20180338804
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14-15, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB 20200072413, Stoppenbrink, in view of USPGPUB 20190145577, Blenkinsopp, and USPGPUB 20180338804, Azizian.
Regarding Claim 1, Stoppenbrink discloses a
bandsaw (par. 0061, fig. 2, band saw 10), comprising:
a saw blade (16) powered by a motor (par 0053), wherein the motor is configured with a brake (since the motor is mechanically connected to brake see par. 0083);
a work surface 14 configured to provide a work region adjacent the saw blade (fig. 1);
a camera (26A, par. 0034) directed at the work surface such that a camera view monitors the work region and the saw blade (par 0034); and
a controller (28) operatively coupled to the motor, the brake, and the video camera, (par 0028-0033 and 0049-0050) wherein the controller comprises a safety program configured to perform the steps of: identifying a position mark (danger zone 34) in the camera view; (par 0039)
searching the camera view for a hand-resembling object; (glove 24, worn on a hand, and thus resembles a hand)
determining whether a hand-resembling object is present in the camera view (par 0031);
establishing a hand model when the hand-resembling object is determined to be present in the camera view; and (par 0095-0099)
allowing operation of the saw blade to begin once a hand model is established.
Stoppenbrink Lacks feature I: the camera being a video camera and Feature II: wherein the hand model comprises a plurality of landmarks; determining a landmark ID wherein the landmark ID corresponds to one of the plurality of landmarks and includes a landmark integer, an x-position, and a y-position of the landmark relative to a position mark calculating a distance from the landmark to the position mark using the x-position and the y-position, in order to prevent a collision between the parts based on the generated models/trajections/trajectories thereof.
Regarding feature I: Blenkinsopp discloses an enhanced safety attachment for a bandsaw (title/abstract), in the same field of endeavor as the safety system attachment for a bandsaw tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a sensor device being a camera, specifically a video camera 103-106 which is used to control a safety brake of the device (par 0055) in order to provide a video curtain around the blade and thus better enable injury preventing, par 0070.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by making the camera thereof be a video camera in order to provide a video curtain around the blade and thus better enable injury preventing, as taught in Blenkinsopp.
Regarding Feature II, Azizian discloses an enhanced safety system which uses generated hand models (title/abstract/par 0118), in the same field of endeavor as the enhanced safety system which uses generated hand models of the present invention, and discloses that in such a device: where the hand model comprises a plurality of landmarks (par. 0096 and 0110, sensed positions of the joints and links of the sensed objects; e.g. robotic arms/hands); determining a landmark ID wherein the landmark ID corresponds to one of the plurality of landmarks (par. 0110, sensed positions of the joints and links of the sensed arms/hands) and includes a landmark integer, an x-position, and a y-position of the landmark relative to a position mark (of another part of the device, par 0118) calculating a distance from the landmark to the position mark using the x-position and the y-position (par 0118), in order to prevent a collision between the parts based on the generated models/trajections/trajectories thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by making the hand model comprises a plurality of landmarks; determining a landmark ID wherein the landmark ID corresponds to one of the plurality of landmarks and includes a landmark integer, an x-position, and a y-position of the landmark relative to a position mark calculating a distance from the landmark to the position mark using the x-position and the y-position, in order to prevent a collision between the parts based on the generated models/trajections/trajectories thereof in order to prevent a collision between the parts based on the generated models/trajections/trajectories thereof as taught in Azizian.
Regarding Claim 2, in Stoppenbrink, the saw blade is disposed vertically via an arm (arm supporting the parts 526, 16 and 22, in fig. 5a, where the blade 16 is vertically).
Regar ding Claim 3, in Stoppenbrink a hardware enclosure is disposed above the work surface, the hardware enclosure being configured to house the camera (see fig. 5A, where the camera 526 is within the arm above the blade).
Regarding Claim 4, in Stoppenbrink, the system also comprises an LED light configured to illuminate the work surface (see par 0041.).
Regarding Claim 5, in Stoppenbrink bandsaw of claim 1, wherein the safety program monitors the position of a user's hand based on the hand model, wherein the hand model comprises a computer model of the user's hand. (par 0081 and 0095-0096).
