Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed August 4th, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (US 10,871,627) in view of ROSTYKUS (US 2023/0209038), further in view of Lee (US 2022/0229297) and Choi (KR 20220170643 A, as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fang discloses a head-mounted display (Figs. 1-7, Col. 6, lines 4-5, “display device 101 is a head-mounted display”) comprising:
a pair of frames (as shown in figs. 2-3, 101 has a frame housing components) for being worn on a body of a user (Col. 6, lines 4-5, “display device 101 is a head-mounted display”) and corresponding to the eyeballs of the user which include a left eye and a right eye (Col. 6, lines 57-58, “multiple adjustable displays elements (e.g., a display for each eye of a user)”);
a display unit (102) including a pair of display panels (as shown in Fig. 3, there are two display panels 102) respectively mounted to the pair of frames (as shown in Fig. 3, 102 is mounted in the frame of 101), and a pair of multi-channel lenses (104, Col. 6, lines 59-61, “Optics block 104 directs light from display 102 to an exit pupil, for viewing by a user, using one or more optical elements, such as Fresnel lenses”, examiner interprets Fresnel lenses to be multi-channel since each concentric section of a Fresnel lens is a separate channel that light passes through) disposed on a light output path of the pair of display panels (as shown in Fig. 3, 104 is disposed on the light output path of 102);
a pair of eyeball tracking members (Col. 12, lines 33-36, “eye tracking module 110 determines, based on the captured images, a position and/or location of each eye 300 and gaze lines 304 corresponding to the gaze point or location where the user is looking”).
Fang does not specifically disclose a driving member connected to the pair of frames to allow the pair of frames to tilt and/or move in an up, down, left, and right direction, wherein the driving member aligns a center portion of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses in the up, down, left, and right directions with a center of a corresponding user's eyeball, adjusts an angle of the pair of multi-channel lenses, and adjusts a distance between the pair of multi-channel lenses and the corresponding user's eyeball.
However ROSTYKUS, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches a driving member (Figs. 1-5, elements 554 and 594) connected to the pair of frames (20, as shown in Figs. 5C-5H, 554 and 594 are connected to a frame) to allow the pair of frames to tilt and/or move in an up, down, left, and right direction ([0048], “the first display 10 and the second display 40 may be attached to the mounting structure 20”, as shown in Figs. 3-4, the display 10 and optics 30 which are connected to the frame 20, move/tilt in a 2d plane), wherein the driving member aligns a center portion of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses in the up, down, left, and right directions with a center of a corresponding eyeball of the eyeballs ([0050], “the user may adjust the distance between the two displays to the individual interpupillary distance. Further, the first optical arrangement 30 may be configured to allow an adjustment of its diopter”, examiner interprets this to mean the lenses are shifted about a 2d plane centered around the user’s eye), adjusts an angle of the pair of multi-channel lenses (as shown in Figs. 5C-5E, the angle of the lenses is adjusted), and adjusts a distance between the pair of multi-channel lenses and the corresponding eyeball (as shown in Figs. 5F-5H, the distance between the lenses and user’s eye is adjusted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang with the driving member connected to the pair of frames to allow the pair of frames to tilt and/or move in an up, down, left, and right direction, wherein the driving member aligns a center portion of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses in the up, down, left, and right directions with a center of a corresponding user's eyeball, adjusts an angle of the pair of multi-channel lenses, and adjusts a distance between the pair of multi-channel lenses and the corresponding user's eyeball as taught by ROSTYKUS, for the purpose of adaptation for diopter mismatch and interpupillary distance ([0095-0096]).
Modified Fang does not specifically disclose eyeball tracking members, each of which is disposed on a surface of the pair of multichannel lenses and configured to obtain information regarding the eyeballs.
However Lee, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches eyeball tracking members (Figs. 2, 5, and 10, elements IFR_L1 to IFR_L8), each of which is disposed on a surface of the pair of multichannel lenses (as shown in Figs. 2 and 5, IFR_L1 to IFR_L8 are disposed on a surface of LS1 and LS2) and configured to obtain information regarding the eyeballs ([0043], “calculate the position of a user's pupils PP (see FIG. 5), calculate the user's gaze direction”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS with the eyeball tracking members, each of which is disposed on a surface of the pair of multichannel lenses and configured to obtain information regarding the eyeballs as taught by Lee, for the purpose of focusing the image on a user’s pupils ([0059]).
