DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that none of the cited reference teaches the limitation as amended in claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses a display device as claimed including a first storage electrode (191b; figure 7) which overlaps the first source connector in a plan view and is connected to a storage voltage line to which a storage voltage is applied (The electrode 191b can act as a storage electrode and each first/second subpixel electrode 191a/191b is physically and electrically connected to the first/second drain electrode 175a/175b through the contact hole 185a/185b, respectively, and receive data voltages from the first/second drain electrode 175a/175b; see at least paragraph 0083), wherein one edge of the first storage electrode protrudes further in the first direction or the second direction than one edge of the first source connector (figures 2 and 7), wherein the first storage electrode includes a first sub-storage line extending along the first direction and a second sub-storage line extending along the second direction (each of the electrodes 192-193 can be extended in three different directions, xyz; figure 6), and wherein the first data line is disposed between a line passing through a center of the first pixel electrode and extending along the second direction (171a and 191a), and the second sub-storage line and the second sub-storage line (192-193; see annotated drawing 1) extending along the second direction, and wherein the first switching element overlaps the first contact hole in the first direction (173a, 175a, 185a; figure 3).
In addition, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) also discloses a display device as claimed including a first storage electrode (27-28) which overlaps the first source connector in a plan view and is connected to a storage voltage line to which a storage voltage is applied (The storage electrode line 28 extends in a transverse direction across a pixel region and is connected to the storage electrode 27 that is wider than the storage electrode line 28; see at least paragraph 0061), wherein one edge of the first storage electrode protrudes further in the first direction or the second direction than one edge of the first source connector, wherein the first storage electrode includes a first sub-storage line extending along the first direction and a second sub-storage line extending along the second direction (27), and wherein the first data line is disposed close to the first pixel electrode (62 and 82) than the second sub-storage line (27); and the second sub-storage line and the second sub-storage line (192-193; see annotated drawing 1) extending along the second direction, and wherein the first switching element overlaps the first contact hole in the first direction (65, 66, 77)
The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2010/0001276).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate;
scan lines (121) disposed on the substrate and extending along a first direction;
data lines (171a and 171b) disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction that intersects the first direction (the electrodes are extended in three different directions, xyz; figure 3; therefore, any direction can be a first and second direction);
a first switching element including a first active area, a first gate electrode (124a) connected to a first scan line among the scan lines, a first drain electrode connected to a first data line among the data lines, and a first source electrode facing the first drain electrode (173a and 175a; figure 3);
a first pixel electrode (191a) connected to the first source electrode (175a via hole 185a) of the first switching element;
a first source connector (portion of 175a overlapping 191b) which extends from the first source electrode and is connected to the first pixel electrode through a first contact hole (185a); and
a first storage electrode (191b; figure 7) which overlaps the first source connector in a plan view and is connected to a storage voltage line to which a storage voltage is applied (The electrode 191b can act as a storage electrode and each first/second subpixel electrode 191a/191b is physically and electrically connected to the first/second drain electrode 175a/175b through the contact hole 185a/185b, respectively, and receive data voltages from the first/second drain electrode 175a/175b; see at least paragraph 0083),
wherein one edge of the first storage electrode protrudes further in the first direction or the second direction than one edge of the first source connector (figures 2 and 7),
wherein the first storage electrode includes a first sub-storage line extending along the first direction and a second sub-storage line extending along the second direction (each of the electrodes 192-193 can be extended in three different directions, xyz; figure 6), and
wherein the first data line is disposed between a line passing through a center of the first pixel electrode and extending along the second direction (171a and 191a), and the second sub-storage line and the second sub-storage line (192-193; see annotated drawing 1) extending along the second direction, and
wherein the first switching element overlaps the first contact hole in the first direction (173a, 175a, 185a; figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the one edge of the first storage electrode is an edge of the first storage electrode which is closest to the first scan line and the one edge of the first source connector is an edge of the first source connector which is closest to the first scan line (figures 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the first source connector includes a first portion extending from the first source electrode along the second direction and a second portion extending from the first portion along the first direction (portion of 175a overlapping 191b can be extended in three different directions, xyz).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the second portion is disposed between the first source electrode and the first pixel electrode (175a and 191a).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the first source connector and the first pixel electrode are connected through the first contact hole (185a).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the first pixel electrode (191a) includes a body portion and a pixel electrode connector extending from the body portion, and wherein the first portion of the first source connector, the first storage electrode, and the pixel electrode connector overlap each other in an area disposed between the first scan line and the body portion of the first pixel electrode.
