DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 04/29/2026, claims 1, 8, and 17 have been amended. Claims 6, 7, 15, and 16 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term may be amended as “[[the]]a bottom of the arm”, in line 8 of claim 1, in line 8 of claim 8, and in line 10 of claim 17.
In claim 1, line 12, the term “the apertures” may be amended as “[[the ]]apertures” or “the openings”.
In claim 17, line 13, the phrase may be amended as “a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes [[then]]extend through the base plate” same as claim 1, lines 10-11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2019/0143476, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wu), in view of Wang et al. (US 2010/0048106, hereinafter Wang), Ito (JP 2006245505A), and Pham et al. (TW I258399B, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Pham).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses, in fig. 1, a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (CMP apparatus 10) comprising:
a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad (¶ 0025, a platen 12 supports a polishing pad 14);
a carrier head to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process (¶ 0027, a carrier head 36 faces the platen 12 supporting the polishing pad 14 and holds a substrate 16 during the polishing operation); and
a temperature control system (¶ 0034, a temperature control system 100; ¶ 0041, the system may heat or cool the polishing liquid and deliver it to the polishing pad for the temperature control), but does not disclose an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that provides the bottom of the arm and that forms a plenum in the arm, the plenum having an inlet that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes extend through the planar base plate and are connected in common to the plenum and open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, wherein the apertures are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and are separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad.
Wang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that provides the bottom of the arm and that forms a plenum in the arm, the plenum having an inlet that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes extend through the planar base plate and are connected in common to the plenum and open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, wherein the apertures are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and are separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad (fig. 2, a dispenser arm 123 extends over a platen 110; ¶ 0023-24, the dispenser arm is used for supplying fluid onto the polishing pad through dispensing nozzles 124a-e [correspond to the recited openings]. The fluid dispended through the nozzles 124a-e is provided from a fluid supply source located externally to a polisher 100. Therefore, the dispenser arm 123 has an inlet connected to the fluid supply source; the dispenser arm includes a planar base plate and a barrel reservoir 137 [corresponds to the recited plenum] as shown in annotated Wang fig. 3 below. A plurality of nozzles connected to the barrel reservoir 137 are disposed along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from a polishing pad for delivering fluid to the polishing pad, and is open to an environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate. Wang does not disclose the size of nozzles can be varied during the polishing operation, therefore, the nozzle size is fixed. The nozzles of Wang are disposed within the planar base plate and that is the same as the openings shown in fig. 1 of the instant application so that the planar base plate forms the flat bottom surface. The Wang’s system delivers slurry. Wang can be combined with Wu to teach delivering the heated or cooled polishing liquid for temperature control of the polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu to provide the arm as taught by Wang in order to dispense fluid close to a large area of the polishing pad so that the polishing pad temperature control can be achieved effectively.
Wu as modified by Wang does not disclose the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm, and wherein a volume defined by the plenum and the openings downstream of the inlet lacks valves to control fluid.
Ito teaches, in an analogous semiconductor device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm, and wherein a volume defined by the plenum and the openings downstream of the inlet lacks valves to control fluid (Ito English translation, p. 3:25-33 and figs. 1-3, a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprises a plate 2 including a plurality of openings 4. A temperature control means supply heat conduction gas to the semiconductor wafer through the opening 4 wherein flow rate is controlled to be different depending on a distance from a center of the wafer. The Ito’s apparatus does not utilize a valve in the fluid flow control. Ito teaches the flow rate of fluid out of the plurality of openings can be controlled to vary along a length. By combining Ito with Wang, the fluid sprayed out of the nozzles along the dispenser arm of Wang can vary along the length of the arm. Examiner notes that claim recites the arm is configured to make the mass flow rate of the matter from the openings having the fixed size to vary. It does not claim what mechanism is adopted to make the mass flow rate variation, thus any method allowing the variation of the mass flow rate satisfies the recited claim limitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang to configure the arm to deliver various mass flow rate as taught by Ito. It helps setting an object to have predetermined uniform temperature (Ito English translation, p. 4:21-27).
Wu as modified by Wang and Ito does not disclose the temperature control system includes a source of steam and the temperature control matter is steam.