Modified Fang does not specifically disclose wherein, based on the information regarding the eyeballs obtained by the eyeball tracking members, the driving member aligns a center portion of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses.
However Choi, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein, based on the information regarding the eyeballs obtained by the eyeball tracking members ([0053], “eye tracking unit (400) tracks the user's gaze to determine the pupil position”), the driving member aligns a center portion of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses ([0053], “adjust the interpupillary distance by moving a rack (610) fixedly coupled to the pair of lens units using an ultra precision motor (620)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee with the wherein, based on the information regarding the eyeballs obtained by the eyeball tracking members, the driving member aligns a center portion of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses as taught by Choi, for the purpose of automatically adjusting an interpupillary distance ([0009]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the pair of multi-channel lenses include a plurality of sub-lenses, and forms a path of light incident by each sub-lens for each of a plurality of channels.
However Lee, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the pair of multi-channel lenses (Figs. 1-3, elements LS1 and LS2) include a plurality of sub-lenses ([0048], “LS1 may include a plurality of sub-lenses LS11 through LS14 and the second lens LS2 may include a plurality of sub-lenses LS21 through LS24”), and forms a path of light incident by each sub-lens for each of a plurality of channels ([0048], “Each of the sub-lenses LS11 through LS14 may include a lenslet that forms a part of the first lens LS1, and each of the sub-lenses LS21 through LS24 may include a lenslet that forms a part of the second lens LS2”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee and Choi with the wherein the pair of multi-channel lenses include a plurality of sub-lenses, and forms a path of light incident by each sub-lens for each of a plurality of channels as taught by Lee, for the purpose of focusing the image on a user’s pupils ([0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Fang discloses a head-mounted display (Figs. 1-7, Col. 6, lines 4-5, “display device 101 is a head-mounted display”) comprising:
a pair of frames (as shown in figs. 2-3, 101 has a frame housing components) for being worn on a body of a user and corresponding to the eyeballs of the user (Col. 6, lines 4-5, “display device 101 is a head-mounted display”) which include a left eye and a right eye (Col. 6, lines 57-58, “multiple adjustable displays elements (e.g., a display for each eye of a user)”);
a display unit (102) including a pair of display panels (as shown in Fig. 3, there are two display panels 102) respectively mounted to the pair of frames (as shown in Fig. 3, 102 is mounted in the frame of 101) and a pair of multi-channel lenses (104, Col. 6, lines 59-61, “Optics block 104 directs light from display 102 to an exit pupil, for viewing by a user, using one or more optical elements, such as Fresnel lenses”, examiner interprets Fresnel lenses to be multi-channel since each concentric section of a Fresnel lens is a separate channel that light passes through) disposed on a light output path of the pair of display panels (as shown in Fig. 3, 104 is disposed on the light output path of 102);
a pair of eye tracking member (110), to obtain pupil position information about the user's pupil (Col. 12, lines 33-36, “eye tracking module 110 determines, based on the captured images, a position and/or location of each eye 300 and gaze lines 304 corresponding to the gaze point or location where the user is looking”).
Fang does not specifically disclose a driving member connected to the pair of frames to tilt and/or move the frame in an up, down, left, and right direction, wherein the driving member adjusts an up, down, left, and/or right alignment of a center of each of the user's eyeballs corresponding to a center of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses, adjusting an angle of the pair of multi-channel lenses, and adjusting a distance between the pair of multi-channel lenses and an eye of the user's eyeballs based on the pupil position information.
