DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on June 23, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 23, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
suspension plasma spray device in claim 1;
fluid flow system in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1-line 5 recites “plurality of apertures”, however this recitation is previously recited. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as the plurality of apertures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellino (US 2013/0171353) in view of von Niessen (US 2012/0087802).
In regards to claims 1 and 14, Bellino teaches a system (100) comprising:
a part coater (20, suspension plasma spray device) such as a thermal spray gun, which applies a coating onto an article (10, component) which has a plurality of passageways (12, apertures) (fig. 1-2; para. 18-20);
a pressure masker (30, fluid flow system) flows fluid through the plurality of passageways, where the flow of fluid reduces the coating within the plurality of passageways (fig; 1-3; para. 25-30).
Bellino does not explicitly teach the fluid flow through at least one aperture of the plurality of apertures in the surface of the component is from about 0.095 cubic feet per minute (cfm) to about 0.350 cfm.
However, von Niessen teaches a turbine vane (1) comprising a plurality of cooling air bores (5). von Niessen teaches a flow of air or an inert gas flows through plurality of cooling air bores to prevent a coating material from penetrating into the bore. von Niessen the flow ranges up to 1- standard liters per minute (SLPM) (0.0353CFM) or up to 5-SLPM (0.1766) (para. 11-14, 30-33, 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the flow rate of air up to 1 or 5-SLPM of von Niessen onto the pressure masker of Bellino because von Niessen teaches it will provide a flow which does not degrade the coating process and also prevent coating within the bore (para. 36).
In regards to claim 2, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, where Bellino teaches each respective aperture of the plurality of passageways defines a perimeter, the fluid flow through each respective passageway of the plurality of passageways allows for deposition of the coating on the surface outside of the perimeter, and prevent deposition of the coating material inside the perimeter (fig. 2-3; para. 30, 33).
In regards to claim 3, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, where Bellino teaches the plurality of passageways are provide a circular perimeter which provides a radius (fig. 1);
the surface defines an aperture region surrounding the aperture around the passageway, the part coater deposits a constant thickness of coating material on the surface outside the aperture region (fig. 1-2; para. 24, 31-32).
Bellino and von Niessen does not explicitly teach the aperture region includes the area of the surface within two times the aperture radius.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have sized the the aperture region includes the area of the surface within two times the aperture radius, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP-2144.05-II-A).
In regards to claim 5, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, where Bellino teaches the coating applied is a thermal barrier coating ("TBC") (para. 20).
In regards to claim 10, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, where Bellino teaches
the surface of the article is a first surface, the article defines a second surface opposite the first surface (fig. 2-3), and at least one aperture of the plurality of passageways defines an outlet of a cooling channel fluidically connecting the first surface and the second surface through the article (fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 11, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, where Bellino teaches the article is a combustor liner or other component of a gas turbine engine (para. 18).
In regards to claim 12, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, where Bellino teaches the use of nitrogen (para. 29) and von Niessen teaches the use of air flows through the cooling air bores (para. 30). With regards to specific regarding the gases used during processing, the courts have held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim (MPEP 2115).
Claims 4 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellino and von Niessen as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 10-12 and 14 above, and further in view of Burd (US 2014/0255158).
In regards to claim 4, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the aperture radius of each respective aperture of the plurality of apertures is between about 0.001 inches and about 0.020 inches.
However, Burd teaches a turbine stator (20) comprising a plurality of cooling holes (22) which have a diameter of 0.020-0.125 inches (0.5-3.2 mm) (para. 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the cooling hole diameter of 0.020-0.125 inches (0.5-3.2 mm) of Burd onto the passageways of Bellino and von Niessen because Burd teaches it will prevents or minimizes the adhesion of the coating in the air path from the cooling holes (para. 42).
It is noted this parameter is directed to the component which is coated. The courts have held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim (MPEP 2115).
In regards to claim 13, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the air is compressed at between about 50 pounds per square inch (psi) and about 150 psi.
However, Burd teaches the flow of air, nitrogen or other inert gas, through plurality of cooling holes at a pressure in the range of 10-200 psi (para. 11-12, 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the pressure supplied to the cooling holes of Burd onto the passageways of Bellino and von Niessen because Burd teaches it will prevents or minimizes the adhesion of the coating in the air path from the cooling holes (para. 42).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellino and von Niessen as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 10-12 and 14 above, and further in view of Hazel (US 2019/0106780).
In regards to claim 6-9, Bellino and von Niessen as discussed, but do not explicitly teach coating material is configured to form a coating which defines a columnar microstructure, coating material defines a median particle size that is less than about 1 micrometer (μm), the suspension plasma spray device is configured to suspend the coating material in a liquid carrier of ethyl alcohol.
However, Hazel teaches multi-layer ceramic barrier coat (106) on a metallic substrate (100) which is a vane (20) of a gas turbine engine. Hazel teaches multi-layer ceramic barrier coat provides a columnar microstructure, a particle size of 0.5-microns that is suspended in a carrier liquid of ethanol liquid (fig. 2; para. 7, 38, 44, 51-53, 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the ceramic coating material of Hazel onto the coating material of Bellino and von Niessen because Hazel teaches it will provide a coating with improved toughness (para. 9-10).
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717