DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to amendment filed on 12 November 2025. Claims 1, 8, 15, 25 and 27 have been amended. Claims 2, 5, 9-10, 13, 16, and 19 have been cancelled. Clims 21-27 have been added. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20-27 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1, 3, 4, 6 7, 21, 22 and 24-27 a system, 8, 11-12, 14, 23 and 24 are a method and claims 15, 17, 18, and 20 are media. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20-27, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A-Prong 1: The claims as a whole recite a method of organizing human interactions. The claimed invention is a method that allowing to select a record from a plurality of records for sending message comprising a record data and obtain a program-qualified category of the plurality of records and a program unqualified category and automatically arranging the plurality of records based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category, disabling interaction with recorded in the program-unqualified category of record, obtain a program message the program message comparing data assocted with a program for which the record in the program qualified category are qualified and displying a banner. These limitations fall within “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” for commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). Simply put, these limitation merely describes providing customer a special incentive for engaging in different kind categorized benefit and incentive program, which is clearly a business arrangement in its purest form. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer components (i.e., processor, memory and interface) does not take the claims out of the method of organizing human interactions grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong 2: The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of receiving, sending, obtaining and arranging information in a computer environment. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform the generic computer functions and data process. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
Step 2B: As noted previously, the claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of receiving, sending, obtaining and arranging information in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-4, 6-7, 12-14, 17-18 and 20-27 these claims recite limitation that further define the same abstract idea noted in claims 1, 8 and 15. These claims do not contain any further additional elements per step 2A prong 2. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reason given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose (US Pub., No., 2019/ 0228431 A1) in view of Marshall et al (US Pub. No., 2010/0010901 Al)
With respect to claim 1, Rose teaches a system, comprising:
a computing device comprising a processor and a memory(paragraph [0076], discloses a general-purpose computing device including a processing unit (CPU or processor).., including memory); and
machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor(paragraph [0078], discloses computer-readable storage media..), cause the computing device to at least:
receive a selection of a first record from a plurlity of records presented through a user interface (paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles for the merchant program can be selected to represent a profile of an “ideal” customer or customers from the merchant program);
send a message to a program service, the message comprising record data associated with the first record(paragraph [0014], discloses obtain merchant program information for a customer [preferred program message], and paragraph [0015], discloses a merchant profile that identifies any programs assocted with the merchant, this includes loyalty programs, discount programs, or any other programs that merchants can be currently running for their customers);and
obtain, from the program service, a program-qualified category of the plurality of records (paragraph [0050], discloses the profile can simply provide series of categories indicting the types of customer transactions behaviors desired for the cusmter profile ), the program-qualified category of the plurality records comprising at least a second record, wherein the second record meets at least a qualification criterion for program (paragraph [0054], discloses the transaction retrieve would be limited to these qualifying transactions .., and paragraph [0059], discloses score can be computed using weighted value such that values and categories of greater importance to the merchant for the merchant program are identified);
Rose teaches the above elements including the program-qualified category and the program unqualified category(paragraph [0015], discloses the merchant offered to the customer by comparing the profiles, if any programs can be offered .., paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles for the merchant programs can be selected to represent a profile of an “ideal” customer or customers for the merchant program, and paragraph [0054], discloses the transaction retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions paragraph [0059], discloses customer profile is created the customer and merchant profiles cam be compared at step and action can be take ). Rose failed to explicitly teaches the corresponding qualified category based on ranking, disable interaction with recorded in the program-unqualified category or records; obtain a program message, the program message comprising program data associated with a program for which the records in the program-quality category are qualified; and display a banner, the banner comprising a user interface element allowing a user to interact with the program and in response to receipt of the program-qualified category of the plurality of record and the program-unqualified category of the plurality of records from the program service automatically arrange the plurality of record in the user interface based at least in part on program-qualified category and the program-unqualify category
However, Marshall teaches disable interaction with recorded in the program-unqualified category or records(paragraph [0037], discloses non-qualified product are ones that cannot be paid with from funds from a tax-advance account . Alcoholic beverages are an example of a product that is never to be paid with from funds from a tax-advantage account and paragraph [0038], discloses non-qualified product can be assigned a negative integer e.g., -1 [reads on disable interaction]) ; obtain a program message, the program message comprising program data associated with a program for which the records in the program-quality category are qualified(paragraph [0026], discloses transaction approval message is retune to the POS device) ; and display a banner, the banner comprising a user interface element allowing a user to interact with the program(paragraph [0026], disclose appropriate offers and promotion that disply at POS device when the ever recognize a target user product/service or class of user and items involve in a present trancion request); and in response to receipt of the program-qualified category of the plurality of record and the program-unqualified category of the plurality of records from the program service automatically arrange the plurality of record in the user interface based at least in part on program-qualified category and the program-unqualify category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 3, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Rose teaches the system further comprising: receive a selection of at least a second record from the program-qualified category; and present the second record with the first record to form a group of selected records(paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles [record] for the merchant program can be selected to represent a profile of “ideal” [program-qualified] customer or customers).