Pham teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the temperature control system includes a source of steam (fig. 2B and Pham English translation, abstract and p. 4:26-30, 5:17-19, a system for temperature control of a polishing pad has a heating device 130 [corresponds to the recited steam source] and it sprays steam fluid to the polishing pad. Examiner notes fluid comprises liquid and gas, thus steam is fluid. Apparatus of cited references deliver fluid to a polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang and Ito to provide the steam as taught by Pham. The steam can be an economical choice as a source of heated fluid used for the temperature control of the polishing pad. It may help reducing overall cost of the polishing operation.
Annotated Wang Fig. 3
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses, in fig. 1, a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (CMP apparatus 10) comprising:
a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad (¶ 0025, a platen 12 supports a polishing pad 14);
a carrier head to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process (¶ 0027, a carrier head 36 faces the platen 12 supporting the polishing pad 14 and holds a substrate 16 during the polishing operation);
a slurry delivery arm supporting a supply port configured to deliver a polishing liquid to a first area of the polishing pad (¶ 0029, a polishing system comprises a polishing liquid delivery tube 58 [corresponds to the recited slurry delivery arm] and a polishing liquid/slurry 56 is delivered out of a supply port at the end of the polishing liquid delivery tube 58 to one area of the polishing pad 14); and
a temperature control system (¶ 0034, a temperature control system 100; ¶ 0041, the system may heat or cool the polishing liquid and deliver it to the polishing pad for the temperature control), but does not disclose an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that provides the bottom of the arm and that forms a plenum in the arm, the plenum having an inlet that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes then through the base plate and are connected in common to the plenum and open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, wherein the apertures are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and are separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad.
Wang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that provides the bottom of the arm and that forms a plenum in the arm, the plenum having an inlet that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes then through the base plate and are connected in common to the plenum and open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, wherein the apertures are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and are separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad (fig. 2, a dispenser arm 123 extends over a platen 110; ¶ 0023-24, the dispenser arm is used for supplying fluid onto the polishing pad through dispensing nozzles 124a-e [correspond to the recited openings]. The fluid dispended through the nozzles 124a-e is provided from a fluid supply source located externally to a polisher 100. Therefore, the dispenser arm 123 has an inlet connected to the fluid supply source; the dispenser arm includes a planar base plate and a barrel reservoir 137 [corresponds to the recited plenum] as shown in annotated Wang fig. 3 above. A plurality of nozzles connected to the barrel reservoir 137 are disposed along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from a polishing pad for delivering fluid to the polishing pad, and is open to an environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate. Wang does not disclose the size of nozzles can be varied during the polishing operation; therefore, the nozzle size is fixed. The nozzles of Wang are disposed within the planar base plate and that is the same as the openings shown in fig. 1 of the instant application so that the planar base plate forms the flat bottom surface. The Wang’s system delivers slurry. Wang can be combined with Wu to teach delivering the heated or cooled polishing liquid for temperature control of the polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu to provide the arm as taught by Wang in order to dispense fluid close to a large area of the polishing pad so that the polishing pad temperature control can be achieved effectively.
Wu as modified by Wang teaches the temperature control matter is delivered onto a second area of the polishing pad that is different than the first area (Wu, fig. 1, in Wu’s temperature control system 100, a heater 130 controls temperature of the polishing pad 14 by directing light 132 to an area [corresponds to the recited second area] which is different from the area [corresponds to the recited first area] where the slurry 56 is delivered. Therefore, Wu teaches the areas where the fluid for temperature control and the slurry are delivered can be different).
However, Wu as modified by Wang still does not disclose the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm, and wherein a volume defined by the plenum and the openings downstream of the inlet lacks valves to control fluid.
Ito teaches, in an analogous semiconductor device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm, and wherein a volume defined by the plenum and the openings downstream of the inlet lacks valves to control fluid (Ito English translation, p. 3:25-33 and figs. 1-3, a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprises a plate 2 including a plurality of openings 4. A temperature control means supply heat conduction gas to the semiconductor wafer through the opening 4 wherein flow rate is controlled to be different depending on a distance from a center of the wafer. The Ito’s apparatus does not utilize a valve in the fluid flow control. Ito teaches the flow rate of fluid out of the plurality of openings can be controlled to vary along a length. By combining Ito with Wang, the fluid sprayed out of the nozzles along the dispenser arm of Wang can vary along the length of the arm. Examiner notes that claim recites the arm is configured to make the mass flow rate of the matter from the openings having the fixed size to vary. It does not claim what mechanism is adopted to make the mass flow rate variation, thus any method allowing the variation of the mass flow rate satisfies the recited claim limitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang to configure the arm to deliver various mass flow rate as taught by Ito. It helps setting an object to have predetermined uniform temperature (Ito English translation, p. 4:21-27).
