DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed June 26, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8-13, 18, and 20 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-22 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 8-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. The rejection of claims 8-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) over Broding have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made of claims 1-4 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) over Rodney as applied below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 5 and 8-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 over Broding, Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. The rejections of claims 5 and 8-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 over Broding, Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett have been withdrawn. However, the Examiner notes that claim 5 is now objected to. Please see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rodney et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0125077 A1, hereinafter Rodney).
Regarding claim 1, Rodney teaches an apparatus (see Fig. 1B and 6, all elements; see also Abstract), comprising: a downhole tool (see Fig. 1B, downhole tool 52), operable to be inserted into a borehole (see Fig. 1B, downhole tool 52 inserted into borehole as shown); and a probe (see Fig. 1B and 6, probe considered the sensor 114 and sensor chassis 110 in Fig. 6), attached to and supported by the downhole tool and operable to rotate a specified number of degrees of rotation, along an axis that is in a different orientation compared to an axis of the downhole tool, with respect to a first inside surface of the borehole (see Fig. 6 and [0010]-[0011], sensors 114 on chassis 110 attached and supported by the downhole tool 52 and may be rotated a specified number of degrees by the gear 116, along an axis (x-axis 124) that is in a different orientation compared to an axis (primary z-axis 122) of the downhole tool).
Regarding claim 2, Rodney above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Rodney teaches that the probe rotates axially along a connection point to the downhole tool (see Fig. 6, probe 114/110 rotates axially about the connection point of the gear 116 along the axis 124 as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Rodney above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Rodney teaches that the probe comprises one or more sensors capable of collecting data (see Fig. 6 and [0010]-[0011], sensor 114 collects data).
Regarding claim 4, Rodney above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Rodney teaches that the probe rotates a specified number of degrees from an initial position as specified by a probe controller (see [0008] and [0010]-[0011], probe 114/110 rotated by probe controller (computer) 64).
Regarding claim 7, Rodney above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Rodney teaches that the probe is further operable to form a seal with one of the first inside surface or a second inside surface of a casing (see Fig. 2, probe elements sealed within the inner surface of the casing of the sonde 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chaney (US PGPUB 2017/0108616 A1, hereinafter Chaney).
Regarding claim 6, Rodney above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rodney above fails to specifically teach that the probe utilizes an elliptical shape.
Chaney teaches a borehole sensor (see Abstract; see also Fig. 5a), wherein the sensor probe (see Fig. 5a, probe including sensors 24 and substrate 22) utilizes an elliptical shape (see Fig. 5a and [0078], use of elliptical shape for probe 22/24).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the probe shape of Rodney with the elliptical design of Chaney. This would improve the sensor accuracy by along for the sensor to conform to the profile of a section of the borehole wall within minimal air gap or stand-off as described by Chaney (see [0083]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Broding in view of Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett as previously presented and Rodney in view of Chaney above represents the best art of record. However, Broding in view of Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett as previously presented and Rodney in view of Chaney above fails to encompass all of the limitations of dependent claim 5.
Regarding claim 5, Broding in view of Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett as previously presented and Rodney in view of Chaney above fails to critically teach the probe is further operable to form at least a partial fluidic seal with the first inside surface.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in dependent claim 5 and the examiner can find no teachings for a system and method as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Claims 8-22 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 8-22, Broding in view of Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett as previously presented and Rodney in view of Chaney above represents the best art of record. However, Broding in view of Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett as previously presented and Rodney in view of Chaney above fails to encompass all of the limitations of currently amended independent claims 8 and 18.
Regarding claim 8, Broding in view of Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett as previously presented and Rodney in view of Chaney above fails to critically teach a system comprising a probe, operable to be extended from the downhole tool and form at least a partial seal with a first inside surface of the borehole or a second inside surface of a casing, wherein the probe is operable to be rotated, along an axis that is in a different orientation compared to an axis of the downhole tool.
Regarding claim 18, Broding in view of Angehrn, Sherrill, and Proett as previously presented and Rodney in view of Chaney above fails to critically teach a method comprising extending the probe toward a first inside surface of the borehole or a second inside surface of a casing; and rotating the probe to a specified degree offset from an initial position, the probe is operable to rotate along an axis that is in a different orientation compared to an axis of a downhole tool supporting the probe; and continuing to rotate the probe along at least one axis until a quality of the seal measurement satisfies a tool-formation quality threshold.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in independent claims 8 and 18 and the examiner can find no teachings for a system and method as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855