DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 03/01/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 7, 9, 15 have been amended. No claim has been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on 03/01/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US Pub 2025/0133199 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US Pub 2020/0334836 A1) and Mao et al. (US Pub 2025/0182333 A1), further in view of Lee (US Pub 2019/0073778 A1).
As to claim 1, He discloses a naked-eye 3D display control method (¶0040, “the 3D display device can also implement the naked-eye 3D display with human eye tracking”) comprising:
obtaining movement information of a display screen (¶0041, “current eye position data of a target user and current gyroscope data corresponding to the 3D display device are determined”);
determining pose information of the display screen according to the movement information (Fig. 5, ¶0046, “when to determine the gyroscope data corresponding to the 3D display device, in operation 140, the 3D display device obtains a stored first pitch angle value V1 of a gyroscope (the 3D display device updates the stored pitch angle value of the gyroscope when the pitch angle value is changed. The first pitch angle value V1 refers the last updated pitch angle value of the gyroscope). In operation 142, the 3D display device monitors a refresh command, and calculates a second pitch angle value V2 of the gyroscope in responding to that the screen of the 3D display device is refreshed according to the refresh command. Finally, in operation 144, the pitch angle change value of the gyroscope (that is, the gyroscope data) is obtained based on the first pitch angle value V1 and the second pitch angle value V2.”),
the pose information comprising pose change information indicative of a distance by which and a direction in which the display screen has moved (¶0049, “The 3D display image can be observed even when the target user moves or the 3D display device moves. In the embodiment, the 3D display device rotates or moves the 3D display image according to the final eye angle value. An rotated angle of the 3D display image is in a direction opposite to a changed angle of the position of the human eye, and the two has a linear relationship. A ratio of the linear relationship is calculated according to the distance from the human eye to the screen to the distance between the human eye and the 3D display image and the actual depth of field of the scene which are multiplied by an adjustment parameters”);
determining a display mode and a display position of a virtual object relative to the display screen according to the pose information (¶0047, “It should be noted that the pitch angle value can be marked by a three-dimensional standard coordinate system, and the three-dimensional spatial coordinates can intuitively reflect the angular relationship between the human eye and the 3D display device. The gyroscope can output posture information of the 3D display device at high frequency in a short period of time, based on this, the gyroscope can be employed to calculate the pitch angle change value of the gyroscope between two successive times of detecting human eye to instantly output the pitch (i.e., posture information) of the 3D display device, thus to makes up for the blank time between frames of the camera.” ¶0048, “After the eye position data of the target user and the gyroscope data are determined, the final eye angle value corresponding to the target user can be determined according to the eye position data and the gyroscope data, that is, the initial eye position data adds the pitch angle change value to obtain the final eye angle value, so that the 3D display device can adjust the 3D display image through the stereoscopic game engine based on the eye angle value. The angle value between the target user's eyes and the screen of the 3D display device is V0, and V0 represents an angular relationship between the target user's eyes and the screen of the 3D display device at the current time in the three-dimensional standard coordinate system. The final eye angle value is Vx, and the calculation formula is: Vx=V0+Vp. By adding the pitch angle change value Vp of the gyroscope to the initial eye position data, an accurate and reliable final eye angle value can be obtained.”); and
outputting a virtual image of the virtual object at the display position in the display mode (¶0049, “Finally, the 3D display image displayed after rendering is adjusted according to the final eye angle value. The 3D display image can be observed even when the target user moves or the 3D display device moves. In the embodiment, the 3D display device rotates or moves the 3D display image according to the final eye angle value. An rotated angle of the 3D display image is in a direction opposite to a changed angle of the position of the human eye, and the two has a linear relationship. A ratio of the linear relationship is calculated according to the distance from the human eye to the screen to the distance between the human eye and the 3D display image and the actual depth of field of the scene which are multiplied by an adjustment parameters, thus to give the user a more realistic 3D virtual scene experience.” ¶0050, “the gyroscope can transmit the pitch angle change value of the device in real time and detect the human eye in real time, so that the user can always view the 3D display image.”).
