DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 06/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the deficiencies talked about later must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Pertaining to Claim 12 applicant states
"wherein the second corner mesa contact structure is formed by removing the higher layers relative to the second n-type contact electrode layer to expose a portion of the second n-type contact electrode layer". Examiner believes applicant either meant 'relative to the second the second n-type semiconductor layer' (603) which is supported in the written specification and Figure 1 or, examiner objects to the drawings as not showing all aspects of the claims see MPEP 608.02(d)
"wherein the third corner mesa contact structure is formed by removing the higher layers relative to the third n-type semiconductor layer". Examiner believes applicant either meant 'relative to the first n-type contact electrode layer' (101) which is supported in Figure 1 or, examiner objects to the drawings as not showing all aspects of the claims see MPEP 608.02(d)
Pertaining to Claim 13 applicant states
"wherein the first wiring layer electrically connects the second n-type contact electrode layer and the first n-type contact electrode layer" Examiner believes applicant either meant 'connects the second n-type semiconductor layer and the first n-type contact electrode' (603 and 101) which is supported in Figure 1 or, examiner objects to the drawings as not showing all aspects of the claims see MPEP 608.02(d)
"wherein the second wiring layer electrically connects the third n-type contact electrode layer and the second n-type contact electrode layer" Examiner believes applicant either meant 'connects the third n-type semiconductor layer and the second n-type contact electrode layer' (701 and 102) which is supported in Figure 1 or, examiner objects to the drawings as not showing all aspects of the claims see MPEP 608.02(d)
Pertaining to Claim 14 applicant states
"wherein the first contact hole is formed by removing the higher layers relative to the second n-type contact electrode layer..." Examiner believes applicant either meant 'relative to the common electrode layer' (400) which is supported in Figure 1 or, examiner objects to the drawings as not showing all aspects of the claims see MPEP 608.02(d)
"wherein the second contact hole is formed by removing the higher layers relative to the first n-type contact electrode layer " Examiner believes applicant either meant 'relative to the second n-type semiconductor layer' (603) which is supported in Figure 1 or, examiner objects to the drawings as not showing all aspects of the claims see MPEP 608.02(d)
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant states
"The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 2, wherein the first to third current blocking layers consist of a p-type semiconductor or an insulating material, respectively."
Examiner is not aware of how the term "respectively" is being used in this context. Examiner will treat this claim such that any of the three current blocking layers may consist of a p-type semiconductor or an insulating material. Examiner will not require that all three be made of the same material, just as long as each are made of either acceptable material.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by James Chinmo Kim (US 20200402964 A1) herein after referred to as "Kim"
Regarding Claim 1 Kim teaches
An RGB micro-light-emitting diode (Fig.13) comprising:
a substrate; (101)
a first n-type contact electrode layer formed on the substrate; (173)
a second n-type contact electrode layer formed on (in contact with) the first n-type contact electrode layer; (174)
a third n-type contact electrode layer formed on (in contact with) the second n-type contact electrode layer; (171)
a first light-emitting structure formed on (in contact with) the third n-type contact electrode layer; (110)
a first tunnel junction layer formed on the first light-emitting structure; (131 on 110)
a common electrode layer formed on the first tunnel junction layer; (130 on 131)
a second tunnel junction layer formed on the common electrode layer; (132 on 130)
a second light-emitting structure formed on the second tunnel junction layer; and (120 on 132)
a third light-emitting structure formed on the second light-emitting structure; (150 on 120)
wherein the first light-emitting structure (110) is connected to the third n-type contact electrode layer (171), the second light-emitting structure(120) is connected to the first n-type contact electrode layer(173), and the third light-emitting structure(150) is connected to the second n-type contact electrode layer(174), and wherein the RGB micro-light-emitting diode comprises first to third corner mesa contact structures (171, 172, 173) on (above) the third n-type contact electrode layer.(171)
Regarding Claim 2 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode (Fig 13) of claim 1,
further comprising:
a first current blocking layer (140) formed between the first n-type contact electrode layer (173) and the second n-type contact electrode layer (174);
a second current blocking layer (140) formed between the second n-type contact electrode layer(174) and the third n-type contact electrode layer(171); and
a third current blocking layer (140) formed between the second light-emitting structure(120) and the third light-emitting structure.(150)
Regarding Claim 3 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 2, wherein the first to third current blocking layers (140) consist of a p-type semiconductor or an insulating material (Para [0052]), respectively.
Regarding Claim 4 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 1,
further comprising: a first tunnel junction layer(131) formed between the first light-emitting structure (110)and the common electrode layer(130); and a second tunnel junction layer(132) formed between the common electrode layer(130) and the second light-emitting structure. (120)(Fig 13)
Regarding Claim 5 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 1,
wherein the first tunnel junction layer (131)and the second tunnel junction layer(132) comprise n++-GaN layers and p++-GaN layers, respectively, which are sequentially stacked in a symmetrical structure with respect to the common electrode layer.(Para[0064],[0065])
Regarding Claim 6 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 1,
wherein the first light-emitting structure(110) comprises
a first n-type semiconductor layer(111),
a first active layer(112), and
a first p-type semiconductor layer(113), which are sequentially stacked,
wherein the second light-emitting structure(120) comprises
a second p-type semiconductor layer(121),
a second active layer(122), and
a second n-type semiconductor layer(123), which are sequentially stacked, and
wherein the third light-emitting structure(150) comprises
a third n-type semiconductor layer(153),
a third active layer(152),
a third p-type semiconductor layer(151).