With respect to claim 4, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 3, furthermore, Rose teaches the system wherein the machine readable- instructions cause the computing device to at least: obtain, a program request through the user interface, the program request representing a request to apply a program to the group of selected records(paragraph [0013], discloses autotmcially enrolled or pre-enrolled (re-quiring the user to confirm enrollment).., any discount can be automatically applied); and send a program message to a program service, the program message comprising record data associated with the group of selected records(paragraph [0013], discloses the merchant’s agents and can be provided the opportunity to enroll or take advantage of the program).
With respect to claim 6, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Rose teaches the system wherein the program data comprises at least one of a program rate, a duration of the program a qualified enterprise or qualified record(paragraph [0013], discloses determine whether a customer has made a threshold number of visit to the merchant within a time period, spend a threshold amount .., time period [duration] and paragraph [0024], discloses receive information that the customer qualifies and the basic qualifications for such program, but would receive no detailed information as to why or how the customer qualifies).
With respect to claim 7, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Rose teaches the system wherein the record data comprises at least one of an enterprise identifier, record type or a record value (paragraph [0033], discloses identifies the merchant ,and paragraph [0055], discloses the identification of partners and partner transaction action ).
With respect to claim 8, Rose teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a computing device, a preferred program message(paragraph [0014], discloses obtain merchant program information for a customer [preferred program message], and paragraph [0015], discloses a merchant profile that identifies any programs assocted with the merchant, this includes loyalty programs, discount programs, or any other programs that merchants can be currently running for their customers);
presenting, within a user interface of the computing device, the preferred program message(paragraph [0062], discloses the display 402 of merchant programs can indicate various programs and benefit 404 that are available to the customer based on the matching of the customer to merchant programs. These can include, as shown in Fig. 4, loyalty programs, discount, coupons, loyalty programs with merchant partners and coupons with merchant partners ); and
Rose teaches the above elements including receiving, via the user interface, an interaction (paragraph [0054], discloses collect information regarding any and all transaction assocted with the customer and merchant.., collect transaction information assocted with a particular period of time or particular type of transactions ) and, the program-qualified category comprising a plurality of records which meet at least a qualification criterion for a program(paragraph [0050], discloses the profile can simply provide series of categories indicting the types of customer transactions behaviors desired for the cusmter profile paragraph [0054], discloses the transaction retrieve would be limited to these qualifying transactions .., and paragraph [0059], discloses score can be computed using weighted value such that values and categories of greater importance to the merchant for the merchant program are identified). Rose is silent to teach the corresponding collected interaction is with the preferred program message, in response to receiving interaction with the preferred program message and arranging, within the user interface, a plurality of records into a program-qualified category and a program-unqualified category based at least in part on the interaction with the program message, disable interaction with recorded in the program-unqualified category or records; obtain a program message, the program message comprising program data associated with a program for which the records in the program-quality category are qualified; and display a banner, the banner comprising a user interface element allowing a user to interact with the program.
