DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 10/07/2025, claims 1, 8, and 17 have been amended. Claims 6, 7, 15, and 16 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 12, the phrase may be amended as “wherein the plenum and the openings form …”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2019/0143476, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wu), in view of Wang et al. (US 2010/0048106, hereinafter Wang), Nabeya (US 2007/0135020, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS), and Pham et al. (TW I258399B, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Pham).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses, in fig. 1, a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (CMP apparatus 10) comprising:
a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad (¶ 0025, a platen 12 supports a polishing pad 14);
a carrier head to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process (¶ 0027, a carrier head 36 faces the platen 12 supporting the polishing pad 14 and holds a substrate 16 during the polishing operation); and
a temperature control system (¶ 0034, a temperature control system 100; ¶ 0041, the system may heat or cool the polishing liquid and deliver it to the polishing pad for the temperature control), but does not disclose an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that forms a plenum in the arm that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes in the planar base plate open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate and are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad, wherein the plenum and openings form an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm.
Wang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that forms a plenum in the arm that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes in the planar base plate open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate and are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad, wherein the plenum and openings form an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm (fig. 2, a dispenser arm 123 extends over a platen 110; ¶ 0023-24, the dispenser arm is used for supplying fluid onto the polishing pad through dispensing nozzles 124a-e [correspond to the recited openings]; the dispenser arm includes a planar base plate and a barrel reservoir 137 [corresponds to the recited plenum] as shown in annotated Wang fig. 3 below. A plurality of nozzles is disposed along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from a polishing pad for delivering fluid to the polishing pad, and is open to an environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate. Wang does not disclose the size of nozzles can be varied during the polishing operation, therefore, the nozzle size is fixed. The nozzles of Wang are disposed within the planar base plate and that is the same as the openings shown in fig. 1 of the instant application so that the planar base plate forms the flat bottom surface. Merriam-Webster dictionary defines the term “unobstructed” means clear or free from obstructions wherein the dictionary further defines the term “obstruction” is a condition of being clogged or blocked. Because the fluid is supply onto the polishing pad from the barrel reservoir 137 through the nozzles 124a-3 without being clogged or blocked, the reservoir and the nozzles corresponding to the plenum and the openings form an unobstructed volume in the dispenser arm. Please see non-patent document for the dictionary definitions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu to provide the arm as taught by Wang in order to dispense fluid close to the polishing pad so that the polishing pad temperature control can be achieved effectively.
Wu as modified by Wang does not disclose the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm.
Nabeya teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm (abstract and ¶ 0016, a CMP apparatus comprises a system for controlling temperature distribution of a polishing surface, and a flow rate controller can adjust flow rates of the fluid ejected through fluid ejection ports individually. Examiner notes that claim recites the arm is configured to make the mass flow rate of the matter from the openings having the fixed size to vary. It does not claim what mechanism is adopted to make the mass flow rate variation, thus any method allowing the variation of the mass flow rate satisfies the recited claim limitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang to configure the arm to deliver various mass flow rate as taught by Nabeya in order to make local portions of the polishing surface to be provided with a desired temperature distribution so that uniform polishing profile can be easily obtained (Nabeya, ¶ 0017). A polishing rate is closely associated with a temperature of the polishing pad (Nabeya, ¶ 0006).
Wu as modified by Wang and Nabeya does not disclose the temperature control system includes a source of steam and the temperature control matter is steam.
Pham teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the temperature control system includes a source of steam (fig. 2B and Pham English translation, abstract and p. 4:26-30, 5:17-19, a system for temperature control of a polishing pad has a heating device 130 [corresponds to the recited steam source] and it sprays steam fluid to the polishing pad. Examiner notes fluid comprises liquid and gas, thus steam is fluid. Apparatus of cited references deliver fluid to a polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang and Nabeya to provide the steam as taught by Pham. The steam can be an economical choice as a source of heated fluid used for the temperature control of the polishing pad. It may help reducing overall cost of the polishing operation.
Annotated Wang Fig. 3
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses, in fig. 1, a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (CMP apparatus 10) comprising:
a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad (¶ 0025, a platen 12 supports a polishing pad 14);
a carrier head to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process (¶ 0027, a carrier head 36 faces the platen 12 supporting the polishing pad 14 and holds a substrate 16 during the polishing operation);
a slurry delivery arm supporting a supply port configured to deliver a polishing liquid to a first area of the polishing pad (¶ 0029, a polishing system comprises a polishing liquid delivery tube 58 [corresponds to the recited slurry delivery arm] and a polishing liquid/slurry 56 is delivered out of a supply port at the end of the polishing liquid delivery tube 58 to one area of the polishing pad 14); and
a temperature control system (¶ 0034, a temperature control system 100; ¶ 0041, the system may heat or cool the polishing liquid and deliver it to the polishing pad for the temperature control), but does not disclose an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that forms a plenum in the arm that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate and are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad, wherein the plenum is an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm.
