DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–19 are pending.
Claims 1–17 are being treated on their merits.
Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from consideration.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0170730 A1.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 28 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for manufacturing an electrode assembly and apparatus for manufacturing an electrode assembly, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 September 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 September 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the restriction requirement on 05 August 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIGS. 1–14 do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. See US 2024/0170730 A1. The drawings are not sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined to permit adequate reproduction. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. See 37 CFR 1.84 (l).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRODE ASSEMBLY INCLUDING REINFORCING PART AT WINDING START OF ELECTRODE PLATE, BATTERY CELL, BATTERY, AND ELECTRICAL APPARATUS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–8 and 10–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teng et al. (CN 112467231 A, hereinafter Teng).
Regarding claim 1, Teng discloses an electrode assembly (12), comprising:
a first electrode plate (121) and a second electrode plate (122, [0096]),
wherein polarities of the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are opposite (FIG. 5, [0103]), and
the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are stacked, and are wound in a winding direction (A) to form a wound structure (FIG. 5, [0096]);
wherein the first electrode plate (121) has a first winding starting end (1210, [0120]),
the first electrode plate (121) comprises a first segment (1211) and a second segment (1212) which are continuously arranged along the winding direction (A, [0139]),
the first segment (1211) is wound from the first winding starting end (1210) along the winding direction (A) to form an inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0139]),
the second segment (1212) is wound from a connecting position (1213) where the second segment (1212) is connected with the first segment (1211) along the winding direction (A) to form an outer turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]), and
the outer turn layer is located at an outer side of the inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]); and
the first segment (1211) is provided with a reinforcing part (123, [0096]),
the reinforcing part (123) is wound to the connecting position (1213) along the winding direction (A, [0096]), and
the reinforcing part (123) is configured to reinforce the first segment (1211, [0139]).
Regarding claim 2, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the reinforcing part (123) is partially beyond the first winding starting end (1210); or one end of the reinforcing part (123) that is away from the connecting position (1213) along the winding direction (A) is aligned with the first winding starting end (1210, [0139]).
Regarding claim 3, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the second electrode plate (122) has a second winding starting end (1220, [0120]);
the first electrode plate (1210) further comprises a third segment , which is wound from the first winding starting end (1210) along the winding direction (A) to a first alignment position aligned with the second winding starting end (1220);
the first alignment position is adjacent to the second winding starting end (1220), and is located at an outer side of the second winding starting end (1220); and
the first segment (1211) forms at least a portion of the third segment (FIG. 9, [0139]).
Regarding claim 4, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the third segment comprises a beyond segment beyond the second winding starting end (1210, [0139]),
the beyond segment is wound from the first winding starting end (1210) along the winding direction (A) to a second alignment position aligned with the second winding starting end (1220, [0139]),
the second alignment position is adjacent to the second winding starting end (1220) and is located at an inner side of the second winding starting end (1220, [0139]), and
the first segment (1211) forms at least a portion of the beyond segment (FIG. 9, [0139]).
Regarding claim 5, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the reinforcing part (123) is wound at least one turn along the winding direction (A, [0139]).
Regarding claim 6, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the reinforcing part (123) is wound one to five turns along the winding direction (A, [0139]).
Regarding claim 7, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the first electrode plate (121) comprises a first current collector and a first active substance layer (FIG. 5, [0104]),
wherein the first active substance layer is arranged on a surface of the first current collector in a thickness direction (FIG. 5, [0104]), and
at least one side of the first current collector in the thickness direction is provided with the reinforcing part (123, [0123]); and
the reinforcing part (123) is arranged on one side of the first active substance layer of the first segment (1211) facing away from the first current collector, or the reinforcing part (123) is arranged between the first active substance layer and the first current collector of the first segment (FIG. 5, [0123]).
Regarding claim 8, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the reinforcing part (123) is an adhesive layer arranged on a surface of the first active substance layer of the first segment (1211) facing away from the first current collector (FIG. 5, [0123]).
Regarding claim 10, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein a hardness of the reinforcing part (123) is greater than a hardness of the first active substance layer of the first segment (1211, [0115]).