However, Marshall teaches preferred program message, in response to receiving interaction with the preferred program message and arranging, within the user interface, a plurality of records into a program-qualified category and a program-unqualified category based at least in part on the interaction with the program message (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receiving ] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified, paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database, paragraph [0058], discloses the selected chosen product are transmitted [interaction] , paragraph [0059], discloses incentive dependent upon cardholder characterstics apply to the transaction of the incentive is a discount or payment for cardholder within certain characterstics for product identifier matches .. [interaction] ); disable interaction with recorded in the program-unqualified category or records(paragraph [0037], discloses non-qualified product are ones that cannot be paid with from funds from a tax-advance account . Alcoholic beverages are an example of a product that is never to be paid with from funds from a tax-advantage account and paragraph [0038], discloses non-qualified product can be assigned a negative integer e.g., -1 [reads on disable interaction]) ; obtain a program message, the program message comprising program data associated with a program for which the records in the program-quality category are qualified(paragraph [0026], discloses transaction approval message is retune to the POS device) ; and display a banner, the banner comprising a user interface element allowing a user to interact with the program(paragraph [0026], disclose appropriate offers and promotion that disply at POS device when the ever recognize a target user product/service or class of user and items involve in a present trancion request). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with d a graphical overlay to visualize forecast [record] data of Kama in order to interact with the graphical overly of Kama with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 11, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 10, furthermore, Rose teaches the method further comprising: receiving, via the user interface, a selection of at least a second record from the program-qualified category; and presenting, within the user interface, the second record with the first record to form a group of selected records(paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles [record] for the merchant program can be selected to represent a profile of “ideal” [program-qualified] customer or customers).
With respect to claim 12, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 11, furthermore, Rose teaches the method further comprising:
obtaining, by the computing device, a program request through the user interface, the program request representing a request to apply a program to the group of selected records(paragraph [0013], discloses autotmcially enrolled or pre-enrolled (re-quiring the user to confirm enrollment).., any discount can be automatically applied); and
sending, by the computing device, a program message to a program service, the program message comprising record data associated with the group of selected records(paragraph [0013], discloses the merchant’s agents and can be provided the opportunity to enroll or take advantage of the program).
With respect to claim 14, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 89, furthermore, Rose teaches the method wherein the preferred program message is obtained from a program service(paragraph [0014], discloses managing merchant programs involve communicating to an aggregating server.., a request to obtain merchant program information for a customer ..,and paragraph [0015], discloses obtain a merchant profile that identifies any programs associated with merchant… include loyalty programs, discount programs, or other programs that merchants can be currently running for their cusmter).
With respect to claim 15, Rose teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium, comprising machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor(paragraph [0078], discloses computer-readable storage media..), cause the computing device to at least:
receive a selection of a first record from a plurlity of records presented through a user interface (paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles for the merchant program can be selected to represent a profile of an “ideal” customer or customers from the merchant program);
send a message to a program service, the message comprising record data associated with the first record(paragraph [0014], discloses obtain merchant program information for a customer [preferred program message], and paragraph [0015], discloses a merchant profile that identifies any programs assocted with the merchant, this includes loyalty programs, discount programs, or any other programs that merchants can be currently running for their customers);and
obtain, from the program service, a program-qualified category of the plurality of records (paragraph [0050], discloses the profile can simply provide series of categories indicting the types of customer transactions behaviors desired for the cusmter profile ), the program-qualified category of the plurality records comprising at least a second record, wherein the second record meets at least a qualification criterion for program (paragraph [0054], discloses the transaction retrieve would be limited to these qualifying transactions .., and paragraph [0059], discloses score can be computed using weighted value such that values and categories of greater importance to the merchant for the merchant program are identified).
Rose teaches the above elements including the program-qualified category and the program unqualified category(paragraph [0015], discloses the merchant offered to the customer by comparing the profiles, if any programs can be offered .., paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles for the merchant programs can be selected to represent a profile of an “ideal” customer or customers for the merchant program, and paragraph [0054], discloses the transaction retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions paragraph [0059], discloses customer profile is created the customer and merchant profiles cam be compared at step and action can be take ). Rose failed to explicitly teaches in response to receipt of the program-qualified category of the plurality of record and the program-unqualified category of the plurality of records from the program service automatically arrange the plurality of record in the user interface based at least in part on program-qualified category and the program-unqualify category, the corresponding qualified category based on ranking, disable interaction with recorded in the program-unqualified category or records; obtain a program message, the program message comprising program data associated with a program for which the records in the program-quality category are qualified; and display a banner, the banner comprising a user interface element allowing a user to interact with the program.
