DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the another gate terminal" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; and claims 2-8 depend from indefinite claim 1.
For the purpose of examination, “the another gate terminal” is interpreted to be “to another gate terminal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rashed et al. (US 2013/0146986 A1; hereinafter, “Rashed”, prior art of record).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7 and 8:
re claim 1(as interpreted), Rashed discloses (in Figs. 1, 5, 6 and 7) an apparatus, comprising:
a transistor 24a (Fig. 6 and [0036]), on a substrate 22 (Fig. 6 and [0036]), comprising a gate terminal 30a [0037], a first source/drain terminal 28a (Fig. 5 and [0034], i.e., although not shown in Figs. 6-7, a first source/drain terminal is required for a functional transistor) coupled to a reference metal line 34/CA (Figs. 1, 5 and [0035] ) separated from the substrate 22, and a second source/drain terminal 26a (Fig. 5 and [0034]);
a local interconnect structure 34/36a/36b (Figs. 6, 7 and [0026]) electrically connected to the gate terminal 30a (Fig. 7 and [0037-0038]) of the transistor 30a and to another gate terminal 30c (Fig. 7 and [0037-0038]) of another transistor 24c (Fig. 7 and [0037-0038]), wherein the local interconnect structure 34/36a/36b (Figs. 6, 7) is routed at a same interconnect level as the reference metal line 34/CA (Figs. 1, 7, i.e., the reference metal 34 shown in Fig. 2 would be associated with transistor 24b in Figs. 6-7 because a source/drain of the transistor 24b must be accessed by upper metallization, and in [0038], Rashed discloses the local interconnect is electrically isolated from the gate 30b of transistor 24b); and
an interconnect structure 33 (Figs. 1, 3 and [0024]) routed above the local interconnect structure 36/CA (Figs. 1 and 3, wherein interconnect metal 33 is located at various locations in order to acquire a complete, function device);
re claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the local interconnect structure 34/36a/36b (Figs. 6, 7) is routed over the gate terminal 30a and the other gate terminal 30c, wherein the interconnect structure 33 is routed over the gate terminal 30a or the other gate terminal 30b (Figs. 1, 3 and [0024, 0025, 0030]);
re claim 7, Rashed discloses a plurality of other interconnect structures 33 (Fig. 3 and [0024]) routed above the local interconnect structure 36 (Fig. 1) and coupled to second source/drain terminals (i.e., all wiring in the apparatus are considered to be coupled to power supply voltage and ground in order for the apparatus to be functional; accordingly, because all the source/drain terminals are coupled to power, ground and the interconnect structures 33, this claim is disclosed by Rashed); and
re claim 8, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the local interconnect structure 36 (Fig. 1) is longer than the interconnect structure 33 (in the vertical direction, as viewed in Fig. 1).
Therefore, Rashed anticipates claims 1, 4, 7 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rashed.
Regarding claim 2:
Rashed anticipates claims 1 and discloses (in [0004]) the trench silicide layer 37 (Figs. 1, 3 and [0028]) electrically connects one of the source/drain of a first transistor to one of the source/drain of a second transistor. Rashed also discloses/shows another reference metal line 48/CA (Fig. 5 and [0035]) connected to a source/drain terminal of a transistor separated from the other transistor 24b (Fig. 5 and [0034], Note in Fig. 5, the other transistor “24b” is mislabeled as “24a”). Furthermore, Rashed discloses a plurality of other interconnect structures 33 (Fig. 3 and [0024, 0025 and 0030]) connected to various source/drain regions 28 (Fig. 1 and [0004]).
In sum, Rashid discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the other transistor 24b (Fig. 5 with notation above) comprises a third source/drain terminal 26b (Fig. 5 and [0045]) Fig. 5 and [0045]), and wherein the apparatus further comprises another interconnect structure 33 (i.e., one of structures “33” in Fig. 3 and [0024]) Fig. 1 and [0029]).
Rashed does not explicitly show a third source/drain terminal 26b (Fig. 5 and [0045]) coupled to an other reference metal line and an other interconnect structure 33 coupled to the fourth source/drain terminal 28b. However, in an embodiment (shown in Fig. 2), Rashed discloses the trench silicide layers 37 (of transistors 24a, 24b that are separated by a gap 32) are coupled to each other (i.e., the source/drain of one transistor is coupled to the source/drain of another transistor); and in Figs. 1, 3 and [0004], an other interconnect structure 33 is connected to a source/drain of the first transistor and to a source/drain of the second transistor.
Therefore, although Rashed does not explicitly show third source/drain 26b (Fig. 5) couple to an other reference metal line 48/CA (Fig. 5) and an other interconnect structure 33 (Figs. 1 and 3) coupled to the fourth source/drain 26b, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to couple the elements as currently claimed because Rashed discloses such connections would be made (although not explicitly shown) in order to acquire a logic device such as scan-D flip-flops and multiplexers [0002, 0027].
Regarding claims 3, 5 and 6:
re claim 3, Rashed renders obvious the apparatus of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the local interconnect structure 36 (Figs. 1, 3 and [0025]) is coupled to the gate terminal 30a (Fig. 5 and [0034]) and the other gate terminal 30b (Fig. 5 and [0034]) comprises copper; and
re claims 5 and 6, all wiring in the apparatus of claim 2 are considered to be coupled to power supply voltage and ground in order for the apparatus to be functional; therefore, the other reference metal line and the reference metal line are coupled to both supply voltage and ground.
Therefore, claims 3, 5 and 6 are rendered obvious by Rashed.
Double Patenting
Claims 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,018,157 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are essentially broader in scope than the corresponding claims of US Patent No. 11,018,157 B2. In other words, all pertinent limitations in the current claims are disclosed; accordingly, the corresponding claims of US Patent No. 11,018,157 B2 anticipates the invention in the current claims.
Remarks
Applicant remarks have been carefully reviewed and considered. The amendment to claims 1-8 overcome the prior rejection based on an embodiment in Rashed; however, the claims are currently rejected based on a different embodiment disclosed by Rashed. Applicant’s remarks with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection have been noted.
Conclusion
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892