DETAILED ACTION
RCE, received 8/14/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0411546 A1) in view of Roberts et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0323199 A1), hereafter referred to as Roberts.
As to claim 19, Son discloses an apparatus (fig 3A [0020]), comprising:
a stack of materials (470, 485a) comprising a plurality of word lines (485a; [0043]) and a plurality of layers of first insulating material (layer 470 on top of each word line 485a and layer 470 on bottom of each word line 485a; [0046]) between respective word lines (485a) of the plurality of word lines (485a);
a plurality of lateral word line contacts (485b) that couples a respective word line (485a) of the plurality of word lines (485a) with a respective conductive pillar (510; [0056]) of a plurality of conductive pillars (510);
a material (315) in contact with the plurality of word lines (485a);
a second insulating material (505; [0054]) insulating a respective word line (485a) from the plurality of conductive pillars (510); and
a metal oxide semiconductor (MOS including 152, 102, 104, 105; [0026]-[0028]) positioned below the stack of materials (470, 485a) and coupled with each respective conductive pillar (510).
Son does not disclose that the material of insulating material layer 315 that is in contact with the plurality of word lines 485a is carbon-doped.
Nonetheless, Roberts discloses a similar vertical memory device ([0059]-[0060]) that includes a material of insulating material layer (fig 5, layer 16; [0060]) that is in contact with a plurality of word lines (26, 27; [0064] access lines being word line as taught in [0002]) is carbon-doped ([0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to make the material of layer 315 of Son with a carbon doped material layer 16 as taught by Roberts since Roberts teaches that using this carbon-doped material layer was known for providing insulation between word lines and the carbon-doped material would increase the dielectric constant of the insulating material relative to a non-carbon doped silicon dioxide layer taught by Son.
As to claim 20, Son in view of Roberts disclose the apparatus of claim 19 (paragraphs above),
Son further discloses wherein one or more portions (505) of a first word line (385a) of the plurality of word lines (385a) comprise the second insulating material (505) and the first word line (385a) is isolated from one or more conductive pillars (510) of the plurality of conductive pillars (510) based at least in part on the second insulating material (505).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of independent claims 1 or 12. Specifically, the closest prior art reference, Son et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0411546 A1), fails to teach or suggest a method, comprising doping at least one nitride layer of each of one or more levels of the set of levels with a carbon material to form a carbon-doped layer; and forming a lateral word line contact that couples a first word line with a conductive pillar based at least in part on the doping, as recited in claim 1; or wherein a first layer of the plurality of layers insulates the conductive pillar from a second word line of the plurality of word lines, as recited in claim 12.
Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-18 are allowable because of their dependence from one of allowable independent claims 1 or 12.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2013/0037860 A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 8/18/2026