However, Marshall teaches in response to receipt of the program-qualified category of the plurality of record and the program-unqualified category of the plurality of records from the program service automatically arrange the plurality of record in the user interface based at least in part on program-qualified category and the program-unqualify category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ), disable interaction with recorded in the program-unqualified category or records(paragraph [0037], discloses non-qualified product are ones that cannot be paid with from funds from a tax-advance account . Alcoholic beverages are an example of a product that is never to be paid with from funds from a tax-advantage account and paragraph [0038], discloses non-qualified product can be assigned a negative integer e.g., -1 [reads on disable interaction]) ; obtain a program message, the program message comprising program data associated with a program for which the records in the program-quality category are qualified(paragraph [0026], discloses transaction approval message is retune to the POS device) ; and display a banner, the banner comprising a user interface element allowing a user to interact with the program(paragraph [0026], disclose appropriate offers and promotion that disply at POS device when the ever recognize a target user product/service or class of user and items involve in a present trancion request); and in response to receipt of the program-qualified category of the plurality of record and the program-unqualified category of the plurality of records from the program service automatically arrange the plurality of record in the user interface based at least in part on program-qualified category and the program-unqualify category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 17, Rose in of Marshall teaches elements of claim 15, furthermore, Rose teaches the machine-readable instructions further comprising: receive a selection of at least a second record from the program-qualified category; and present the second record with the first record to form a group of selected records(paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles [record] for the merchant program can be selected to represent a profile of “ideal” [program-qualified] customer or customers).
With respect to claim 18, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 17, furthermore, Rose teaches the machine-readable instructions cause the computing device to at least: obtain, a program request through the user interface, the program request representing a request to apply a program to the group of selected records(paragraph [0013], discloses autotmcially enrolled or pre-enrolled (re-quiring the user to confirm enrollment).., any discount can be automatically applied); and send a program message to a program service, the program message comprising record data associated with the group of selected records(paragraph [0013], discloses the merchant’s agents and can be provided the opportunity to enroll or take advantage of the program).
With respect to claim 20, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 19, furthermore, Rose teaches the machine-readable instructions cause the computing device to at least:
send an interaction message to a program service(paragraph [0014], discloses obtain merchant program information for a customer [preferred program message], and paragraph [0015], discloses a merchant profile that identifies any programs assocted with the merchant, this includes loyalty programs, discount programs, or any other programs that merchants can be currently running for their customers);and
obtain, an updated a program-qualified category and an updated program-unqualified category (paragraph [0050], discloses the profile can simply provide series of categories indicting the types of customer transactions behaviors desired for the cusmter profile , paragraph [0054], discloses the transaction retrieve would be limited to these qualifying transactions .., and paragraph [0059], discloses score can be computed using weighted value such that values and categories of greater importance to the merchant for the merchant program are identified).
Rose teaches the above elements including the program-qualified category and the program unqualified category(paragraph [0015], discloses the merchant offered to the customer by comparing the profiles, if any programs can be offered .., paragraph [0050], discloses the profiles for the merchant programs can be selected to represent a profile of an “ideal” customer or customers for the merchant program, and paragraph [0054], discloses the transaction retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions paragraph [0059], discloses customer profile is created the customer and merchant profiles cam be compared at step and action can be take ). Rose is silent to teach the corresponding collected interaction is with the program message and automatically rearrange the plurlity of records in the user interface based at least in part on updated program-qualified category and a program-unqualified category based at least in part on the interaction with the program message.
However, Marshall teaches receive interaction with the program and automatically rearrange the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on updated program-qualified category and a program-unqualified category(Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receiving ] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified, paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database, paragraph [0058], discloses the selected chosen product are transmitted [interaction] , paragraph [0059], discloses incentive dependent upon cardholder characterstics apply to the transaction of the incentive is a discount or payment for cardholder within certain characterstics for product identifier matches .. [interaction] ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 21, Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Rose teaches the system further comprising: obtain, from the program service, a second program-qualified category of the plurality of records(paragraph [0025], discloses receiving information that the customer qualifies and the basic qualification of for each program and paragraph [0054], disclose the transcribes retrieved would be limited to these qualifying transactions ).
Rose further teaches determining whether the ser qualifies for a loyalty program, discount program, or other benefit with the merchant (paragraph [0012]) Rose failed to teach the corrosinding loyalty or offer program is a second program-unqualified category of the plurality of records, the second program-qualified category of the plurality of records comprising at least a third record, wherein the third record meets at least a second qualification criterion for a second program.
