DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 22 January 2024 and is the continuation of 16/510,005 filed 12 July 2019 and the continuation in part of PCT/US2019/012986 filed 10 January 2019. Applicant claims priority to provisional application 62/615,615 filed 10 January 2018. The effective filing date of the instant application is 10 January 2018.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 06 May 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections
and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The
following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the
complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed
06 May 2026, it is noted that claims 1-3, 13, 14, and 20 have been amended, claims 9 and 10 have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Support for the amendments can be found in para. 87 of the specification. No new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 11-14, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okombi et al. (US 2007/0183996 A1), as evidenced by Cox (Pharma’s bread and butter is still made with powder, 2016).
Okombi teaches pharmaceutical compositions that may comprise extracts, such as N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine (entire teaching; Table 1) for anti-inflammatory purposes (abs). Pharmaceutical composition is interpreted broadly to include topical and oral (tablet or liquid emulsion) compositions when unspecified by the inventor. Lactose and sucrose are listed as excipients (para. 131), which is interpreted as a sugar carrier, addressing claims 5 and 16. The composition may be formulated as a tablet (para. 131) or emulsion (Example 35), which is interpreted as an orally ingestible powder (evidenced by Cox, pg. 2) or liquid formulation, thus far addressing claims 1, 3, 14, and 20. Okombi describes a white precipitate (para. 58), which is interpreted as the compounds capable of being in its salt form, addressing claim 2. The pH of one formulation for topical use may be adjusted to 5.5 and when an emulsion, the pH may be 6.0-6.5 (para. 130), addressing claim 8. The composition may include propylparaben (Example 35), which is a preservative (para. 85 of instant specification), in an amount of 2%, addressing claims 11, 12, 18, and 19. Okombi also teaches the compounds as an ethanol extract (para. 33), addressing claim 13. Okombi teaches 0.001-0.1 g of the compounds (para. 131), which is interpreted as addressing the amounts in claims 1, 14, and 20.
The limitations of the compounds “derived from hemp” in claim 13 as well as “configured to be mixed into a liquid” in claims 1, 14, and 20 are interpreted as a product-by-process limitation and is given minimal patentable weight. The limitation in claims 1 and 14 are examined by their final form, which is interpreted as a powder. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
The limitations of “a dietary supplement or nutraceutical” in claim 3 and “a dietary supplement, food ingredient or additive, a medical food, or nutraceutical for treating metabolic disorders” in claim 14 are interpreted as intended use and given minimal patentable weight (see MPEP 2111.02(II)).
Okombi does not teach an exact combination of N-trans-caffeoyltyramine, N-trans-feruloyltyramine, a carrier, and in the form of a powder or granule in claim 1.
In regards to selecting the combination of N-trans-caffeoyltyramine, N-trans-feruloyltyramine, a carrier, and in the form of a powder or granule, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Okombi teaches tablet or liquid pharmaceutical compositions that may comprise N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine for anti-inflammatory purposes, whereas the claimed invention is directed towards an oral composition comprising at least one carrier, N-trans-caffeoyltyramine, N-trans-feruloyltyramine, and in the form of a powder or granule. Since Okombi teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to the amounts described in claims 1, 14, and 20, Okombi teaches 0.359 g of lactose, 0.240 g of sucrose, and 0.001-0.1 g of the compounds (para. 131). That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the amounts can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the oral composition comprising N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine. The optimum or workable range of amounts or concentration can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of components or dosages as nonobvious.
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okombi et al. (US 2007/0183996 A1) and ElSohly (Marijuana and the Cannabinoids, 2007), as evidenced by Cox (Pharma’s bread and butter is still made with powder, 2016).
In regards to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 11-14, 16, 18-20, Okombi, as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of pharmaceutical compositions that may comprise extracts, such as N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine.
Okombi does not specifically teach the composition in the form of a food, such as an oil, in claims 4 and 15.
ElSohly teaches hemp seed oil as a nutraceutical (pg. 2). Hemp is interpreted as referring to cannabis sativa (pg. 9), which includes N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine as compounds (pg. 29). Cannabis is known in the art to have anti-inflammatory properties (pg. 113).
Since Okombi does not specifically teach the composition in the form of a food, such as an oil, in claims 4 and 15, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teaching that hemp seed oil as a nutraceutical may have anti-inflammatory properties from ElSohly with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the anti-inflammatory properties of utilizing N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine as an oil for nutraceutical purposes. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine or substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okombi et al. (US 2007/0183996 A1), ElSohly (Marijuana and the Cannabinoids, 2007), and Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients (2009), as evidenced by Cox (Pharma’s bread and butter is still made with powder, 2016).
In regards to claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11-16, 18-20, Okombi, as applied supra, is herein applied in its entirety for its teachings of pharmaceutical compositions that may comprise extracts, such as N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine.
Okombi does not specifically teach carboxymethylcellulose or methylcellulose in claims 6, 7, and 17.
Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients teaches that carboxymethylcellulose sodium is used in oral and topical formulations to increase viscosity and also suspend powders intended for topical, oral, or parenteral administration (pg. 117). Methylcellulose is used in oral and topical formulations as binding agents, disintegrants, and sustained-release formulations (pg. 438).
Since Okombi does not specifically teach carboxymethylcellulose or methylcellulose in claims 6, 7, and 17, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teaching that carboxymethylcellulose and methylcellulose have important purposes in oral formulations from Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients. A skilled artisan would have recognized the benefit of including carboxymethylcellulose or methylcellulose, such as for the purpose of increasing viscosity or suspending powders in oral formulations. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine or substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-12, 14, 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-12 of US 2022/0370383 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 1-4 of the reference recite a composition comprising N-trans-feruloyltyramine and N-trans-caffeoyltyramine, which corresponds to the same compounds in instant claims 1, 14, and 20.
Claim 6 recites a carrier, which corresponds to instant claims 5, 16, and 17.
Claims 7-9 recite a tablet or liquid, which corresponds to instant claims 1, 14, and 20.
Claim 10 recites a dietary supplement, food ingredient, or additive with the compounds, a carrier (carboxymethylcellulose in para. 74), and a preservative where the compound is in an amount of 0.1-99%, which corresponds to instant claims 1, 6, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, and 20.
Claim 11 recites a preservative amount of 0.01-1%, which corresponds to instant claims 12 and 19.
Claim 12 recites suitable preservatives, which corresponds to instant claims 11 and 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Okombi teaches topical compositions instead of oral compositions (Remarks, pgs. 6-8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Pharmaceutical composition is interpreted broadly to include topical and oral (tablet or liquid emulsion) compositions when unspecified by the inventor. Okombi also teaches that the composition is capable of oral administration (paras. 139-140). Furthermore, the instant invention for oral administration is interpreted as intended use and is given minimal patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.02(II).
The Applicant argues that Cox does not disclose compositions comprising the specific combination of N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine (Remarks, pg. 8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, Cox’s teaching is used as evidence to show that tablets are known in the art as an orally ingestible powder, supporting Okombi’s teaching of an oral powder.
The Applicant argues that ElSohly does not disclose or suggest the specific powder or granule recited in the claims (Remarks, pg. 8).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). ElSohly teaches hemp seed oil as a nutraceutical (pg. 2). Hemp is interpreted as referring to cannabis sativa (pg. 9), which includes N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine as compounds (pg. 29). Cannabis is known in the art to have anti-inflammatory properties (pg. 113). Since Okombi does not specifically teach the composition in the form of a food, such as an oil, in claims 4 and 15, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teaching that hemp seed oil as a nutraceutical may have anti-inflammatory properties from ElSohly with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the anti-inflammatory properties of utilizing N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine as an oil for nutraceutical purposes. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine or substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
The Applicant argues that The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients reference does not teach the claimed active combination or the recited elements in the instant claims (Remarks, pgs. 8-9).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients teaches that carboxymethylcellulose sodium is used in oral and topical formulations to increase viscosity and also suspend powders intended for topical, oral, or parenteral administration (pg. 117). Methylcellulose is used in oral and topical formulations as binding agents, disintegrants, and sustained-release formulations (pg. 438).
Since Okombi does not specifically teach carboxymethylcellulose or methylcellulose in claims 6, 7, and 17, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the teaching that carboxymethylcellulose and methylcellulose have important purposes in oral formulations from Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients. A skilled artisan would have recognized the benefit of including carboxymethylcellulose or methylcellulose, such as for the purpose of increasing viscosity or suspending powders in oral formulations. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine or substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
The Applicant argues unexpected results regarding the synergistic combination of N-trans-caffeoyltyramine and N-trans-feruloyltyramine administered together (Remarks, pgs. 9-12).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. To show synergy, the applicant must prove the invention exhibits more than mere additive effects. The effectiveness of the combination should be shown vs. the individual components, and the effectiveness also should be shown over what the closest cited prior art suggests. It is unclear from Applicant’s response where the Applicant’s data has shown synergistic results or data. Furthermore, it is also unclear that the results cited from the prior art is unexpected or surprising. For example, Applicant cites Figure 2 from Bolster to demonstrate this synergistic effect. However, the figure shows data with overlapping error bars. Therefore, it is not clear from at least this figure that the results are unexpected and demonstrate an actual synergistic effect.
Response to Double Patenting Rejection
Applicant's arguments filed 06 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has requested the above double-patenting rejections be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified. In response, in any future response the Applicant must address the double patenting grounds of rejection, either by presenting arguments why the rejection is not applicable or by the filing of a terminal disclaimer. The Applicant is required to reply to every ground of rejection in the prior office action per 37 CFR 1.111(b). It is noted that only claim objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further considerations of the claims may be requested to be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Applicant is cautioned that further requests to hold this rejection in abeyance will not be considered responsive; such a request does not comply with CFR 1.111 (b).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613