DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (WO 2022236687 A1, hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20 Zheng discloses:
A terminal device comprising: at least one processor; (Paragraph [0004], “the apparatus comprises (1) a one or more processors”)
and at least one memory including computer program codes, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to: (Paragraph [0004], “the apparatus comprises (1) a one or more processors, and (2) memory storing instructions and data that, when executed by the one or more processors…”)
receive a mode indication of multicast transmission from a network device, (Paragraphs [0031-0034] and Fig. 1 discloses signaling exchanges between the device and network which identifies the beams that should be monitor for multicast transmission. Specifically [0034], “In some example embodiments, messages 140 can be broadcast to the UEs 110 using an MBS window, such a MCCH window or MTCH window. The UEs 110 can utilize the mapping algorithm to determine to which MO each UE should be listening to of the MBS, thereby conserving power and processing time.”)
wherein the mode indication indicates a beam mapping mode which is activated among a plurality of beam mapping modes, (Paragraph [0034], “The mapping algorithm can be transmitted to the UEs 110 using the message 140a for UE 110a...” [0036], “The number of SSB beams in the set of SSB beams can be determined as the SSB beams with MBS services, e.g., has at least one UE interested at MBS.” [0039], “A SSB beam key 250 indicates the set of SSB beams that have at least one UE interested at MBS” and Figs. 2A-D along with its related paragraphs discloses different mode for which mapping beams can be indicated.)
and wherein the beam mapping mode is associated with a mapping between a transmission beam and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion for the terminal device; and perform a PDCCH monitoring based on the mode indication. (Table 1 and paragraph [0031]
discloses mapping of beams to PDCCH monitoring occasion.)
Regarding claims 2 and 14 Zheng discloses:
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the mode indication is received via at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a multicast control channel (MCCH) or a medium access control control element or a downlink control information. (table 1 and paragraph [0031] discloses receiving the mode indication via RRC.
)
Regarding claims 3 and 15 Zheng discloses:
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further caused to: receive a mapping configuration indicating a configuration of the plurality of beam mapping modes from the network device. (Paragraph [0034], “In some example embodiments, messages 140 can be broadcast to the UEs 110 using an MBS window, such a MCCH window or MTCH window. The UEs 110 can utilize the mapping algorithm to determine to which MO each UE should be listening to of the MBS, thereby conserving power and processing time.” And paragraph [0035], “MCCH window duration 201 has a SSB beam key 210 indicating the SSB beams with UEs interested at MBS” and Figs 2A-2D are different mapping configurations from the network device for the terminal. )
Regarding claims 4 and 16 Zheng discloses:
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the mapping configuration is received via an RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC release message or via an MCCH. (Paragraph [0034], “In some example embodiments, messages 140 can be broadcast to the UEs 110 using an MBS window, such a MCCH window or MTCH window. The UEs 110 can utilize the mapping algorithm to determine to which MO each UE should be listening to of the MBS, thereby conserving power and processing time.” And paragraph [0035], “MCCH window duration 201 has a SSB beam key 210 indicating the SSB beams with UEs interested at MBS” and Figs 2A-2D are different mapping configurations from the network device for the terminal.)
Regarding claims 5 and 17 Zheng discloses:
wherein the beam mapping mode is determined based on the mode indication and the mapping configuration. (Paragraph [0034], “In some example embodiments, messages 140 can be broadcast to the UEs 110 using an MBS window, such a MCCH window or MTCH window. The UEs 110 can utilize the mapping algorithm to determine to which MO each UE should be listening to of the MBS, thereby conserving power and processing time.” This mapping algorithm and the message 140 is the mapping configuration and mode indication respectively.)
Regarding claim 7 Zheng discloses:
wherein the mode indication is received from the network device in a same signaling as the mapping configuration. (Paragraph [0034], “The mapping algorithm can be transmitted to the UEs 110 using the message 140… In some example embodiments, messages 140 can be broadcast to the UEs 110 using an MBS window, such a MCCH window or MTCH window. The UEs 110 can utilize the mapping algorithm to determine to which MO each UE should be listening to of the MBS, thereby conserving power and processing time.”)
Regarding claim 8 and 18 Zheng discloses:
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the beam mapping mode is associated with one or more bitmaps respectively associated with configured beams for the multicast transmission, (Paragraph [0038], “When the SSB beam mapping occurs within one MCCH window duration, a set of SSB beams can be generated that includes the indexed ordered SSB beams that have at least one UE interested at MBS and a blank MO for the SSB beams with no UE interested at MBS, e.g., a null, zero, empty set… For example, a bit map scheme can be utilized to represent the indexed ordered position of the SSB beams.” And Fig. 2C.)
