DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, 21-26 are pending.
Claims 15-20 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: sensor interface module to receive a real-time energy use rate measurement in claim 1, overcurrent protection mechanism to open and close an electrical path in claim 1, communications module to send the control signal in claim 2, communications module for communications in claim 5, communications module for sending a control signal in claim 6, sensor interface module to receive a real-time energy use rate measurement in claim 8, communications module for sending the control signal in claim 8, overcurrent protection mechanism to open and close an electrical path in claim 9, over current protection mechanism to open and close the electrical path in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madonna et al. (hereinafter “Madonna”) (US 20220399744 A1).
As to claim 1, Madonna teaches a system comprising:
an energy orchestration module (EOM) having a sensor interface module to receive a real-time energy use rate measurement ([0011, 0020, 0024, 0029] a flexible load management (FLM) system and technique configured to adaptively monitor and manage power consumption of a premises… A smart energy monitor (SEM) 144 is configured to monitor (measure) the voltages and currents from the transformers, as well as from other loads (such as air conditioners) in the premises. Illustratively, the SEM 144 is embodied as an analog-to-digital (A-D) converter that collects and samples the voltages/currents from the VTs/CTs… The FLM system 100 constantly monitors and manages the loads that are powered on (and off) to ensure that a reserve capacity constraint is maintained…The procedure 400 starts at box 402 and proceeds to box 404 where power readings and states of components (i.e., load data) are collected by the SEM 144 and organized as information of the state center. At box 406, the host 106 processes the load data in accordance with a power smoothing algorithm of the software to smooth values of the load data. The resulting smoothed data values ensure that the states of the loads do not change excessively and prevent the maximum power loads from appearing as though they are turning on-and-off as they operate) ([claims 1 and 11 from Madonna] sampling current from one or more branch circuits connected to an electrical panel, wherein each branch circuit is coupled to an associated sensor and wherein a respective switch controls power to a load on a respective branch circuit… an energy monitor having a processor coupled to one or more modules, each module having a sensor for sampling a current of a branch circuit of an electrical panel);
an overcurrent protection mechanism to open and close an electrical path, the electrical path for delivering energy to a flexible load ([0011, 0017, 0035] the FLM system includes a virtual critical load panel (vCLP) that utilizes circuit breakers in combination with companion modules (i.e., intelligent controllers) to vary a prioritization arrangement of loads by time of day, season or even dynamically…the electrical panel is embodied as a vCLP 125 by the inclusion of companion modules 124 hardwired (e.g., in series) with the circuit breakers 122 to control activation/deactivation of a respective circuit breaker…) ([claims 1, 5, and 11 from Madonna] wherein a respective switch controls power to a load on a respective branch circuit…activate switches coupled to respective branch circuits of the second group of loads…each module includes a respective switch to control power to a load on a respective branch circuit…deactivate the respective switch in response to the available power capacity falling below the reserve capacity); and
a low-voltage control circuit operably connected to (a) the sensor interface module to receive the energy use rate measurement and (b) to the overcurrent protection mechanism, the control circuit to control the overcurrent protection mechanism to maintain an energy use rate below a threshold based on the energy use rate measurement ([0011, 0024, 0029-0030, 0035] The FLM system and technique is configured to maintain such power consumption below a threshold relative to an amount of power available from a local power source…the vCLP is dynamically configurable by a user in real time according to an instantaneous demand for the prioritized loads…The procedure 400 starts at box 402 and proceeds to box 404 where power readings and states of components (i.e., load data) are collected by the SEM 144 and organized as information of the state center. At box 406, the host 106 processes the load data in accordance with a power smoothing algorithm of the software to smooth values of the load data….At box 408, the host 106 processes the smoothed data to compute the current available power capacity of the FLM system. Illustratively, such processing involves subtracting the smoothed load data values from the system capacity 300 of the local power source 102 and comparing the result (i.e., delta) to the reserve capacity 370…At decision box 410, a determination is rendered as to whether a change in load state is required by examining the delta. For example, if the delta is negative (indicating a shortage of reserve capacity), then the lowest priority load is disconnected at box 412. Alternatively, if the delta is positive (indicating an excess of reserve capacity), the additional loads may be connected at box 414…the FLM system and technique described herein allows monitoring and management of power consumption of a premises in a flexible (adaptive) manner. To that end, the FLM system employs one or more vCLPs that utilize circuit breakers in combination with companion modules (i.e., intelligent controllers) to vary a prioritization arrangement of loads by time of day, season or even dynamically. The companion modules of the vCLP enable low-variable latency for substantial changes to power consumed in the premises by allowing the host to distribute the intelligence of load management among the modules and their associated circuit breakers as to when to shut-off power to loads, such as dynamic loads. The FLM technique may configure the companion modules with parameters (e.g., ranges) of power consumption such that if the range is exceeded, the modules shut down power to the loads via the associated circuit breakers…).