However ROSTYKUS, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches a driving member (Figs. 1-5, elements 554 and 594) connected to the pair of frames (20, as shown in Figs. 5C-5H, 554 and 594 are connected to a frame) to tilt and/or move the frame in an up, down, left, and right direction ([0048], “the first display 10 and the second display 40 may be attached to the mounting structure 20”, as shown in Figs. 3-4, the display 10 and optics 30 which are connected to the frame 20, move/tilt in a 2d plane), wherein the driving member adjusts an up, down, left, and/or right alignment of a center of each of the user's eyeballs corresponding to a center of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses ([0050], “the user may adjust the distance between the two displays to the individual interpupillary distance. Further, the first optical arrangement 30 may be configured to allow an adjustment of its diopter”, examiner interprets this to mean the lenses are shifted about a 2d plane centered around the user’s eye), adjusting an angle of the pair of multi-channel lenses (as shown in Figs. 5C-5E, the angle of the lenses is adjusted), and adjusting a distance between the pair of multi-channel lenses and an eye of the user's eyeballs based on the pupil position information (as shown in Figs. 5F-5H, the distance between the lenses and user’s eye is adjusted to match a pupil position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang with the driving member connected to the pair of frames to tilt and/or move the frame in an up, down, left, and right direction, wherein the driving member adjusts an up, down, left, and/or right alignment of a center of each of the user's eyeballs corresponding to a center of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses, adjusting an angle of the pair of multi-channel lenses, and adjusting a distance between the pair of multi-channel lenses and an eye of the user's eyeballs based on the pupil position information as taught by ROSTYKUS, for the purpose of adaptation for diopter mismatch and interpupillary distance ([0095-0096]).
Modified Fang does not specifically disclose each of which is disposed on an outside surface of the pair of multi-channel lenses.
However Lee, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches each of which (Figs. 2, 5, and 10, elements IFR_L1 to IFR_L8) is disposed on an outside surface of the pair of multi-channel lenses (as shown in Figs. 2 and 5, IFR_L1 to IFR_L8 are disposed on a surface of LS1 and LS2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS with the each of which is disposed on an outside surface of the pair of multi-channel lenses as taught by Lee, for the purpose of focusing the image on a user’s pupils ([0059]).
Modified Fang does not specifically disclose wherein, based on the pupil position information obtained by the eyeball tracking members, the driving member adjusts alignment of a center of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses.
However Choi, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein, based on the pupil position information obtained by the eyeball tracking members ([0053], “eye tracking unit (400) tracks the user's gaze to determine the pupil position”), the driving member adjusts alignment of a center of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses ([0053], “adjust the interpupillary distance by moving a rack (610) fixedly coupled to the pair of lens units using an ultra precision motor (620)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee with the wherein, based on the pupil position information obtained by the eyeball tracking members, the driving member adjusts alignment of a center of each of the pair of multi-channel lenses as taught by Choi, for the purpose of automatically adjusting an interpupillary distance ([0009]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 13 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the eye tracking member (110) comprises:
a light source (Col. 7, line 67, “infrared light”) disposed on the outside surface of the pair of multi-channel lenses and disposed to be directed in a direction toward the eyeballs (Col. 8, lines 1-4, “infrared light is emitted within display device 101 and reflected from each eye. The reflected light is received or detected by the camera (or sensor) and analyzed to extract eye rotation information from changes in the infrared light reflected by each eye”),
a camera or image sensor (302) disposed on the outside surface of the pair of multi-channel lenses and disposed to be directed in the direction of the user's eyeballs (as shown in Fig. 3, 302 faces the user’s eyes) and detecting light emitted from the light source and reflected into the pupils (Col. 12, lines 33-36, “camera 302 captures images of the user's eyes and eye tracking module 110 determines, based on the captured images, a position and/or location of each eye 300 and gaze lines 304 corresponding to the gaze point or location where the user is looking”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 13 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the driving member comprises a first driving unit for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels, wherein the first driving unit comprises: a pair of plates each fixed to the pair of frames and each having a long-shaped hole at one end directed in a longitudinal direction; a rotation gear disposed within the long-shaped hole; and a driving motor for rotating the rotation gear based on the pupil position information, wherein the long-shaped hole is formed with a linear gear for meshing with the rotation gear on one side, wherein the pair of plates is disposed such that each of the long-shaped holes overlaps at least a portion of each other.
