DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Funaki et al. (US 2023/0187430).
(Claim 1) Funaki teaches a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first semiconductor die or wafer (120) including a first bonding crack detection structure portion (130),
the first bonding crack detection structure portion (130) including a first set of metal bond pads (130, left) operatively connected to a bonding interface side (fig. 20 #114) of the first semiconductor die or wafer and a second set of metal bond pads (130, right) operatively connected to the bonding interface side (114) of the first semiconductor die or wafer (120),
the second set of metal bond pads (130, right) electrically isolated (connected to different #132) from the first set of metal bond pads (130, left);
a second semiconductor die or wafer (100) bonded to the first semiconductor die or wafer (120),
the second semiconductor die or wafer (100) including a second bonding crack detection structure portion (108) that is bonded to the first bonding crack detection structure portion (130),
the second bonding crack detection structure portion (108) including a third set of metal bond pads (108, left) operatively connected to a bonding interface side (104) of the second semiconductor die or wafer (100) and a fourth set of metal bond pads (108 right) operatively connected to the bonding interface side of the second semiconductor die or wafer,
the fourth set of metal bond pads (104 right) electrically isolated from the third set of metal bond pads (104 left),
wherein the first bonding crack detection structure portion (130) and the second bonding crack detection structure (108) portion are bonded together to form a bonding crack detection structure in which the first set of metal bond pads (130, left) and the third set of metal bond pads (108, left) are electrically connected together, and
the second set of metal bond pads (130 right) and the fourth set of metal bond pads (108 right) are electrically connected together.
(Claim 8) Funaki teaches wherein the metal bond pads (108, 130) are circular shaped, oval shaped or polygonal shaped (figs. 2, 4).
(Claim 10) Funaki teaches a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first semiconductor wafer (120) including a first bonding crack detection structure portion (130),
the first bonding crack detection structure portion (130) including a first set of metal bond pads (130 left) operatively connected to a bonding interface side of the first semiconductor wafer and a second set of metal bond pads (130 right) operatively connected to the bonding interface side of the first semiconductor wafer,
the second set of metal bond pads (130 right) electrically isolated from the first set of metal bond pads (130 left);
a second semiconductor wafer (100) bonded to the first semiconductor wafer (120),
the second semiconductor wafer (100) including a second bonding crack detection structure portion (108) that is bonded to the first bonding crack detection structure portion (130),
the second bonding crack detection structure portion (108) including a third set of metal bond pads (108 left) operatively connected to a bonding interface side of the second semiconductor wafer and a fourth set of metal bond pads (108 right) operatively connected to the bonding interface side of the second semiconductor wafer,
the fourth set of metal bond pads (108 right) electrically isolated from the third set of metal bond pads (108 left),
wherein the first bonding crack detection structure portion (130) and the second bonding crack detection structure portion (108) are bonded together to form a bonding crack detection structure in which the first set of metal bond pads (130 left) and the third set of metal bond pads (108 left) are electrically connected together, and
the second set of metal bond pads (130 right) and the fourth set of metal bond pads (108 right) are electrically connected together.
(Claim 17) Funaki teaches wherein the metal bond pads (108, 130) are circular shaped, oval shaped or polygonal shaped (figs. 2, 4).
Claims 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2024/0258180).
(Claim 21) kwon et al. teach a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first semiconductor die or wafer (L3) including a first bonding crack detection structure portion (BP3); and
a second semiconductor die or wafer (L2) bonded to the first semiconductor die or wafer (L3),
the second semiconductor die or wafer (L2) including a second bonding crack detection structure portion (BP2) that is bonded to the first bonding crack detection structure portion (BP3),
wherein the first bonding crack detection structure portion and the second bonding crack detection structure portion are configured to form a bonding crack detection structure and the bonding crack detection structure is configured to have a measurable electrical characteristic indicating a presence of an absence of a bonding crack and a presence of a bonding crack (paragraphs 69 – 72).
(Claim 22) Kwon et al. teach wherein the measurable electrical characteristic is an electrical current flowing between the first bonding crack detection structure portion and the second bonding crack detection structure portion (paragraphs 69 – 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funaki et al. (US 2023/0187430) in view of Pachamuthu et al. (US 2022/0108926).
(Claim 2) Funaki lacks wherein the bonding crack detection structure comprises a capacitor including:
a first conductor of the capacitor comprising the first set of metal bond pads and the third set of metal bond pads which are electrically connected together; and
a second conductor of the capacitor comprising the second set of metal bond pads and the fourth set of metal bond pads which are electrically connected together; and
an insulator of the capacitor comprising a gap between the first conductor of the capacitor and the second conductor of the capacitor.
However, Pachamuthu et al. teach wherein the bonding crack detection structure comprises a capacitor including:
a first conductor (103) of the capacitor comprising the first set of metal bond pads and the third set of metal bond pads (101) which are electrically connected together; and
a second conductor (102) of the capacitor comprising the second set of metal bond pads and the fourth set of metal bond pads (100) which are electrically connected together; and
an insulator of the capacitor comprising a gap (58) between the first conductor of the capacitor and the second conductor of the capacitor (paragraph 19) for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal (paragraph 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal.
(Claim 9) Funaki lacks wherein the bonding crack detection structure is located along one or more edges of the semiconductor structure, or one or more edges of the first semiconductor die or wafer and the second semiconductor die or wafer.
However, Pachamuthu et al. teach wherein the bonding crack detection structure is located along one or more edges of the semiconductor structure, or one or more edges of the first semiconductor die or wafer and the second semiconductor die or wafer (paragraph 19) for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal (paragraph 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal.
(Claim 11) Funaki lacks wherein the bonding crack detection structure comprises a capacitor including:
a first conductor of the capacitor comprising the first set of metal bond pads and the third set of metal bond pads which are electrically connected together; and
a second conductor of the capacitor comprising the second set of metal bond pads and the fourth set of metal bond pads which are electrically connected together.
However, Pachamuthu et al. teach wherein the bonding crack detection structure comprises a capacitor including:
a first conductor (103) of the capacitor comprising the first set of metal bond pads and the third set of metal bond pads (101) which are electrically connected together; and
a second conductor (102) of the capacitor comprising the second set of metal bond pads and the fourth set of metal bond pads (100) which are electrically connected together (paragraph 19) for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal (paragraph 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal.
(Claim 18) Funaki lacks wherein the bonding crack detection structure is located along one or more edges of the semiconductor structure, one or more edges of a plurality of dies located on the first semiconductor wafer and second semiconductor wafer, or in one or more scribe lines of the first semiconductor wafer and second semiconductor wafer.
However, Pachamuthu et al. teach wherein the bonding crack detection structure is located along one or more edges of the semiconductor structure, one or more edges of a plurality of dies located on the first semiconductor wafer and second semiconductor wafer, or in one or more scribe lines of the first semiconductor wafer and second semiconductor wafer(paragraph 19) for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal (paragraph 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of the benefit of detecting a crack at the edge seal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 7 and 12 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
September 5, 2026