DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 appears to have grammatical issues (e.g. the limitation “…to the operation position in accordance with by the operation mode signal output from the controller”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the warming mode" in the third line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the warming mode" in the third line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the two slots" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark et al. (US PGPub 2023/0065832, hereinafter Clark).
Regarding claim 1, Clark discloses a disinfectant device (UVC disinfection device, see abstract), comprising:
a UV light source configured to emit UV or UV-C radiation on an operation interface (light source 104 configured to emit UVC light, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0025]);
a motion detecting sensor configured to detect any motion in the vicinity of the operation interface (one or more subject detection sensors 108 includes a motion sensor, see paragraph [0032]);
a controller (controller 106, see paragraph [0032]) configured to
after the operation interface is used by a user, output an operation mode signal to set the UV light source in an operation mode for emitting the UV-C radiation to kill pathogens on the operation interface for a first predetermined period preset in the controller according to the disinfectant area size of the operation interface (light source 104 configured to emit a UV light to clean and/or effect disinfection of the surface within the emission range, the light source emits UVC light, see paragraph [0030]; controller 106 may determine that no subject is within the emission range 105 of the light source 104 and may cause the light source 104 to emit UV light, see paragraph [0076]);
when the motion detecting sensor detects any motion in the vicinity of the operation interface during the UV light source in the operation mode, output a pause signal to set the UV light source in a pause mode to pause the UV light to emit UV-C radiation for a second predetermined time to prevent the user from harming by the UV-C radiation (a subject 202a is within the emission rage 105, the controller 105 may receive detection data from the subject detection sensors and determine that the subject 202a was within the emission range 105, as such the controller 105 may cause the light source 104 to cease emitting UV light, see paragraph [0074]); and
after the UV light source has been in the pause mode for the second predetermined time and the motion detecting sensor does not detect any motion in the vicinity of the operation interface, output another operation mode signal to the UV light source, thereby resuming the UV light source for emitting UV-C radiation so as to complete the entire procedure to kill pathogens on the operation interface (at a second time t2, following the first time t1 and prior to the user specified stop time, the controller 106 may determine that no subject is within the emission range 105 of the light source 104 and may cause the light source 104 to emit UV light, see paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Clark discloses an indicator light configured to show in the operation mode in response to the operation mode signal output from the controller, and in the warming mode in response to the pause mode signal output from the controller (one or more light sources (e.g. LED lights) may provide a visual indication to subjects that light source 104 is actively emitting UV light, see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Clark discloses a frame for accommodating the UV light source therein, wherein the UV light source is positioned to provide coverage of specific portions of the entire of the operation interface (housing 102 comprises a window 114 such that the UV light emitted by the light source 104 may pass therethrough, see paragraph [0033]; to emit an emission range 105 of the UV light, see paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Clark discloses the frame is positioned in an idle position when the UV light source is not in the operation mode, and is moved to an operation position such that the UV light source mounted in the frame is positioned to provide coverage of specific portions of the entire operation interface when the UV light source is in operation mode (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Clark discloses the frame is moved between the idle position and the operation position manually by the user (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Clark discloses the frame is moved from the idle position to the operation position in accordance with the operation mode signal output from the controller (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Clark discloses a disinfectant device (UVC disinfection device, see abstract), comprising:
a UV light source configured to emit UV-C radiation on an operation interface (light source 104 configured to emit UVC light, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0025]);
a controller (controller 106, see paragraph [0032]) configured to
after the operation interface is used by a user, output an operation mode signal to set the UV light source in an operation mode for emitting the UVC radiation to kill pathogens on the operation interface for a first predetermined period preset in the controller according to the disinfectant area size of the operation interface (light source 104 configured to emit a UV light to clean and/or effect disinfection of the surface within the emission range, the light source emits UVC light, see paragraph [0030]; controller 106 may determine that no subject is within the emission range 105 of the light source 104 and may cause the light source 104 to emit UV light, see paragraph [0076]);
when the operation interface is used by any users during the UV light source in the operation mode, output a pause signal to set the UV light source in a pause mode to pause the UV light to emit UVC radiation for a second predetermined time to prevent the user from haring by the UVC radiation (a subject 202a is within the emission rage 105, the controller 105 may receive detection data from the subject detection sensors and determine that the subject 202a was within the emission range 105, as such the controller 105 may cause the light source 104 to cease emitting UV light, see paragraph [0074]); and