However, Marshall teaches a second program-unqualified category of the plurality of records, the second program-qualified category of the plurality of records comprising at least a third record, wherein the third record meets at least a second qualification criterion for a second program(paragraph [0037], discloses non-qualified product are ones that cannot be paid with from funds from a tax-advance account . Alcoholic beverages are an example of a product that is never to be paid with from funds from a tax-advantage account and paragraph [0038], discloses non-qualified product can be assigned a negative integer e.g., -1 [reads on disable interaction] ; paragraph [0026], disclose appropriate offers and promotion that disply at POS device when the ever recognize a target user product/service or class of user and items involve in a present trancion request). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 22 , Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 21, but failed to teach wherein automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category further comprises: automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the second program-qualified category and the second program- unqualified category.
However, Marshall teaches herein automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category further comprises: automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the second program-qualified category and the second program- unqualified category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 23 , Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 8 , but failed to teach obtaining a second program-qualified category of the plurality of records, and a second program-unqualified category of the plurality of records, the second program- qualified category of the plurality of records comprising at least a third record, wherein the third record meets at least a second qualification criterion for a second program.
However, Marshall teaches obtaining a second program-qualified category of the plurality of records, and a second program-unqualified category of the plurality of records, the second program- qualified category of the plurality of records comprising at least a third record, wherein the third record meets at least a second qualification criterion for a second program(paragraph [0037], discloses non-qualified product are ones that cannot be paid with from funds from a tax-advance account . Alcoholic beverages are an example of a product that is never to be paid with from funds from a tax-advantage account and paragraph [0038], discloses non-qualified product can be assigned a negative integer e.g., -1 [reads on disable interaction] ; paragraph [0026], disclose appropriate offers and promotion that disply at POS device when the ever recognize a target user product/service or class of user and items involve in a present trancion request). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 24 , Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 23 , but failed to teach wherein automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category further comprises: automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the second program-qualified category and the second program- unqualified category.
However, Marshall teaches herein automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category further comprises: automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the second program-qualified category and the second program- unqualified category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 25 , Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 21 , but failed to teach wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the computing device to at least: obtain, from the program service, a second program-qualified category of the plurality of records, and a second program-unqualified category of the plurality of records, the second program-qualified category of the plurality of records comprising at least a third record, wherein the third record meets at least a second qualification criterion for a second program.
However, Marshall teaches obtaining a second program-qualified category of the plurality of records, and a second program-unqualified category of the plurality of records, the second program- qualified category of the plurality of records comprising at least a third record, wherein the third record meets at least a second qualification criterion for a second program(paragraph [0037], discloses non-qualified product are ones that cannot be paid with from funds from a tax-advance account . Alcoholic beverages are an example of a product that is never to be paid with from funds from a tax-advantage account and paragraph [0038], discloses non-qualified product can be assigned a negative integer e.g., -1 [reads on disable interaction] ; paragraph [0026], disclose appropriate offers and promotion that disply at POS device when the ever recognize a target user product/service or class of user and items involve in a present trancion request). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with displying via a ranking score of Leach with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 26 , Rose in view of Marshall teaches elements of claim 25 , but failed to teach wherein automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category further comprises: automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the second program-qualified category and the second program- unqualified category.
However, Marshall teaches herein automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category further comprises: automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the second program-qualified category and the second program- unqualified category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
With respect to claim 27 , Rose failed to teach wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the computing device to at least: automatically arranging selected records to be displayed first in a list of the plurality of records.
However, Marshall teaches herein automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the program-qualified category and the program-unqualified category further comprises: automatically arranging the plurality of records in the user interface based at least in part on the second program-qualified category and the second program- unqualified category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention for retrieved would be limited to those qualifying transactions of Rose with assigning a negative integer such as -1 for non-qualified product of Marshall in order to determine if a qualified product is being purchased, and thus is entitled to be paid for with funds linked to a flexible spending account (see Marshall paragraph [0010])
The following prior are in the record:
Rose (US Pub., No., 2019/ 0228431 A1) discloses an aggregating server obtains information about a method of payments by a customer and aggregate all instances of payment by that customer with respect to one or more merchants. That is, the server can associate various methods of payment at a merchant with the same customer ( e.g. credit card information, information associated with a digital wallet application payment, device identifier along with geofence data, etc.)
Leach (US Pub., 2012/0323663 A1) discloses example systems and methods of generating and providing personalized purchase offers based on item-level purchase data are presented. In one example, item-level purchase data from multiple sources for each of a plurality of users are aggregated. The aggregated item-level purchase data include item-level purchase data from a physical retail receipt. Offer data are received from offer providers.
