DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inner contour" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not previously recite an “inner contour”. For purposes of examination, claim 1 is interpreted as instead reciting “against an of the device body” as supported by the instant specification Page 2.
Claims 2-4 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, since these claims depend from the claims rejected above and do not remedy the aforementioned deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as being anticipated by Kern (US 20170014023 A1) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Kern teaches a surgical handheld device comprising a tubular shaft (flexible elongate member) and a device body, wherein an end portion of the tubular shaft is positioned within a receiving space (bore) of the device body and the end portion presses against the inner contour of such that the end portion is connected to the device body with form-fit engagement (see press-fit and interference fit) (Kern, Abstract, Par. 0004, 0032, 0040, and Figs 2-4). Regarding the limitation of the end portion being radially expanded and hydroformed, this is considered a product by process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (See MPEP 2113). The device structure of the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical or substantially identical to the claimed product-by-process device structure subjected to the process steps of expanding and hydroforming as both the prior art end portion and claimed end portion are form-fit with the inner contour of the device body. Therefore, absent any objective evidence showing to the contrary, the addition of the process limitations of claim 1 does not provide a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Kern teaches the device body is a main body or attachment body of the device body (Kern, Abstract, Par. 0004, 0032, 0040, and Figs 2-4).
Regarding claim 3, Kern teaches the tubular shaft is a shaft, a tube, an outer tube, or an inner tube (Kern, Abstract, Par. 0004, 0032, 0040, and Figs 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Scholer et al. (DE 102016118158 B3; herein English machine translation used for all citations) (previously cited)
Regarding claim 4, Kern teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Kern is silent regarding an inner contour of the device body having a ring-like undercut and/or projection against which the tubular shaft is pressed with form-fit engagement.
Scholar teaches a tubular shaft for a surgical handheld device (medical instrument for endoscopic procedures) wherein the tubular shaft is connected to an adjacent device that has a ring-like undercut against which the tubular shaft is pressed with form fit engagement (Scholar, Par. 0001, 0010-0012, 0017, 0029, 0045-0049, and Fig. 8).
Kern and Scholar are analogous art as they both teach tubular shafts for a surgical handheld device that are pressed into an adjacent device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the ring-like undercut of Scholar into the inner contour of the device body of Kern. This would allow for improved attachment of the tubular shaft to the device body (Scholar, Par. 0046-0049).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 19 August 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objection and rejection under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action.
The objection and rejection under 35 USC § 112 set forth in the previous office action have been withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
Applicant argues that Scholar does not teach the features of newly amended claim 1. This is found moot.
The grounds of rejection have been updated above in view of the present claim amendments. The new grounds of rejection rely upon newly cited Kern to teach the features of newly amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782