He does not explicitly disclose “such that a spatial presentation position of the virtual object remains unchanged while the display screen moves”.
Lin teaches “such that a spatial presentation position of the virtual object remains unchanged while the display screen moves” (Lin, ¶0193, “a pose of a camera on an electronic device can be tracked in real time according to scene information in the real world, and a display position of an AR element in an AR application is adjusted and changed according to a tracking result. An AR program run on the mobile phone in FIG. 1 or FIG. 2 is used as an example. In a case that a still cartoon character standing on a book needs to be displayed, no matter how a user moves the mobile phone, it is only necessary to change a display position of the cartoon character according to a pose change of a camera on the mobile phone, so that the standing position of the cartoon character on the book can be kept unchanged.”).
He and Lin are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to display. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He with the features of “such that a spatial presentation position of the virtual object remains substantially unchanged while the display screen moves” as taught by Lin. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for standing position of the cartoon character on the book can be kept unchanged (Lin, ¶0193.).
Mao also teaches “such that a spatial presentation position of the virtual object remains unchanged while the display screen moves” (Mao, ¶0053, “In a process in which the calibration target images are determined, a disposing location, a posture, an angle, and the like of each calibration target in the motion capture area remains unchanged, that is, during movement of the head display device, all the calibration targets in the motion capture area remain in original forms” ¶0090, “The head display device includes at least one motion capture object, and an object coordinate system configured for representing a relative location of each motion capture object may be constructed based on each motion capture object. In addition, each motion capture object is rigidly connected to the head display device, to be specific, a relative location between each motion capture object and the head display device remains unchanged during movement of the head display device.”).
He and Mao are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to display. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He with the features of “such that a spatial presentation position of the virtual object remains unchanged while the display screen moves” as taught by Mao. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for a relative location between each motion capture object and the head display device remains unchanged during movement of the head display device (Mao, ¶0090.).
He does not explicitly disclose wherein the display mode is selected from an in-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an inner side of the display screen and an out-of-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an outer side of the display screen, and the determining the display mode comprises, in response to first movement of the display screen causing the spatial presentation position of the virtual object to be located on different sides of the display screen before and after the first movement, switching the display mode between the in-screen display mode and the out- of-screen display mode.
However, parallax image is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In particular, applicant admitted it was a prior art in the background section of specification “Naked-eye 3D display is able to form an in-screen or out-of-screen display effect by adjusting positive and negative parallax of a binocular parallax image. Under the in-screen display effect, a three-dimensional scene perceived by human eyes is presented behind the display screen, i.e., the three-dimensional scene and the human eyes are on different sides of the screen. Under the out-of-screen display effect, the three-dimensional scene perceived by the human eye is presented in front of the display screen, i.e., the three-dimensional scene and the human eyes are on the same side of the screen.” Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Lee teaches the display mode is selected from an in-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an inner side of the display screen and an out-of-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an outer side of the display screen, and the determining the display mode comprises, in response to first movement of the display screen causing the spatial presentation position of the virtual object to be located on different sides of the display screen before and after the first movement, switching the display mode between the in-screen display mode and the out- of-screen display mode (Lee, Fig. 1, ¶0061, “extracting an object distance to a target object from image information (S110), acquiring rotation information according to movement of a user's head (S120), calculating a position correction value of an image by using the rotation information (S130), and converting the image based on the position correction value and providing the converted image to the HMD (S140).” Fig. 4A to 4C, ¶0087-0088, “The image can be moved by using the screen disparity value, and the screen disparity value may have a positive (+) value when a depth value of the target object is greater than a fixed screen distance and the screen disparity value may have a negative (−) value when the depth value of the target object is smaller than the fixed screen distance.”. ¶0089-0095).
