplied to the substrate processing unit,...
¶105: FIG. 8… During the third time section, the arm 18 a of the main wafer conveyer 18 holding the wafer W1 is moved from the position in front of the ozone process unit 23 a to a position in front of the cleaning-and-drying unit 12. During the fourth time section, the arm 18 a of main wafer conveyer 18 holding the wafer W1 enters into the cleaning-and-drying unit 12 to deliver the wafer W1 to the cleaning-and-drying unit 12; the wafer W1 is subjected to the cleaning and during processes;].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Yoshida with the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium taught by Yamada for the same reasons as discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 11, and
Yamada further discloses, the location is the processing chamber; [¶33: the developing device 22…FIG. 9, the developing device 22 at least includes a development process tank 22A where the development is performed, a substrate transfer section 22B that transfers the mother glass substrate 10MG within the development process tank 22A, and developer supply section 22C that supplies developer onto the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B.];
the predetermined queue time is associated with the amount of time of the substrate being in the processing chamber subsequent to being processed by the processing chamber; and [¶35: transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20…
¶38: a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22.];
the operations further comprise causing the substrate to be processed in the processing chamber causing a robot to remove the substrate from the processing chamber based on the predetermined queue time subsequent to being processed in the processing chamber. [¶33: a substrate transfer section 22B that transfers the mother glass substrate 10MG within the development process tank 22A, and developer supply section 22C that supplies developer onto the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B…The substrate transfer section 22B includes transfer rollers 22B1 with which the mother glass substrate 10MG is transferred…Each of the transfer rollers 22B1 is rotated at a rotation number per a unit time by rotation power supplied by a power source (such as a motor)…
¶35: transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20…
¶38: a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22.].
Regarding claim 13:
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 12, and
Yamada further discloses, wherein the predetermined queue time comprises at least one of:
a wafer residence queue time from ending of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to removal of the substrate from the processing chamber; or [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the optional features separated by or, and only one of them is given the patentable weight.\
Yamada discloses, the feature, a wafer residence queue time from ending of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to removal of the substrate from the processing chamber, as described below:
¶35: the extraction process device 27 performs a process of extracting transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20];
a dwell time from end of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to the substrate arriving at a subsequent processing chamber. [¶35: the extraction process device 27 reads the coating finish time and the development starting time that are stored in the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28 and extracts the transition time…
¶8: extract transition time for shifting to development by the developing device after the coating of the resist film by the coating device,].
Regarding claim 14 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 11, and
Yamada further discloses, determining the predetermined robot speed based on the predetermined queue time, [¶38: the storing section 27A storing a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22…
¶33: In the developing device 22, the development is performed with the developer elected by the developer supply sections 22C while the mother glass substrate 10MG being transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B at a predetermined transfer speed.];
wherein the causing of the control of speed associated with the one or more components comprises causing control of the robot based on the predetermined robot speed. [¶38: the extraction process device 27 reads the data table stored in the storing section 27A based on the extracted transition time and extracts the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG…
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α, and the target to be processed is the color resist film 19 for the red color filter 14R, the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”….After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG from the extraction process device 27…and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed.].
Regarding claim 16:
Yamada discloses, A system comprising:
memory; and
a processing device coupled to the memory, the processing device to: [¶35: The extraction process device 27 is a personal computer including a CPU and a memory (a storing section 27A), for example. The extraction process device 27 is configured at least to read the coating finish time at which the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20 is finished out of the information stored in the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28.];
determine a predetermined queue time associated with a process recipe, [¶40: the extraction process device 27 reads out at least the coating finish time from the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28 and extracts the transition time that is from the coating finish time to the development starting time…
¶7: A method of producing a substrate including…
¶34: the development control device 25 can control the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B];
cause control of speed associated with one or more components of a substrate processing system based on the predetermined queue time, the control of speed being associated with transfer of the substrate [¶34: the development control device 25 can control the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22 (the number of rotation of each transfer roller 22B1 per unit time) and the ejection amount of the developer ejected by the developer supply section 22C…
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α,…the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”. If the transition time is fourteen hours, the model is β,…the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “J”. After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG from the extraction process device 27 through the information transmit line 28 and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed];
wherein at least one of:
the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed; or
the location is a load lock chamber and the speed is a predetermined pressure change rate. [Examiner notes that only one of the elements separated by “or” is required by the claim and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Yamada discloses, the location is a processing chamber and the speed is a predetermined robot speed as described below:
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α,… the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”….After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed…and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed.
