Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10 to 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Evelyn et al (2013/0323490).
The D’Evelyn et al reference teaches a group III metal nitride free standing crystal and method of growing, note, entire reference. The D’Evelyn et al reference teaches a wurtzite structure and a growth direction of [0001] claim 20. The orientation of a dislocation density of the major face of the grown crystal of less than 1*10⁴ cm² claim 4, and the presence of at least one dopant, for example O and H, at a concentration of 1*10¹⁶ cm³ to 1x10²¹ cm³ , note claims . At least 50% of the dislocations are expected to having an orientation within 30 degrees of the growth direction. The product further is a crystal which has at least four sets of bands, wherein each set of bands includes a first sub- band and a second sub-band, the first sub-band having a concentration of at least one impurity selected from H, O, Li, Na, K, F, CI, Br, and I that is higher, by a factor between about 1.05 and about 100, than a concentration of the same impurity within the second sub-band; and each of the at least four sets of bands have at least portions that are substantially parallel, a thickness of each of the at least four sets of bands in the growth direction being between about 0.1 micrometer and about 500 micrometers. The process for forming a gallium nitride boule or wafer, comprising: forming a single crystalline layer at least one millimeter thick on a surface of at least one seed crystal, wherein forming the single crystalline layer comprises: heating a sealable container to a temperature above about 200°C, wherein an interior region of the sealable container comprises the at least one seed crystal, a polycrystalline group III metal nitride nutrient material, a mineralizer material, and ammonia, a first region of the interior region comprises the polycrystalline GaN nutrient, a second region of the interior region comprises the at least one seed crystal, and the heating of the sealable container causes a pressure within interior region of the sealable container to be above 50 MPa; and sequentially adjusting a temperature difference between the first region and the second region, wherein the temperature difference has a magnitude between about 1 degree Celsius and about 100 degrees Celsius, for example 5°C , note examples. The sole difference between the instant claims and the prior art is the size of the crystal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the D’Evelyn et al reference to have a maximum edge to edge first surface in order to have a larger crystal surface to employ in further processing, note similar manufacturing steps.
With regards to claims 7 and 13, the D’Evelyn et al reference teaches the orientation being within 10 degrees of the (0001) plane, note claims.
With regards to claim 10, the D’Evelyn et al reference teaches the more than 8 bands claim 8.
With regards to claim 11, the D’Evelyn et al reference teaches the sub bands with differing concentrations, note, para 0065.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Evelyn et al (2013/0323490).
The D’Evelyn et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the third surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the D’Evelyn et al reference to have the third surface have similar impurities as the first in order to have a uniform crystal, noting the reference teaches a 3 dimensional crystal.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Evelyn et al (2013/0323490).
The D’Evelyn et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the band thickness. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the D’Evelyn et al reference to have a band thickness in order to have the impurities in one level of the crystal.
Claims 3, 6 and 14 to 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instantly claimed invention. The prior art does not teach the oxygen depth and amounts. Plus, the cooling heating cycle of the claims.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in free standing nitride crystal growth.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714