HUI et al (US Pub., No., 2016/ 0055542 A1) discloses a server receives incoming data records comprising an ID value and respective user attributes corresponding to a user activity that originates at a user device. Characteristics of the activity and/or characteristics of the user device are considered in order to assign a probabilistic confidence value, which is in tum used to generate links from an incoming data record to other previously-received data records, and in so doing, generates a probabilistic link between one set of user attributes from the incoming data record and another set of user attributes from previously-received data records.
Okino et al (US Pub., 2024/0256246 A1 A1) discloses provided are method, system, and device for managing installation order of vehicle applications. According to embodiments, a method for specifying an installation order for application packages in a vehicle is provided, the method including: downloading, by at least one processor of the vehicle, a plurality of application packages; obtaining, by the at least one processor, a user-designated installation order for the plurality of application packages; and installing the plurality of application packages in accordance with the obtained user-designated installation order.
Tanimoto (US Pub., 2008/0091768 A1) discloses a technique allows shared use of a file between different networks via the Internet. File transfer servers on different LANs access file servers on the respective LANs to prepare a list of shared files, respectively. The file transfer servers are registered in a SIP server, and then send a SUBSCRIBE method to each other to issue a request to transfer the file list, respectively. In response to the request, the file lists are exchanged. A communication terminal on each LAN makes a request to acquire a specific file on the basis of information about the shared files stored in the file transfer server. Through a media session, one of the file transfer servers issues a request to acquire the file to the other file transfer server. As a result, the file is transferred to the communication terminal.
Marshall et al. (US Pub. No., 2010/0010901 Al) discloses a point-of-sale system comprises a webserver that receives lists of products and services offered at retail points of sale, and that can sort them into items that are qualified, conditionally qualified, and non-qualified to be purchased by a cardholder using a flexible spending account payment card. The qualified items are permissible to be purchased by all cardholders,
but purchases of conditionally qualified items are only permissible when the cardholder has registered a particular qualifying characteristic.
Kama (US Pub., 2016/0104176 A1) discloses methods, systems, apparatus, and machine-readable media facilitate visualizing forecast data in a user device. In a device
associated with a user, a method is implemented to collect, summarize and display data reported for a user in a summary format according to certain preferences. The method overlays the data in the summary format with a graphical overlay associated with a forecast of the data. Overlaying the data facilitates
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 35 U.S.C 101 rejections filed on 12 November 2025 with respect to claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20-27 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 101 rejections has been updated.
Applicants’ arguments of the claims do not recite an abstract idea and applicant futher argued that the Office Action falls to show that the claims are directed to a method of organizing human interaction is not persuasive. The claims is directed to an abstract idea, specifically a method of organizing human activity (sorting record, managing data) or fundamental economic concept (qualifying record for a “program”). Second, the various steps of receiving, sending, obtained, arrange and displying information are is also fail into a mental process or data processing that human could perform theoretically.
The use of an additional elements of a generic “computing devices comprising a processor and a memory” and “machine-readable instruction” is considered a conventional computer implement and does not, by itself add an inventive concept sufficient to transform an abstract ide into patent-eligible subject matter.
The claimed limitation related to the user interface (e.g., “automatically arrange, “ disable interactions” “display banner”) are a generic user interface function used to present the result of the abstract idea (the categorization) and not an improvement to the underling computer technology itself. Therefore, the claimed element dose not recite the additional element that amount to significantly more than that processing the claimed abstract idea.
Thus, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection with respect to claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20-27 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejection filed on 12 November 2025 with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants’ arguments of the cited portion of appear to be silent regarding in response to receipt of the program-qualified category of the plurality of record and the program-unqualified category of the plurality of records from the program service automatically arrange the plurality of record in the user interface based at least in part on program-qualified category and the program-unqualify category is not persuasive.
Marshall teaches in response to receipt of the program-qualified category of the plurality of record and the program-unqualified category of the plurality of records from the program service automatically arrange the plurality of record in the user interface based at least in part on program-qualified category and the program-unqualify category (Fig. 3, 306 discloses transmitting lists of product [receipt] 308 disclose designate each as qualified, not-qualified, paragraph [0012], disclose sort them into items that are qualified, not qualified and paragraph [0033], discloses a step 308 goes through such lists and flags [automatically] each product or service as qualified, not qualified.., stores the retail product/service lists and flags in a database ).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621