DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites a collection engine, an API sequence engine, a clustering engine, a report and response engine. An “engine” can be interpreted as software only, which does not fall into one of the four statutory categories (machine, product, method, or composition of matter).
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 4: “…threat being” recommend deletion as to positively recite claim limitation.
Claim 14, line 3: “…threat being” recommend deletion as to positively recite claim limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the communications and remarks filed on 12/29/2025. Claims 4 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 17-19, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 under 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Trentini US PG Publication 20200396243 A1.
Acknowledgement to Applicant’s amendment to claims 4 and 14 has been noted. The claim has been reviewed, entered and found obviating to previously raised objection for minor informalities. Objection to the claims is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 6-17 of remarks, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to claims 1-20 rejection under U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant appears to argue Alice 101 whereas Examiner is not arguing a practical use of the claimed invention. Examiner argues that the claimed limitations include various types of an “engine” which is interpreted as software and require further clarification. Examiner recognizes and reviewed par 0046 that describes modules 120 may be termed as engines; further modules 120 may be a hardware unit which may be outside the data storage unit and coupled with the behavior analytics system 110. Examiner recommends that claim language be definitive identifying these modules as hardware. Therefore, claims 1-20 have been rejected under 35 US 101. Examiner maintains the 101 rejection for claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trentini US PG Publication 20200396243 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Moriarty teaches a behavior analytics system for different types of Application Programming Interface (API) vulnerabilities and attacks, the behavior analytics system comprises: [Trentini Abstract and ¶¶0009-0010 and 0021-0022 0024 a risk assessment computer system 100 implemented to combine threat indicator characteristic information in real time with application behavior patterns; software inventory may be implemented as the point of intelligence for application programming interfaces (APIs) and management systems to enact controls.]; a collection engine to collect requests and responses of one or more API calls associated to an application in a protected environment made during one or more login sessions [Trentini Fig. 1 and ¶¶0024 0026 0029 0032-0035 processors, controllers…make up an engine; metadata engine 110 receive network traffic metadata from user interactions on user device 150 via network 145. The network metadata may include information associated with a series of multi-factor authentication (MFA) login events …];
an API sequence engine to:
combine one or more features extracted from the collected requests and responses, wherein the one or more features are associated with login behavior, API request content and behavior, API object accessing content and behavior, and API response content and behavior [Trentini ¶¶0040-0041 process of determining a time frame for classifying logon signatures may correspond with an estimation to determine normal patterns of usage based on human behavior and technology implementation; determining risk by using an aggregate series of logins over a sample time period…]; and encode the combined one or more features via a neural network based embedding model to create a behavior fingerprint of each of the one or more login sessions [Trentini ¶¶0024, 0038, and 0053 Fig. 1 shows a risk assessment computer system 100 comprising a signature calculation engine 114 used to generate a digital signatures for a reference model engine 116 generates an multi-factor authentication (MFA) reference model maps sample signatures from signature calculation engine 114 based on an average of varied login sessions and their respective MFA sample signatures. Fig. 7 and ¶0059 MFA reference model 702 and the non-MFA reference model 704 based on a scale of 0-1 with higher value indicative of a better match. Examiner interprets the map function as analogous to encoding the signatures for creating a refer]; a clustering engine to detect at least one of: a normal and an abnormal user behavior based on the created behavior fingerprint of each of the one or more login sessions [Trentini Fig. 1 and ¶¶0056 Classification engine 118 may be configured to use the MFA reference model and non-MFA reference model for classification of the unclassified user login data, as illustrated in FIG. 6. For example, a query of the database may return all user logins for a particular time period of interest, including MFA and non-MFA user logins and reference models. Signature calculation engine 114 may warp the yet unclassified user logins to each reference model for comparison. Once compared, the unclassified user logins may be classified to the reference model that is the best fit and match]; and a report and response engine to report the detected abnormal user behavior [detected cyber-risks assigned to an entity or individual and the risk score(s) may be calculated for all individual user devices that connect to risk assessment computer system 100 and a percentage usage may be reported back to risk assessment computer system 100 for further analysis].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trentini US PG Publication 20200396243 A1, in view of Moriarty et al, hereinafter (“Moriarty”), US PG Publication 20220019670 A1.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Trentini teaches claim 1 teach claim 1 as described above.