He and Lee are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to stereoscopic display. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He with the features of “the display mode is selected from an in-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an inner side of the display screen and an out-of-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an outer side of the display screen, and the determining the display mode comprises, in response to first movement of the display screen causing the spatial presentation position of the virtual object to be located on different sides of the display screen before and after the first movement, switching the display mode between the in-screen display mode and the out- of-screen display mode” as taught by Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide a position-corrected image (Lee, Abstract).
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses determining the display mode and the display position of the virtual object according to the pose information includes determining the display position and display mode of the virtual object according to the pose information in a previous cycle and change data of the pose information in a current cycle (He, ¶0047, “The gyroscope can output posture information of the 3D display device at high frequency in a short period of time, based on this, the gyroscope can be employed to calculate the pitch angle change value of the gyroscope between two successive times of detecting human eye to instantly output the pitch (i.e., posture information) of the 3D display device, thus to makes up for the blank time between frames of the camera.” ¶0048-0050).
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses determining the display mode and the display position according to the pose information includes: determining the display position and display mode according to the display position of the virtual object in a previous cycle and the pose information (He, ¶0047, “It should be noted that the pitch angle value can be marked by a three-dimensional standard coordinate system, and the three-dimensional spatial coordinates can intuitively reflect the angular relationship between the human eye and the 3D display device. The gyroscope can output posture information of the 3D display device at high frequency in a short period of time, based on this, the gyroscope can be employed to calculate the pitch angle change value of the gyroscope between two successive times of detecting human eye to instantly output the pitch (i.e., posture information) of the 3D display device, thus to makes up for the blank time between frames of the camera.” ¶0050, “when a user plays a naked-eye 3D game on the 3D display device, he or she would touch the screen, which will inevitably cause the device to shake slightly. In the present application, the gyroscope 13 is employed to assist in capturing the position of the human eye. Even during shaking, the gyroscope can transmit the pitch angle change value of the device in real time and detect the human eye in real time, so that the user can always view the 3D display image.”).
As to claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses before determining the display mode and the display position: determining an eye position of an eye of a user in front of the display screen (He, ¶0041, “In operation 120, current eye position data of a target user and current gyroscope data corresponding to the 3D display device are determined.” ¶0044, “The eye position data of the target user include a viewing angle value and a viewing distance value.”);
wherein determining the display mode and the display position according to the pose information includes: determining the display position and display mode according to the eye position and the pose information (He, ¶0045, “when to determine the current eye position data of the target user, in operation 130, the 3D display device obtains a face image of the target user through a camera, and determines a position of a left pupil (x1, y1) and a position of a right pupil (x2, y2) in the face image. In operation 132, the 3D display device calculates a horizontal viewing angle a=(x2−x1)*A, and a vertical viewing angle β=(y2−y1)*A according to a deviation of the left pupil and the right pupil from an origin of the image. A is a calibration constant of viewing angle. In operation 134, the 3D display device calculates the viewing angle value δ based on the horizontal viewing angle and the vertical viewing angle, and in operation 136, the 3D display device calculates the viewing distance value M=l*B/cosδ based on the viewing angle value δ and an interpupillary distance of the target user (the interpupillary distance of the target user can be calculated based on the positions of the left pupil and the right pupil of the target user's). B is a calibration constant of viewing distance, l represents the interpupillary distance of the left and right pupils. It can be understood that the deviation of the left and right pupils from the origin of the image refers to a deviation of a midpoint between the left and right pupils from the origin of the image.” ¶0046-0049, “the 3D display image displayed after rendering is adjusted according to the final eye angle value. The 3D display image can be observed even when the target user moves or the 3D display device moves.”).
