DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 9-10 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Nguyen in addition to previously relied on references below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “disposed between the plurality of sub chamber;” should be “disposed between the plurality of sub chambers.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Common exhaust part (individual exhaust lines, combined exhaust line, vacuum pump, para. [0055]) in at least claims 1-13.
Substrate transfer part (rotary shaft, holders, para. [0060]) in at least claim 11.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Through-part (hole, para. [0043]) in claims 7-8.
Auxiliary through-part (single or plural openings, slits, para. [0053]) in claim 8.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180261436 to Nguyen in view of US 20160289834 to Je.
Claim 1: Nguyen discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a plurality of sub chambers (102, 104 [first and second chamber sides], Fig. 2) in which processes are performed on a substrate (not shown, para. [0026]), respectively; and a common exhaust part (192/194/196) connected to the plurality of sub chambers (102/104) to exhaust the inside of each of the plurality of sub chambers (102/104, para. [0030]),
wherein each of the plurality of sub chambers (102/104) comprises: a substrate support (136A/136B [substrate supports], Fig. 2) on which the substrate is supported (para. [0026]); a shower head (170 [shower head]) provided to face the substrate support (136A/136B) and configured to supply a process gas toward the substrate (para. [0027]); an exhaust port (200A/200B [interior wall opening]) provided below the substrate support (136A/136B) and connected to the common exhaust part (192/194/196);
wherein the common exhaust part (192/194/196, Fig. 2) is disposed between the plurality of sub chambers (102/104), wherein the exhaust port (200A/200B) is provided laterally toward the common exhaust part (192/194/196) and extends along the circumference of the substrate support so that a width in a circumferential direction of the substrate support is greater than a height in an up and down direction (Fig. 2).
However Nguyen does not disclose and a flow control part comprising a cover plate provided along a circumference of the substrate support, and configured to adjust an exhaust flow of the process gas to a lower portion of the substrate support; wherein the cover plate is provided in a form of an arc that covers an upper portion of the exhaust port on a portion of the circumference of the substrate support to correspond to the exhaust port.
Je discloses and a flow control part (90/60-67, Fig. 1-9) comprising a cover plate (80 [fixing plate]) provided along a circumference of the substrate support (40 [susceptor]), and configured to adjust an exhaust flow of the process gas to a lower portion of the substrate support (40, para. [0033-0045]); wherein the cover plate (80) is provided in a form of an arc (Fig. 2-4) that covers an upper portion of the exhaust port (15 [exhaust port]) on a portion of the circumference of the substrate support (40) to correspond to the exhaust port for the purpose of switching the movable plate between a standby position and a process position to control an exhaust flow of the non-reaction gases and the reaction byproducts (para. [0045]).
Claim 2: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Je discloses wherein the plurality of sub chambers (102/104, Fig. 2, Nguyen) are disposed to be symmetrical to each other with respect to the common exhaust part (192/194/196, Fig. 2).
Claims 3-4: (Cancelled).
Claims 5-8: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Je discloses (claim 5) wherein the flow control part (90/60-67, Fig. 1-9, Je) further comprises: a movable plate (90 [sliding plate]) coupled to the cover plate (80) so as to be movable (para. [0034]).
The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Je does not disclose (claim 5) wherein the movable plate stacked on the cover plate so as to be movable along a circumferential direction of the substrate support; and a driver configured to move the movable plate on the cover plate; (claim 6) wherein the driver is configured to move the movable plate so that an extension length of the cover plate and the movable plate in the circumferential direction of the substrate support varies; (claim 7) wherein the cover plate comprises a through-part, and the movable plate is configured to adjust an opened area of the cover plate through the through-part; (claim 8) wherein the movable plate comprises an auxiliary through-part that is provided in shape or number different from that of the through-part.
