LITHIUM ION BATTERY AND SEPARATOR THEREOF
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/18/2024 and 2/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “insulating layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the periphery". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 2016-0050734 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teach a separator (Abstract; paragraph 0023; Figs. 3-4), comprising:
a base film (Figs. 3 and 4, element 201 discloses a porous separation membrane substrate.); and
a coating covering a surface of the base film (Figs. 3 and 4, element 202 disclose an organic/inorganic composite porous coating layer.);
wherein the coating comprises a main body (Figs. 3 and 4, element 202b disclose a base portion.) and an edge portion arranged on the periphery of the main body (Figs. 3 and 4, element 202a disclose a step portion.), the edge portion having a greater thickness than the main body (Paragraph 0037 discloses the thickness of the step portion, d1, is greater than the thickness of the base portion, d3.) , and the edge portion being provided with several patterns arranged at intervals (Figs. 5-7 disclose a binder layer, element 203a, arranged on the step portion, element 202a, comprising a series of patterns.).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kim et al. teach the separator according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the edge portion to a thickness of the main body ranges from 1.2 to 1.6; wherein the thickness of the edge portion ranges from 4 μm to 8 μm, and the thickness of the main body ranges from 3 μm to 5 μm (Paragraphs 0036-0037; Fig. 3 disclose the thickness of the base portion, element 202b, is 2-30 µm which is shown by d3 which is within the claimed range. Paragraph 0037 discloses the thickness of d2, the edge portion 202a, is 5-50% of the thickness, d3, of the base portion which yields 0.1-15 µm. Therefore, the entire thickness of the edge portion d1=d2+d3 or 2.1-45 µm which is also within the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. teach the separator according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a width of the edge portion to a width of the main body ranges from 0.17 to 0.33 (Paragraph 0040 discloses 10-30%.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. teach the separator according to claim 1, wherein the edge portion comprises a first edge portion and a second edge portion, the first edge portion and the second edge portion being respectively arranged on two sides of the main body (See annotated Fig. 3 below.),
Fig. 3 of Kim
and the first edge portion and/or the second edge portion being provided with the several patterns arranged at intervals (Figs. 5-7 disclose a binder layer, element 203a, arranged on the step portion, element 202a, comprising a series of patterns.).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. teach the separator according to claim 1, wherein the pattern is at least one of a stripe-shaped pattern, a grid-shaped pattern and a pit-shaped pattern (Fig. 8 discloses a grid-shaped pattern.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. teach the separator according to claim 1, wherein the base film comprises a first surface and a second surface, and the coating covers the first surface and/or the second surface (Fig. 3 discloses the base film, element 201, having the coatings, element 202, on both surfaces of the base film.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. discloses a lithium ion battery (Paragraph 0046), comprising: a positive electrode plate; a negative electrode plate; and the separator of claim 1 arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (Paragraph 0044 discloses an electrode assembly comprising a cathode, an anode, and the aforementioned separator interposed between the cathode and the anode.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim et al. (KR 2016-0050734 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ping et al. (CN 111564593 A).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. teach the separator according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a width of the edge portion ranges from 10 mm to 20 mm, and a width of the main body ranges from 60 mm to 120 mm.
Ping et al. teach a width of the edge portion ranges from 10 mm to 20 mm (Paragraph 0066; Fig. 1, element d1 discloses the width of an adhesive portion, element 200, is 2-15 mm.), and a width of the main body ranges from 60 mm to 120 mm (Paragraph 0066; Fig. 1, element d1 discloses the width of a porous base membrane, element 100, is 50-1200 mm.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Ping in order to bear enough tension, pressure and vibration in the processes of assembly.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim et al. (KR 2016-0050734 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 103545559 A).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. teach the lithium ion battery according to claim 9. However, they do not teach wherein the battery comprises an insulating layer arranged at an edge of the positive electrode plate and/or an edge of the negative electrode plate.
Li et al. teach a battery cell comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode. The battery cell is characterized in that the edges of the positive electrode and/or the edges of the negative electrode are coated with a protective layer (Claim 1). Further, the protective layer comprises an insulating material such as polyvinylidene fluoride, ethyl cellulose, styrene-butadiene rubber and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (Claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Li in order to reduce internal short circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 212257532 U.
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 June 16th, 2026