DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 4/30/26. Claim 1 is amended. The rejection of claim 1 is withdrawn in light of the amendment; however, a new rejection is made over Fujii, below. Claims 1-12 are pending and are rejected finally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0223911) in view of Fujii et al. (US 2010/0035146).
Regarding claims 1-2, Kim teaches an electrolyte for lithium-ion secondary battery, comprising:
a solvent;
a lithium salt,
and an additive composition comprising a compound of formula I, i.e. tetravinyl silane, and 1,3-propane sultone;
wherein percentage of the compound formula I in the electrolyte is a wt%, specifically 0.1 wt%, and percentage of the compound of 1,3-propane sultone is b wt%, specifically 0.5 wt% ([0120]). The examiner notes that the values of a and b of Kim meet the requirements of claim 1 since a/b = 0.2 and a+b=0.6.
Further regarding claims 1-2, Kim fails to teach Formula III.
Fujii teaches both 1,3-propane sultone and vinylethylene sulfite as film-forming additives for nonaqueous electrolyte battery solutions ([0220], [0223], [0225]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to substitute vinylethylene sulfite for 1,3-propane sultone in the electrolyte of Kim such as suggested by Fujii and the results of the substitution, i.e. providing a film-forming additive, would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 I B
Regarding claims 3-5, as is discussed above, a/b = 0.2; a+b=0.6; and b is 0.5 wt%.
With regard to claim 6, Kim teaches that the solvent is a non-protonic chain organic carbonate, i.e. ethylene carbonate:ethyl methyl carbonate ([0120]).
As for claim 7, Kim teaches that the lithium salt is lithium tetrafluoroborate, i.e. LiBF4 ([0120]).
With regard to claim 8, Kim teaches that the amount of the lithium salt and the amount of the third additive, i.e. the tetravinyl silane and 1,3-propane sultone discussed above, are result effective for producing desired effects of the electrolyte ([0040]-[0041], [0088]). The skilled artisan will easily understand that optimizing the amount of additives of an electrolyte necessarily affects the amount of solvent. The examiner finds that it is within the level of ordinary skill in the art to find workable or optimum ranges for the components of the electrolyte of Kim in view of Ohashi since it has been held that it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05 II A
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Fujii teaches a secondary battery comprising the electrolyte ([0125]).
As for claims 10-12, Kim in view of Fujii teaches the use of the battery in an electric apparatus, or device ([0004]). The examiner finds that a battery provided in a device is necessarily provided in a pack in a module, and further notes that the claims do not limit the structure of those components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 4/30/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of newly amended claim(s) 1 under Kim in view of Ohashi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fujii, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIX E EGGERDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729