Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/22/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an Abstract idea without significantly more.
5. Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “upon powering up or upon power reset, determining a voltage type associated with power received at the power receiver from a power transmitter; depending on the voltage type, selecting a power mode among a plurality of power modes that include fault managed power modes at different voltages and at least one non-fault managed power mode” is directed to an abstract idea of using mathematical function/algorithm, idea of “itself” and data processing. The step(s) of “determining a voltage type” using a generic voltage circuit and with use of controller is considered carrying out mathematical algorithm. The step of selecting a power mode based on determining voltage type is considered data processing and a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitation of “entering a selected power mode based on the selecting” is considered post solution activity. The claimed limitations recite computer functions, generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (fault management in power area).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because using a transmitter, receiver, controller are recited at a high level of generality in order to facilitate the application of the abstract idea, and is/are recited as performing generic computer function routinely used in computer applications (see prior art of record: Goergen et al. (US 11,258,520), Figures 1-15, Abstract, P(61, 63); Tseng et al. (US 2022/0065933), Figures 1-5; Shea John J (WO 2022081778, provided in the IDS))).
6. Claims 2-9 are also rejected as they further limit claim 1.
7. Regarding claim 10, the limitation of “upon powering up of the power transmitter, determining a type of an input voltage to the power transmitter; depending at least on a type of the input voltage and an operational state of the power transmitter, selecting one of a plurality of power modes that include fault managed power modes at different voltages, at least one non-fault managed power mode and an alternating current (AC) power mode” is directed to an abstract idea of using mathematical function/algorithm, idea of “itself” and data processing. The step(s) of “determining type of an input voltage” using a generic voltage circuit and with use of controller is considered carrying out mathematical algorithm. The step of selecting a power mode based on determining voltage type is considered data processing and a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitation of “transmitting power according to a selected power mode based on the selecting” is considered post solution activity. The claimed limitations recite computer functions, generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (fault management in power area).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because using a transmitter, receiver, controller are recited at a high level of generality in order to facilitate the application of the abstract idea, and is/are recited as performing generic computer function routinely used in computer applications (see prior art of record: Goergen et al. (US 11,258,520), Figures 1-15, Abstract, P(61, 63); Tseng et al. (US 2022/0065933), Figures 1-5; Shea John J (WO 2022081778, provided in the IDS))).
8. Claims 11-16 are also rejected as they further limit claim 10.
9. Regarding claim 17, the limitation of “a voltage sense circuit configured to determine a voltage type associated with power received on a cable from a power transmitter; and a controller coupled to the voltage sense circuit, wherein the controller is configured to select a power mode among a plurality of power modes that include fault managed power modes at different voltages and at least one non-fault managed power mode” is directed to an abstract idea of using mathematical function/algorithm, idea of “itself” and data processing. The step(s) of “determining a voltage type” using a generic voltage circuit and with use of controller is considered carrying out mathematical algorithm. The step of selecting a power mode based on determining voltage type is considered data processing and a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitation of “and to cause the power receiver to enter a selected power mode” is considered post solution activity. The claimed limitations recite computer functions, generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (fault management in power area).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because using a voltage sense circuit, transmitter, receiver, controller are recited at a high level of generality in order to facilitate the application of the abstract idea, and is/are recited as performing generic computer function routinely used in computer applications (see prior art of record: Goergen et al. (US 11,258,520), Figures 1-15, Abstract, P(61, 63); Tseng et al. (US 2022/0065933), Figures 1-5; Shea John J (WO 2022081778, provided in the IDS))).
10. Claims 18-20 are also rejected as they further limit claim 17.
11. Regarding claim 21, the limitation of “a voltage sense circuit configured to sense an input voltage of input power to the power transmitter; and a controller coupled to the voltage sense circuit, wherein the controller is configured to, depending at least on a type of the input voltage and an operational state of the power transmitter, select one of a plurality of power modes to transmit power to a power receiver, the plurality of power modes including fault managed power modes at different voltages, at least one non-fault managed power mode and an alternating current (AC) power mode, depending at least on a type of the input voltage and an operational state of the power transmitter” is directed to an abstract idea of using mathematical function/algorithm, idea of “itself” and data processing. The step(s) of “determining a voltage type” using a generic voltage circuit and with use of controller is considered carrying out mathematical algorithm. The step of selecting a power mode based on determining voltage type is considered data processing and a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claimed limitations recite computer functions, generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (fault management in power area).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because using a voltage sense circuit, transmitter, receiver, controller are recited at a high level of generality in order to facilitate the application of the abstract idea, and is/are recited as performing generic computer function routinely used in computer applications (see prior art of record: Goergen et al. (US 11,258,520), Figures 1-15, Abstract, P(61, 63); Tseng et al. (US 2022/0065933), Figures 1-5; Shea John J (WO 2022081778, provided in the IDS))).
12. Claims 22-25 are also rejected as they further limit claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1, 10, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Georgen et al. (US 11,258,520). (“Georgen”).
15. Regarding claim 1, Georgen teaches A method performed by a power receiver [Figures 1-15, a method performed by a power receiver is taught], comprising: upon powering up or upon power reset, determining a voltage type associated with power received at the power receiver from a power transmitter; depending on the voltage type, selecting a power mode among a plurality of power modes that include fault managed power modes at different voltages and at least one non-fault managed power mode; and entering a selected power mode based on the selecting [Figures 1-15, P(61, 63) teaches a power transmitter, power receiver, control circuit, voltage detection, fault detection and selecting a power mode (low power or high power)].
16. Regarding claim 10, Georgen teaches A method performed by a power transmitter to provide power to a power receiver [Figures 1-15, a method performed by a power transmitter is taught], comprising: upon powering up of the power transmitter, determining a type of an input voltage to the power transmitter; depending at least on a type of the input voltage and an operational state of the power transmitter, selecting one of a plurality of power modes that include fault managed power modes at different voltages, at least one non-fault managed power mode and an alternating current (AC) power mode; and transmitting power according to a selected power mode based on the selecting [Figures 1-15, P(61, 63) teaches a power transmitter, power receiver, control circuit, voltage detection, fault detection and selecting a power mode (low power or high power)].
17. Regarding claim 17, Georgen teaches A power receiver [Figures 1-15, a power receiver is shown] comprising: a voltage sense circuit configured to determine a voltage type associated with power received on a cable from a power transmitter; and a controller coupled to the voltage sense circuit, wherein the controller is configured to select a power mode among a plurality of power modes that include fault managed power modes at different voltages and at least one non-fault managed power mode, and to cause the power receiver to enter a selected power mode [Figures 1-15, P(61, 63) teaches a power transmitter, power receiver, control circuit, voltage detection, fault detection and selecting a power mode (low power or high power)].
18. Regarding claim 21, Georgen teaches A power transmitter [Figures 1-15, a power transmitter is taught] comprising: a voltage sense circuit configured to sense an input voltage of input power to the power transmitter; and a controller coupled to the voltage sense circuit, wherein the controller is configured to, depending at least on a type of the input voltage and an operational state of the power transmitter, select one of a plurality of power modes to transmit power to a power receiver, the plurality of power modes including fault managed power modes at different voltages, at least one non-fault managed power mode and an alternating current (AC) power mode, depending at least on a type of the input voltage and an operational state of the power transmitter [Figures 1-15, P(61, 63) teaches a power transmitter, power receiver, control circuit, voltage detection, fault detection and selecting a power mode (low power or high power)].
Note: no prior art rejection is made for dependent claims.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858