Je discloses (claim 5) wherein the movable plate (90 [sliding plate], Fig. 1) is stacked on the cover plate (80) so as to be movable along a circumferential direction of the substrate support (40, Fig. 7, para. [0045]); and a driver (60-67, Fig. 2-9) configured to move the movable plate (90) on the cover plate (80); (claim 6) wherein the driver (60-67) is configured to move the movable plate (90) so that an extension length of the cover plate (80) and the movable plate (90) in the circumferential direction of the substrate support varies (Fig. 2-4); (claim 7) wherein the cover plate (80) comprises a through-part (85 [through hole], Fig. 3), and the movable plate (90) is configured to adjust an opened area (85) of the cover plate (80) through the through-part (85, para. [0034]);
(claim 8) wherein the movable plate (90) comprises an auxiliary through-part (95 [discharge hole], Fig. 3) that is provided in shape or number different from that of the through-part (para. [0050]). Je discloses this for the purpose of switching the movable plate between a standby position and a process position to control an exhaust flow of the non-reaction gases and the reaction byproducts (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above limitations as taught by Je with motivation to switch the movable plate between a standby position and a process position to control an exhaust flow of the non-reaction gases and the reaction byproducts.
Claim 9: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Je discloses the movable plate (90, Fig. 4, Je) is provided in the form of an arc (90) that is equal to or less than that of the cover plate (80).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Je discloses wherein the common exhaust part (192/194/196, Fig. 2, Nguyen) comprises: a plurality of individual exhaust lines (204A and 204B [exhaust paths], are lines of 200A and 200B) each of which communicates with the exhaust port (200A/200B) of each of the plurality of sub chambers (104/102); a combined exhaust line (192 [vacuum port]) to which the plurality of individual exhaust lines (204A and 204B of 200A and 200B) are connected (Fig. 2); and a vacuum pump (196 [vacuum pump]) connected to the combined exhaust line (192, Fig. 2, para. [0024]).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Je as applied to claims 1-2, 5-10 above, and further in view of US 20100193132 to Wi.
Claims 11-13: The apparatus of Nguyen in view of Je does not disclose (claim 11) further comprising a substrate transfer part configured to move the substrate between two adjacent sub chambers in a direction crossing a radial direction of the common exhaust part through a communication space between the plurality of sub chambers; (claim 12) wherein each of the plurality of sub chambers further comprises: a liner configured to define an exhaust space in a lower space within the sub chamber; and an inner liner provided inside the liner to surround an outer surface of the substrate support, wherein the cover plate is provided between the liner and the inner liner; (claim 13) wherein an upper end of the inner liner is higher than an upper end of the liner.
Wi discloses (claim 11) further comprising a substrate transfer part (interpreted as 30 [workpiece transfer unit], Fig. 3) configured to move the substrate between two adjacent sub chambers (any of sub chambers of 10a/10b/10c [workpiece processing chambers]) in a direction crossing a radial direction of the common exhaust part (300 [common exhaust channel]) through a communication space between the plurality of sub chambers (space between any of sub chambers of 10a/10b/10c);
(claim 12) wherein each of the plurality of sub chambers (any of sub chambers of 10a/10b/10c) further comprises: a liner (180 [intermediate liner], Fig. 6) configured to define an exhaust space in a lower space within the sub chamber (Fig. 7-8); and an inner liner (160 [upper liner]) provided inside the liner (180) to surround an outer surface of the substrate support (170 [workpiece support]), wherein the cover plate (not shown but disclosed as “exhaust gas baffle,” para. [0087]) is provided between the liner (180) and the inner liner (160);
(claim 13) wherein an upper end of the inner liner (160) is higher than an upper end of the liner (180, Fig. 4-7). Wi discloses the above limitations for the purpose of preventing the internal surface of the internal processing spaces A and B from being damaged or worn by ion collision of plasma (para. [0095]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Wi with motivation to prevent the internal surface of the internal processing spaces A and B from being damaged or worn by ion collision of plasma.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20190385873 discloses exhaust paths (31, Fig. 3, 6) respectively formed in the four processing spaces S1 to S4 and a joined exhaust path (32) in which the exhaust paths (31) are joined (para. [0034]). US 20100093185 discloses a cylindrical liner (7, Fig. 1) formed from quartz is provided along an inner circumference of the chamber (1), while a baffle plate (8) having a plurality of exhaust holes (8a) and formed from quartz is annularly provided, around an outer circumference of the susceptor (2, Fig. 1, para. [0036]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718