DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicants’ election of species I drawn to claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17 are acknowledged. Claims 4-5, 16, and 18-20, drawn to an unelected species, are withdrawn from further examination. Claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17 are examined herein.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-5, 16, and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I, claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17 in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the flexible substrate" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of furthering examination, the limitation will be viewed in accordance with lines 2-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches a flexible display device (display device, Figure 1, paragraph 0050, teaches An embodiment of the display device may include an electronic device such as a smartphone, a mobile phone, a navigation device, a game device, a television (“TV”), a head unit for car, a notebook computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a personal media play (“PMP”), a personal digital assistant (“FDA”), or the like. In such an embodiment, the electronic device may include a flexible device), comprising: a flexible substrate (substrate 100, Figure 1 or 3, paragraph 0055, teaches the substrate may include at least one of various materials having flexible or bendable characteristics) including an active area (display area DA + display member 200 & first area A1, Figure 3, paragraphs 0052-0053 + 0056, teaches the display device may include the substrate having a first area...The first area may include the display area…display member for displaying an image may be located in the display area of the first area) including a plurality of pixels (pixels PX, Figure 3, paragraph 0056, teaches The display member may include a plurality of pixels, and each of the pixels may include a display element and a pixel circuit including a thin-film transistor for controlling light emission of the display element, or the like) and a non-active area (second area A2 + bending area BA + peripheral area PA, Figure 3, paragraphs 0052-0053, teaches the display device may include the substrate having a first area, a second area, and a bending area between the first area and the second area...The first area may include the display area and the peripheral area which a non-display area surrounding the display area. The second area may also include the peripheral area) adjacent to the active area, the non-active area including a bending area (bending area BA, Figure 3, paragraph 0054, teaches The substrate may have a bending area extending in a first direction. The bending area may be included in the peripheral area) bendable in a first direction (bending axis BAX or first direction D1, Figure 1 & 3, paragraph 0054, teaches the substrate is bent around a bending axis extending in the first direction); a pattern unit (Figure 8 & 10B, paragraph 0139, teaches The fourth insulating layer covering the plurality of patterns may have the concave-and-convex surface corresponding to an arrangement of the patterns) disposed on the flexible substrate in the bending area and including a plurality of concave portions and convex portions (concave-and-convex surface 114a, Figure 10B); and a plurality of lines (first conductive layer 230, Figure 10B, paragraph 0120, teaches first conductive layer extends from the first area to the second area through the bending area and is located on the fourth insulating layer which is an organic insulating layer) disposed on the pattern unit, as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein the pattern unit includes a plurality of sub-patterns (plurality of patterns 210', Figure 10A, paragraph 0142, teaches The plurality of patterns may be arranged parallel to each other at a predetermined interval in the first direction) spaced apart from each other and repeatedly disposed in the first direction, as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 2, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein the plurality of sub-patterns have a shape in which they extend and elongate in a second direction (second direction D2, Figure 10A, paragraph 0142, teaches a plurality of patterns which are line-shaped floating patterns extending in the second direction and having a predetermined width and length) perpendicular to the first direction, as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 2, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein the plurality of sub-patterns are shifted in the first direction by a predetermined distance and disposed continuously in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 10A, paragraph 0145, teaches the plurality of patterns which are line-shaped floating patterns extending in the first direction and having a predetermined width and length. The plurality of patterns may be arranged parallel to each other at a predetermined interval in the second direction), as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 2, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein each of the plurality of sub-patterns has a circular shape, a quadrangular shape, a hexagonal shape, an octagonal shape, a polygonal shape with rounded corners, or a polygonal shape with cut corners, in a plan view (Figure 10A, paragraph 0147, teaches the plurality of patterns have a substantially rectangular shape, embodiments are not limited thereto. The shape of the plurality of patterns may be variously changed or modified to have another shape such as a circular shape, an ellipse shape, a polygonal shape, a star shape, a diamond shape, or the like), as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein the concave portion and the convex portion are repeatedly disposed in the first direction (Figure 10B, paragraph 0139, teaches The plurality of patterns may be located apart from each other in the first direction and/or the second direction. The fourth insulating layer covering the plurality of patterns may have the concave-and-convex surface corresponding to an arrangement of the patterns), and wherein the plurality of lines extend in the first direction along upper surfaces of the concave portion and the convex portion (Figure 10B, paragraph 0136, teaches The first conductive layer in contact with the concave-and-convex surface of the fourth insulating layer may also have a concave-and-convex shape), as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 8, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein each of a lower surface of the concave portion and the upper surface of the convex portion has a round shape (Figure 10B), as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 9, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein an inclination of the pattern unit continuously changes from the concave portion to the convex portion in a cross-section (Figure 10B), as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein at least one insulating layer (fourth insulating layer 114 + fifth insulating layer 115 + sixth insulating layer 116 + bending protective layer 600, Figure 8, paragraph 0129, teaches A portion of the fourth insulating layer may fill at least a portion of the trench of the inorganic insulating layer. The portion of the fourth insulating layer may be located in the trench of the inorganic insulating layer. The first conductive layer may be located on the fourth insulating layer of the peripheral area. The fifth insulating layer and the sixth insulating layer may be located above the first conductive layer. Opposing ends of the first conductive layer may be exposed without being covered by the fifth insulating layer and the sixth insulating layer. The bending protective layer may be located on the sixth insulating layer of the peripheral area. By adjusting a thickness, modulus, or the like of the bending