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the first switching element overlaps the first contact hole in the first direction (175a and 185a).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the first contact hole and one of the first active area and the first drain electrode of the first switching element are arranged in the first direction.
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses a second switching element (of a neighboring pixel) including a second active area, a second gate electrode connected to the first scan line, the second drain electrode connected to a second data line among the data lines, and a second source electrode facing the second drain electrode; a second pixel electrode connected to the second source electrode of the second switching element; and a second source connector which extends from the second source electrode and is connected to the second pixel electrode through a second contact hole.
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. (figures 1-7) discloses wherein the second switching element and the first contact hole are arranged in the second direction, and wherein the first switching element and the second contact hole are arranged in the second direction.
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2011/0047792).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate;
scan lines (22) disposed on the substrate and extending along a first direction;
data lines (62) disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction that intersects the first direction (the electrodes are extended in three different directions, xyz; figure 6A; therefore, any direction can be a first and second direction);
a first switching element including a first active area, a first gate electrode (26) connected to a first scan line among the scan lines, a first drain electrode connected to a first data line among the data lines, and a second source electrode facing the first drain electrode (65-67);
a first pixel electrode (82) connected to the first source electrode of the first switching element;
a first source connector (67) which extends from the first source electrode and is connected to the first pixel electrode through a first contact hole (77); and
a first storage electrode (27-28) which overlaps the first source connector in a plan view and is connected to a storage voltage line to which a storage voltage is applied (The storage electrode line 28 extends in a transverse direction across a pixel region and is connected to the storage electrode 27 that is wider than the storage electrode line 28; see at least paragraph 0061),
wherein one edge of the first storage electrode protrudes further in the first direction or the second direction than one edge of the first source connector,
wherein the first storage electrode includes a first sub-storage line extending along the first direction and a second sub-storage line extending along the second direction (27), and
wherein the first data line is disposed close to the first pixel electrode (62 and 82) than the second sub-storage line (27); and the second sub-storage line and the second sub-storage line (192-193; see annotated drawing 1) extending along the second direction, and
wherein the first switching element overlaps the first contact hole in the first direction (65, 66, 77).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the one edge of the first storage electrode is an edge of the first storage electrode which is closest to the first scan line and the one edge of the first source connector is an edge of the first source connector which is closest to the first scan line (figures 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the first source connector includes a first portion extending from the first source electrode along the second direction and a second portion extending from the first portion along the first direction (portion of 67 can be extended in three different directions, xyz).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the second portion is disposed between the first source electrode and the first pixel electrode (67 and 82).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the first source connector and the first pixel electrode are connected through the first contact hole (77).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the first pixel electrode (67) includes a body portion and a pixel electrode connector extending from the body portion, and wherein the first portion of the first source connector, the first storage electrode, and the pixel electrode connector overlap each other in an area disposed between the first scan line and the body portion of the first pixel electrode.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the first switching element overlaps the first contact hole in the first direction (77 and 67).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the first contact hole and one of the first active area and the first drain electrode of the first switching element are arranged in the first direction.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses a second switching element (of a neighboring pixel) including a second active area, a second gate electrode connected to the first scan line, the second drain electrode connected to a second data line among the data lines, and a second source electrode facing the second drain electrode; a second pixel electrode connected to the second source electrode of the second switching element; and a second source connector which extends from the second source electrode and is connected to the second pixel electrode through a second contact hole.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. (figures 6A-6B) discloses wherein the second switching element and the first contact hole are arranged in the second direction, and wherein the first switching element and the second contact hole are arranged in the second direction.
Conclusion
/Lauren Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871