Examiner notes the claim objections as set forth in this office action.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Yoshida discloses, wherein the predetermined queue time is associated with an amount of time a substrate is held at a location prior to being removed from the location to be moved to a second location, and wherein one or more operations associated with the substrate occur at the location during the predetermined queue time; and; [¶104: wafer conveyer 18 carries the wafers W one by one successively into the substrate processing units 23 a to 23 f at T/X intervals, where T is a time required for the process(es) carried out by using ozone (the ozone gas filling process and the resist-solubilizing process,…T is a time period during which an ozone-containing gas is being supplied to the substrate processing unit,...
¶105: FIG. 8… During the third time section, the arm 18 a of the main wafer conveyer 18 holding the wafer W1 is moved from the position in front of the ozone process unit 23 a to a position in front of the cleaning-and-drying unit 12. During the fourth time section, the arm 18 a of main wafer conveyer 18 holding the wafer W1 enters into the cleaning-and-drying unit 12 to deliver the wafer W1 to the cleaning-and-drying unit 12; the wafer W1 is subjected to the cleaning and during processes;].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Yoshida with the system taught by Yamada for the same reasons as discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The system of claim 16, and
Yamada further discloses, the location is the processing chamber; [¶33: the developing device 22…FIG. 9, the developing device 22 at least includes a development process tank 22A where the development is performed, a substrate transfer section 22B that transfers the mother glass substrate 10MG within the development process tank 22A, and developer supply section 22C that supplies developer onto the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B.];
the predetermined queue time is associated with the amount of time of the substrate being in the processing chamber subsequent to being processed by the processing chamber; and [¶35: transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20…
¶38: a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22.];
the processing device is further to cause the substrate to be processed in the processing chamber causing a robot to remove the substrate from the processing chamber based on the predetermined queue time subsequent to being processed in the processing chamber. [¶33: a substrate transfer section 22B that transfers the mother glass substrate 10MG within the development process tank 22A, and developer supply section 22C that supplies developer onto the mother glass substrate 10MG that is transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B…The substrate transfer section 22B includes transfer rollers 22B1 with which the mother glass substrate 10MG is transferred…Each of the transfer rollers 22B1 is rotated at a rotation number per a unit time by rotation power supplied by a power source (such as a motor)…
¶35: transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20…
¶38: a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22.].
Regarding claim 18:
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The system of claim 17, and
Yamada further discloses, wherein the predetermined queue time comprises at least one of:
a wafer residence queue time from ending of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to removal of the substrate from the processing chamber; or [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the optional features separated by or, and only one of them is given the patentable weight.\
Yamada discloses, the feature, a wafer residence queue time from ending of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to removal of the substrate from the processing chamber, as described below:
¶35: the extraction process device 27 performs a process of extracting transition time necessary for shifting to the development by the developing device 22 after the coating of the resist film 18, 19 by the coating device 20];
a dwell time from end of substrate processing of the substrate in the processing chamber to the substrate arriving at a subsequent processing chamber. [¶35: the extraction process device 27 reads the coating finish time and the development starting time that are stored in the storing device 26 through the information transmit line 28 and extracts the transition time…
¶8: extract transition time for shifting to development by the developing device after the coating of the resist film by the coating device,].
Regarding claim 19 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The system of claim 16, and
Yamada further discloses, determine a predetermined robot speed based on the predetermined queue time, [¶38: the storing section 27A storing a data table at least representing relations between the transition time from the coating finish time to the development starting time and the transfer speed (the process time necessary for the development) of the mother glass substrate 10MG transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B included in the developing device 22…
¶33: In the developing device 22, the development is performed with the developer elected by the developer supply sections 22C while the mother glass substrate 10MG being transferred by the substrate transfer section 22B at a predetermined transfer speed.];
wherein to cause the control of speed associated with the one or more components, the processing device is to cause control of the robot based on the predetermined robot speed. [¶38: the extraction process device 27 reads the data table stored in the storing section 27A based on the extracted transition time and extracts the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG…
¶40: if the transition time is ten hours, the model is α, and the target to be processed is the color resist film 19 for the red color filter 14R, the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is “C”….After the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG is extracted, the development control device 25 obtains information relating the transfer speed of the mother glass substrate 10MG from the extraction process device 27…and controls the substrate transfer section 22B of the developing device 22 based on the information relating the transfer speed.].
Claim(s) 6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada and Yoshida and further in view of Wang (US20210405625A1) [hereinafter Wang].
Regarding claim 6:
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The method of claim 1, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Wang discloses, wherein the determining of the predetermined queue time is based on user input. [¶30: a sequence recipe 150 is provided to the client device 192 (e.g., via user input). The sequence recipe 150 describes what possible processing chambers a substrate will visit at different stages and the process to be run in each chamber. The client device 192 then generates a schedule 176 (e.g., based on takt time 172 and queue times 174) for the substrate movements so that substrates can be processed by manufacturing equipment 184 (e.g., in a cluster tool) in a consistent timing with improved throughput.