However Choi, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the driving member comprises a first driving unit (Figs. 1-9, element 600) for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels ([0043], “an IPD adjustment unit is installed on an optical unit including a pair of lens units for binocular display to adjust the interpupillary distance”), wherein the first driving unit comprises: a pair of plates (610a and 610b) each fixed to the pair of frames (310, 320) and each having a long-shaped hole at one end directed in a longitudinal direction (as shown in Fig. 7, 610a and 610b have long-shaped holes); a rotation gear (as shown in Fig. 7, there is a gear attached to 620) disposed within the long-shaped hole; and a driving motor (620) for rotating the rotation gear based on the pupil position information ([0053], “adjust the interpupillary distance by moving a rack (610) fixedly coupled to the pair of lens units using an ultra precision motor (620)”), wherein the long-shaped hole is formed with a linear gear for meshing with the rotation gear on one side (as shown in Fig. 7, the plates have gears on one side), wherein the pair of plates is disposed such that each of the long-shaped holes overlaps at least a portion of each other (as shown in Figs. 8-9, the holes overlap one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee and Choi with the wherein the driving member comprises a first driving unit for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels, wherein the first driving unit comprises: a pair of plates each fixed to the pair of frames and each having a long-shaped hole at one end directed in a longitudinal direction; a rotation gear disposed within the long-shaped hole; and a driving motor for rotating the rotation gear based on the pupil position information, wherein the long-shaped hole is formed with a linear gear for meshing with the rotation gear on one side, wherein the pair of plates is disposed such that each of the long-shaped holes overlaps at least a portion of each other as taught by Choi, for the purpose of automatically adjusting an interpupillary distance ([0009]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 13 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the driving member (106) comprises a third driving unit (502) for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels and the user's pupil (Col. 7, lines 10-12, “Varifocal actuation block 106 is configured to move display 102 and/or components of optics block 104 to vary the focal plane of display device 101”),
wherein the third driving unit comprises:
an outer pipe (512) having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface (Col. 17, line 6, “nut-sled 512 moves along lead screw 510”);
an inner pipe (510) movably insertable into the outer pipe (Col. 17, line 6, “nut-sled 512 moves along lead screw 510”); and
a motor (502) controlling a direction and amount of movement of the inner pipe (Col. 16, lines 45-46, “lead screw 510 (also referred to herein as a rotational component) driven by motor 502 and nut-sled 512”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 17 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the outer pipe (512) and the inner pipe (510) are disposed in a longitudinal direction which is parallel to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lenses (as shown in Fig. 3, the longitudinal direction of 510 and 512 is parallel to the optical axis of 104).
Regarding claim 19, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 17 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the motor (502) controls a direction and amount of movement of the inner pipe (Col. 16, lines 45-46, “lead screw 510 (also referred to herein as a rotational component) driven by motor 502 and nut-sled 512”) according to whether the user wears glasses (Col. 7, lines 10-12, “Varifocal actuation block 106 is configured to move display 102 and/or components of optics block 104 to vary the focal plane of display device 101”, examiner interprets this to mean the motor controls 510 to move when the user wears glasses since wearing glasses will cause a change in focal length which 106 will then move 510 to accommodate the change in focal length).
Claims 2-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (US 10,871,627) in view of ROSTYKUS (US 2023/0209038), further in view of Lee (US 2022/0229297), Choi (KR 20220170643 A, as evidenced by the machine translation) and Chan (US 2020/0174284).
Regarding claim 2, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the driving member (106) comprises: a third driving unit (502) for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels and a pupil of the eyeballs (Col. 7, lines 10-12, “Varifocal actuation block 106 is configured to move display 102 and/or components of optics block 104 to vary the focal plane of display device 101”).
Modified Fang does not specifically disclose wherein the driving member comprises, a first driving unit for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels; a second driving unit for tilting the pair of display panels about a central axis and adjusting a tilting angle of the pair of display panels.
However ROSTYKUS, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the driving member (Figs. 1-5, elements 554 and 594) comprises, a first driving unit (Fig. 3, 310) for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels ([0050], “the mounting structure 20 is configured to allow an adjustment of a distance of the first display 10 to the second display 40”); a second driving unit (554) for tilting the pair of display panels about a central axis and adjusting a tilting angle of the pair of display panels ([0057], “a tilt adjuster 554 for manual adjustment of the tilt arranged on a side of the display opposite to the side of the optical arrangement and between the eyes of the user”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS, further in view of Lee and Choi with the wherein the driving member comprises, a first driving unit for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels; a second driving unit for tilting the pair of display panels about a central axis and adjusting a tilting angle of the pair of display panels as taught by ROSTYKUS, for the purpose of adaptation for diopter mismatch and interpupillary distance ([0095-0096]).
