Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata (US 2020/0194819) in view of Barton (US 2019/0319249).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Aikata discloses a battery, comprising:
a battery cell (see abstract which describes electrodes along with a separator),
a first wall of the battery cell being provided with a pressure relief mechanism (see Fig. 2 which shows a relief valve 6 on a first/rear wall 10);
a thermal management structure configured to regulate the temperature of the battery cell, the thermal management structure being attached to a second wall of the battery cell, and the second wall being different from the first wall (second wall on the bottom of the battery and in contact to cooling plate 33, see paragraph 100); and
a bus structure (busbar 32) configured to be electrically connected to an electrode terminal of the battery cell (see paragraph 98 which teaches the busbar connecting the terminals of the battery cell), the electrode terminal being arranged on a third wall of the battery cell (see fig. 1 which illustrates the terminals on the front/third wall 9 of the cell), and the third wall being different from the first wall (the third wall is opposite the first wall, as depicted in Figs. 1 and 2 where face 10 is opposite face 9);
a box, comprising an electrical cavity and a collection cavity (as depicted in annotated Fig. 6 below), wherein the electrical cavity is configured to accommodate the battery cell and the thermal management structure, and the collection cavity is configured to collect emissions from the battery cell when the pressure relief structure is actuated (the electrical cavity is the portion of the box where the cooling plate 33, bus bars 32 and cells are and the collection cavity is the portion of the box that defines the gas relief passages).
Aikata teaches the release of gasses into a collection cavity but is silent regarding the claimed isolation structure that includes a plate with multiple pressure relief regions and non-pressure relief regions.
Barton also discloses a battery module (see abstract).
Barton, similar to Aikata, teaches a structure which provides a mechanism for exhaust gases to be released from the cell and channeled away from the batteries (see paragraph 55 which discloses releasing vented gases from the cells). Barton teaches a plate (900) that comprises a plurality of weak spots/holes/pressure relief regions (904) that are positioned above each cell (paragraph 56). Barton teaches that this plate provides a passage to release vented gases while also preventing the gases from going where they are not wanted, such as other battery cells (paragraph 54).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the plate of Barton, which comprises a plurality of pressure relief regions and a plurality of non-pressure relief regions that are connected to each other, to the first faces of the batteries of Aikata in order to provide a structure which guides released gases to a preferable location and away from the remainder of the battery cells.
Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding claim 2, Aikata further discloses the third wall (front wall 9) is different from the second wall (bottom wall).
Regarding claim 3, Aikata further discloses the area of the second wall is greater than or equal to that of the first wall; and/or the area of the second wall is greater than or equal to that of the third wall (the second wall/bottom surface area is larger than the third wall/front wall 9 area).
Claims 4, 6 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata (US 2020/0194819) in view of Barton (US 2019/0319249) and further in view of Schmidt (US 2015/0207186).
Regarding claim 4, Aikata teaches a configuration in which the thermal management structure is attached to a wall other than the wall with the largest area. In other words, Aikata does not teach that the second wall is a wall with the largest area of the battery cell.
Schmidt also discloses a battery system (see abstract).
Schmidt, like Aikata, teaches a thermal management structure that manages the temperature of the cells via a surface that is in contact with the thermal management structure. This is illustrated in Fig. 4 which shows a thermal management structure (30) that sits between the batteries against their largest surface (see Fig. 1 which illustrates that cells 10 are connected to thermal management structures on their largest surface). Schmidt teaches such a configuration in order to utilize the largest surface of the battery for heat transfer rather than the smaller top or bottom surfaces (see paragraph 40 which states “Removal of heat from the battery cells 10 by means of an air flow which passes along the side walls thereof is significantly more effective, because the surface area passed over by the cooling medium is significantly larger than the base surface or the top surface of the battery cells 10, which are of rectangular configuration”).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the location of the thermal management structure of Aikata to place it against the largest surface, as taught by Schmidt, in order to maximize heat transfer surface.
Regarding claim 6, Aikata, as modified by Barton above, teaches a first box wall (top surface of box) that sits opposite of the top wall of the cell (as depicted in Annotated Fig. 6 above) but does not teach a first box wall arranged opposite and spaced apart from the first wall, there is a gap between the first wall and the first box wall, and the gap is configured to form at least part of the collection cavity. In other words, Aikata teaches the collection cavity positioned between the battery cells, rather than between the cell and the top wall of the box.
Schmidt, like modified Aikata, teaches exhausting gas from a cell and channeling it to a collection cavity (see collection cavity 54 which sits between a box wall and a cell surface that comprises the exhaust vents, as depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below). Schmidt, like Aikata, teaches such a configuration to form a cavity/gap that can facilitate the escape of released gases from the battery box/container (see paragraph 54 which discloses the configuration of Fig. 4 and how it forms an escape route for the gases). The purpose of the collection cavity of Schmidt is identical to the purpose of the collection cavity of Aikata.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the location of the collection cavity of Aikata such that is sits above and opposite the first wall, as depicted in Schmidt, in order to remove vented gases from the battery container. Furthermore, such a modification is nothing more than a simple substitution of one known collection cavity placement for another to yield entirely predictable results.