Trentini teaches the provided user behavior [Trentini ¶¶0037-0038 0051]; however, Trentini fails to explicitly teach but Moriarty teaches wherein the user is facilitated to validate the provided user behavior. [Moriarty et al 20220019670 ¶¶0016-0018 0063-0065 allows administrators to address automatically issued alerts at a management station. For example at step 416, the digitally-signed code information data set 256 is verified in step 416 by a management application 105 executing on each recipient system (e.g., each of individual endpoint information handling system/s 100 or by management information handling system 252) using a public key from the validated source of step 412]
Trentini teaches all the features of claims 1 and 12 not wherein the user is facilitated to validate the provided user behavior. Trentini teaches a detection of multi-factor authentication and non-multi-factor authentication for risk assessment. Moriarty teaches methods and systems for distribution and integration of threat indicators for information handling systems. Because both Trentini and Moriarty are from the same field of endeavor of vulnerability analysis it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to try the optional management application of the host to take automatic preventative actions and/or issue alerts regarding the detection, as well as verify expected behavior patterns and indicators of compromise (IoCs) signature [Moriarty ¶¶0030 0045-0048 and 0065-0068].
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Trentini teaches claim 1 teach as described above.
Trentini teaches the report and response engine [Trentini ¶¶0060-0062 usage reported back]; however, Trentini fails to explicitly teach but Moriarty teaches wherein the report and response engine take a necessary action to mitigate the effects of the abnormal user behavior based on the validation of the user. [Moriarty et al 20220019670 ¶¶0066-0067 for identifications of threats or unexpected behaviors; actions may be automatically taken]
Trentini teaches all the features of claims 1 and 12 not wherein the user is facilitated to validate the provided user behavior. Trentini teaches a detection of multi-factor authentication and non-multi-factor authentication for risk assessment. Moriarty teaches methods and systems for distribution and integration of threat indicators for information handling systems. Because both Trentini and Moriarty are from the same field of endeavor of vulnerability analysis it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to try the optional management application of the host to take automatic preventative actions and/or issue alerts regarding the detection, as well as verify expected behavior patterns and indicators of compromise (IoCs) signature [Moriarty ¶¶0030 0045-0048 and 0065-0068].
Regarding currently amended claims 4 and 14, Trentini teaches claim 1 as described above.
Trentini teaches the report and response engine [Trentini ¶¶0060-0062 usage reported back]; however, Trentini fails to explicitly teach but Moriarty teaches wherein the report and response engine automatically take a necessary action to mitigate the effects of the abnormal user behavior [[if]] in response to magnitude of associated threat [[is]] being more than a pre-defined threshold. [Moriarty et al 20220019670 ¶¶0009 0016 management station automates alerts and/or take one or more automatic predetermined actions in real time]
Trentini teaches all the features of claims 1 and 12 not wherein the report and response engine automatically take a necessary action to mitigate the effects of the abnormal user behavior [[if]] in response to magnitude of associated threat [[is]] being more than a pre-defined threshold. Trentini teaches a detection of multi-factor authentication and non-multi-factor authentication for risk assessment. Moriarty teaches methods and systems for distribution and integration of threat indicators for information handling systems. Because both Trentini and Moriarty are from the same field of endeavor of vulnerability analysis it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to try the optional management application of the host to take automatic preventative actions and/or issue alerts regarding the detection, as well as verify expected behavior patterns and indicators of compromise (IoCs) signature [Moriarty ¶¶0030 0045-0048 and 0065-0068].
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Trentini teaches claim 1 as described above.
Trentini teaches requests and responses [See Trentini ¶¶0040-0041]; however, Trentini fails to explicitly teach but Moriarty teaches wherein the requests and responses correspond to one or more API calls made by at least one of: one or more users and services. [Moriarty ¶0044 association steps such as the expected behaviors of port, protocol, IP address connections, application programming interface (API) and system component interactions].
Trentini teaches all the features of claims 1 and 12 not wherein the requests and responses correspond to one or more API calls made by at least one of: one or more users and services. Trentini teaches a detection of multi-factor authentication and non-multi-factor authentication for risk assessment. Moriarty teaches methods and systems for distribution and integration of threat indicators for information handling systems. Because both Trentini and Moriarty are from the same field of endeavor of vulnerability analysis it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to try the optional management application of the host to take automatic preventative actions and/or issue alerts regarding the detection, as well as verify expected behavior patterns and indicators of compromise (IoCs) signature [Moriarty ¶¶0030 0045-0048 and 0065-0068].
