DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ade et al (US 5,347,601). Ade teaches:
1. A photonic coupler (34, Figs. 1, 4, 9), comprising:
a first input waveguide (94 at 38) and a second input waveguide (96 at 48);
a first output waveguide (94 at 36) and a second output waveguide (96 at 60);
a coupling region (at 34) in which electromagnetic fields associated with two or more of the first input waveguide (94 at 38), the second input waveguide (96 at 48), the first output waveguide (94 at 36), and the second output waveguide (96 at 60) overlap (C8 L31-36); and
an electro-optic device (41, 98, 99) in the coupling region (at 34) comprising an index of refraction that is a first function of an applied voltage (C8 L48-61).
2. The photonic coupler of claim 1, wherein the coupling region comprises an effective coupling length (see Fig. 1, there is a coupling length), along an optical propagation direction (bidirectional), which is a second function of a product of a physical length of the coupling region multiplied by the index of refraction of the electro-optic device (these limitations just define variable and Ade teaches a physical length of the coupling region and Ade teaches an index of refraction of the electro-optic device, wherefore Ade teaches an “effective coupling length”).
6. The photonic coupler of claim 2, wherein the effective coupling length is increased when the applied voltage comprises a first polarity and is decreased when the applied voltage comprises a second polarity that is opposite to the first polarity (C11 L25-53).
7. The photonic coupler of claim 1, wherein the electro-optic device comprises:
a first terminal (99, 208, 206) comprising a first semiconductor material doped with first-conductivity-type dopant (P-dopant, see Fig. 9);
a second terminal (220, 204, 200) comprising a second semiconductor material doped with a second-conductivity-type dopant (n-dopant, see Fig. 9); and
a dielectric layer (122, 124) separating the first terminal from the second terminal (see Fig. 9).
17. A method of forming a photonic coupler, comprising:
forming a first input waveguide (94 at 38) and a second input waveguide (96 at 48);
forming a first output waveguide (94 at 36) and a second output waveguide (96 at 60); and
forming a coupling region (at 34) comprising an electro-optic device that comprises an index of refraction that is a function of an applied voltage (C8 L48-61),
two or more of the first input waveguide (94 at 38), the second input waveguide (96 at 48), the first output waveguide (94 at 36) and the second output waveguide (96 at 60) overlap one another in the coupling region (C8 L31-36).
18. The method of claim 17, wherein forming the coupling region further comprises:
forming a first coupling waveguide (part of 94 within 34) segment that is optically coupled to the first input waveguide (94 at 38) and to the first output waveguide (94 at 36); and
forming a second coupling waveguide segment (part of 96 within 34) that is optically coupled to the second input waveguide (96 at 48) and the second output waveguide (96 at 60), wherein each of the first coupling waveguide segment and the second coupling waveguide segment comprises the electro-optic device (41, 98, 99; see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ade.
Ade teaches the photonic coupler previously discussed including a coupling length, an applied voltage that changes the refractive index of the coupler for coupling percentages of a first and second electromagnetic energy between the input to the output waveguides (C4 L38 – C5 L30; L8 L26-47).
Ade does not teach:
3. The photonic coupler of claim 2, wherein the effective coupling length is a function of the applied voltage and depends on the index of refraction of the electro-optic device, and wherein the effective coupling length is voltage-tunable to be an integer multiple of a wavelength plus a quarter wavelength.
4. The photonic coupler of claim 3, wherein a first percentage of a first electromagnetic energy is coupled from the first input waveguide into the second output waveguide and a second percentage of a second electromagnetic energy is coupled from the second input waveguide into the first output waveguide, and wherein the first percentage of the first electromagnetic energy and the second percentage of the second electromagnetic energy are functions of the applied voltage.
5. The photonic coupler of claim 4, wherein each of the first percentage and the second percentage is between 41% and 59%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try using integer multiples of a wavelength plus a quarter wavelength for the coupling length to result in a 50/50 coupler (50% would be the first and second percentages from claims 4 and 5), since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Ade teaches all the structure needed for the effective coupling, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a quarter wavelength multiple for a 50/50 coupler since different percentages of coupling are identified (C8 L26-61) and one of ordinary skill the art would expect using these values to succeed in Ade since Ade already provides the structure to apply these values.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ade as applied to claims 1, 7, 17 and 18 above, and further in view of Sun (US 10,036,855 B1).
Ade teaches the photonic coupler previously discussed.
Ade does not teach expressly:
8/19. The photonic coupler of claim 7/18, wherein: the first terminal comprises n-type polysilicon; the second terminal comprises p-type silicon; and the dielectric layer comprises silicon oxide.
Sun teaches a photonic coupler with a first terminal comprises a p-type polysilicon (22), a second terminal comprises n-type silicon (24) and the dielectric layer (42) comprises silicon oxide (C8 L10-40).
Ade and Sun are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical couplers using P-i-N structures.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the materials of Ade to use polysilicon as either the p or n doped section, silicon as the p or n doped section and silicon dioxide for the dielectric layer as taught by Sun.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try using polysilicon and silicon as the doped layers and silicon dioxide for an insulator/dielectric layers, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The motivation for doing so would have been to be able to tailor the different plasma dispersion effects based on the different material (Sun; C7 L60 – C8 L9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 are allowed.
Claims 9-11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 12-16: These claims are allowable over the prior art of record because the latter, either alone or in combination, does not disclose nor render obvious first through fourth input and output waveguides and a first photonic coupler that mixes a first input photonic signal received from the first input waveguide and a second input photonic signal received from the second input waveguide to generate a first output photonic signal and a second output photonic signal that are respectively provided to the first output waveguide and the second output waveguide; a second photonic coupler that mixes a third input photonic signal received from the third input waveguide and a fourth input photonic signal received from the fourth input waveguide to generate a third output photonic signal and a fourth output photonic signal that are respectively provided to the third output waveguide and the fourth output waveguide; and a first modulator portion that changes a first amplitude or phase of the first output photonic signal to generate the third input photonic signal that is provided to the second input waveguide, wherein at least one of the first photonic coupler and the second photonic coupler comprises an electro-optic device that determines a mixing ratio of the first input photonic signal and the second input photonic signal, or of the third input photonic signal and the fourth input photonic signal, based on an applied voltage imposed on the first photonic coupler or the second photonic coupler, respectively,
in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 9-11 and 20: These claims would be allowable over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the latter, either alone or in combination, does not disclose nor render obvious the coupler/method with the claimed first and second input and output waveguides, coupling region and electro-optic device wherein the coupling region further comprises: a first coupling waveguide segment that is optically coupled to the first input waveguide and to the first output waveguide; and a second coupling waveguide segment that is optically coupled to the second input waveguide and the second output waveguide, wherein the first coupling waveguide segment extends along a length direction, which is parallel to an optical propagation direction, and is formed as a first overlap region in which the first terminal, the second terminal, and the dielectric layer are overlapping in a plan view along a thickness direction that is perpendicular to the length direction, wherein the second coupling waveguide segment extends along the length direction and is formed as a second overlap region in which the first terminal, the second terminal, and the dielectric layer are overlapping in the plan view along the thickness direction, and wherein the first coupling waveguide segment and the second coupling waveguide segment are separated from one another along a width direction that is perpendicular to the length direction and the thickness direction,
in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach optical couplers in combination with modulators, but not in the layout as applicant’s device: US 5069520, US 5111517, US 6714706, US 6842569, US 2008/0144989, US 7522783, US 7542686, US 11251876, US 11543728.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874