and wherein each of the one or more bitmaps comprises a plurality of bits respectively associated with a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions. (Paragraph [0038], “As a demonstration, 11011000 would indicate that SSB beam #0, SSB beam #1… should be utilized (they are represented by a ‘1’) as they have UEs interested at MBS…” the 1s represent bits that are associated with the PDCCH MOs’. )
Regarding claims 9 and 19 Zheng discloses:
The terminal device of claim 8, wherein a value of each bit in the plurality of bits is indicative of whether an associated PDCCH monitoring occasion is to be monitored or to be skipped by the terminal device. (Paragraph [0038], “As a demonstration, 11011000 would indicate that SSB beam #0, SSB beam #1… should be utilized (they are represented by a ‘1’) as they have UEs interested at MBS, while SSB beam #2, SSB beam #5… are not transmitted, e.g., they are represented by a ‘0’. For SSB beams with no MBS services, the SSB beam mapping to the MCCH window duration can be blank for the MO. The UE can omit, skip, or otherwise ignore the blank MO.”)
Regarding claims 10 Zheng discloses:
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the transmission beam is associated with a synchronization signal block beam or a channel state information-reference signal beam. (Table 1 discloses a transmission beam associated with SSB
)
Regarding claims 11 Zheng discloses:
wherein the beam mapping mode comprises a mapping for any of the following:
a beam sweeping mode, wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion for a beam is pre-configured; (Paragraph [0034], “The mapping algorithm can be transmitted to the UEs 110 using the message 140a for UE 110a… The UEs 110 can utilize the mapping algorithm to determine to which MO each UE should be listening to of the MBS…” and paragraph [0035], “MCCH window duration 201 demonstrates the current standard of behavior and this repeating algorithm, e.g., schema, can continue to be used as one option under this disclosure.” The mapping algorithm is preconfigured for a beam.)
a free scheduling mode, wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion for a beam is dynamically scheduled; (Paragraph [0041], “The communication node can utilize various algorithms to determine which SSB beams can be repeated in the one or more extra PDCCH Mos of the MCCH window duration... For example, the communication node can utilize a location parameter received from each of the UEs that are US interested at MBS, and select an SSB Beam or SSB beams with the furthest UEs to be repeated… Other algorithms can be utilized, such as selecting SSB beams…” Different ways the BS can dynamically schedule the repeating beams.)
or an intermediate mode, wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion for at least one beam is pre-configured, and on a PDCCH monitoring occasion, beams are freely scheduled
or wherein on at least one PDCCH monitoring occasion, a part of beams is freely scheduled.
Regarding claim 12 Zheng discloses:
wherein the terminal device is further caused to: obtain another mode indication, wherein the another mode indication indicates the terminal device to activate another beam mapping mode among the plurality of beam mapping modes; (Paragraph [0034], “The mapping algorithm can be transmitted to the UEs 110 using the message… (collectively, messages 140)…” and paragraph [0040], “the mapping across the MCCH window duration can be disabled by the communication node…” and paragraph [0038], “When the SSB beam mapping occurs within one MCCH window duration, a set of SSB beams can be generated that includes the indexed ordered SSB beams that have at least one UE interested at MBS and a blank MO for the SSB beams with no UE interested at MBS, e.g., a null, zero, empty set… For example, a bit map scheme can be utilized to represent the indexed ordered position of the SSB beams.” It is disclosed that the terminal device is able to obtain and switch to different mapping algorithm such as bit map scheme among other beam mapping modes.)
and switch from the beam mapping mode into the another beam mapping mode indicated in the another mode indication. (Paragraph [0034], “The mapping algorithm can be transmitted to the UEs 110 using the message… (collectively, messages 140)…” and paragraph [0040], “the mapping across the MCCH window duration can be disabled by the communication node…” and paragraph [0038], “When the SSB beam mapping occurs within one MCCH window duration, a set of SSB beams can be generated that includes the indexed ordered SSB beams that have at least one UE interested at MBS and a blank MO for the SSB beams with no UE interested at MBS, e.g., a null, zero, empty set… For example, a bit map scheme can be utilized to represent the indexed ordered position of the SSB beams.” Specifically disclosed in [0040] the communication node can disable the current mapping algorithm and configure the number of repetition transmissions for each SSB beam within the MCCH window duration.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Farag et al. (US 20220247538 A1, hereinafter Farag).
Regarding claim 6 Zheng does not disclose:
wherein the mode indication is received from the network device in a separate signaling from the mapping configuration.
Farag discloses:
wherein the mode indication is received from the network device in a separate signaling from the mapping configuration. (Paragraph [0009], “The UE includes a transceiver configured to: receive configuration information for operation with a joint beam indication or a separate beam indication, receive configuration information for a first set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for joint TCI states or downlink (DL) TCI states, receive configuration information for a second set of TCI states for uplink (UL) TCI states if configured to operate with separate beam indication, receive M TCI state code points activated by a medium access control-control element (MAC CE)” The UE receives the mode indication separately from the mapping configuration.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the mapping algorithm and message 140 of Zheng with the separate signaling of Farag. One would have been motivated to do this to reduce signaling overhead when switching beam modes.
Conclusion
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479