DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farbiz et al. US 2019/0073440 A1 (“Farbiz”).
As to claim 1, Farbiz discloses a semiconductor device comprising at least a first cell and a second cell (Paragraphs 5-7 – e.g., cells of a floorplan), each of the first and second cells comprising:
a first well of a first conductivity type (Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 42 – e.g., a P-well or an N-well);
a second well in the first well, wherein the second well has a second conductivity type opposite the first conductivity type (Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 42 – e.g., a N+ or P+ region within the P-well or N-well); and
a discharge pin connected to the second well (Paragraphs 68-72 – e.g., ESD transistors/protection, used with the materials and dopants of the cells/wells); wherein
the semiconductor device further comprises a discharge path connected between the discharge pins of the first and second cells, such that the second wells of the first and second cells are on a same electric potential (Paragraphs 68-72 – e.g., ESD transistors/protection connected to at least a ground potential, see below).
Farbiz teaches cells and ESD protection elements, but does not explicitly show cells with ESDs configured with a same potential. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange cells with ESD protection connected to a common ground because doing so would allow cells within a power domain to be protected from electrical surges/shorts.
As to claim 2, Farbiz discloses the device of claim 1. Farbiz further discloses wherein the first well is a deep N-well, and the second well is an isolated P-well region arranged within the deep N-well (Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 42 – e.g., a P+ region within a N-well region).
As to claim 7, Farbiz discloses the device of claim 1. Farbiz further discloses wherein the first cell further comprises at least a transistor arranged in the second well (Figure 3 – e.g., transistor gate stripes, Paragraph 8 – e.g., ESD transistors between transistor gate stripes).
Claims 8, 9, 14, and 15 recite elements similar to claims 1, 2, and 7, and are rejected for the same reasons.
As to claim 16, Farbiz discloses the device of claim 15. Farbiz further discloses wherein the first cell and the second cell are each a standard cell and/or a tap-less cell with deep N-well (Paragraphs 5-7 – e.g., cells of a floorplan, Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 42 – e.g., a N-well 180).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 10-13, and 17-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest a device or fabrication method having the combination of elements/steps of the claims including, among other elements, the bias configuration or routing/layout details of the claims, in combination with the well, pin, and conductivity elements of the claims.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851