As to claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses determining the display position and display mode according to the eye position and the pose information includes: determining relative position change information of the display screen relative to the eye according to the eye position and the pose information (He, ¶0045-0046, ¶0048, “After the eye position data of the target user and the gyroscope data are determined, the final eye angle value corresponding to the target user can be determined according to the eye position data and the gyroscope data, that is, the initial eye position data adds the pitch angle change value to obtain the final eye angle value, so that the 3D display device can adjust the 3D display image through the stereoscopic game engine based on the eye angle value. The angle value between the target user's eyes and the screen of the 3D display device is V0, and V0 represents an angular relationship between the target user's eyes and the screen of the 3D display device at the current time in the three-dimensional standard coordinate system. The final eye angle value is Vx, and the calculation formula is: Vx=V0+Vp. By adding the pitch angle change value Vp of the gyroscope to the initial eye position data, an accurate and reliable final eye angle value can be obtained.”), and
determining the display position and display mode according to the display position of the virtual object in the previous cycle and the relative position change information (He, ¶0047, “The gyroscope can output posture information of the 3D display device at high frequency in a short period of time, based on this, the gyroscope can be employed to calculate the pitch angle change value of the gyroscope between two successive times of detecting human eye to instantly output the pitch (i.e., posture information) of the 3D display device, thus to makes up for the blank time between frames of the camera.” ¶0050, “It is understandable that when a user plays a naked-eye 3D game on the 3D display device, he or she would touch the screen, which will inevitably cause the device to shake slightly. In the present application, the gyroscope 13 is employed to assist in capturing the position of the human eye. Even during shaking, the gyroscope can transmit the pitch angle change value of the device in real time and detect the human eye in real time, so that the user can always view the 3D display image.”).
As to claim 6, claim 4 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses determining the display position and display mode according to the eye position and the pose information includes:
determining the spatial presentation position of the virtual object according to the eye position and a preset presentation effect of the virtual object (He, ¶0030, “It should be noted that the 3D display device can designate a layer for an object to be displayed in advance. In an embodiment, referring also to FIG. 2, in operation 110, a display module corresponding to the 3D display device can be called to create the layer. The display module corresponding to the 3D display device is based on which system the 3D display device employs.” ¶0031, “in operation 112, a target layer corresponding to the target object which is to be rendered is determined, and in operation 114, whether the packet name of the data packet of the target object is recorded in a preset list which records package names is determined (the preset list records package names of multiple objects including the target object, and the multiple objects in the preset list are those which need to be displayed in the 3D display mode).” ¶0047, “It should be noted that the pitch angle value can be marked by a three-dimensional standard coordinate system, and the three-dimensional spatial coordinates can intuitively reflect the angular relationship between the human eye and the 3D display device. The gyroscope can output posture information of the 3D display device at high frequency in a short period of time, based on this, the gyroscope can be employed to calculate the pitch angle change value of the gyroscope between two successive times of detecting human eye to instantly output the pitch (i.e., posture information) of the 3D display device, thus to makes up for the blank time between frames of the camera.”); and
determining the display position and display mode according to the spatial presentation position and the pose information (He, ¶0049, “the 3D display image displayed after rendering is adjusted according to the final eye angle value. The 3D display image can be observed even when the target user moves or the 3D display device moves. In the embodiment, the 3D display device rotates or moves the 3D display image according to the final eye angle value. An rotated angle of the 3D display image is in a direction opposite to a changed angle of the position of the human eye, and the two has a linear relationship. A ratio of the linear relationship is calculated according to the distance from the human eye to the screen to the distance between the human eye and the 3D display image and the actual depth of field of the scene which are multiplied by an adjustment parameters, thus to give the user a more realistic 3D virtual scene experience.” ¶0050).
As to claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses obtaining the movement information of the display screen includes obtaining the movement information of the display screen based on a sensor at the display screen, the sensor including at least one of an acceleration sensor, a displacement sensor, or an image sensor (He, ¶0041, “current eye position data of a target user and current gyroscope data corresponding to the 3D display device are determined. The target user is the person currently viewing the screen of the 3D display device.”).