Regarding claim 11, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the first electrode plate (121) comprises a first current collector and a first active substance layer (FIG. 5, [0104]), and
the first active substance layer is arranged on a surface of the first current collector in a thickness direction (FIG. 5, [0104]); and
the first current collector of the first segment (1211) is not provided with the first active substance layer (FIG. 5, [0104]),
the surface of the first current collector of the first segment (1211) in the thickness direction is provided with the reinforcing part (1213, [0139]), and
a hardness of the reinforcing part (123) is greater than a hardness of the first active substance layer of the second segment (1212, [0115]).
Regarding claim 12, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly, further comprising:
a protective member (1233) arranged on the first electrode plate (121) and stacked with the first electrode plate (121, [0145]);
wherein the first electrode plate (121) is further provided with a first winding ending end (FIG. 10, [0145]), and
along the winding direction (A) one end of the protective member (1233) is aligned with the first winding ending end, or the protective member (1233) is partially beyond the first winding ending end (FIG. 10, [0145]).
Regarding claim 13, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the electrode assembly (12) has a cylindrical structure (see cylindrical, [0091]).
Regarding claim 14, Teng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the electrode assembly (12) comprises a flat area (C) and a bending area (B) connected to the flat area (C, [0105]); and
the reinforcing part (123) is at least partially located in the bending area (B, [0106]).
Regarding claim 15, Teng discloses a battery cell (10), comprising an electrode assembly (12); and a housing (11), configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (12, [0088]), wherein the electrode assembly (12) comprises:
a first electrode plate (121) and a second electrode plate (122, [0096]),
wherein polarities of the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are opposite (FIG. 5, [0103]), and
the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are stacked, and are wound in a winding direction (A) to form a wound structure (FIG. 5, [0096]);
wherein the first electrode plate (121) has a first winding starting end (1210, [0120]),
the first electrode plate (121) comprises a first segment (1211) and a second segment (1212) which are continuously arranged along the winding direction (A, [0139]),
the first segment (1211) is wound from the first winding starting end (1210) along the winding direction (A) to form an inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0139]),
the second segment (1212) is wound from a connecting position (1213) where the second segment (1212) is connected with the first segment (1211) along the winding direction (A) to form an outer turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]), and
the outer turn layer is located at an outer side of the inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]); and
the first segment (1211) is provided with a reinforcing part (123, [0096]),
the reinforcing part (123) is wound to the connecting position (1213) along the winding direction (A, [0096]), and
the reinforcing part (123) is configured to reinforce the first segment (1211, [0139]).
Regarding claim 16, Teng discloses a battery (100), comprising a battery cell (10); and a case (20), configured to accommodate the battery cell (10), wherein the battery cell (10) comprises an electrode assembly (12); and a housing (11), configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (12, [0088]), wherein the electrode assembly (12) comprises:
a first electrode plate (121) and a second electrode plate (122, [0096]),
wherein polarities of the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are opposite (FIG. 5, [0103]), and
the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are stacked, and are wound in a winding direction (A) to form a wound structure (FIG. 5, [0096]);
wherein the first electrode plate (121) has a first winding starting end (1210, [0120]),
the first electrode plate (121) comprises a first segment (1211) and a second segment (1212) which are continuously arranged along the winding direction (A, [0139]),
the first segment (1211) is wound from the first winding starting end (1210) along the winding direction (A) to form an inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0139]),
the second segment (1212) is wound from a connecting position (1213) where the second segment (1212) is connected with the first segment (1211) along the winding direction (A) to form an outer turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]), and
the outer turn layer is located at an outer side of the inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]); and
the first segment (1211) is provided with a reinforcing part (123, [0096]),
the reinforcing part (123) is wound to the connecting position (1213) along the winding direction (A, [0096]), and
the reinforcing part (123) is configured to reinforce the first segment (1211, [0139]).