Wu as modified by Wang and Ito does not disclose the temperature control system includes a source of steam and the temperature control matter is steam.
Pham teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the temperature control system includes a source of steam (fig. 2B and Pham English translation, abstract and p. 4:26-30, 5:17-19, a system for temperature control of a polishing pad has a heating device 130 [corresponds to the recited steam source] and it sprays steam fluid to the polishing pad. Examiner notes fluid comprises liquid and gas, thus steam is fluid. Apparatus of cited references deliver fluid to a polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang and Ito to provide the steam as taught by Pham. The steam can be an economical choice as a source of heated fluid used for the temperature control of the polishing pad. It may help reducing overall cost of the polishing operation.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Wang, Ito, and Pham, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Leighton et al. (US 2010/0112917, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Leighton).
Regarding claim 2, Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, and Pham teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the openings are distributed radially from an axis of rotation of the platen (Wang fig. 2, the arm 123 can be placed toward a rotation center of the platen 110, thus the openings are distributed radially from an axis of rotation of the platen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, and Pham to radially distribute the openings from the axis of the rotation of the platen as taught by Wang in order to spray fluid evenly on a polishing pad along a radial direction.
Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, and Pham does not disclose explicitly the openings are evenly distributed radially.
Leighton teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the openings are evenly distributed radially (fig. 3B, the nozzles 224, 310 [correspond to the recited openings] are evenly distributed radially from an end of the arm proximal to a hinge assembly 206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, and Pham to provide the openings that are evenly distributed radially as taught by Leighton in order to achieve uniform temperature on the polishing pad by distributing equal volume of fluid having the same temperature.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Wang, Ito, Pham, and Leighton, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Jiang et al. (US 2005/0181709, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 3, Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, Pham, and Leighton teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose the mass flow rate is a non-linear function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
Related to the non-linear function of the mass flow rate, Jiang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the at least some of the openings have different sizes (abstract and fig. 4, Jiang discloses a fluid delivery system to deliver fluid to a polishing pad where a fluid dispensing arm 52 comprises a plurality of nozzles; ¶ 0024, nozzles disposed along the fluid dispensing arm have different inner aperture diameters for flow of the fluid. Jiang teaches a fluid dispensing system of a CMP apparatus can have different sizes of openings for the effective fluid flow), and the openings are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen (see figs. 5 and 10, the nozzles 72-86 on the fluid dispensing arm are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, Pham, and Leighton to provide the openings having different sizes and spacing as taught by Jiang in order to make more fluid is delivered toward a particular location of a polishing pad where not effective polishing has been done. It may help achieving uniform polishing rate for an entire substrate.
The non-linear function of the mass flow rate is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the mass flow rate of the fluid flow is a non-linear function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 4, Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, Pham, Leighton, and Jiang teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose the mass flow rate is a monotonically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed in claim 3 above, the monotonically increasing mass flow rate is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the mass flow rate of the fluid flow is monotonically increasing function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 5, Wu as modified by Wang, Ito, Pham, Leighton, and Jiang discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 4, but does not disclose the mass flow rate is a parabolically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed in claims 3 and 4 above, the parabolically increasing mass flow rate is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the mass flow rate of the fluid flow is parabolically increasing function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Claims 8, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2019/0143476, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wu), in view of Wang et al. (US 2010/0048106, hereinafter Wang), Jiang et al. (US 2005/0181709, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Jiang), and Pham et al. (TW I258399B, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Pham).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses, in fig. 1, a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (CMP apparatus 10) comprising:
a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad (¶ 0025, a platen 12 supports a polishing pad 14);
a carrier head to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process (¶ 0027, a carrier head 36 faces the platen 12 supporting the polishing pad 14 and holds a substrate 16 during the polishing operation); and
a temperature control system (¶ 0034, a temperature control system 100; ¶ 0041, the system may heat or cool the polishing liquid and deliver it to the polishing pad for the temperature control), but does not disclose an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that provides the bottom of the arm and that forms a plenum in the arm, the plenum having an inlet that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein the planar base plate has a plurality of openings extending therethrough and connected in common to the plenum and open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, and wherein the plurality of opening are of predetermined fixed sizes.
