DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending. Claim 2 has been canceled.
The foreign priority document No. 10-2023-0128482 filed on September 25, 2023 in the Republic of Korea has been received and it is acknowledged.
The current Office Action introduces new grounds of rejection for claim 1. Therefore, the Office Action is made non-final. The examiner apologizes for any inconvenience this may cause.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-14, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/769,750 (US 2025/0237945). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim the same organometallic compounds, the same resist composition, and the same method of forming a pattern.
The copending Application No. 18/769,750 claims a resist composition comprising an organometallic compound (claim 1), which may be represented by the formula:
(claim 9).
This compound is an organometallic compound of Formula 1-2 in claims 1, 3-5, and 9 of the instant application, wherein M11 is tin(Sn), b11=2, b12=2, Q11 and Q12 are substituted C6 aryl groups, the substituents of the C6 aryl groups being C4 alkyl groups, the two adjacent groups Q11 and the two adjacent groups Q12 are bonded to each other to form condensed rings, R11 and R12 are hydrogen atoms, Y11 and Y12 are O(C=O), X11 and X12 are linear C2 hydrocarbons.
The compound above has a Sn-C bond dissociating energy of 21.64 kcal/mol (see par.0120 of the specification of the instant application). This value is within the range of claim 1 of the instant application.
The compound above is an organometallic compound of Formula 1-2 in claims 6 and 7 of the instant application, wherein *-C(Q11)b11(R11)(3-b11) is represented by the formula 2-11 and *-C(Q12)b12(R12)(3-b12) is represented by the formula 2-23, wherein R11c and R12c are hydrogen atoms, Q11a, Q11b, Q12a, and Q12b are substituted C6 aryl groups, the substituents of the C6 aryl groups being C4 alkyl groups, a11=1, a12=1, L11 and L12 are single bonds.
The compound above is an organometallic compound of Formula 1-2 in claims 8 and 10 of the instant application, wherein *-C(Q11)b11(R11)(3-b11) is represented by the formula 3-11 and *-C(Q12)b12(R12)(3-b12) is represented by the formula 3-21, wherein R11c and R12c are hydrogen atoms, A31 and A32 are C6 aryl groups, a11=1, a12=1, L11 and L12 are single bonds, b31=1, b32=1, R31 and R32 are C4 alkyl groups.
The compound above is one of the compounds in claim 11 of the instant application.
The resist composition in claims 1 and 9 of the copending Application No. 18/769,750 is equivalent to the resist composition in claim 12 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/769,750 claims that the resist composition comprises the organometallic compound and an additive (claim 1), so it meets the limitations of claims 13 and 14 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/769,750 further claims a method of forming a pattern comprising the steps of: applying the resist composition onto a substrate to form a resist film, exposing at least a portion of the resist film to high-energy rays to provide an exposed resist film, and developing the exposed resist film using a developer (claim 17), same as in claim 17 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/769,750 further claims that the exposing is performed with deep ultraviolet rays (DUV), extreme ultraviolet rays (EUV), electron beams (EB) (claim 18), same as in claim 18 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/769,750 further claims that the organometallic compound is subjected to a condensation reaction based on exposing the film (claim 19). The condensation reaction bonds molecules of organometallic compounds, as required in claim 19 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/769,750 further claims that the exposed resist film includes an exposed portion and a non-exposed portion, and in the developing step the non-exposed portion is removed (claim 20), same as in claim 20 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 11, 15-17, and 20 of copending Application No. 19/062,708 (US 2026/0063990). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim the same organometallic compounds, the same resist composition, and the same method of forming a pattern.
The copending Application No. 19/062,708 claims a resist composition comprising an organometallic compound (claim 1), which may be represented by the formula:
(claim 5).
This compound is an organometallic compound of Formula 1-2 in claims 1, 3-5, and 9 of the instant application, wherein M11 is tin(Sn), b11=2, b12=2, Q11 and Q12 are substituted C6 aryl groups, the substituents of the C6 aryl groups being C4 alkyl groups, the two adjacent groups Q11 and the two adjacent groups Q12 are bonded to each other to form condensed rings, R11 and R12 are hydrogen atoms, Y11 and Y12 are O(C=O), X11 and X12 are linear C2 hydrocarbons.
