Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim 1 and amended claim 9 and 10 in the reply filed on 06/08/2026is acknowledged.
Claim 2-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, claim 2-8, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/08/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CHINA on 03/29/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 20231032807.X application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Application Status
Claim 1, 9 and 10 are under examination.
Claim 2-8 are withdrawn from examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “traditional Chinese bacon” in claim line 1-2is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “traditional Chinese” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 10 recites a term in parentheses in line 3, wherein it is not clear if the term is a limitation to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirovano et al. (US 2007/0292402 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pirovano et al. (Pirovano) discloses a lyophilized product (dry powder) (‘402, [0001], [0024]) comprising a mixture of strains (‘402, [0044]) of lactobacilli and bifidobacteria including Lactobacillus plantarum, Lactobacillus curvatus and Lactobacillus sakei wherein Lactobacillus sakei is also known as Latilactobacillus sakei (‘402, [0048], claim 10). Pirovano does not explicitly disclose Lactiplantibacillus plantarum YR07, Latilactobacillus sakei L.48, and Lactobacillus curvatus D2; however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ different strains of Lactobacillus plantarum, Lactobacillus curvatus and Lactobacillus sakei including the cited strains in Pirovano’s lyophilized product (dry powder) for a desired known health benefits.
Regarding claim 9 and 10, Pirovano discloses food product (‘402, [0049]) with the lyophilized product (dry powder), wherein the food includes meat products (cured meat product) (‘402, [0031]). With respect to claim 10, Pirovano does not explicitly disclose the meat product is ham. However, ham is a well known meat product. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art Pirovano’s meat product is ham to provide a desired meat product for a consumer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zuccato (US 7,517,543) discloses known and successful combination of strains including Lactobacillus plantarum, Lactobacillus curvatus and Lactobacillus sakei in food products (‘543, claim 1, 2). Remo does not disclose a powder format of the combination of strains.
Stiles et al. (US 2005/0153033 A1) discloses a lactic acid bacteria including Lactobacillus plantarum, Lactobacillus curvatus and Lactobacillus sakei (‘033, [0108], Table 6]) have been used in food preservation of food products including meat products, sausages (‘033, [0002], [0008]). Stiles does not teach a mixture of the Lactobacillus plantarum, Lactobacillus curvatus and Lactobacillus sakei.
Parente et al. (Journal of Applied Microbiology 2001, 90, 943-952) discloses fermented (cured) sausages comprising Lactobacillus plantarum, Lactobacillus curvatus and Lactobacillus sakei (Introduction, pg. 943 col. 1-col.2).
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792