Wang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that forms a plenum in the arm that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein a plurality of openings of predetermined fixed sizes open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate and are positioned along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from the polishing pad to deliver the temperature control matter from the plenum onto the polishing pad, wherein the plenum is an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm (fig. 2, a dispenser arm 123 extends over a platen 110; ¶ 0023-24, the dispenser arm is used for supplying fluid onto the polishing pad through dispensing nozzles 124a-e [correspond to the recited openings]; the dispenser arm includes a planar base plate and a barrel reservoir 137 [corresponds to the recited plenum] as shown in annotated Wang fig. 3 above. A plurality of nozzles is disposed along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from a polishing pad for delivering fluid to the polishing pad, and is open to an environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate. Wang does not disclose the size of nozzles can be varied during the polishing operation; therefore, the nozzle size is fixed. Merriam-Webster dictionary defines the term “unobstructed” means clear or free from obstructions wherein the dictionary further defines the term “obstruction” is a condition of being clogged or blocked. Because the fluid is supply onto the polishing pad from the barrel reservoir 137 without being clogged or blocked, the reservoir corresponding to the plenum is an unobstructed volume in the dispenser arm. Please see non-patent document for the dictionary definitions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu to provide the arm as taught by Wang in order to dispense fluid close to the polishing pad so that the polishing pad temperature control can be achieved effectively.
Wu as modified by Wang teaches the temperature control matter is delivered onto a second area of the polishing pad that is different than the first area (Wu, fig. 1, in Wu’s temperature control system 100, a heater 130 controls temperature of the polishing pad 14 by directing light 132 to an area [corresponds to the recited second area] which is different from the area [corresponds to the recited first area] where the slurry 56 is delivered. Therefore, Wu teaches the areas where the fluid for temperature control and the slurry are delivered can be different).
However, Wu as modified by Wang still does not disclose the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm.
Nabeya teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the temperature control matter from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm (abstract and ¶ 0016, a CMP apparatus comprises a system for controlling temperature distribution of a polishing surface, and a flow rate controller can adjust flow rates of the fluid ejected through fluid ejection ports individually. Examiner notes that claim recites the arm is configured to make the mass flow rate of the matter from the openings having the fixed size to vary. It does not claim what mechanism is adopted to make the mass flow rate variation, thus any method allowing the variation of the mass flow rate satisfies the recited claim limitations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang to configure the arm to deliver various mass flow rate as taught by Nabeya in order to make local portions of the polishing surface to be provided with a desired temperature distribution so that uniform polishing profile can be easily obtained (Nabeya, ¶ 0017). A polishing rate is closely associated with a temperature of the polishing pad (Nabeya, ¶ 0006).
Wu as modified by Wang and Nabeya does not disclose the temperature control system includes a source of steam and the temperature control matter is steam.
Pham teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the temperature control system includes a source of steam (fig. 2B and Pham English translation, abstract and p. 4:26-30, 5:17-19, a system for temperature control of a polishing pad has a heating device 130 [corresponds to the recited steam source] and it sprays steam fluid to the polishing pad. Examiner notes fluid comprises liquid and gas, thus steam is fluid. Apparatus of cited references deliver fluid to a polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang and Nabeya to provide the steam as taught by Pham. The steam can be an economical choice as a source of heated fluid used for the temperature control of the polishing pad. It may help reducing overall cost of the polishing operation.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Wang, Nabeya, and Pham, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Leighton et al. (US 2010/0112917, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Leighton).
Regarding claim 2, Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, and Pham teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the openings are distributed radially from an axis of rotation of the platen (Wang fig. 2, the arm 123 can be placed toward a rotation center of the platen 110, thus the openings are distributed radially from an axis of rotation of the platen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, and Pham to radially distribute the openings from the axis of the rotation of the platen as taught by Wang in order to spray fluid evenly on a polishing pad along a radial direction.
Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, and Pham does not disclose explicitly the openings are evenly distributed radially.
