DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 01/24/2024. Claim(s) 1–21 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17–21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim at this time. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/06/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a drying gas generation system for providing drying gas” in claim 1, which has been interpreted to mean “a pressurized tank holding N2 or CO2 or an air pump with a filter, dehumidifier, or heater;” and
“means for adjusting the biasing force of the spring” in claim 7, which has been interpreted to mean “a spacer of adjustable length or a threaded spacer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 11–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,648,730 to Radford et al.
With regard to claim 1, Radford discloses a drying system for drying medical instruments (abstract), the drying system comprising: a drying chamber (150) configured to receive a medical instrument (30) (Fig. 10; Col. 3, lines 58–62), a drying gas generation system (50) for providing drying gas (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 39–41), a hose system including a hose (52, 158) through which the drying gas is discharged from the drying gas generation system (50) (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 39–45), and a valve (202) arranged in a wall of the drying chamber (150) (Figs. 10 & 18; Col. 9, lines 14–16), the hose system (52, 158) is connected to the valve (202) for the valve (202) to provide the drying gas into the drying chamber (150) (Figs. 10 & 18; Col. 9, lines 14–20), wherein the valve (202) is configured to discharge the drying gas exiting the valve (202) into the drying chamber in a main flow direction (Figs. 2, 10, & 18).
With regard to claim 11, Radford further discloses the drying chamber is configured to receive the medical instrument in a specific position (Fig. 10; Col. 3, lines 58–62).
With regard to claim 12, Radford further discloses a holding device (80a, 80b, 90a, 90b) disposed within the drying chamber (150) (Figs. 4–6; Col. 6, lines 7–26), wherein the medical instrument is arranged in the holding device inside the drying chamber (150) (Figs. 4–6; Col. 6, lines 7–26).
With regard to claim 13, Radford further discloses a direction of the main flow direction is such that the drying gas discharging into the drying chamber impinges on a specific area of the medical instrument to be dried (Col. 5, lines 39–45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0237981 to Glass et al in view of Radford.
With regard to claim 1, Glass discloses a drying system capable of drying medical instruments (abstract), the drying system comprising: a drying chamber (112) configured to receive a [an article to be dried] (¶ 0020; presently capable of holding a medical instrument), a drying gas generation system (140) for providing drying gas (¶ 0033), a hose system (122, 130, 160) including a hose through which the drying gas is discharged from the drying gas generation system (140) (¶¶ 0026–0031), the hose system is connected to the valve (127, 129, 137, 139) for the valve (127, 129, 137, 139) to provide the drying gas into the drying chamber (112) (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0027, 0030), wherein the valve (127, 129, 137, 139) is configured to discharge the drying gas exiting the valve (127, 129, 137, 139) into the drying chamber in a main flow direction (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0027, 0030).
Glass fails to disclose a valve arranged in a wall of the drying chamber. Radford teaches a valve (202) arranged in a wall of the drying chamber (150) (Figs. 10 & 18; Col. 9, lines 14–16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the article dryer of Glass with the wall mounted valve of Radford because such a combination would have had the added benefit of having the valve securely mounted.
With regard to claim 2, Glass further discloses the valve comprises an outlet nozzle (127, 129, 137, 139) configured to predetermine the main flow direction of the drying gas entering the drying chamber (112) (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0027, 0030).
With regard to claim 3, Glass as previously combined with Radford further discloses the valve (Glass: 127, 129, 137, 139) is configured to discharge the drying gas into the drying chamber (Glass: 112) such that the main flow direction is at an angle to the surface normal of the wall on which the valve (Glass: 127, 129, 137, 139) is arranged (Glass: Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0027, 0030; Radford: Figs. 10 & 18; Col. 9, lines 14–16).
With regard to claim 4, Glass as previously combined with Radford further discloses the angle between the surface normal of the wall and the main flow direction is greater than or equal to 0 degrees (Glass: Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0027, 0030; Radford: Figs. 10 & 18; Col. 9, lines 14–16).
Claims 5–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radford in view of DE 10-2016-116288 to Heinmann (citations are directed to the translation provided by Applicant).
With regard to claim 5, Radford fails to disclose the valve has a nozzle tappet configured in a first position to close the nozzle and prevent fluidic communication between the hose system and the drying chamber. Heinmann teaches the valve has a nozzle tappet (19) configured in a first position to close the nozzle and prevent fluidic communication between the hose system (33) and the drying chamber (3) (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the dryer of Radford with the nozzle tappet of Heinmann because such a combination would have been the simple substitution of one type of nozzle for another, yielding only predictable results.
With regard to claim 6, Radford as previously combined with Heinmann further discloses the nozzle tappet (Heinmann: 19) is biased by a spring Heinmann: 26) such that the nozzle tappet (Heinmann: 19) is held in the first position in an unloaded state (Figs. 2 & 3; ¶ 0056–0057).
With regard to claim 7, Radford as previously combined with Heinmann fails to explicitly disclose the valve comprises means for adjusting the biasing force of the spring. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include means for adjusting the biasing force of the spring, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
With regard to claim 8, Radford as previously combined with Heinmann further discloses the drying gas applied to the valve by the drying gas generation system via the hose system acts against a spring force biasing the nozzle tappet (Heinmann: 19) (Heinmann: Figs. 2 & 3; ¶ 0056–0057), so that the valve opens above a predetermined opening pressure and the drying gas flows into the drying chamber (Heinmann: 3) (Heinmann: Figs. 2 & 3; ¶ 0056–0057).
Claims 9 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass in view of Radford, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,217,698 to Siegel et al.
With regard to claim 9, Glass fails to disclose the valve comprises a flange configured to seal an opening in the wall of the drying chamber in which the valve is arranged. Siegel teaches the valve (58, 72) comprises a flange (102) configured to seal an opening in the wall of the drying chamber in which the valve (58, 72) is arranged (Fig. 7; Col. 7, lines 51–61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the drying apparatus of Glass with the valve flange of Siegel because such a combination would have had the added benefit of providing an effective and durable seal.
With regard to claim 10, Glass as previously combined with Siegel further discloses the flange (Siegel: 102) comprises a sealing groove (Siegel: 100) configured to hold a seal (Siegel: 104) (Siegel: Fig. 7; Col. 7, lines 51–61).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radford in view of Official Notice.
Radford fails to explicitly disclose the specific area of the medical instrument to be dried comprises at least one of a handpiece, a plug, a cable, or an operating element of the medical instrument. However, Radford specifically mentions using the device with the [Da] Vinci ™ surgical system which utilizes those elements. Furthermore, handpieces, plugs, cables and operating elements of the medical instrument are old and well-known in the art, especially in the area of robotic surgery. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the surgical components known to the prior art in the drying device of Radford because such a combination would have had the added benefit of allowing the components to be thoroughly dried before being used.
Claims 15–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radford.
With regard to claim 15, Radford further discloses the hose system comprises a plurality of hoses respectively corresponding to the plurality of valves, and further comprising a manifold in which the drying gas provided by the drying gas generation system is distributed to the plurality of hoses.
Radford fails to disclose the valve comprises a plurality of valves. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a plurality of valves, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
With regard to claim 16, Radford further discloses a measuring circuit arranged in at least one of the manifold, the hose system or the drying gas generation system (Col. 7, lines 7–26), wherein the measuring circuit is configured to measure properties of the drying gas and to direct the measured property to a controller (180) configured to control the drying gas generation system (50) such that the property maintains a desired range (Col. 7, lines 7–26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
July 21, 2026