Modified Fang does not specifically disclose a fourth driving unit for vertically moving the pair of display panels.
However Chan, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches a fourth driving unit (Fig. 2, 50Y) for vertically moving the pair of display panels ([0030], “Positioners 50Y may be used to adjust the respective positions of displays 40L and 40R along the Y-axis of FIG. 2”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS, further in view of Lee and Choi with the fourth driving unit for vertically moving the pair of display panels as taught by Chan, for the purpose of adjusting position based on refractive characteristics of the eyes of the user ([0031]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 2 rejection above and Fang further discloses the eyeball tracking members (110) include a camera (302) disposed on an outside surface of a corresponding multi-channel lens of the pair of multi-channel lenses (as shown in Fig. 3, 302 is outside the lenses 104) and disposed to be directed toward the corresponding eyeball (Col. 12, lines 33-36, “eye tracking module 110 determines, based on the captured images, a position and/or location of each eye 300 and gaze lines 304 corresponding to the gaze point or location where the user is looking”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 3 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein each of the eye tracking member (110) obtains pupil position information from an image acquired by the camera based on a previously stored eye tracking algorithm (Col. 7, lines 59-64, “a camera or other optical sensor (typically located inside display device 101) captures image information of a user's eyes, and eye tracking module 110 uses the captured information to determine interpupillary distance, interocular distance, a three-dimensional (3D) position of each eye”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 4 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first driving unit comprises, a pair of plates each fixed to the pair of frames and each having a long-shaped hole at one end directed in a longitudinal direction; a rotating gear disposed within each of the long-shaped holes; and a driving motor for rotating the rotation gear based on the pupil position information; wherein the long-shaped holes are formed having a linear gear for meshing with the rotary gear on one side, wherein the pair of plates is disposed such that each of the long-shaped holes overlaps at least a portion of each other.
However Choi, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the first driving unit (Figs. 1-9, element 600) comprises, a pair of plates (610a and 610b) each fixed to the pair of frames (310, 320) and each having a long-shaped hole at one end directed in a longitudinal direction (as shown in Fig. 7, 610a and 610b have long-shaped holes); a rotating gear (as shown in Fig. 7, there is a gear attached to 620) disposed within each of the long-shaped holes; and a driving motor (620) for rotating the rotation gear based on the pupil position information ([0053], “adjust the interpupillary distance by moving a rack (610) fixedly coupled to the pair of lens units using an ultra precision motor (620)”); wherein the long-shaped holes are formed having a linear gear for meshing with the rotary gear on one side (as shown in Fig. 7, the plates have gears on one side), wherein the pair of plates is disposed such that each of the long-shaped holes overlaps at least a portion of each other (as shown in Figs. 8-9, the holes overlap one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee, Choi, and Chan with the wherein the first driving unit comprises, a pair of plates each fixed to the pair of frames and each having a long-shaped hole at one end directed in a longitudinal direction; a rotating gear disposed within each of the long-shaped holes; and a driving motor for rotating the rotation gear based on the pupil position information; wherein the long-shaped holes are formed having a linear gear for meshing with the rotary gear on one side, wherein the pair of plates is disposed such that each of the long-shaped holes overlaps at least a portion of each other as taught by Choi, for the purpose of automatically adjusting an interpupillary distance ([0009]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 4 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the driving member (106) comprises: a third driving unit (502) for adjusting a distance between the pair of display panels and the user's pupil (Col. 7, lines 10-12, “Varifocal actuation block 106 is configured to move display 102 and/or components of optics block 104 to vary the focal plane of display device 101”),
wherein the third driving unit comprises,
an outer pipe (512) having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface (Col. 17, line 6, “nut-sled 512 moves along lead screw 510”);
an inner pipe (510) movably insertable into the outer pipe (Col. 17, line 6, “nut-sled 512 moves along lead screw 510”); and
a motor (502) controlling a direction and amount of movement of the inner pipe (Col. 16, lines 45-46, “lead screw 510 (also referred to herein as a rotational component) driven by motor 502 and nut-sled 512”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 7 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the outer pipe (512) and the inner pipe (510) are disposed in a longitudinal direction parallel to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lenses (as shown in Fig. 3, the longitudinal direction of 510 and 512 is parallel to the optical axis of 104).