protective layer when locating the bending protective layer above the first conductive layer, a location of a stress neutral plane with respect to a laminate including all of the substrate, the construction member, the first conductive layer, and the bending protective layer may be adjusted to minimize tensile stress) is disposed on the bending area, and wherein the pattern unit includes a plurality of groove portions (Figure 10B) repeatedly disposed in a direction in which the plurality of lines extend and formed in the at least one insulating layer, as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 11, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of lines is disposed to contact the flexible substrate in the groove or to contact another insulating layer disposed between the flexible substrate and the at least one insulating layer (Figure 8), as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches further comprising: a thin film transistor (thin-film transistor 130, Figure 8, paragraph 0094, teaches a display element, and a thin-film transistor and a capacitor, which are electrically connected to the display element, may be located in the display area of the substrate. In such an embodiment, a first electrode of the display element may be electrically connected to the thin-film transistor. In an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 4, the display element may be the organic light-emitting diode OLED. In such an embodiment, the thin-film transistor and the capacitor may be one of the first to seventh transistors and the capacitor included in the pixel circuit) disposed on the flexible substrate corresponding to the active area; a first planarization layer (fourth insulating layer 114, Figure 8, paragraph 0103, teaches The pixel circuit including the thin-film transistor and the capacitor may be covered by a fourth insulating layer and a fifth insulating layer. The fourth insulating layer and the fifth insulating layer may be a planarization insulating layer and an organic insulating layer) disposed on the thin film transistor; a connection electrode (connection electrode 179, Figure 8, paragraph 0107, teaches The first electrode of the display element may be located on the fifth insulating layer and connected to the thin-film transistor through a connection electrode on the fourth insulating layer) disposed on the first planarization layer and connected to the thin film transistor; a second planarization layer (fifth insulating layer 115, Figure 8) disposed on the connection electrode; and a display unit including a light emitting element (display element DE, Figure 8, paragraph 106, teaches The display element may be located above the fifth insulating layer. The display element may include the first electrode which is the pixel electrode, an intermediate layer, and a second electrode which is an opposite electrode) disposed on the second planarization layer and electrically connected to the connection electrode, wherein the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer extend from the active area to the bending area (paragraph 0120+0129, teaches The first conductive layer extends from the first area to the second area through the bending area and is located on the fourth insulating layer...The first conductive layer may be located on the fourth insulating layer of the peripheral area. The fifth insulating layer and the sixth insulating layer may be located above the first conductive layer), as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 13, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein the pattern unit is formed of the first planarization layer, and the second planarization layer is disposed on the plurality of lines (Figure 8), as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches the flexible display device of claim 13, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) further teaches wherein the pattern unit includes the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer (Figure 8), as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0388784A1) teaches a flexible display device (display device, Figure 1, paragraph 0050, teaches An embodiment of the display device may include an electronic device such as a smartphone, a mobile phone, a navigation device, a game device, a television (“TV”), a head unit for car, a notebook computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a personal media play (“PMP”), a personal digital assistant (“FDA”), or the like. In such an embodiment, the electronic device may include a flexible device), comprising: a substrate (substrate 100, Figure 1 or 3, paragraph 0055, teaches the substrate may include at least one of various materials having flexible or bendable characteristics) including an active area (display area DA + display member 200 & first area A1, Figure 3, paragraphs 0052-0053+0056, teaches the display device may include the substrate having a first area...The first area may include the display area...display member for displaying an image may be located in the display area of the first area) having a plurality of pixels (pixels PX, Figure 3, paragraph 0056, teaches The display member may include a plurality of pixels, and each of the pixels may include a display element and a pixel circuit including a thin-film transistor for controlling light emission of the display element, or the like) and a non-active area (second area A2 + bending area BA + peripheral area PA, Figure 3, paragraphs 0052-0053, teaches the display device may include the substrate having a first area, a second area, and a bending area between the first area and the second area...The first area may include the display area and the peripheral area which a non-display area surrounding the display area. The second area may also include the peripheral area) having a bending area (bending area BA, Figure 3, paragraph 0054, teaches The substrate may have a bending area extending in a first direction. The bending area may be included in the peripheral area) bendable along a bending direction (bending axis BAX or first direction D1, Figure 1 & 3, paragraph 0054, teaches The substrate may have a bending area extending in a first direction. The bending area may be included in the peripheral area); a plurality of stress reducing parts (fourth insulating layer 114, Figure 8, paragraph 0135, teaches As the upper surface of the fourth insulating layer and the upper and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer have a large surface area, thereby reducing the tensile stress in the fourth insulating layer and the upper and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer due to the bending of the substrate or the like) disposed on the flexible substrate in the bending area and extending along the bending direction or a different direction from the bending direction; a plurality of circuit lines (first conductive layer 230, Figure 8, paragraph 0136, teaches The first conductive layer in contact with the concave-and-convex surface of the fourth insulating layer may also have a concave-and-convex shape) disposed to match a contour of the plurality of stress reducing parts and extending along the different direction from the bending direction; and a circuit line protecting layer (bending protective layer 600, Figure 8, paragraph 0129, teaches The bending protective layer may be located on the sixth insulating layer of the peripheral area. By adjusting a thickness, modulus, or the like of the bending protective layer when locating the bending protective layer above the first conductive layer, a location of a stress neutral plane with respect to a laminate including all of the substrate, the construction member, the first conductive layer, and the bending protective layer may be adjusted to minimize tensile stress) covering the plurality of circuit lines, as claimed.
Conclusion
/KAREEM M MOHAMED-ALY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898