The compound above has a Sn-C bond dissociating energy of 21.64 kcal/mol (see par.0120 of the specification of the instant application). This value is within the range of claim 1 of the instant application.
The compound above is an organometallic compound of Formula 1-2 in claims 6 and 7 of the instant application, wherein *-C(Q11)b11(R11)(3-b11) is represented by the formula 2-11 and *-C(Q12)b12(R12)(3-b12) is represented by the formula 2-23, wherein R11c and R12c are hydrogen atoms, Q11a, Q11b, Q12a, and Q12b are substituted C6 aryl groups, the substituents of the C6 aryl groups being C4 alkyl groups, a11=1, a12=1, L11 and L12 are single bonds.
The compound above is an organometallic compound of Formula 1-2 in claims 8 and 10 of the instant application, wherein *-C(Q11)b11(R11)(3-b11) is represented by the formula 3-11 and *-C(Q12)b12(R12)(3-b12) is represented by the formula 3-21, wherein R11c and R12c are hydrogen atoms, A31 and A32 are C6 aryl groups, a11=1, a12=1, L11 and L12 are single bonds, b31=1, b32=1, R31 and R32 are C4 alkyl groups.
The compound above is one of the compounds in claim 11 of the instant application.
The resist composition in claims 1 and 5 of the copending Application No. 19/062,708 is equivalent to the resist composition in claim 12 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 19/062,708 claims that the resist composition comprises the organometallic compound and an additive (claim 1), so it meets the limitations of claims 13 and 14 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 19/062,708 further claims that the resist composition further comprises a solvent, such as methyl ethyl ketone (claims 11 and 15). This is an aprotic organic solvent, as required in claims 15 and 16 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 19/062,708 further claims a method of forming a pattern comprising the steps of: applying the resist composition onto a substrate to form a resist film, exposing at least a portion of the resist film to high-energy rays to provide an exposed resist film, and developing the exposed resist film using a developer (claim 16), same as in claim 17 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 19/062,708 further claims that the exposing is performed with deep ultraviolet rays (DUV), extreme ultraviolet rays (EUV), X-rays, g-rays, a-rays, or electron beams (EB) (claim 17), same as in claim 18 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 19/062,708 further claims that the exposed resist film includes an exposed portion and an unexposed portion, and in the developing step the unexposed portion is removed (claim 20), same as in claim 20 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0348591) in view of Hatakeyama (US 2023/0021453) and in further view of Nemes et al. (“Difluorenylsilanes, -germanes, -stannanes Exhibiting an Unprecedented Parallel Arrangement of the Fluorene Units”).
With regard to claims 1 and 12, Kim et al. teach a photoresist composition which may comprise a compound of Chemical Formula 4:
, wherein R may be a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group (abstract, par.0012-0017, par.0028-0032).
Kim et al. teach that the “aryl group” may be a fused ring polycyclic functional group (par.0055), but do not teach a compound of formula 1-1 in claim 1.
However, it is well-known in the art that a C6-C30 aryl group may be a fluorenyl group (see par.0056 of Hatakeyama).
Additionally, Nemes et al. show that a fluorenyl group may be bonded to a Sn atom in an organometallic compound (see Chart 2 in the left column of page 1135).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the compound of Chemical Formula 4 of Kim et al. wherein R is a fluorenyl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently an unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, an unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or an unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group.
Such compound is an organometallic compound of Formula (1-1) in claim 1, wherein M11 is Sn, b11=2, Q11 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl groups, and the groups Q11 are bonded to each other to form a condensed ring, R11 is hydrogen, Y11, Y12, and Y13 are O(C=O), X11, X12, and X13 are C1-30 monovalent hydrocarbon groups.
The bond dissociation energy between Sn and the C of a fluorenyl group is less than 30kcal/mol (see the bond dissociation energy for the compounds 1-5 in par.0120 of the specification of the instant application).
The photoresist composition of Kim modified by Hatakeyama and Nemes is the resist composition in claim 12 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 3, a compound of Chemical Formula 4 wherein R is a fluorenyl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently an unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, an unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or an unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group is an organometallic compound of Formula (1-1) wherein M11 is Sn.