Leighton teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the openings are evenly distributed radially (fig. 3B, the nozzles 224, 310 [correspond to the recited openings] are evenly distributed radially from an end of the arm proximal to a hinge assembly 206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, and Pham to provide the openings that are evenly distributed radially as taught by Leighton in order to achieve uniform temperature on the polishing pad by distributing equal volume of fluid having the same temperature.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Wang, Nabeya, Pham, and Leighton, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Jiang et al. (US 2005/0181709, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 3, Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, Pham, and Leighton discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose the mass flow rate is a non-linear function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
Related to the non-linear function of the mass flow rate, Jiang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the at least some of the openings have different sizes (abstract and fig. 4, Jiang discloses a fluid delivery system to deliver fluid to a polishing pad where a fluid dispensing arm 52 comprises a plurality of nozzles; ¶ 0024, nozzles disposed along the fluid dispensing arm have different inner aperture diameters for flow of the fluid. Jiang teaches a fluid dispensing system of a CMP apparatus can have different sizes of openings for the effective fluid flow), and the openings are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen (see figs. 5 and 10, the nozzles 72-86 on the fluid dispensing arm are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, Pham, and Leighton to provide the openings having different sizes and spacing as taught by Jiang in order to make more fluid is delivered toward a particular location of a polishing pad where not effective polishing has been done. It may help achieving uniform polishing rate for an entire substrate.
The non-linear function of the mass flow rate is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the mass flow rate of the fluid flow is a non-linear function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 4, Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, Pham, Leighton, and Jiang discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose the mass flow rate is a monotonically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed in claim 3 above, the monotonically increasing mass flow rate is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the mass flow rate of the fluid flow is monotonically increasing function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 5, Wu as modified by Wang, Nabeya, Pham, Leighton, and Jiang discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 4, but does not disclose the mass flow rate is a parabolically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed in claims 3 and 4 above, the parabolically increasing mass flow rate is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the mass flow rate of the fluid flow is parabolically increasing function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Claims 8, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2019/0143476, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wu), in view of Wang et al. (US 2010/0048106, hereinafter Wang), Jiang et al. (US 2005/0181709, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Jiang), and Pham et al. (TW I258399B, cited on 03/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Pham).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses, in fig. 1, a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (CMP apparatus 10) comprising:
a rotatable platen to hold a polishing pad (¶ 0025, a platen 12 supports a polishing pad 14);
a carrier head to hold a substrate against a polishing surface of the polishing pad during a polishing process (¶ 0027, a carrier head 36 faces the platen 12 supporting the polishing pad 14 and holds a substrate 16 during the polishing operation); and
a temperature control system (¶ 0034, a temperature control system 100; ¶ 0041, the system may heat or cool the polishing liquid and deliver it to the polishing pad for the temperature control), but does not disclose an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that forms a plenum in the arm that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein the plenum is an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm, and wherein the planar base plate has a plurality of openings open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, wherein the plurality of opening are of predetermined fixed sizes.
Wang teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, an arm extending over the rotatable platen, the arm including a planar base plate that forms a plenum in the arm that is connected to the source of the temperature control matter, wherein the plenum is an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm, and wherein the planar base plate has a plurality of openings open to an external environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate, wherein the plurality of opening are of predetermined fixed sizes (fig. 2, a dispenser arm 123 extends over a platen 110; ¶ 0023-24, the dispenser arm is used for supplying fluid onto the polishing pad through dispensing nozzles 124a-e [correspond to the recited openings]; the dispenser arm includes a planar base plate and a barrel reservoir 137 [corresponds to the recited plenum] as shown in annotated Wang fig. 3 above. A plurality of nozzles is disposed along a length of the arm and over the platen and separated from a polishing pad for delivering fluid to the polishing pad, and is open to an environment at a flat bottom surface of the planar base plate. Wang does not disclose the size of nozzles can be varied during the polishing operation; therefore, the nozzle size is fixed. Merriam-Webster dictionary defines the term “unobstructed” means clear or free from obstructions wherein the dictionary further defines the term “obstruction” is a condition of being clogged or blocked. Because the fluid is supply onto the polishing pad from the barrel reservoir 137 without being clogged or blocked, the reservoir corresponding to the plenum is an unobstructed volume in the dispenser arm. Please see non-patent document for the dictionary definitions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu to provide the arm as taught by Wang in order to dispense fluid close to the polishing pad so that the polishing pad temperature control can be achieved effectively.
Wu as modified by Wang does not disclose at least some of the openings having different sizes and/or different spacing.
Jiang teaches, in the analogous CMP field of endeavor, at least some of the openings having different sizes and/or different spacing (abstract and fig. 4, Jiang discloses a fluid delivery system to deliver fluid to a polishing pad where a fluid dispensing arm 52 comprises a plurality of nozzles; ¶ 0024, nozzles disposed along the fluid dispensing arm have different inner aperture diameters for flow of the fluid. Jiang teaches a fluid dispensing system of a CMP apparatus can have different sizes of openings for the effective fluid flow; figs. 5 and 10, the nozzles 72-86 on the fluid dispensing arm are spaced non-uniformly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang to provide the opening having different sizes and spacing as taught by Jiang in order to make more fluid is delivered toward a particular location of a polishing pad where not effective polishing has been done. It may help achieving uniform polishing rate for an entire substrate.
