DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does relies on a new reference for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0262874 (Shin), cited by Applicant in view of WO Publication No. 2020/186500 (Zhou).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Shin discloses (at least Figs. 8, 11, 13)
1. (Currently amended) A stretchable display apparatus comprising:
a substrate SUB including two island regions ISL and a connection region BR, wherein the two island regions ISL are located apart from each other and the connection region BR connects the two island regions ISL to each other;
sub-pixel circuits PXE, PX1-PX3 arranged in the two island regions ISL;
light-emitting diodes OLED arranged in the two island regions ISL and electrically connected to the sub-pixel circuits PXE, PX1-PX3;
a wiring GL, SDL arranged in the connection region BR and electrically connected to the sub-pixel circuit PXE, PX1-PX3 arranged in a first island region ISL which is one of the two island regions ISL; and
an insulating layer OL, PDL disposed on the wiring GL, SDL.
Shin fails to disclose
wherein at least one of the connection region or the insulating layer includes a first portion located adjacent to the first island region and a second portion located away from the first island region, wherein the second portion has a thickness which is less than a thickness of the first portion.
Zhou teaches
A stretchable display apparatus comprising:
wherein at least one of the connection region 14 / 12 or the insulating layer includes a first portion 12 located adjacent to the first island region 20 and a second portion 14 located away from the first island region 20, wherein the second portion 14 has a thickness which is less than a thickness of the first portion 12.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two portions of the connecting region having a different thickness in Shin. The motivation would be to make the connection region more readily deformable and elongated during stretching while reducing deformation of the island regions as taught by Zhou (Summary).
Zhou teaches (Figs. 1, 8, 9)
2. (Original) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the connection region 14 / 12 of the substrate 10 has a first length 142 extending in a lengthwise direction X of the connection region 14 / 12 and a first width 144 that is directed perpendicular to the first length Y, and wherein the first length 142 is greater than the first width 144.
Zhou teaches
3. (Currently Amended) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12,wherein the connection region 14 / 12 of the substrate 10 includes: the first portion 12 located adjacent to the first island region 20; and the second portion 14 located away from the first island region, wherein a lower surface of the first portion 12 and a lower surface of the second portion 14 form a step difference.
Shin discloses ([0112])
9. The stretchable display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the insulating layer OL, PDL includes an organic insulating material.
Shin discloses
10. The stretchable display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the insulating layer OL, PDL extends to the first island region ISL of the substrate SUB, and a portion of the insulating layer OL, PDL located in the first island region ISL is disposed between a transistor T1-T7 of a sub-pixel circuit PXE, PX1-PX3 arranged in the first island region ISL and a first electrode (anode) of a light-emitting diode OLED electrically connected to the transistor T1-T7.
Shin discloses
11. The stretchable display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first island region ISL of the substrate SUB includes a step difference located in an edge of the first island region 111 ([0124], [0165], [0171]).
Shin discloses (at least Figs. 8, 11, 13)
12. (Currently amended) A stretchable display apparatus comprising:
a plurality of island portions ISL each including a sub-pixel circuit PXE, PX1-PX3 and a light-emitting diode OLED electrically connected to the sub-pixel circuit PXE, PX1-PX3; and
a connection portion BR connecting two adjacent island portions ISL among the plurality of island portions ISL to each other, wherein the connection portion BR includes:
a wiring GL, SDL electrically connected to a sub-pixel circuit PXE, PX1-PX3 of a first island portion ISL, which is one of the two adjacent island portions ISL;
a lower layer SUB disposed under the wiring GL, SDL; and
an upper layer OL, PDL disposed on the wiring GL, SDL.
wherein at least one of the lower layer or the upper layer of the connection portion includes a first portion located adjacent to the first island region and a second portion located away from the first island region, wherein the second portion has a thickness which is less than a thickness of the first portion and includes a concave portion with respect to the first portion.
Shin fails to disclose
wherein at least one of the lower layer or the upper layer of the connection portion includes a first portion located adjacent to the first island region and a second portion located away from the first island region, wherein the second portion has a thickness which is less than a thickness of the first portion and includes a concave portion with respect to the first portion.
Zhou teaches
A stretchable display apparatus comprising:
wherein at least one of the lower layer 10 or the upper layer 50 of the connection portion 14 / 12 includes a first portion 12 located adjacent to the first island region 20 and a second portion 14 located away from the first island region 20, wherein the second portion 14 has a thickness which is less than a thickness of the first portion 12 and includes a concave portion 14a.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two portions of the connecting region having a different thickness and a concave portion in Shin. The motivation would be to make the connection region more readily deformable and elongated during stretching while reducing deformation of the island regions as taught by Zhou (Summary).
