DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “said power component is embedded into the thermal conductive member” found in at least claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2018/0338386 A1).
Re. claim 1: Chen discloses a power supply unit with improved space utilization and heat dissipation including:
a heat-dissipation case (11, 12); (see fig. 4; para. 0026)
a circuit board (21), disposed in the heat-dissipation case and having a first deployment surface (top surface) and a second deployment surface (bottom surface) located in opposite positions; and (see fig. 4; para. 0032-0034)
a plurality of electronic components (25, 23) including at least one power component (23) and other electronic components (25), wherein the other electronic components (plural 25) are disposed on the first deployment surface of the circuit board, and the at least one power component (23) is disposed on the second deployment surface of the circuit board and connected (thermally connected) to an inner surface of the heat-dissipation case. (see fig. 4; para. 0026-0032)
Re. claim 2: Chen discloses wherein each said power component (23) is connected to the inner surface of the heat-dissipation case (11, 12) through a thermal conductive member (24). (see fig. 3-4; para. 0032)
Re. claim 3: Chen discloses wherein the thermal conductive member (24) is a layer of thermal interface material or a metal block. (see fig. 3, 4; para. 0032)
Re. claim 9: Chen discloses wherein an outer surface of the heat-dissipation case (11, 12) is provided with an outer heat dissipation member (30) corresponding to a location of the at least one power component (23). (see fig. 6; para. 0030-0034)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Matsuda et al. (US 2016/0270261 A1).
Re. claim 4: Chen fails to disclose
wherein the thermal conductive member is a composite structure formed by stacking at least two of heat-conducting pads, metal blocks, metal sheets and cooling fins.
However, Matsuda discloses:
wherein the thermal conductive member (112) is a composite structure formed by stacking at least two of heat-conducting pads (131, 132, 133), metal blocks, metal sheets and cooling fins. (see fig. 4, 5; para. 0109, 0119-0127)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thermal conductive member of Chen with a composite structure taught by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to support the power component and to thermally couple the power component to the heat-dissipation case. (Matsuda para. 0119-0121)
Re. claims 5-7: Chen fails to disclose:
wherein a connection interface between each said power component and the thermal conductive member is a concave-convex surface;
wherein a connection interface between the thermal conductive member and the inner surface of the heat-dissipation case is a concave-convex surface;
However, Matsuda discloses:
wherein a connection interface between each said power component (104) and the thermal conductive member (131c) is a concave-convex surface;
wherein a connection interface between the thermal conductive member (131c) and the inner surface of the heat-dissipation case (131e) is a concave-convex surface, (see fig. 4; para. 0113-0124)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connection interface between the power component and thermal conductive member a concave-convex surface and to make the connection interface between the thermal conductive member and the heat-dissipation case a concave-convex surface as taught by Matsuda. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to make physical contact between the thermal conductive member and the power component and the heat-dissipation case more robust to transmit heat. (Matsuda para. 0113-0114)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sakamoto et al. (US 2009/0086431 A1).
Re. claim 8: Chen fails to disclose:
wherein each said power component is embedded into the thermal conductive member.
However, Sakamoto discloses:
wherein each said power component (22, 24) is embedded into the thermal conductive member (14, 16). (see fig. 1, para. 0053-0054)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the power component of Chen to be embedded into the thermal conductive material taught by Sakamoto. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to provide moisture and vibration resistance to the power components. (Sakamoto para. 0053)
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ichihashi et al. (US 2021/0076535 A1).
Re. claim 10: Chen fails to disclose:
wherein the heat-dissipation case has a first end and a second end, the first end is provided with a ventilator, and the second end has a plurality of holes.
However, Ichihashi discloses:
wherein the heat-dissipation case (1) has a first end (right end) and a second end (left end), the first end is provided with a ventilator (5), and the second end has a plurality of holes (3cl, 3dl). (see fig. 1, 3; para. 0054-0060)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a fan and air-flow holes to the case of Chen as taught by Ichihashi. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to cool the heat generating components within the heat-dissipation case in order to maintain efficiency. (Ichihashi para. 0067)
Re. claim 11: Chen fails to disclose:
wherein an outer surface of the heat-dissipation case has a plurality of channels which pass through a location corresponding to the at least one power component.
However, Ichihashi discloses:
wherein an outer surface of the heat-dissipation case (1) has a plurality of channels (3cl, 3dl) which pass through a location (adjacent sides) corresponding to the at least one power component (45). (see fig. 1, 3; para. 0054-0058, 0067)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a fan and air-flow holes to the case of Chen as taught by Ichihashi. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to cool the heat generating components within the heat-dissipation case in order to maintain efficiency. (Ichihashi para. 0067)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung et al. (US 2021/0161039 A1) discloses a heat radiation structure for an electronic device comprising a component structure. Hughes et al. (US 2013/0208422 A1) discloses an electronic cooling enclosure that dissipates heat through a heat dissipation case.
November 29, 2025
/ADAM B DRAVININKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835