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claims 10-11, Aikata, modified in an identical way as in claim 4 above, further discloses wherein the battery comprises a plurality of rows of battery cells arranged in a first direction, and each row of battery cells of the plurality of rows of battery cells comprises the at least one battery cell arranged in a second direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction and the second wall (see Fig. 5 of Aikata where the stacking direction is perpendicular to the direction of the battery cell orientation as well as the second surface which, as a result of the modification by Schmidt, sits perpendicular to the stacking direction).
Regarding claim 12, Aikata, as modified by Schmidt above, further discloses the battery cell comprises two second walls oppositely arranged in the first direction (second walls are large surfaces that face each other in the cell stack pictured in Fig. 5), and on two sides of at least one row of battery cells of the plurality of rows of battery cells in the first direction, provided are the thermal management structures attached to the two second walls of the at least one battery cell respectively (the thermal management structure of the modification by Schmidt places the structure between the second walls of the cells).
Regarding claim 13, Aikata, as modified by Schmidt further discloses a plurality of thermal management structures arranged in the first direction (the thermal management structures of modified Aikata are arranged in the first direction in between the 2nd faces of each battery.
Regarding claim 14, Aikata, as modified by Schmidt, further discloses the thermal management components are each provided with a heat exchange channel for accommodating a heat exchange medium (channel 32 is located between the cells, as depicted in Fig. 4 of Schmidt), and the heat exchange channels of the plurality of thermal management components are in communication with each other (see Fig. 6 of Schmidt which illustrates that the channels between the cells communicate with each other via inlet and outlet headers 66).
Regarding claim 15, Aikata, as modifed above, further discloses the plurality of thermal management components comprise a first thermal management component and second thermal management component adjacent to each other (the thermal management components are adjacent to each other as dictated by the configuration where Aikata is modified by Schmidt and the thermal management structures are adjacent to each other across the to stacks of cells), wherein the first thermal management component comprises a first connecting pipe in communication with the heat exchange channel (see Fig. 6 of Schmidt where the thermal management component comprises a header/supply conduit/first connecting pipe that flows fluid to all heat exchange channels), the second thermal management component comprises a second connecting pipe in communication with the heat exchange channel (identical to that of the first thermal management component), and the first connecting pipe and the second connecting pipe are connected to each other (connected via a header which will connect both supply conduits), such that the heat exchange channel of the first thermal management component and the heat exchange channel of the second thermal management component are in communication with each other (via a supply that distributes heat exchange fluid to both the first and second thermal management components).
Regarding claim 16, Aikata, as modified by Schmidt, further discloses the first connecting pipe is arranged in a region of the first thermal management component that is beyond a row of battery cells in the second direction (the region is the supply header, labeled as 62 in Fig. 6 of Schmidt), the second connecting pipe is arranged in a region of the second thermal management component that is beyond the row of battery cells in the second direction (this region is the same as the region of the first thermal management component, as Aikata was modified by Schmidt), the row of battery cells is a row of battery cells located between the first thermal management component and the second thermal management component (see how the first thermal management component 62 in Fig. 6 of Schmidt is located on an outer wall of the stack of battery cells in the first direction), and the first connecting pipe and the second connecting pipe extend in the first direction and are connected to each other (the pipes extend along the outer walls of the stack of cells and are fed/connected with the same air).
Regarding claim 17, Aikata, as modified by Schmidt, further discloses the box further comprises a support component, the support component being configured to support the first connecting pipe and/or the second connecting pipe (see Fig. 1 of Schmidt where walls 24 are situated in the box such that they support the first and/or second connecting pipes 30).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikata (US 2020/0194819) in view of Barton (US 2019/0319249) and further in view of Motohashi (US 2019/0020006).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Aikata, as modified above, teaches a first and third wall that are on opposite sides of the cell from each other and teaches a second box wall (bottom wall of the box). Aikata, however does not teach any fixing or adhesion between the third wall and the second box wall. More specifically, Aikata does not teach:
the second box wall being configured to be fixed to the third wall such that the battery cell is fixed to the box, wherein the third wall is fixed to the second box wall via a binder.
Motohashi also discloses a battery module (see abstract).
Motohashi, like Aikata, teaches a plurality of cells (150) held within a box (as depicted in Fig. 10C). Motohashi goes on to teach that the cells are adhered/fixed to the casing walls (111, 122) with an adhesive material/binder (170, 180) in order to improve reliability by facilitating and strengthening adhesive fixation of each battery cell to a holder (paragraph 7).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the adhesive/binder of Motohashi between the third wall (wall with the terminals on it) and the battery case to the configuration of modified Aikata in order to improve reliability by facilitating and strengthening adhesive fixation of each battery cell to a holder. In other words, placing adhesion between all battery faces and the casing/box walls would be beneficial and obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Aikata and Schmidt, teach connecting pipes that are connected to the heat exchange conduits between the cells, but is silent when it comes to the claimed support component that is attached to the first and/or second connecting pipe on one side of the support component in the third direction where the third direction is perpendicular to the first and second directions. Furthermore, there is nothing in the prior art that teaches or suggests configuration a support component in such a way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Relevant Prior Art
JP 6686286 B2 - Discloses a configuration where a cooling plate, a busbar and an exhaust valve are all positioned on different surfaces of a battery cell, similar to that of the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725