Shin discloses ([0050])
17. The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the lower layer SUB is a substrate including a polymer resin.
Shin discloses ([0102], [0112])
18. The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the upper layer OL, PDL is an organic insulating layer.
The combination of references teaches
19. (Currently Amended) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first island portion ISL includes a first lower layer and a first upper layer, wherein the first lower layer includes a same material as a material of the lower layer of the connection portion BR, and the first upper layer includes a same material as a material of the upper layer of the connection portion BR, and at least one of the first lower layer and the first upper layer of the first island portion ISL includes portions that have a different thickness (Zhou).
Shin discloses
20. The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12, further including an insulating layer OL, PDL disposed on the wiring GL, SDL.
Claim(s) 4, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Zhou as applied to claim 3, 12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0242468 (Choi).
The combination of references fails to teach
4. (Original) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the second portion includes a concave portion with respect to the first portion, and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion is about 5 µm.
The combination of references fails to teach
15. (Currently Amended) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the lower layer of the connection portion includes the first portion and the second portion, and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion is about 5 µm.
The combination of references fails to teach
16. (Currently Amended) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the upper layer of the connection portion includes the first portion and the second portion, and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion is about 3 µm.
Choi teaches ([0250]-[0252])
A display apparatus comprising:
wherein the second portion 715 includes a concave portion 761 with respect to the first portion (Zhou 12), and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion 761 is about 5 µm;
wherein the lower layer of the connection portion includes the first portion (Zhou) and the second portion 715, and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion 761 is about 5 µm;
wherein the upper layer of the connection portion includes the first portion (Zhou) and the second portion 715, and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion 761 is about 3 µm.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the concave portion of the second portion having a certain depth in the modified device of Shin. The motivation would be to provide a localized reduced-width / recessed configuration as a predictable variation to improve the side visibility and display quality of a liquid crystal display device as taught by Choi ([0616]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Zhou as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of KR Publication No. 2021/0048807 (Eom).
The combination of references fails to teach
6. (Currently Amended) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 2, wherein an insulating layer in the connection region of the substrate includes: the first portion located adjacent to the first island region; and the second portion located away from the first island region, wherein an upper surface of the first portion and an upper surface of the second portion form a step difference.
Eom teaches
A stretchable display apparatus comprising:
wherein an insulating layer 190, 112, 113, 114 in the connection region (beneath wiring 182) of the substrate 111 includes: the first portion located adjacent to the first island region (portion of 190 covering upper surface / edge of island side stack 112/113/114); and the second portion located away from the first island region (portion of 190 extending toward connection region beneath wiring 182), wherein an upper surface of the first portion and an upper surface of the second portion form a step difference (insulating side surfaces form step/slope).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an insulating layer having a step difference in the modified device of Shin. The motivation would be to reduce stress cracking of the connection wiring across the island-to-connection transition as taught by Eom.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Zhou and Eom as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Choi.
The combination of references fails to teach
7. (Original) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the second portion includes a concave portion with respect to the first portion, and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion is about 3 µm.
Choi teaches ([0250]-[0252])
A display apparatus comprising:
wherein the second portion 715 includes a concave portion 761 with respect to the first portion (Zhou 12), and wherein a maximum value of a depth of the concave portion is about 3 µm.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the concave portion of the second portion having a certain depth in the modified device of Shin. The motivation would be to provide a localized reduced-width / recessed configuration as a predictable variation to improve the side visibility and display quality of a liquid crystal display device as taught by Choi ([0616]).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the cited art discloses or teaches:
5. (Original) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 3, wherein a maximum value of a width of the second portion of the connection region of the substrate is about 0.5 times the first width.
8. (Original) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the insulating layer has a second width directed in a same direction as a direction of the first width, and wherein a maximum value of a width of the second portion of the insulating layer is about 0.5 times the second width.
14. (Currently Amended) The stretchable display apparatus of claim 12, wherein a maximum value of a width of the second portion is about 0.5 times a width of the connection portion ranging from the first side of the connection portion to the second side.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2020/0410909 (Jung), 2016/0049602 (Kim), 2024/0319770 (Yoon), CN Publication No. 115802809 (Yin), WO Publication Nos. 2021/153491 (Umezawa), WO 2022/107799 (Yamauchi), KR Publication No. 2018/0021306 (Hong) teach island regions for active display elements and connection regions for bridging wiring with a modified cross-sectional shape of the connection region so that one side is thicker than the other.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893