Regarding Claim 9 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 1,
wherein the first light-emitting structure generates light of a first wavelength,
the second light-emitting structure generates light of a second wavelength that is longer than the first wavelength,
and the third light-emitting structure generates light of a third wavelength that is longer than the second wavelength.(Para [00025])
Regarding Claim 10 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 9,
wherein the light of the first wavelength is blue (B),
the light of the second wavelength is green (G),
and the light of the third wavelength is red (R).(Para [0025])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Fu-Bang Chen (US 20220231190 A1) herein after referred to as "Chen".
Regarding Claim 7 Kim teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 6, comprising:
electrically connecting the second n-type semiconductor layer(123) and the first n-type contact electrode layer(173);
electrically connecting the third n-type semiconductor layer(153) and the second n-type contact electrode layer(174); and
a common contact electrode layer(172) covering the exposed surface of the common electrode layer(130) and the top of the third p-type semiconductor layer. (151)
Kim does not teach using wiring layers to electrically connect the mentioned layers. And therefore, does not teach
a first wiring layer
and a second wiring layer
Chen does teach that connecting the light emitting semiconductor layer (Fig 1. Element 30) to a n-type electrode layer(60) through a N-type electrode bridging structure(50) and is there for relied upon to teach
a first wiring layer (50)
and a second wiring layer (50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim such that the electrical connection was instead made through a wiring layer, as described in Chen because the modification has a structure that can help with the quality of the image by reducing shading, having high reflectivity, and/or being partially transparent. (Chen Para [0032])
Regarding Claim 8 Kim in view of Chen teaches
The RGB micro-light-emitting diode of claim 7,
wherein the first wiring layer is formed on the exposed portions of the second n-type semiconductor layer and the first n-type contact electrode layer; (as to make electrical contact it is necessary to have the previously taught wiring layer disposed on the layers it is connecting by definition)
and wherein the second wiring layer is formed on the exposed portions of the third n-type semiconductor layer and the second n-type contact electrode layer. (as to make electrical contact it is necessary to have the previously taught wiring layer disposed on the layers it is connecting by definition)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and further in view of Wei Zhang (US 20200052012 A1) herein after referred to as “Zhang”.
Regarding Claim 11 Kim teaches
A method of manufacturing an RGB micro-light-emitting diode, comprising the steps of;
forming a first contact hole to form a first corner mesa contact structure(172) on a vertically-stacked structure;
forming a second contact hole to form a second corner mesa contact structure(173) in a first direction (Fig 2 -x direction) with respect to the first contact hole;
forming a third contact hole to form a third corner mesa contact structure(171) in a second direction (+y) with respect to the second contact hole;
forming a fourth contact hole to form a first contact structure(175) in a third direction (+y) with respect to the first contact hole;
forming a fifth contact hole (a hole in the passivation layer that will be talked about more later on would need a hole disposed in it to create a point of contact to connect to the structure 174 therefore a fifth contact hole) to form a second contact structure (174) in the first direction (-x) with respect to the first contact hole and in a direction (+y) which is diagonal (resulting in a -x+y diagonal) with respect to the second contact hole;
forming a vertically-stacked structure(Fig 13 is formed) including the corner mesa contact structures by etching the vertically-stacked structure (the corner mesa structures were formed by etching Para [0084][0085][0108]), which includes the first contact hole at the first corner (the corner of 172), the second contact hole at the second corner(the corner of 173), the third contact hole at the third corner(the corner of 171), and no contact hole at the fourth corner (fig 2 top right corner), into a rectangular shape to form a pixel mesa structure (the vertically stacked structure is formed into a rectangular shape Fig 2), down to the surface of the third n-type contact electrode layer (171);
Kim does not teach
depositing a passivation layer on the surface of the vertically-stacked structure including the corner mesa contact structures;
etching the passivation layer for electrode connection of the vertically-stacked structure; and
forming a metal contact to connect to the top of the vertically-stacked structure.
Zhang teaches forming a passivation layer (112 Fig 8) over a stacked structure (100) and the points of electrical contact (116) and then etching the passivation layer (Para[0022]) to create opening for a metal contact (118) to then be disposed on top of the passivation layer. Therefore, Zhang is relied upon to teach
depositing a passivation layer (112) on the surface of the vertically-stacked structure (100) including the corner mesa contact structures;
etching (Para[0022]) the passivation layer for electrode connection (openings 114 for contact 118) of the vertically-stacked structure; and
forming a metal contact (118) to connect to the top of the vertically-stacked structure.(Fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim such that the passivation layer is covers the structure but maintains electrical contacts, as described in Zhang because the modification allows for the passivation layer to reduce dark current due to surface leakage and to reduce stress. (Zhang Para [0007])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the drawing objections pertaining to each claims were resolved without introducing new matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 12
The limitation of the second corner mesa structure exposing a n-type contact electrode, and not a positive electrode like taught in the art, is not found in the prior by the examiner.
Regarding Claim 13
The dependence upon claim 12 result in the inheritance of the unfound limitation.
Regarding Claim 14
The limitation of the second contact hole exposing a n-type contact electrode, and not a positive electrode like taught in the art, is not found in the prior by the examiner.
In other words, the three corner contact holes disposed at the three corners and not the fourth each exposing a n-type contact electrode was not found in the prior art
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CHAE; Jong Hyeon (US-20200066690-A1), CHAE; Jong Hyeon (US-20220165718-A1), HWANG; Sungmin (US-20130056785-A1), Chae; Jong Hyeon (US-10892297-B2).
/JAIME LYNN SPRENGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893