¶23: the processing device generates a schedule (e.g., timetable) based on the takt time and the queue times and causes the substrates to be processed based on the schedule.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the determining of the predetermined queue time is based on user input in order to reduce delay in transfer and transition of substrate and to improve throughput of substrate processing by accurately using queue time taught by WANG with the method taught by Yamada and Yoshida as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to reduce delay in transfer and transition of substrate and to improve throughput of substrate processing by accurately using queue time [WANG ¶24: By causing substrates to be processed based on the takt time and queue times, completion time of the batch of substrates is more accurately predicted which allows the processed batch of substrates to be removed without delay and allows a new batch of substrates to be provided without delay. This improves throughput of processing of batches of substrates compared to conventional systems.].
Regarding claim 9 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Wang further discloses, training a machine learning model based on historical process data and historical performance data to generate a trained machine learning model,
wherein the determining of the predetermined queue time associated with the process recipe is based on the trained machine learning model. [¶46: a trained machine learning model is used to determine takt time 172, queue times 174, and/or schedule 176. Historic sequence recipes and historical information are used as data input and historical takt time and historic queue times (e.g., historic schedules are used as target output to train a machine learning model. Recipe 150 and historical information 160 are used as input into the trained machine learning model and takt time 172 and queue times 174 and/or schedule 176 are determined from the output of the trained machine learning model.].
Regarding claim 10:
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Wang further discloses, wherein the determining of the predetermined queue time associated with the process recipe comprises:
providing the process recipe to a trained machine learning model; and
receiving, from the trained machine learning model, output associated with predictive data, wherein the determining of the predetermined queue time of the process recipe is based on the predictive data. [¶46: a trained machine learning model is used to determine takt time 172, queue times 174, and/or schedule 176. Historic sequence recipes and historical information are used as data input and historical takt time and historic queue times (e.g., historic schedules are used as target output to train a machine learning model. Recipe 150 and historical information 160 are used as input into the trained machine learning model and takt time 172 and queue times 174 and/or schedule 176 are determined from the output of the trained machine learning model.].
Claim(s) 7-8, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada and Yoshida and further in view of Sasaki et al. (US20150118769A1) [hereinafter Sasaki].
Regarding claim 7 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The method of claim 1, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Sasaki discloses, further comprising: determining the predetermined pressure change rate of the load lock chamber based on the predetermined queue time, wherein the causing of the control of speed associated with the one or more components comprises causing pressure change in the load lock chamber based on the predetermined pressure change rate. [¶42: , the substrate is transported into load lock chamber 44,…
¶44: FIG. 5 is a graph showing variations in pressure during the step in which the post-film-formation substrate is placed on standby in the load lock chamber,…
¶13: During first intake period T1, the intake gas is gradually introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from a first vacuum atmosphere with high degree A1 of vacuum to a second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum than degree A1 of the first vacuum atmosphere. During second intake period T2, the intake gas is introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from the second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum to the atmospheric-pressure A3 atmosphere. Moreover, first intake period T1 is set to be longer in time than second intake period T2. That is, during first intake period T1, the degree of vacuum of the atmosphere is gradually decreased from the high degree, along a gentle curve. On the other hand, during second intake period T2, the atmosphere reaches to the atmospheric pressure, along a steep curve.
Examiner notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, Sasaki discloses, pump speed is controlled to control pressure change rate in the load lock changer based on the predetermined pressure vs time curve shown in figure 5.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of determining a predetermined pressure change rate of a load lock chamber based on the predetermined queue time, wherein the causing of the control of speed associated with the one or more components comprises causing pressure change in the load lock chamber based on the predetermined pressure change rate in order to reduce defect rates of products in substrate processing leading to increased yields in the manufacture by using the control of pressure change rate techniques taught by Sasaki with the method taught by Yamada and Yoshida as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to reduce defect rates of products in substrate processing leading to increased yields in the manufacture [Sasaki ¶48: This makes it possible to reduce defect rates of products in manufacturing the EL display devices, leading to increased yields in the manufacture.].