Wang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that provides the bottom of the arm and that forms a plenum in the arm, the plenum having an inlet that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein the planar base plate has a plurality of openings extending therethrough and connected in common to the plenum and open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, and wherein the plurality of opening are of predetermined fixed sizes (fig. 2, a dispenser arm 123 extends over a platen 110; ¶ 0023-24, the dispenser arm is used for supplying fluid onto the polishing pad through dispensing nozzles 124a-e [correspond to the recited openings]. The fluid dispended through the nozzles 124a-e is provided from a fluid supply source located externally to a polisher 100. Therefore, the dispenser arm 123 has an inlet connected to the fluid supply source; the dispenser arm includes a planar base plate and a barrel reservoir 137 [corresponds to the recited plenum] as shown in annotated Wang fig. 3 above. A plurality of nozzles connected to the barrel reservoir 137 are disposed along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from a polishing pad for delivering fluid to the polishing pad, and is open to an environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate. Wang does not disclose the size of nozzles can be varied during the polishing operation; therefore, the nozzle size is fixed. The nozzles of Wang are disposed within the planar base plate and that is the same as the openings shown in fig. 1 of the instant application so that the planar base plate forms the flat bottom surface. The Wang’s system delivers slurry. Wang can be combined with Wu to teach delivering the heated or cooled polishing liquid for temperature control of the polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu to provide the arm as taught by Wang in order to dispense fluid close to a large area of the polishing pad so that the polishing pad temperature control can be achieved effectively.
Wu as modified by Wang does not disclose at least some of the openings having different sizes and/or different spacing, and wherein a volume defined by the plenum and the openings downstream of the inlet lacks valves to control fluid flow.
Jiang teaches, in the analogous CMP field of endeavor, at least some of the openings having different sizes and/or different spacing (abstract and fig. 4, Jiang discloses a fluid delivery system to deliver fluid to a polishing pad where a fluid dispensing arm 52 comprises a plurality of nozzles; ¶ 0024, nozzles disposed along the fluid dispensing arm have different inner aperture diameters for flow of the fluid. Jiang teaches a fluid dispensing system of a CMP apparatus can have different sizes of openings for the effective fluid flow; figs. 5 and 10, the nozzles 72-86 on the fluid dispensing arm are spaced non-uniformly), and wherein a volume defined by the plenum and the openings downstream of the inlet lacks valves to control fluid flow (figs. 3-4 and ¶ 0021 and 0024, the fluid dispensing arm 52 receives fluid from a reservoir 54, thus, there is an inlet of the arm 52 to receive the fluid. A delivery conduit 56 in the arm 52 is the recited plenum. No valve is utilized in supplying fluid through nozzles of the arm 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang to provide the opening having different sizes and spacing as taught by Jiang in order to make more fluid is delivered toward a particular location of a polishing pad where not effective polishing has been done. It can help achieving uniform polishing rate for an entire substrate.
Wu as modified by Wang and Jiang does not disclose explicitly the arm delivers a radially varying amount of fluid onto the polishing pad.
The radially varying amount of fluid is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid delivered onto the polishing pad. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Wu as modified by Wang and Jiang does not disclose the temperature control system includes a source of steam and the temperature control matter is steam.
Pham teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the temperature control system includes a source of steam (fig. 2B and Pham English translation, abstract and p. 4:26-30, 5:17-19, a system for temperature control of a polishing pad has a heating device 130 [corresponds to the recited steam source] and it sprays steam fluid to the polishing pad. Examiner notes fluid comprises liquid and gas, thus steam is fluid. Apparatus of cited references deliver fluid to a polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang and Jiang to provide the steam as taught by Pham. The steam can be an economical choice as a source of heated fluid used for the temperature control of the polishing pad. It may help reducing overall cost of the polishing operation.
Regarding claim 9, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the at least some of the openings have different sizes (Jiang, abstract and fig. 4, as discussed in claim 8 above, the fluid delivery system delivers fluid to a polishing pad where a fluid dispensing arm 52 comprises a plurality of nozzles; ¶ 0024, nozzles disposed along the fluid dispensing arm have different inner aperture diameters for flow of the fluid. Jiang teaches a fluid dispensing system of a CMP apparatus can have different sizes of openings for the effective fluid flow).