Regarding Claim 8, Stoppenbrink discloses a safety apparatus (combination of controller 28, camera 26A and “brake”) for a bandsaw (“bandsaw” par. 0061) comprising a controller 28 that is communicatively coupled with a camera 26A and a motor controller (par 0063, controller 228), the safety apparatus comprising:
a saw blade 10 actuated by a motor (par 0054), wherein the motor is governed by the motor controller (see par 0083 and par 0060-0064); a camera view (view of region 32A) provided via the camera (par. 0034), wherein the camera view comprises the saw blade and a work surface adjacent the saw blade (fig 1A-1B);
and a safety program stored in a memory of the controller and configured to be executed by a processor of the controller (par. 0040), wherein the safety program is configured to perform the steps of:
assigning a reference location (danger zone 34) in the camera view (par -0038-0040; creating a computer hand model corresponding to a user's hand as seen in the camera view (par 0095-0099),
tracking a position and an orientation of the user's hand with respect to the reference location by updating the computer hand model in real time (par 0094-0095); and
arresting motion of the saw blade when the position of the user's hand reaches a predetermined distance relative to the reference location (par 0083).
wherein the safety program models the user's hand as a set of connected landmarks (par 0114).
Stoppenbrink Lacks feature I: wherein the hand model comprises a plurality of landmarks; superimposing the computer hand model over a real-time image of the user's hand; determining trajectory vectors of the connected landmarks wherein the trajectory vectors describe expected movement of the connected landmarks, and Feature II the trajectory vectors being expected movements of the landmarks in future frames of a video feed recorded by a camera.
Regarding Feature I, Azizian discloses an enhanced safety system which uses generated hand models (title/abstract/par 0118), in the same field of endeavor as the enhanced safety system which uses generated hand models of the present invention, and discloses that in such a device: where the hand model comprises a plurality of landmarks (par. 0096 and 0110, sensed positions of the joints and links of the sensed objects; e.g. robotic arms/hands); wherein the hand model safety feature includes superimposing a computer hand model over a real-time image of a hand/arm (par 0139); determining trajectory vectors of the connected landmarks wherein the trajectory vectors describe expected movement of the connected landmarks (par 0118), in order to prevent a collision between the parts based on the generated models/trajections/trajectories thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by making the hand model comprises a plurality of landmarks; superimposing the computer hand model over a real-time image of the user's hand; determining trajectory vectors of the connected landmarks wherein the trajectory vectors describe expected movement of the connected landmarks, in order to prevent a collision between the parts based on the generated models/trajections/trajectories thereof in order to prevent a collision between the parts based on the generated models/trajections/trajectories thereof as taught in Azizian.
Regarding feature II: Blenkinsopp discloses an enhanced safety attachment for a bandsaw (title/abstract), in the same field of endeavor as the safety system attachment for a bandsaw tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a sensor device being a camera, specifically a video camera 103-106, the captured movements of the device being monitored being future frames of the video feed recorded by the camera which is used to control a safety brake of the device (par 0055) in order to provide a video curtain around the blade and thus better enable injury preventing, par 0070.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by making the camera thereof be a video camera, the captured movements of the device being monitored, in order to provide a video curtain around the blade and thus better enable injury preventing, as taught in Blenkinsopp.
Regarding Claim 11, in Stoppenbrink tracking the position and the orientation of the user's hand comprises tracking distances of the landmarks relative to the reference location in the camera view (par 0052).
Regarding Claim 14, in Stoppenbrink a user interface (18) is operatively coupled with the controller, wherein the reference location in the camera view is assigned by a user upon startup of the bandsaw (par. 028).
Regarding Claim 15, Stoppenbrink discloses a method for preventing user injury during the operation of a bandsaw (par 0072-0085), comprising:
imaging the bandsaw (par 0034/0027) via a camera operatively coupled to a controller (26A and controller 28); imaging a user's hand via the camera (par. 0033-0034);
creating, via the controller, a model of the user's hand based on images obtained via the camera (see also par 0095-0098);
updating the model in real time as the user uses the bandsaw (see also par 0095-0098);
monitoring a distance between the user's hand and a predefined reference location that is viewable via a camera view (par 0052);
detecting an unsafe condition when the distance is below a predetermined threshold; arresting motion of the bandsaw when an unsafe condition is detected (par 0052 and 0028 and 0082-0085);
prohibiting the bandsaw from resuming operation if the unsafe condition persists (par 0083-0085, since the motor is arrested until the user re-presents the hand); and permitting motion of the bandsaw to resume if the unsafe condition ends (see pr 0084 and 0085).
Regarding Claim 20 in Stoppenbrink, the systems method of use further comprising automatically restarting the bandsaw when the unsafe condition is no longer detected (par 0068).