Regarding claim 17, Teng discloses an electrical apparatus (1000), comprising a battery (100), wherein the battery (100) comprises a battery cell (10); and a case (20), configured to accommodate the battery cell (10), wherein the battery cell (10) comprises an electrode assembly (12); and a housing (11), configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (12, [0088]), wherein the electrode assembly (12) comprises:
a first electrode plate (121) and a second electrode plate (122, [0096]),
wherein polarities of the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are opposite (FIG. 5, [0103]), and
the first electrode plate (121) and the second electrode plate (122) are stacked, and are wound in a winding direction (A) to form a wound structure (FIG. 5, [0096]);
wherein the first electrode plate (121) has a first winding starting end (1210, [0120]),
the first electrode plate (121) comprises a first segment (1211) and a second segment (1212) which are continuously arranged along the winding direction (A, [0139]),
the first segment (1211) is wound from the first winding starting end (1210) along the winding direction (A) to form an inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0139]),
the second segment (1212) is wound from a connecting position (1213) where the second segment (1212) is connected with the first segment (1211) along the winding direction (A) to form an outer turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]), and
the outer turn layer is located at an outer side of the inner turn layer (FIG. 5, [0141]); and
the first segment (1211) is provided with a reinforcing part (123, [0096]),
the reinforcing part (123) is wound to the connecting position (1213) along the winding direction (A, [0096]), and
the reinforcing part (123) is configured to reinforce the first segment (1211, [0139]).
Claims 1, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheon et al. (US 2006/0008702 A1, hereinafter Cheon).
Regarding claim 1, Cheon discloses an electrode assembly (10), comprising:
a first electrode plate (11) and a second electrode plate (12, [0038]),
wherein polarities of the first electrode plate (11) and the second electrode plate (12) are opposite (FIG. 2, [0038]), and
the first electrode plate (12) and the second electrode plate (12) are stacked, and are wound in a winding direction to form a wound structure (FIG. 2, [0038]);
wherein the first electrode plate (11) has a first winding starting end (FIG. 2, [0050]),
the first electrode plate (11) comprises a first segment and a second segment which are continuously arranged along the winding direction (FIG. 2, [0050]),
the first segment is wound from the first winding starting end along the winding direction to form an inner turn layer (FIG. 1, [0050]),
the second segment is wound from a connecting position where the second segment is connected with the first segment along the winding direction to form an outer turn layer (FIG. 1, [0050]), and
the outer turn layer is located at an outer side of the inner turn layer (FIG. 1, [0050]); and
the first segment is provided with a reinforcing part (60b, [0072]),
the reinforcing part (60b) is wound to the connecting position along the winding direction (FIG. 1, [0050]), and
the reinforcing part (60B) is configured to reinforce the first segment (FIG. 7B, [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the first electrode plate (11) comprises a first current collector (60a) and a first active substance layer (60b, [0072]),
wherein the first active substance layer (60b) is arranged on a surface of the first current collector (60a) in a thickness direction (FIG. 7B, [0072]), and
at least one side of the first current collector (60a) in the thickness direction is provided with the reinforcing part (60b, [0073]); and
the reinforcing part (60b) is arranged on one side of the first active substance layer of the first segment facing away from the first current collector (60a), or the reinforcing part (60b) is arranged between the first active substance layer (60b) and the first current collector (60a) of the first segment (FIG. 7B, [0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Cheon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode assembly:
wherein the reinforcing part (60b) is a second active substance layer (60b) coated on the first active substance layer (60b) of the first segment (FIG. 7B, [0073]); and
a total thickness (t5) of the second active substance layer (60b) and the first active substance layer (60b) of the first segment is greater than a thickness (t6) of the first active substance layer (60b) of the second segment (FIG. 7B, [0073]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kakeya (US 2014/0322577 A1) discloses an electrode assembly (5), comprising a first electrode plate (2) and a second electrode plate (3, [0027]), wherein polarities of the first electrode plate (2) and the second electrode plate (3) are opposite (FIG. 2, [0027]), and the first electrode plate (2) and the second electrode plate (3) are stacked, and are wound in a winding direction to form a wound structure (FIG. 2, [0027]); wherein the first electrode plate (2) has a first winding starting end (2X [0030]), the first electrode plate (2) comprises a first segment and a second segment which are continuously arranged along the winding direction (FIG. 2, [0030]), the first segment is wound from the first winding starting end along the winding direction to form an inner turn layer (FIG. 2, [0030]), the second segment is wound from a connecting position where the second segment is connected with the first segment along the winding direction to form an outer turn layer (FIG. 2, [0030]), and the outer turn layer is located at an outer side of the inner turn layer (FIG. 2, [0030]); and the first segment is provided with a reinforcing part (42, [0031]), the reinforcing part (42) is wound to the connecting position along the winding direction (FIG. 2, [0031]), and the reinforcing part (42) is configured to reinforce the first segment (FIG. 2, [0031]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725