With regard to claim 4, a compound of Chemical Formula 4 wherein R is a fluorenyl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently an unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, an unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or an unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group is an organometallic compound of Formula (1-1) wherein Q11 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl groups, the groups Q11 are bonded to each other to form a condensed ring, and R11 is hydrogen.
With regard to claims 6 and 7, a compound of Chemical Formula 4 wherein R is a fluorenyl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently an unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, an unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or an unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group is an organometallic compound of Formula (1-1) wherein *-C(Q11)b11(R11)(3-b11) is represented by the formula 2-11, wherein Q11a and Q11b are unsubstituted C6 aryl groups, a11=1, and L11 is a single bond.
With regard to claim 9, a compound of Chemical Formula 4 wherein R is a fluorenyl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently an unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, an unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or an unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group is an organometallic compound of Formula (1-1) wherein X11, X12, and X13 are independently an unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, an unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or an unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group.
With regard to claims 13 and 15, Kim et al. teach that the photoresist composition may comprise the organometallic compound, solvent, and a resin (par.0095), and may further comprises a surfactant, a cross-linking agent, and leveling agent (par.0095).
Therefore, the photoresist composition does not comprise a photoacid generator and meets the limitations of claim 13.
Kim et al. further teach that the solvent is an organic solvent (par.0088), as required in claim 15.
With regard to claim 16, Kim et al. teach that the organic solvent may be an alcohol (par.0088), which are protic organic solvents.
With regard to claim 17, Kim et al. teach a process comprising the steps of:
-forming a photoresist layer (106) by coating the photoresist composition onto a substrate (fig.2, par.0110-0113);
-exposing the photoresist layer (106) with light having high-energy wavelength through a pattern mask (fig.3, par.0114-0115); and
-developing the exposed photoresist layer (fig.4, par.0119).
With regard to claim 18, Kim et al. teach that the light having high-energy wavelength may be EUV (extreme ultraviolet), E-Beam (electron beam) (par.0115).
With regard to claim 19, Kim et al. teach that a cross-lining reaction between organometallic compounds occurs in the exposed areas (par.0117).
With regard to claim 20, Kim et al. teach that the photoresist layer (106) comprises exposed region (106a) and non-exposure region (106b) (par.0117-0119).The non-exposure region (106b) of the photoresist layer is dissolved and removed using the developing solution (fig.4, par.0119).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 02, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 19 of the Remarks the applicant argues that the cited art does not teach all the limitations of the amended claim 1.
The examiner would like to note that the subject matter of the amended claim 1 is taught by Kim et al. (US 2020/0348591) in view of Hatakeyama (US 2023/0021453) and in further view of Nemes et al. (“Difluorenylsilanes, -germanes, -stannanes Exhibiting an Unprecedented Parallel Arrangement of the Fluorene Units”).
Kim et al. teach a photoresist composition which may comprise a compound of Chemical Formula 4:
, wherein R may be a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group (abstract, par.0012-0017, par.0028-0032).
Kim et al. teach that the “aryl group” may be a fused ring polycyclic functional group (par.0055), but do not teach a compound of formula 1-1 in claim 1.
However, it is well-known in the art that a C6-C30 aryl group may be a fluorenyl group (see par.0056 of Hatakeyama).
Additionally, Nemes et al. show that a fluorenyl group may be bonded to a Sn atom in an organometallic compound (see Chart 2 in the left column of page 1135).
One or ordinary skill would have been motivated to obtain the compound of Chemical Formula 4 of Kim et al. wherein R is a fluorenyl group, Rd, Re, and Rf are independently an unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl group, an unsubstituted C3-C20 cycloalkyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkenyl group, an unsubstituted C2-C20 alkynyl group, or an unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group.
Such compound is an organometallic compound of Formula (1-1) in claim 1, wherein M11 is Sn, b11=2, Q11 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl groups, and the groups Q11 are bonded to each other to form a condensed ring, R11 is hydrogen, Y11, Y12, and Y13 are O(C=O), X11, X12, and X13 are C1-30 monovalent hydrocarbon groups.
The bond dissociation energy between Sn and the C of a fluorenyl group is less than 30kcal/mol (see the bond dissociation energy for the compounds 1-5 in par.0120 of the specification of the instant application).
Conclusion
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722