Regarding claim 9, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 7 rejection above and Fang further discloses wherein the motor (502) controls a direction and amount of movement of the inner pipe (Col. 16, lines 45-46, “lead screw 510 (also referred to herein as a rotational component) driven by motor 502 and nut-sled 512”) according to whether a user wears glasses (Col. 7, lines 10-12, “Varifocal actuation block 106 is configured to move display 102 and/or components of optics block 104 to vary the focal plane of display device 101”, examiner interprets this to mean the motor controls 510 to move when the user wears glasses since wearing glasses will cause a change in focal length which 106 will then move 510 to accommodate the change in focal length).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (US 10,871,627) in view of ROSTYKUS (US 2023/0209038), further in view of Lee (US 2022/0229297), Choi (KR 20220170643 A, as evidenced by the machine translation), Chan (US 2020/0174284) and Maric (US 2021/0063734).
Regarding claim 6, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 4 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second driving unit comprises a motor controlling a tilting direction and a degree of tilting of the pair of display panels based on the pupil position information.
However Maric, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the second driving unit (Fig. 3, 180) comprises a motor controlling a tilting direction ([0040], “one or more actuators 180 can be provided to move the display element 170 relative to the housing 144”) and a degree of tilting of the pair of display panels based on the pupil position information ([0042], “Operation of the actuators 180 and/or other mechanisms can be based on the detections made by the display sensors 160”, [0045], “corrective adjustments can be made based on the actual image and the target image” examiner interprets this to mean the displays are adjusted to align with a user’s eyes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Chan with the wherein the second driving unit comprises a motor controlling a tilting direction and a degree of tilting of the pair of display panels based on the pupil position information as taught by Maric, for the purpose of aligning the displays ([0045]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (US 10,871,627) in view of ROSTYKUS (US 2023/0209038), further in view of Lee (US 2022/0229297), Choi (KR 20220170643 A, as evidenced by the machine translation), Chan (US 2020/0174284), and Inagaki (JPH08292394A, as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 4 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the fourth driving unit comprises, an outer pipe having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface; an inner pipe movably insertable into the outer pipe; and a motor for controlling a direction and an amount of movement of the inner pipe based on the pupil position information.
However Inagaki, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the fourth driving unit (Figs. 33 and 35, elements 333) comprises, an outer pipe (examiner interprets 333 itself to be the outer pipe) having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface (as shown in Fig. 33, 344 goes through 333); an inner pipe (344) movably insertable into the outer pipe (as shown in Fig. 33, 344 goes through 333); and a motor for controlling a direction and an amount of movement of the inner pipe based on the pupil position information ([0160], “The vertical movement motors 333 to 335 are ultra-compact motors that move the display units 331 and 332 in the vertical direction … The vertical movement motors 333-335, horizontal movement motors 338-341, and supports 336, 337, 342, and 343 described above constitute the display unit driving means for controlling the image field of view”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee, Choi, and Chan with the wherein the fourth driving unit comprises, an outer pipe having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface; an inner pipe movably insertable into the outer pipe; and a motor for controlling a direction and an amount of movement of the inner pipe based on the pupil position information as taught by Inagaki, for the purpose of controlling the field of view ([0160]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 10 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the outer pipe and the inner pipe of the fourth driving unit are disposed in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lens.
However Inagaki, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the outer pipe (Fig. 33, 333) and the inner pipe (344) of the fourth driving unit are disposed in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lens (as shown in Fig. 33, 333 and the respective 344 that 333 rides along are in the longitudinal direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee, Choi, Chan and Inagaki with the wherein the outer pipe and the inner pipe of the fourth driving unit are disposed in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lens as taught by Inagaki, for the purpose of controlling the field of view ([0160]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (US 10,871,627) in view of ROSTYKUS (US 2023/0209038), further in view of Lee (US 2022/0229297), Choi (KR 20220170643 A, as evidenced by the machine translation), and Maric (US 2021/0063734).