Wu as modified by Wang and Jiang does not disclose explicitly the arm delivers a radially varying amount of fluid onto the polishing pad.
The radially varying amount of fluid is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid delivered onto the polishing pad. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Wu as modified by Wang and Jiang does not disclose the temperature control system includes a source of steam and the temperature control matter is steam.
Pham teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the temperature control system includes a source of steam (fig. 2B and Pham English translation, abstract and p. 4:26-30, 5:17-19, a system for temperature control of a polishing pad has a heating device 130 [corresponds to the recited steam source] and it sprays steam fluid to the polishing pad. Examiner notes fluid comprises liquid and gas, thus steam is fluid. Apparatus of cited references deliver fluid to a polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang and Jiang to provide the steam as taught by Pham. The steam can be an economical choice as a source of heated fluid used for the temperature control of the polishing pad. It may help reducing overall cost of the polishing operation.
Regarding claim 9, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the at least some of the openings have different sizes (Jiang, abstract and fig. 4, as discussed in claim 8 above, the fluid delivery system delivers fluid to a polishing pad where a fluid dispensing arm 52 comprises a plurality of nozzles; ¶ 0024, nozzles disposed along the fluid dispensing arm have different inner aperture diameters for flow of the fluid. Jiang teaches a fluid dispensing system of a CMP apparatus can have different sizes of openings for the effective fluid flow).
Regarding claim 11, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham teaches the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the openings are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen (Jiang figs. 5 and 10, the nozzles 72-86 on the fluid dispensing arm are spaced non-uniformly along a radial distance from an axis of rotation (axis 44) of a platen 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham to provide the opening having non-uniform spacing as taught by Jiang in order to make more fluid is delivered toward a particular location of a polishing pad where not effective polishing has been done. It may help achieving uniform polishing rate for an entire substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, but does not disclose radially varying amount of fluid is a non-linear function of radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed similarly in claim 3 above, the radially varying amount of fluid is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid is a non-linear function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 13, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 12, but does not disclose the radially varying amount of fluid a monotonically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed similarly in claim 4 above, the monotonically increasing fluid amount is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid is a monotonically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Regarding claim 14, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 13, but does not disclose the radially varying amount of fluid is a parabolically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen.
As discussed similarly in claim 5 above, the parabolically increasing fluid amount is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the radially varying amount of fluid is a parabolically increasing function of radial distance from the axis of rotation of the platen. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. different size and spacing of the openings can be disposed, was disclosed in the prior art by Jiang, it is not inventive to discover the intended result by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the openings disclosed by Jiang having the size and spacing (MPEP 2411.05).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Wang, Jiang, and Pham, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Leighton.
Regarding claim 10, Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham discloses the apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, but does not disclose at least a pair of openings is positioned at a same radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen.
Leighton teaches, in the analogous CMP field of endeavor, at least a pair of openings is positioned at a same radial distance from an axis of rotation of the platen (fig. 3B, a pair of nozzles 224 [correspond to the recited openings] are positioned at the same radial distance from an end of the arm proximal to a hinge assembly 206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature control system of Wu as modified by Wang, Jiang, and Pham to provide the pair of openings that are positioned at the same radial distance as taught by Leighton in order to achieve uniform temperature on the polishing pad by distributing equal volume of fluid having the same temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wang as modified by Wu and Nabeya does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the plenum and openings form an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As Examiner states in the rejections of claims 1, 8, and 17, the dictionary definition of the term “unobstructed” is not being clogged or blocked. The barrel reservoir 137 [corresponds to the recited plenum] and the dispensing nozzles 124a-e [correspond to the recited openings] of Wang allow the fluid to flow through and to be dispensed to the polishing pad. They are not clogged or blocked. Therefore, the reservoir and the nozzles form an unobstructed volume enclosed within the arm.
Applicant argues Nabeya does not teach or suggest the claim limitations of varying the mass flow rate along the length of the arm because the flow rate control is done by adjustment of the throttle valves. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 recites “the arm is configured such that a mass flow rate of the steam from the plenum through the plurality of openings of predetermined size varies along the length of the arm”. The arm is configured to vary the flow rate with any method. It does not prevent from the use of throttle valve in varying the flow rate.
Therefore, Wang and Nabeya still teach the amended claim limitations and the arguments are persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723