Claim 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoppenbrink, in view of Blenkinsopp and Azizian, applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPN 20200406493, Vaucher.
Regarding claim 6, Modified Stoppenbrink lacks the apparatus having wherein the motor is configured with an electromagnetic brake.
Vaucher discloses a safety bandsaw system, in the same field of endeavor as the safety bandsaw tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a motor (See par 0125) configured with an electromagnetic brake (par 01250) in order to procure fast braking of the band saw blade (par 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by including the brake being electromagnetic in order to procure fast braking of the band saw blade as taught by Vaucher.
Regarding Claim 7, Stoppenbrink also includes wherein the brake being actuated by a signal that is based on a distance determined by the controller of the position mark from the hand model (par 0052, Stoppenbrink).
Stoppenbrink lacks the motor may receive an electrical signal that triggers the electromagnetic brake thereby arresting motion of the saw blade, wherein the signal is based on a distance determined by the controller of the position mark from the hand model.
In Vaucher, the device also comprises the motor receiving an electrical signal (current) that triggers the electromagnetic brake thereby arresting motion of the saw blade (presence of current, par 0125), in order to properly function the brake (par 0125).
Thus, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by making motor receiving an electrical signal that triggers the electromagnetic brake thereby arresting motion of the saw blade, wherein the signal is based on a distance determined by the controller of the position mark from the hand model, in order to properly function the brake as taught by Vaucher.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoppenbrink in view if Blenkinship and Azizian, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of USPN 9996797, Holtz.
Regarding Claims 12-13, Stoppenbrink lacks the safety apparatus comprising determining trajectories of the landmarks (claim 12) and comprising simultaneously tracking both hands of a user (Claim 13).
Holtz discloses a hand motion tracker, in the same field of endeavor as the hand tracker tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the tracking comprising determining trajectories of a landmark (“prediction model can be based upon an observed object in physical space, e.g., a real hand using a real pair of scissors”) (claim 12) and comprising simultaneously tracking both hands of a user (More than one hand using one or more tools is illustrated by examples 407. In example 407A two hands are gripping two tools that are brought in proximity to a created object) (Claim 13), a (Claim18) in order to allow the tracking of two hands simultaneously, co. 3, 1-20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by having the safety apparatus comprising determining trajectories of the landmarks (claim 12) and comprising simultaneously tracking both hands of a user (Claim 13) in order to allow for the tracking of two hands simultaneously, as taught by Holtz.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoppenbrink in view if Blenkinship and Azizian, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20190148209 Liu.
Regarding Claim 18, Stoppenbrink lacks forecasting an unsafe condition by determining distance vectors and trajectory vectors.
Liu discloses a arm motion tracker (see abstract par 0038-0049), in the same field of endeavor as the arm tracker tool of the present invention (even the Liu involves tracking a robotic hand, the teachings thereof are pertinent to tracking human hands, since both hands are three dimensional objects and are similar in shape) and discloses that such a system includes forecasting an unsafe condition by determining distance vectors and trajectory vectors (Par 0039, adverse condition based on distance and motion trajectory of hand) in order to warn a user in the case of a dangerous condition based on real time motion of the object (par 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by including forecasting an unsafe condition by determining distance vectors and trajectory vectors in order to warn a user in the case of a dangerous condition based on real time motion of the object (as taught via in Liu).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoppenbrink in view if Blenkinship and Azizian, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of EP 3231902 A1, Evsen.
Regarding Claim 19, Stoppenbrink lacks determining the predetermined threshold distance based on an amount of time needed to arrest motion of the bandsaw.
Evsen discloses a motion tracker for detecting an unwanted contact state between a part that is being tracked relative to a work station (see abstract), in the same field of endeavor as the tracker/error prevention tool of the present invention, and also includes the stopping of a workstation upon a detection of a dangerous condition of the tracked part (abstract) (like the present invention), but further includes determining a predetermined threshold distance based on an amount of time needed to arrest motion of the tool (abstract), in order to prevent unwanted collision between the detected part (yarn formation), with the tool, in a manner which accounts for the time it takes to arrest the tool (See par 13 Evsen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stoppenbrink by having the stopping detector include determining the predetermined threshold distance based on an amount of time needed to arrest motion of the bandsaw in order to prevent unwanted collision between the detected part with the tool, in a manner which accounts for the time it takes to arrest the tool.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11-17-2025, with respect to the prior art rejection(s) of the claim(s), as the claims have now been amended have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Azizian.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724