As to claim 2, Madonna teaches the control circuit further generates a control signal to maintain the energy use rate below the threshold based on the energy use rate measurement; and the EOM further comprises a communications module to send the control signal to a load controller for the flexible load [0011, 0024, 0027-0030, 0035].
As to claim 3, Madonna teaches an electrical panel connected to an energy supply wire that delivers energy into the electrical panel; a breaker having an input side and an output side; a current sensor to measure the energy use rate by measuring an electrical current through the energy supply wire, the current sensor operably connected to the sensor interface module; the electrical path; and the flexible load, wherein the control circuit operates on a lower voltage than that provided via the breaker; the breaker is electrically connected to the energy supply wire on the input side and to the overcurrent protection mechanism of the EOM on the output side; and the electrical path connects in sequence the energy supply wire, the breaker, the overcurrent protection mechanism, and the flexible load [Fig. 1] [0013-0020, 0032-0035].
As to claim 4, Madonna teaches the flexible load is an electric HVAC (heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning) system [0023, 0027].
As to claim 5, Madonna teaches the EOM is a first EOM, the flexible load is a first flexible load, the breaker is a first breaker, and the electrical path is a first electrical path, the system further comprising: a second EOM having a corresponding overcurrent protection mechanism and control circuit; a second flexible load; a second electrical path; and a second breaker, wherein the second flexible load is electrically connected to the second EOM by the second electrical path, and the first and second EOMs each having a respective communications module for communications therebetween, said communications to manage power delivery to the first and second flexible loads in accordance with a priority scheme while maintaining the energy use rate below the threshold [Fig. 1] [0013-0020, 0032-0035].
As to claim 6, Madonna teaches a load controller for modulating power delivered to the flexible load, wherein, the EOM further comprises a communications module for sending a control signal to the load controller; and the control circuit generates the control signal to maintain the energy use rate below the threshold based on the energy use rate measurement at least in part by the control signal indicating to the load controller a maximum current the flexible load may draw [0027-0028, 0030, 0035].
As to claim 8, Madonna teaches a system comprising:
an energy orchestration module (EOM) having a sensor interface module to receive a real-time energy use rate measurement ([0011, 0020, 0024, 0029] a flexible load management (FLM) system and technique configured to adaptively monitor and manage power consumption of a premises… A smart energy monitor (SEM) 144 is configured to monitor (measure) the voltages and currents from the transformers, as well as from other loads (such as air conditioners) in the premises. Illustratively, the SEM 144 is embodied as an analog-to-digital (A-D) converter that collects and samples the voltages/currents from the VTs/CTs… The FLM system 100 constantly monitors and manages the loads that are powered on (and off) to ensure that a reserve capacity constraint is maintained…The procedure 400 starts at box 402 and proceeds to box 404 where power readings and states of components (i.e., load data) are collected by the SEM 144 and organized as information of the state center. At box 406, the host 106 processes the load data in accordance with a power smoothing algorithm of the software to smooth values of the load data. The resulting smoothed data values ensure that the states of the loads do not change excessively and prevent the maximum power loads from appearing as though they are turning on-and-off as they operate) ([claims 1 and 11 from Madonna] sampling current from one or more branch circuits connected to an electrical panel, wherein each branch circuit is coupled to an associated sensor and wherein a respective switch controls power to a load on a respective branch circuit… an energy monitor having a processor coupled to one or more modules, each module having a sensor for sampling a current of a branch circuit of an electrical panel);
a low-voltage control circuit operably connected to the sensor interface module to receive the energy use rate measurement, the control circuit to generate a control signal to maintain an energy use rate below a threshold based on the energy use rate measurement ([0011, 0024, 0029-0030, 0035] The FLM system and technique is configured to maintain such power consumption below a threshold relative to an amount of power available from a local power source…the vCLP is dynamically configurable by a user in real time according to an instantaneous demand for the prioritized loads…The procedure 400 starts at box 402 and proceeds to box 404 where power readings and states of components (i.e., load data) are collected by the SEM 144 and organized as information of the state center. At box 406, the host 106 processes