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Trentini teaches claim 1 teach as described above.
Trentini teaches requests and responses [See Trentini ¶¶0040-0041]; however, Trentini fails to explicitly teach but Moriarty teaches wherein the one or more API calls includes at least one of: initial authentication, authorization, and one or more Hyper Text Transfer Protocol (HTTP) requests and responses in the login session. [See Moriarty ¶0044 application requests].
Trentini teaches all the features of claims 1 and 12 not wherein the one or more API calls includes at least one of: initial authentication, authorization, and one or more Hyper Text Transfer Protocol (HTTP) requests and responses in the login session. Trentini teaches a detection of multi-factor authentication and non-multi-factor authentication for risk assessment. Moriarty teaches methods and systems for distribution and integration of threat indicators for information handling systems. Because both Trentini and Moriarty are from the same field of endeavor of vulnerability analysis it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to try the optional management application of the host to take automatic preventative actions and/or issue alerts regarding the detection, as well as verify expected behavior patterns and indicators of compromise (IoCs) signature [Moriarty ¶¶0030 0045-0048 and 0065-0068].
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Trentini teaches claim 1 as described above.
Trentini teaches wherein the login behavior includes at least one of: Internet Protocol (IP) address, geolocation, organization, and Autonomous System Number (ASN) of the origin where a user comes from. [Trentini ¶0051 MFA login signatures from signature calculation engine 114 may be unique due to geolocation of users, application, and MFA authentication servers]
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Trentini teaches claim 1 as described above.
Trentini teaches wherein the API request content and behavior includes at least one of: API endpoints and a time-series pattern a user accesses different APIs during a particular login session. [Trentini ¶0049 DNS request being made by the client just prior to the loading of web-based login page contains a unique hostname…many disparate endpoints]
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Trentini teaches claim 1 as described above.
Trentini teaches wherein the API object accessing content and behavior includes all object types and object values that a user accesses during a particular login session. [Trentini ¶0049 both MFA and Non-MFA logons can be generated in a laboratory setting representing natural human behavior and a predetermined sample size; filters may be applied to capture all data inclusive to a type of application detected.]
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Trentini teaches claim 1 as described above.
Trentini teaches wherein the API response content and behavior includes at least one of: a response status code and a body content that a user receives during a particular login session. [Trentini ¶0051 MFA login signatures: user behaviors may affect the uniqueness of the digital signatures, including varied response times of users to receive and enter authentication codes from their mobile device to their personal computing device.]
Claim(s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trentini US PG Publication 20200396243 A1, in view of Abdul Rasheed et al, hereinafter (“Abdul”), US PG Publication 20210271568 A1.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Trentini teaches claim 1 as described above.
However, Trentini fails to explicitly teach but Abdul Rasheed teaches wherein the collection engine stores the collected requests and responses in a data lake for detailed analysis at any point of time [Abdul ¶0040 the request 162 may include one or more criteria that the data retrieval module 116 may use to query the data lake 120A for the requested data view 164. As non-limiting examples, the parameters in the request 162 may include a point-in-time for which to retrieve data, a time period for which to retrieve data, an identifier of the organization for which to retrieve data, an identifier of the data lake 120 from which to retrieve data, authentication or authorization information (e.g., a token, credentials, etc.) associated with the organization or data lake 120].
Trentini teach all the features of claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 not wherein the collection engine stores the collected requests and responses in a data lake for detailed analysis at any point of time. Abdul teaches a cloud-based service may then store a logical backup of the first data source in the data lake and, in response to a query from a data warehousing system, the cloud-based service may retrieve a particular view of the backup data from the data lake and provide it to the data warehousing system. Because Abdul teaches a data lake it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the use of the signature calculation engine 114 functionality to map features of the reference model based on a machine learning (ML) model to determine risks of aggregated user login sessions as taught by Trentini to monitor the network flow traffic produced by user logins in the with data lake 120 from which to retrieve data of Abdul [Abdul ¶¶0040].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Azad et al 12477004 B2 teaches Dynamic calculation of security risk score of network security services based on assessed license status and configuration status.
SAKINAH WHITE-TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2407
/Sakinah White-Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407