As to claim 9, the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses an electronic device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing executable program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: obtain movement information of a display screen; determine pose information of the display screen according to the movement information, the pose information comprising pose change information indicative of a distance by which and a direction in which the display screen has moved; determine a display mode and a display position of a virtual object relative to the display screen according to the pose information, such that a spatial presentation position of the virtual object remains unchanged while the display screen moves; wherein the display mode is selected from an in-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an inner side of the display screen and an out-of-screen display mode in which the virtual object is located on an outer side of the display screen, and the determining the display mode comprises, in response to first movement of the display screen causing the spatial presentation position of the virtual object to be located on different sides of the display screen before and after the first movement, switching the display mode between the in-screen display mode and the out-of-screen display mode and output a virtual image of the virtual object at the display position in the display mode. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine the display position and display mode of the virtual object according to the pose information in a previous cycle and change data of the pose information in a current cycle (See claim 2 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 11, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: determine the display position and display mode according to the display position of the virtual object in a previous cycle and the pose information (See claim 3 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 12, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: determine an eye position of an eye of a user in front of the display screen before determining the display mode and the display position; and determine the display position and display mode according to the eye position and the pose information (See claim 4 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: determine relative position change information of the display screen relative to the eye according to the eye position and the pose information, and determine the display position and display mode according to the display position of the virtual object in the previous cycle and the relative position change information (See claim 5 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 14, claim 12 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: determine the spatial presentation position of the virtual object according to the eye position and a preset presentation effect of the virtual object; and determine the display position and display mode according to the spatial presentation position and the pose information (See claim 6 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 16, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of He, Lin and Mao, Lee discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to obtain the movement information of the display screen based on a sensor at the display screen, the sensor including at least one of an acceleration sensor, a displacement sensor, or an image sensor (See claim 8 for detailed analysis.).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US Pub 2025/0133199 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US Pub 2020/0334836 A1) and Mao et al. (US Pub 2025/0182333 A1), Lee (US Pub 2019/0073778 A1), further in view of Hong (US Pub 2013/0044109 A1) and Huang, Dongjin, et al. ("Adaptive 3D Video Parallax Generation Based on Neural Radiation Field." 2022 4th International Conference on Frontiers Technology of Information and Computer (ICFTIC). IEEE, 2022.).
As to claim 7, claim 4 is incorporated and He does not explicitly discloses outputting the virtual image at the display position in the display mode includes: in response to a distance between the spatial presentation position corresponding to the display position and the eye position being greater than a distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the in-screen display mode; and in response to the distance between the spatial presentation position and the eye position being smaller than the distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the out-of-screen display mode.
However, parallax image is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In particular, applicant admitted it was a prior art in the background section of specification “Naked-eye 3D display is able to form an in-screen or out-of-screen display effect by adjusting positive and negative parallax of a binocular parallax image. Under the in-screen display effect, a three-dimensional scene perceived by human eyes is presented behind the display screen, i.e., the three-dimensional scene and the human eyes are on different sides of the screen. Under the out-of-screen display effect, the three-dimensional scene perceived by the human eye is presented in front of the display screen, i.e., the three-dimensional scene and the human eyes are on the same side of the screen.” Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Hong teaches outputting the virtual image at the display position in the display mode includes: in response to a distance between the spatial presentation position corresponding to the display position and the eye position being greater than a distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the in-screen display mode; and in response to the distance between the spatial presentation position and the eye position being smaller than the distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the out-of-screen display mode (Hong, ¶0037, “when the user comes near to the display screen 10, each object in the image should be moved in a direction away from the center of the display screen 10 (assume that the user views the image just facing a plane, i.e. a projection point of the user on the plane of the display screen 10 is just the center of the display screen 10). Reference is made to FIG. 4 which is a view of image location change when the virtual image location 20 is maintained immovable but the user comes near according to one embodiment of the present invention. The distance moved in an image direction is [(d.times.S)/(L'-S)]-[(d.times.S)/(L-S)]=[(L-L').times.d.times.S]/[(L'-S)- .times.(L-S)], wherein S is a distance between the virtual image and the display screen 10, d is a distance between the virtual image and screen center, L is the original distance between the user and the display screen 10, and L' is the final distance between the user and the display screen 10.” ¶0038, “when the user goes away from the display screen 10, in order to maintain the location and size of the virtual image to be unchanged, the image on the display screen 10 is corrected in the same manner as in the situation when the user comes near to the display screen 10, i.e. out-of-screen is positive, and in-screen is negative.” ¶0052, “when the user comes near to the display screen 10, each object in the image should be moved in a direction away from the center of the display screen 10 in order to maintain the location of the virtual image to be unchanged (assume that the user views just facing the plane, i.e. the projection point of the user on the plane of the display screen 10 is just the center of the display screen 10), wherein the distance moved in the image direction is also calculated by the formula [(d.times.S)/(L'-S)]-[(d.times.S)/(L-S)]=[(L-L').times.d.times.S]/[(L'-S)- .times.(L-S)], wherein S is the distance between the virtual image and the screen (out-of-screen is positive, and in-screen is negative), d is the distance between the virtual image and the screen center, L is the original distance between the user and the display screen 10, and L' is the final distance between the user and the display screen 10.”).