the load data in accordance with a power smoothing algorithm of the software to smooth values of the load data….At box 408, the host 106 processes the smoothed data to compute the current available power capacity of the FLM system. Illustratively, such processing involves subtracting the smoothed load data values from the system capacity 300 of the local power source 102 and comparing the result (i.e., delta) to the reserve capacity 370…At decision box 410, a determination is rendered as to whether a change in load state is required by examining the delta. For example, if the delta is negative (indicating a shortage of reserve capacity), then the lowest priority load is disconnected at box 412. Alternatively, if the delta is positive (indicating an excess of reserve capacity), the additional loads may be connected at box 414…the FLM system and technique described herein allows monitoring and management of power consumption of a premises in a flexible (adaptive) manner. To that end, the FLM system employs one or more vCLPs that utilize circuit breakers in combination with companion modules (i.e., intelligent controllers) to vary a prioritization arrangement of loads by time of day, season or even dynamically. The companion modules of the vCLP enable low-variable latency for substantial changes to power consumed in the premises by allowing the host to distribute the intelligence of load management among the modules and their associated circuit breakers as to when to shut-off power to loads, such as dynamic loads. The FLM technique may configure the companion modules with parameters (e.g., ranges) of power consumption such that if the range is exceeded, the modules shut down power to the loads via the associated circuit breakers…); and
a communications module for sending the control signal to a load controller for a flexible load ([0027-0028, 0030, 0035] Upon detection of the increased power consumption, the host 106 may begin instructing one or more companion modules 124 to begin shutting off power to loads…and instruct the companion modules 124 to shut-down power to their associated branch circuits if the power consumed by the dynamic loads 350 increases by a predefined amount…the host 106 transmits the processed states as updated configurations to the companion modules 124. Illustratively, the host 106 constantly computes the states (data) monitored and provided by the SEM 144 to provide new, updated configurations to the companion modules based on the computed data…the FLM system employs one or more vCLPs that utilize circuit breakers in combination with companion modules…configure the companion modules with parameters (e.g., ranges) of power consumption such that if the range is exceeded, the modules shut down power to the loads via the associated circuit breakers).
As to claim 9, Madonna teaches an overcurrent protection mechanism to open and close an electrical path, the electrical path for delivering energy to the flexible load, wherein the control circuit further controls the overcurrent protection circuit to close the electrical path if the control signal indicates the load controller should permit power delivery to the flexible load [0011, 0017, 0024, 0029-0030, 0035].
As to claim 10, Madonna teaches the control signal generated by the control circuit indicates an electrical current limit that the load controller is to enforce on the flexible load; and the electrical current limit when added to a portion of the energy use rate measurement that is not attributed to the flexible load, does not exceed the threshold [0011, 0024-0025, 0027-0030, 0035].
As to claim 11, Madonna teaches an electrical panel connected to an energy supply wire that delivers energy into the electrical panel; a breaker having an input side and an output side; a current sensor to measure the energy use rate by measuring an electrical current through the energy supply wire, the current sensor operably connected to the sensor interface module; the load controller; an electrical path; and the flexible load, wherein the control circuit operates on a lower voltage than that provided via the breaker; the breaker is electrically connected to the energy supply wire on the input side and to the load controller on the output side; and the electrical path connects in sequence the energy supply wire, the breaker, the load controller and the flexible load [Fig. 1] [0013-0020, 0032-0035].
As to claim 12, Madonna teaches an overcurrent protection mechanism connected to the electrical path between the first beaker and the flexible load, the over current protection mechanism to open and close the electrical path, wherein the control circuit further controls the overcurrent protection circuit to close the electrical path if the control signal indicates the load controller should permit power delivery to the flexible load [0011, 0017, 0024, 0029-0030, 0035].
As to claim 14, Madonna teaches the flexible load is an electric HVAC (heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning) system [0023, 0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 13, 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy et al. (hereinafter “Parthasarathy”) (US 20130026986 A1) in view of Madonna.