Regarding claim 8 (amended):
Yamada, Yoshida and Sasaki discloses, The method of claim 7, and
Sasaki further discloses, wherein the predetermined pressure change rate comprises at least one of pumping down or venting up, and wherein the predetermined pressure change rate meets a threshold pressure change rate. [¶44: FIG. 5 is a graph showing variations in pressure…
¶13: During first intake period T1, the intake gas is gradually introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from a first vacuum atmosphere with high degree A1 of vacuum to a second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum than degree A1 of the first vacuum atmosphere. During second intake period T2, the intake gas is introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from the second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum to the atmospheric-pressure A3 atmosphere. Moreover, first intake period T1 is set to be longer in time than second intake period T2. That is, during first intake period T1, the degree of vacuum of the atmosphere is gradually decreased from the high degree, along a gentle curve. On the other hand, during second intake period T2, the atmosphere reaches to the atmospheric pressure, along a steep curve.].
Regarding claim 15 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 11, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Sasaki discloses, determining the predetermined pressure change rate of the load lock chamber based on the predetermined queue time, wherein the causing of the control of speed associated with the one or more components comprises causing pressure change in the load lock chamber based on the predetermined pressure change rate. [¶42: , the substrate is transported into load lock chamber 44,…
¶44: FIG. 5 is a graph showing variations in pressure during the step in which the post-film-formation substrate is placed on standby in the load lock chamber,…
¶13: During first intake period T1, the intake gas is gradually introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from a first vacuum atmosphere with high degree A1 of vacuum to a second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum than degree A1 of the first vacuum atmosphere. During second intake period T2, the intake gas is introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from the second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum to the atmospheric-pressure A3 atmosphere. Moreover, first intake period T1 is set to be longer in time than second intake period T2. That is, during first intake period T1, the degree of vacuum of the atmosphere is gradually decreased from the high degree, along a gentle curve. On the other hand, during second intake period T2, the atmosphere reaches to the atmospheric pressure, along a steep curve.
Examiner notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, Sasaki discloses, pump speed is controlled to control pressure change rate in the load lock changer based on the predetermined pressure vs time curve shown in figure 5.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Sasaki with the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium taught by Yamada and Yoshida for the same reasons as discussed above in claim 7.
Regarding claim 20 (amended):
Yamada and Yoshida disclose, The system of claim 16, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Sasaki discloses, determine the predetermined pressure change rate of the load lock chamber based on the predetermined queue time, wherein to cause the control of speed associated with the one or more components, the processing device is to cause pressure change in the load lock chamber based on the predetermined pressure change rate. [¶42: , the substrate is transported into load lock chamber 44,…
¶44: FIG. 5 is a graph showing variations in pressure during the step in which the post-film-formation substrate is placed on standby in the load lock chamber,…
¶13: During first intake period T1, the intake gas is gradually introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from a first vacuum atmosphere with high degree A1 of vacuum to a second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum than degree A1 of the first vacuum atmosphere. During second intake period T2, the intake gas is introduced into the atmosphere to change it, from the second vacuum atmosphere with lower degree A2 of vacuum to the atmospheric-pressure A3 atmosphere. Moreover, first intake period T1 is set to be longer in time than second intake period T2. That is, during first intake period T1, the degree of vacuum of the atmosphere is gradually decreased from the high degree, along a gentle curve. On the other hand, during second intake period T2, the atmosphere reaches to the atmospheric pressure, along a steep curve.
Examiner notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, Sasaki discloses, pump speed is controlled to control pressure change rate in the load lock changer based on the predetermined pressure vs time curve shown in figure 5.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Sasaki with the system taught by Yamada and Yoshida for the same reasons as discussed above in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
Mitsuya et al. (US20190237350A1) - Substrate treatment apparatus, controller of substrate treatment apparatus, method for controlling substrate treatment apparatus, and memory medium storing program:
¶9: The controller is configured to enable fixation of a time required for pulling up the substrate from each of the treatment chambers for each treatment type and creation of a transfer schedule for transferring the substrate among the plurality of treatment chambers of the plurality of treatment types and treating the substrate so as to maximize a throughput, and enable correction of the transfer schedule so as to extend a time required for pulling up the substrate from a treatment chamber of an immediately previous transfer type in transfer order of the substrate based on a waiting time of the transfer device after storage of the substrate into the treatment chamber of one treatment type and a waiting time of the treatment chamber after treatment of the substrate in the treatment chamber of the one treatment type.
Miyata (US20030216053A1) - Method and device for processing substrate:
¶17: transferring substrates one by one from a cassette section to a processing section by a transfer mechanism at timing of each predetermined cycle time.
Emani (US20080216077A1) - Software sequencer for integrated substrate processing system:
¶44: An individual schedule includes start time and end time for each process step of a substrate relative to the start time for the first move of the substrate. A fundamental period defines a rate at which substrates are sent to a cluster tool. Particularly, a fundamental period is the time interval between two sequential substrates.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116