He and Hong are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to stereoscopic display. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He with the features of “outputting the virtual image at the display position in the display mode includes: in response to a distance between a spatial presentation position corresponding to the display position and the eye position being greater than a distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the in-screen display mode; and in response to the distance between the spatial presentation position and the eye position being smaller than the distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the out-of-screen display mode” as taught by Hong. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to give attention to the location, size and in-screen and out-of-screen at one and the same time (Hong, ¶0065).
In addition, Huang also teaches outputting the virtual image at the display position in the display mode includes: in response to a distance between the spatial presentation position corresponding to the display position and the eye position being greater than a distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the in-screen display mode; and in response to the distance between the spatial presentation position and the eye position being smaller than the distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the out-of-screen display mode (Huang, Page 656, equation (3) to (5), “we believe that ZDP should be able to differentiate between the foreground and the background, such that the foreground has positive parallax with a sense of being out-of-screen, and the background has positive parallax with a sense of being in-screen. Therefore, we define the optimal ZDP as the boundary value of the front and rear depths.” Page 657, C Adaptive Parallax Based on Visual Comfort. “As illustrated in Fig. 2, the near and far planes of the camera model are the planes where the largest positive and negative parallaxes on the off-axis parallel frustum are situated, and the magnitude of the parallax on the far plane is always 2 times the optical axis offset. After transforming the Shibata comfort zone from pixel coordinates to camera coordinates and assuming the optical axis offset fulfills the positive parallax comfort zone, the maximum negative parallax can be obtained from the Shibata comfort zone. Combined with the ZDP obtained in section B, the optimal value of baseline 0 and len-shift Δl can be obtained.” Page, 658, “the process proposed in this paper is used to adaptively generate the right view with the optimal parallax, and process it into a red-cyan stereo image. Fig. 4 selects two scenes that produce both positive and negative parallax. The red-cyan stereo images were generated under three viewing conditions with obvious visual differences as a display. As pupilary distance and viewing distance increase relative to each other, our method adaptively produces stereograms with progressively increasing parallax.”).
He and Huang are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to stereoscopic display. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He with the features of “outputting the virtual image at the display position in the display mode includes: in response to a distance between a spatial presentation position corresponding to the display position and the eye position being greater than a distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the in-screen display mode; and in response to the distance between the spatial presentation position and the eye position being smaller than the distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, outputting the virtual image at the display position using the out-of-screen display mode” as taught by Huang. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to adaptively generate the right view with the optimal parallax (Huang, Page 658.).
As to claim 15, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of He, Hong, and Huang discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: in response to a distance between the spatial presentation position corresponding to the display position and the eye position being greater than a distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, output the virtual image at the display position using the in-screen display mode; and in response to the distance between the spatial presentation position and the eye position being smaller than the distance between the display screen and the spatial presentation position, output the virtual image at the display position using the out-of-screen display mode (See claim 7 for detailed analysis.).
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613