As to claim 21, Parthasarathy teaches a method for controlling power delivery to a flexible load in a local electrical system ([0003] modulating the charging of one or more of the electrical vehicles to maintain total power consumed by the electrical vehicles and a plurality of additional electric loads below a threshold power consumption rate), the method comprising:
receiving, by an energy orchestration module (EOM), a real-time energy use rate measurement for the local electrical system ([0014, 0022-0023] provides an automatic control system to monitor the load at the transformer level, and modulate the delivery of power to loads, such as electrical vehicles, A/C, or other appliances at the individual user level…the HAN 122 monitors how much energy is being consumed by the house at any time. The load at the transformer 102 is also communicated to the HAN 122…a meter 118 to monitor the charging of one or more vehicles 112 such as EVs and the powering of one or more additional electric loads 110…the meter 118 is a smart meter configured to monitor power consumption at a structure);
determining, by a low-voltage control circuit of the EOM, whether sufficient capacity exists to power the flexible load while maintaining an energy use rate of the local electrical system below a threshold ([Fig. 4, step 414] [0003, 0033-0034, 0040] modulating the charging of one or more of the electrical vehicles to maintain total power consumed by the electrical vehicles and a plurality of additional electric loads below a threshold power consumption rate…the EV charging request 216 and the additional electric load power request 212 are communicated to the transformer controller 208 which sums incoming EV charging request(s) and incoming additional electric load power request(s) and determines if they exceed a preprogrammed threshold…the controller 208 is to subtract power consumption by each additional electric load requesting powering from the threshold power consumption rate and to provide control signals… At 412, the method queries whether an EV charge is requested. If an EV charge is requested, the method calculates whether charging the EV will exceed a predetermined or preprogrammed threshold. If it does not, the method charges the EV at 416. If it does, it issues an instruction to forego charging 418 and repeats to step 402); and
controlling, to close an electrical path for delivering energy to the flexible load in response to determining that sufficient capacity exists, and to open the electrical path in response to determining that sufficient capacity does not exist ([0016, 0022, 0040] Such control is to manage power consumption… by switching off an appliance or EV charger… schedules an electric load such as a charger 180 or an additional electric load 110 such as an appliance to turn on or off… If an EV charge is requested, the method calculates whether charging the EV will exceed a predetermined or preprogrammed threshold. If it does not, the method charges the EV at 416. If it does, it issues an instruction to forego charging 418 and repeats to step 402).
Parthasarathy teaches a system and method for managing power consumption of a plurality of loads in a local electrical system to maintain total power consumed by the plurality of loads below a threshold power consumption rate. Parthasarathy also teaches manage power consumption of one or more loads from the plurality of loads by switching on/off the one or more loads based on comparison between estimated power consumption and threshold power consumption [0003, 0016, 0022, 0033-0034, 0040]. Parthasarathy does not explicitly teach using an overcurrent protection mechanism to perform the close and open operation.
However, Madonna teaches a flexible load management (FLM) system and technique adaptively monitors and manages power consumption of a premises to maintain such power consumption below a threshold relative to an amount of power available from a local power source. Especially, Madonna teaches using an overcurrent protection mechanism to perform the close and open operation ([0011, 0017, 0035] the FLM system includes a virtual critical load panel (vCLP) that utilizes circuit breakers in combination with companion modules (i.e., intelligent controllers) to vary a prioritization arrangement of loads by time of day, season or even dynamically…the electrical panel is embodied as a vCLP 125 by the inclusion of companion modules 124 hardwired (e.g., in series) with the circuit breakers 122 to control activation/deactivation of a respective circuit breaker…) ([claims 1, 5, and 11 from Madonna] wherein a respective switch controls power to a load on a respective branch circuit…activate switches coupled to respective branch circuits of the second group of loads…each module includes a respective switch to control power to a load on a respective branch circuit…deactivate the respective switch in response to the available power capacity falling below the reserve capacity).
Parthasarathy and Madonna are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of managing electric power consumption of loads in a local electrical system. At the time before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use circuit breakers to selectively control activation/deactivation to control power to a load on a respective branch circuit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Madonna with the teachings of Parthasarathy for the purpose of providing an overcurrent protection mechanism to perform the close and open operation in the claim 21.
As to claim 7, Parthasarathy teaches the flexible load comprises an electric vehicle (EV) charging station [0016, 0023, 0033].
As to claim 13, Parthasarathy teaches the flexible load comprises an electric vehicle (EV) charging station [0016, 0023, 0033].
As to claim 22, Parthasarathy teaches determining whether sufficient capacity exists comprises determining whether powering the flexible load would cause the energy use rate of the local electrical system to exceed the threshold [0003, 0016, 0022, 0033-0034, 0040].
As to claim 23, Madonna teaches the threshold is based on a current rating of an electrical panel of the local electrical system [0011, 0017, 0025]
As to claim 24, Parthasarathy teaches receiving the threshold as a configuration parameter via a configuration interface of the EOM [0016, 0019, 0033].
As to claim 25, Parthasarathy teaches before controlling the overcurrent protection mechanism to close the electrical path, determining that the flexible load is connected to the electrical path [0033, 0037-0040].
As to claim 26, Parthasarathy teaches determining an available capacity based on a difference between the threshold and the real-time energy use rate measurement; and sending, from the EOM to a load controller for the flexible load, a control signal indicating a current limit for the flexible load based on the available capacity [0003, 0016, 0019, 0022, 0033-0036, 0040].
Conclusion
/ZHIPENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115