Regarding claim 16, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 13 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the driving member comprises a second driving unit tilting a disposition direction of the pair of display panels about a central axis and adjusting a tilting angle of the pair of display panels, wherein the second driving unit includes a motor controlling a tilting direction and a degree of tilting of the pair of display panels based on the pupil position information.
However Maric, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the driving member (Fig. 3, 180) comprises a second driving unit tilting a disposition direction (as shown in Fig. 3, 180 tilts display 170) of the pair of display panels about a central axis ([0040], “one or more actuators 180 can be provided to move the display element 170 relative to the housing 144”) and adjusting a tilting angle of the pair of display panels (as shown in Fig. 4, the tilting angle is adjusted), wherein the second driving unit includes a motor controlling a tilting direction ([0040], “one or more actuators 180 can be provided to move the display element 170 relative to the housing 144”) and a degree of tilting of the pair of display panels based on the pupil position information ([0042], “Operation of the actuators 180 and/or other mechanisms can be based on the detections made by the display sensors 160”, [0045], “corrective adjustments can be made based on the actual image and the target image” examiner interprets this to mean the displays are adjusted to align with a user’s eyes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee and Choi with the wherein the driving member comprises a second driving unit tilting a disposition direction of the pair of display panels about a central axis and adjusting a tilting angle of the pair of display panels, wherein the second driving unit includes a motor controlling a tilting direction and a degree of tilting of the pair of display panels based on the pupil position information as taught by Maric, for the purpose of aligning the displays ([0045]).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (US 10,871,627) in view of ROSTYKUS (US 2023/0209038), further in view of Lee (US 2022/0229297), Choi (KR 20220170643 A, as evidenced by the machine translation), and Inagaki (JPH08292394, as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claim 20, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 13 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the driving member comprises a fourth driving unit for vertically moving the pair of display panels, wherein the fourth driving unit comprises, an outer pipe having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface; an inner pipe movably insertable into the outer pipe; and a motor for controlling a direction and an amount of movement of the inner pipe based on the pupil position information.
However Inagaki, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the driving member comprises a fourth driving unit (Figs. 33 and 35, elements 333) for vertically moving the pair of display panels (351), wherein the fourth driving unit comprises, an outer pipe (examiner interprets 333 itself to be the outer pipe) having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface (as shown in Fig. 33, 344 goes through 333); an inner pipe (344) movably insertable into the outer pipe (as shown in Fig. 33, 344 goes through 333); and a motor for controlling a direction and an amount of movement of the inner pipe based on the pupil position information ([0160], “The vertical movement motors 333 to 335 are ultra-compact motors that move the display units 331 and 332 in the vertical direction … The vertical movement motors 333-335, horizontal movement motors 338-341, and supports 336, 337, 342, and 343 described above constitute the display unit driving means for controlling the image field of view”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee and Choi with the wherein the driving member comprises a fourth driving unit for vertically moving the pair of display panels, wherein the fourth driving unit comprises, an outer pipe having a hollow inside and a through hole formed through an outer circumferential surface; an inner pipe movably insertable into the outer pipe; and a motor for controlling a direction and an amount of movement of the inner pipe based on the pupil position information as taught by Inagaki, for the purpose of controlling the field of view ([0160]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Fang teaches as is set forth in claim 20 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the outer pipe and the inner pipe of the fourth driving unit are disposed in a longitudinal direction which is perpendicular to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lens.
However Inagaki, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a head-mounted display, teaches wherein the outer pipe (Fig. 33, 333) and the inner pipe (344) of the fourth driving unit are disposed in a longitudinal direction which is perpendicular to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lens (as shown in Fig. 33, 333 and the respective 344 that 333 rides along are in the longitudinal direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the head-mounted display of Fang in view of ROSTYKUS further in view of Lee, Choi, and Inagaki with the wherein the outer pipe and the inner pipe of the fourth driving unit are disposed in a longitudinal direction which is perpendicular to an optical axis of the pair of multi-channel lens as taught by Inagaki, for the purpose of controlling the field of view ([0160]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 29 September 2026