CTNF 18/421,012 CTNF 81465 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4, 13, 16-19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Endo et al (USPN 9,881,958) . Regarding claim 1, Endo et al disclose a light emitting device that has a structure in which a first substrate 104 and a second substrate 102 are stacked on each other, and comprises a pixel including a light emitting element, a first transistor (including gate electrode 114 ), and a second transistor (including gate electrode 126 ) [see Fig. 1 and 12, wherein the pixel 301 includes first transistor, transfer transistor 304 , and the second transistor, amplification transistor 306 ], wherein a source region and a drain region 113 of the first transistor are arranged in a first well region 115 provided on a first surface of the first substrate, a source region and a drain region 125 of the second transistor are arranged in a second well region 124 provided on a second surface of the second substrate, and a conductivity type of the first well region and a conductivity type of the second well region are different from each other [see col. 5, lines 4-8 and lines 38-39]. Regarding claim 4, Endo et al disclose the device according to claim 1, furthermore wherein the first surface and the second surface are arranged so as to face each other [see Fig. 1]. Regarding claim 13, Endo et al disclose the device according to claim 1, furthermore wherein the first substrate is a single-crystal silicon substrate or an SOI substrate, and the second substrate is a single-crystal silicon substrate or an SOI substrate [see col. 10, lines 62-67]. Regarding claim 16, Endo et al disclose the device according to claim 1, furthermore wherein at least a part of a driving circuit configured to drive the pixel is arranged in at least one of the first surface and the second surface [see Fig. 12; see also col. 3, lines 13-20]. Regarding claims 17 and 18, Endo et al disclose the device according to claim 1, furthermore wherein the first includes a driving transistor and the second transistor includes a reset transistor. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these transistors would be configured to supply a current corresponding to a luminance signal to the light emitting element and to reset a potential difference between terminals of the light emitting element. Regarding claim 19, Endo et al disclose the device according to claim 1, furthermore wherein the first transistor is a p-type transistor, and the second transistor is an n-type transistor [see col. 5, lines 4-8 and lines 38-39]. Regarding claim 21, Endo et al disclose a display device comprising the light emitting device according to claim 1, and an active element connected to the light emitting device. Regarding claim 22, Endo et al disclose a photoelectric conversion device comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image, wherein the display unit displays an image captured by the image sensor, and includes the light emitting device according to claim 1 [see col. 5, lines 4-34] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al (USPN 9,881,958) in view of Seto et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0047907) . Regarding claim 23, Endo et al disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, but do not disclose specifically a housing provided with a display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication. One such as Seto et al disclose a substantially similar light emitting device, further comprising a housing provided with a display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication [see Fig. 19A; see also paragraph 0103]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the light emitting device of Endo et al in a housing, such as that described by Seto et al , in order to put it to practical use. Regarding claim 24, Endo et al disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, but do not disclose specifically at least one of a light diffusing unit and an optical film. One such as Seto et al disclose a substantially similar light emitting device, further comprising a light diffusing unit 1405 and an optical film 1404 [see Fig. 21A; see also paragraph 0111]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the light emitting device of Endo et al in a housing, such as that described by Seto et al , in order to put it to practical use as an illumination device. Regarding claim 25, Endo et al disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, but do not disclose specifically a moving body comprising a main body, and a lighting appliance provided in the main body. One such as Seto et al disclose a substantially similar light emitting device, further comprising a moving body comprising a main body 1500 , and a lighting appliance 1501 provided in the main body [see Fig. 21B; see also paragraph 0114]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the light emitting device of Endo et al in a housing, such as that described by Seto et al , in order to put it to practical use in an automobile. Regarding claim 26, Endo et al disclose the light emitting device according to claim 1, but do not disclose specifically a wearable device comprising display device configured to display an image. One such as Seto et al disclose a substantially similar light emitting device, further comprising a wearable device 1600 comprising display device configured to display an image [see Fig. 22A; see also paragraphs 0119-0121]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the light emitting device of Endo et al in a housing, such as that described by Seto et al , in order to put it to practical use in a wearable device . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 3, 5-12, 14, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding dependent claim 2, and claim 3 which depends therefrom, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein at least a part of the first transistor and at least a part of the second transistor are arranged to as to overlap a light emitting element electrode; regarding dependent claim 5, and claims 6 and 7 which depend therefrom, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein the first substrate is arranged between the light emitting element and the second substrate; regarding dependent claim 8, and claims 9-12 which depend therefrom, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, further including a third substrate stacked on the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein at least a part of a driving circuit configured to drive the pixel is arranged in the third substrate; regarding dependent claim 14, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein a third well region having a conductivity type different from a conductivity type of the first well region is arranged in contact with the first well region and between a surface on an opposite side of the first surface of the first substrate and the first well region; regarding dependent claim 15, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein the pixel further includes a MIS capacitor; and regarding dependent claim 20, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements and with sufficient specificity, wherein the image forming device comprises a developing device configured to apply a developing agent to the exposed photosensitive member . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to COLLEEN E SNOW whose telephone number is (571)272-8603. The examiner can normally be reached M-W, 8am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dale E Page can be reached at 571-270-7877. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/421,012 Page 2 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/421,012 Page 3 Art Unit: 2899