Regarding claim 11, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the openings are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen (Jiang figs. 5 and 10, the nozzles 72-86 on the fluid dispensing arm are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation (axis 44) of a platen 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham to provide the opening having non-uniform spacing as taught by Jiang in order to make more fluid is delivered toward a particular location of a polishing pad where not effective polishing has been done. It may help achieving uniform polishing rate for an entire substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, but does not disclose radially varying amount of fluid is a non-linear function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed similarly in claim 3 above, the radially varying amount of fluid is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid is a non-linear function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 13, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 12, but does not disclose the radially varying amount of fluid a monotonically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed similarly in claim 4 above, the monotonically increasing fluid amount is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid is a monotonically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 14, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 13, but does not disclose the radially varying amount of fluid is a parabolically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed similarly in claim 5 above, the parabolically increasing fluid amount is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid is a parabolically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Wang, Jiang, and Pham, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Leighton.
Regarding claim 10, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, but does not disclose at least a pair of openings is positioned at a same radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen.
Leighton teaches, in the analogous CMP field of endeavor, at least a pair of openings is positioned at a same radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen (fig. 3B, a pair of nozzles 224 [correspond to the recited openings] are positioned at the same radial distance from an end of the arm proximal to a hinge assembly 206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham to provide the pair of openings that are positioned at the same radial distance as taught by Leighton in order to achieve uniform temperature on the polishing pad by distributing equal volume of fluid having the same temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wang does not disclose the plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes extending through the planar base plate … and open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate. Applicant argues the recited planar base plate of Wang shown in the annotated Wang fig. 3 is not the planar base plate but a lower edge of a side wall of the dispenser arm 123. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In the Applicant Arguments/Remarks submitted on 04/29/2026, Applicant has indicated the side wall of arm in page 7. But the dispenser arm 123 has a body including a top wall, a bottom wall, and side walls. An interior of the dispenser arm 123 includes the recited plenum. Examiner designates the bottom wall of the arm 123 as the recited planar base plate. A plurality of nozzles/opening 124 extend through the planar base plate.
Applicant further argues if the base plate were present, it would be impossible for the rinsing nozzles 138 of Wang to spay the polishing pad because rinsing fluid from the nozzles 138 would be trapped inside the arm. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wang teaches the dispenser arm 123 also includes a separate set of rinsing nozzles 138a-g, which can direct streams of water toward the polishing pad 112 (¶ 0028). The nozzles 138 are the separate set of nozzles from the nozzles 124. The nozzles 138 are not mapped as any recited component in the rejections of claims.
Applicant also argues it would not be obvious that a configuration for slurry distribution as shown by Wang should be adapted for distribution of steam in a temperature control system. Applicant asserts modifying Wu with Wang in order to dispense fluid close to the polishing pad does not provide reason to modify Wu. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wu teaches the temperature control system which controls the temperature of the polishing liquid 56 (fig. 1 and ¶ 0041). Wu discloses a tube 58 for delivering the polishing liquid to the polishing pad 14. Wu does not teach using an arm extending over the rotatable platen. Thus, Wang is combined to teach the arm extending over the platen for delivering the polishing liquid. The dispenser arm 123 of Wang extends over the rotating platen, and delivers greater amount of polishing liquid to a larger area of the platen than using the Wu’s tube. Wang does not disclose explicitly a reason for adapting the use of the dispenser arm. However, it would have been obvious that the dispenser arm of Wang would dispense fluid close to the polishing pad for better temperature control of the platen than using the Wu’s tube. It has been held that in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01). Therefore, it is proper to combine Wang with Wu to teach the use of dispenser arm to deliver the temperature controlled polishing liquid to the platen.
Although Applicant does not argue, Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, and Pham does not teach the amended claim limitations of claims 1 and 17 that the arm, configured to vary the mass flow rate of the steam along the length of the arm, lacks valves in a volume defined by the plenum and the openings in controlling fluid flow. Examiner acknowledges Nabeya, cited in the previous office actions for teaching the flow rate control of individual ejection ports, discloses the use of valves for the flow control. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ito. Ito teaches the fluid flow rate variation along a length of an apparatus without using a valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu et al. (JP 2011241140A) discloses an apparatus used for fluid flow wherein a plurality of openings can control flow rate so that the flow rate can be distributed in a desired pattern. The apparatus does not utilize a valve.
Nurse, Jr. (US 5593584) discloses a tank comprising a first chamber and a second chamber wherein a partition separates the two chambers. The partition includes a plurality of openings of predetermined sizes and predetermined locations for fluid flow rate control.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723