DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claim 1-21 are under examination.
Claim 1-21 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7, ln. 1 recites “the solid composition” should be “the solid cannabinoid composition” to be consistent with claim language set forth in claim 1, ln. 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the acid component" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the base component" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the acid component" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the base component" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the pH of the liquid cannabinoid composition" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the liquid cannabinoid formulation" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the acid component" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the base component" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the solid composition" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the acid component" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the base component" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cave et al. (US 2022/0175719 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 7, 8, 9 and 10, Cave et al. (Cave) discloses a dissolvable table (composition) comprising cannabinoids including tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) (‘719, [0063], [0067]-[0071]), malic acid (acid/acid component) (‘719, [0063], [0332]) and sodium bicarbonate (base/base component)(‘719, [0063], [0389]).
It is noted the cited “such that, when dissolved the composition provides a final pH of at least 7.5” in claim 1 and “when dissolved, the solid composition provides, a pH of at least about 8.0” in claim 7 and claim 10, are considered a functional limitations of the claimed product when it’s dissolved; additionally, it is noted a final pH when the composition dissolved is depended upon a substance wherein the composition is dissolved in. Hence it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitation that stem from the claimed structure (product). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spade, 15 USPQ2d 655,1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 10, Cave discloses the tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in an amount of 3 mg (‘719, [0333]), which is in range with the cited range. Cave discloses flavoring (flavorants) (‘719, [0188], [0377], claim 3, claim 9) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Regarding claim 3, Cave discloses the tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in an amount of 3 mg (‘719, [0333]), which is in range with the cited range.
Regarding claim 4, Cave discloses terpenes (‘719, [0080]) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Regarding claim 5, Cave discloses flavoring (flavorants) (‘719, [0188], [0377], claim 3, claim 9) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Regarding claim 6, Cave discloses sweetener (‘719, [0374]-[0376]) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cave et al. (US 2022/0175719 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Healthline (Ref. U).
Regarding claim 11, Cave discloses the dissolvable table (composition) in water (‘719, [0393]) to form a beverage (liquid cannabinoid composition). Cave does not explicitly disclose the water with a pH of at least 7. 5. However U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recommend drinking water in a range of 6.5 to 8.5 as taught by Healthline (pg. 2, ln. 5-6), which overlaps the cited range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ drinking water pH range as taught by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Cave’s beverage to provide aesthetic quality of water.
Claim(s) 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cave et al. (US 2022/0175719 A1) in view of Healthline (Ref. U).
Regarding claim 12, 13, 18, 19, 20 and 21, Cave discloses a dissolvable table (composition) in water (‘719, [0393]) to form a beverage (liquid cannabinoid composition). Cave does not explicitly disclose the water with a pH of at least 7. 5. However U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recommend drinking water in a range of 6.5 to 8.5 as taught by Healthline (pg. 2, ln. 5-6), which overlaps the cited range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ drinking water pH range as taught by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Cave’s beverage to provide aesthetic quality of water. Cave et al. (Cave) discloses a dissolvable table (composition) comprising cannabinoids including tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) (‘719, [0063], [0067]-[0071]), malic acid (acid/acid component) (‘719, [0063], [0332]) and sodium bicarbonate (base/base component)(‘719, [0063], [0389]). With respect to claim 21, Cave discloses the tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in an amount of 3 mg (‘719, [0333]), which is in range with the cited range. Cave discloses flavoring (flavorants) (‘719, [0188], [0377], claim 3, claim 9) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Regarding claim 14, Cave discloses the tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in an amount of 3 mg (‘719, [0333]), which is in range with the cited range.
Regarding claim 15, Cave discloses terpenes (‘719, [0080]) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Regarding claim 16, Cave discloses flavoring (flavorants) (‘719, [0188], [0377], claim 3, claim 9) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Regarding claim 17, Cave discloses sweetener (‘719, [0374]-[0376]) in the dissolvable table (composition).
Conclusion
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792