DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 10-23 are pending. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-3, 16, 17, 19 and 20, canceled claims 5, 7, and 9 and new claims 21-23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8 and 10-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cunningham U.S. Patent No. 4,781,400.
With regard to claim 1, Cunningham discloses a fluid connection assembly, comprising:
a connector body (at 10), including:
a first end (end near 30);
a second end (end near 43);
a first through-bore (bore thru 10);
a first radially outward facing surface (outward facing surface of 10) including a groove (at 40, column 3, lines 29-30); and
a first radially inward facing surface (at 32); and
a retainer (at 15), including:
a plate (at 70) including a second through-bore (bore thru 15) and an annular recess circumscribing the second through-bore (see below);
at least one arm (at 71), each arm of the at least one arm including a proximal end (end next to 70) connected to the plate and a distal end (end near 73); and
a projection (at 72) connected to the at least one arm at the distal end, the projection operatively arranged to engage the groove to connect the retainer to the connector body (as shown in Fig 1).
With regard to claim 6, Cunningham discloses wherein the at least one arm comprises:
a first arm (at 71); and
a second arm (at 71) arranged diametrically opposed to the first arm relative to the plate (see below).
With regard to claim 8, Cunningham discloses wherein:
the connector body (at 10) further comprises a protrusion (see below) extending radially inward from the first radially inward facing surface;
the protrusion forms a first surface (see below) and a second surface (see below); and
the first surface is an axially facing surface arranged perpendicular to the first radially inward facing surface (as shown below).
With regard to claim 10, Cunningham discloses further comprising a tube (at 12) including a shoulder (at 12a), wherein the plate is operatively arranged to engage the shoulder to secure the tube to the connector body (where the plate engages the shoulder operatively through the arm 71).
With regard to claim 11, Cunningham discloses wherein the tube (at 16) comprises a flared section (section at 21c which flares to form the shoulder) forming the shoulder (at 12a), the flared section arranged completely within the first through-bore when the tube is secured to the connector body (as shown in Fig 1).
With regard to claim 13, Cunningham discloses wherein the at least one arm (at 71) further comprises an indentation extending axially from the distal end (see below).
With regard to claim 14, Cunningham discloses wherein the at least one arm comprises:
a first arm (at 71);
a second arm (at 71) arranged diametrically opposed to the first arm relative to the plate;
a third arm (at 71); and
a fourth arm (at 71) arranged diametrically opposed to the third arm relative to the plate (see below).
With regard to claim 15, Cunningham discloses wherein the first end (end near 30) is arranged to be sealingly secured to a service valve body (wherein the first end is capable of being arranged to be secured to a service valve body via 35).
Note: the service valve body is not a part of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 16, Cunningham discloses a fluid connection assembly, comprising:
a connector body (at 10), including:
a first end (end near 30);
a second end (end near 43);
a first through-bore (bore thru 10);
a first radially outward facing surface (outward facing surface of 10) including a groove (at 40, column 3, lines 29-30);
a first radially inward facing surface (at 32); and
a protrusion (see below) extending radially inward from the first radially inward facing surface;
a tube (at 12) including a shoulder (at 12a) operatively arranged to be inserted into the first through-bore (as shown in Fig 1); and
a retainer (at 15), including:
a plate (at 70) including a second through-bore (bore thru 15), the plate operatively arranged to engage the shoulder to secured secure the tube in the connector body (where the plate engages the shoulder operatively through the arm 71);
a plurality of arms (at 71, 71), each arm of the plurality of arms being planar and including a proximal end (end next to 70) connected to the plate and a distal end (end near 73); and
a projection (at 72) connected to at least one arm (at 71) of the plurality of arms at the distal end, the projection operatively arranged to engage the groove to connect the retainer to the connector body (as shown in Fig 1).
With regard to claim 19, Cunningham discloses wherein the plate (at 70) comprises a continuous recess circumscribing the second through-bore (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 17, 20, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kujawski, Jr. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0063656 A1.
With regard to claim 2, Cunningham discloses wherein the at least one arm further comprises:
a second radially inward facing surface (see below) operatively arranged to engage the first radially outward facing surface (outward facing surface of 10); and
a second radially outward facing surface (see below).
However, Cunningham does not disclose a rib extending radially from at least one of the second radially inward facing surface and the second radially outward facing surface, the rib arranged axially between and spaced apart from the proximal end and the distal end. Kujawski, Jr. teaches that a rib can be added to an arm to provide structural support while still allowing flexure of the arm (paragraph 81, lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rib extending radially from at least one of the second radially inward facing surface and the second radially outward facing surface with a reasonable expectation of success to provide structural support while still allowing flexure of the arm as taught by Kujawaki, Jr. and to have the rib arranged axially between and spaced apart from the proximal end and the distal end as locating the rib on the arm may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
With regard to claim 17, Cunningham discloses wherein the at least one arm of the plurality of arms further comprises:
a second radially inward facing surface (see above) operatively arranged to engage the first radially outward facing surface (outward facing surface of 10); and
a second radially outward facing surface (see above).
a rib extending radially from at least one of the second radially inward facing surface and the second radially outward facing surface.
However, Cunningham does not disclose a rib extending radially from at least one of the second radially inward facing surface and the second radially outward facing surface. Kujawski, Jr. teaches that a rib can be added to an arm to provide structural support while still allowing flexure of the arm (paragraph 81, lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rib extending radially from at least one of the second radially inward facing surface and the second radially outward facing surface with a reasonable expectation of success to provide structural support while still allowing flexure of the arm as taught by Kujawaki, Jr.
With regard to claim 20, and as shown in Figure 2, Cunningham discloses a retainer (at 15) for a fluid connection assembly, comprising:
a plate (at 70) including a through-bore (bore thru 15);
a first planar arm (at 71) connected to and extending from the plate;
a second planar arm (at 71) connected to and extending from the plate, the second arm arranged diametrically opposed to the first arm relative to the plate (as shown below); and
a projection (at 72) connected to and extending radially inward from at least one of the first arm and the second arm.
However, Cunningham does not disclose a rib extending radially from at least one of the first arm and the second arm. Kujawski, Jr. teaches that a rib can be added to an arm to provide structural support while still allowing flexure of the arm (paragraph 81, lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a rib extending radially from at least one of the first and second arm with a reasonable expectation of success to provide structural support while still allowing flexure of the arm as taught by Kujawaki, Jr.
With regard to claim 22, Cunningham discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose that the rib is arranged axially between and spaced apart from the proximal end and the distal end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rib arranged axially between and spaced apart from the proximal end and the distal end with a reasonable expectation of success as locating the rib on the arm may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
With regard to claim 23, Cunningham discloses wherein the plate further comprises a continuous annular recess circumscribing the through-bore (see below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 4, 12, 18 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment to at least claim 1 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679