after the UV light source has been in the pause mode for the second predetermined time and the operation interface is not used, output another operation mode signal to the UV light source, thereby resuming the UV light source for emitting UVC radiation so as to complete the entire procedure to kill pathogens on the operation interface (at a second time t2, following the first time t1 and prior to the user specified stop time, the controller 106 may determine that no subject is within the emission range 105 of the light source 104 and may cause the light source 104 to emit UV light, see paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 13, Clark discloses an indicator light configured to show in the operation mode in response to the operation mode signal output from the controller, and in the warming mode in response to the pause mode signal output from the controller (one or more light sources (e.g. LED lights) may provide a visual indication to subjects that light source 104 is actively emitting UV light, see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Clark discloses a frame for accommodating the UV light source therein, wherein the UV light source is positioned to provide coverage of specific portions of the entire of the operation interface (housing 102 comprises a window 114 such that the UV light emitted by the light source 104 may pass therethrough, see paragraph [0033]; to emit an emission range 105 of the UV light, see paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Clark discloses the frame is positioned in an idle position when the UV light source is not in the operation mode, and is moved to an operation position such that the UV light source mounted in the frame is positioned to provide coverage of specific portions of the entire operation interface when the UV light source is in operation mode (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Clark discloses the frame is moved between the idle position and the operation position manually by the user (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 17, Clark discloses the frame is moved from the idle position to the operation position in accordance with the operation mode signal output from the controller (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 18, Clark discloses the frame is slidable within the two slots positioned at both sides of the operation interface (base 118 is configured to be mounted to and/or removed from an external bracket to easily couple and decouple the housing, see paragraph [0034]), and
when the UV light source is in the operation mode, the frame is moved from one end of the operation interface towards the other end of the operation interface in response to the operation mode signal output from the controller (base 118 may be configured to allow a user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark.
Regarding claim 7, Clark discloses the frame is an elongated housing (housing 102 includes a window 114, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033]) where the base 118 can be mounted to a surface within a public or private space (see paragraph [0034]). Clark discloses the UV light disinfects the surfaces within the emission range of the UV light (see paragraph [0024]).
While Clark does not explicitly disclose the operation interface is an elevator control panel and the frame is mounted next to the entire elevator control panel, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to mount the base of the UV light such that a desired surface (e.g. elevator control panel) is within the emission range 105 for disinfection by UV light for the desired target of disinfection. Furthermore, the object being disinfected (e.g. the elevator control panel) is merely a functional/intended use limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 8, Clark discloses the frame is an elongated housing (housing 102 includes a window 114, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033]) where the base 118 can be mounted to a surface within a public or private space (see paragraph [0034]). Clark discloses the UV light disinfects the surfaces within the emission range of the UV light (see paragraph [0024]).
While Clark does not explicitly disclose the operation interface is a keyboard and the frame is positioned next to the keyboard, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to mount the base of the UV light such that a desired surface (e.g. keyboard) is within the emission range 105 for disinfection by UV light for the desired target of disinfection. Furthermore, the object being disinfected (e.g. the keyboard) is merely a functional/intended use limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 9, Clark discloses when the UV light source is not in the operation mode, the frame is in an idle position where the frame together with the UV light source, and when the UV light source is in the operation mode, the frame is moved to an operation position in response to the operation mode signal output from the controller (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
While Clark does not explicitly disclose the operation interface is a keyboard and the frame is positioned next to the keyboard, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to mount the base of the UV light such that a desired surface (e.g. keyboard) is within the emission range 105 for disinfection by UV light for the desired target of disinfection. Furthermore, the object being disinfected (e.g. the keyboard) is merely a functional/intended use limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 10, Clark discloses the frame is a U shape housing and two ends of the U shape frame is pivotally mounted (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
While Clark does not explicitly disclose the operation interface is a touch panel and the frame is mounted on both sides of the touch panel, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to mount the base of the UV light such that a desired surface (e.g. touch panel) is within the emission range 105 for disinfection by UV light for the desired target of disinfection. Furthermore, the object being disinfected (e.g. the touch panel) is merely a functional/intended use limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 11, Clark discloses when the UV light source is not in the operation mode, the frame is in an idle position where the frame together with the UV light source, and when the UV light source is in the operation mode, the frame is moved to an operation position in response to the operation mode signal output from the controller (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
While Clark does not explicitly disclose the operation interface is a touch panel, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to mount the base of the UV light such that a desired surface (e.g. touch panel) is within the emission range 105 for disinfection by UV light for the desired target of disinfection. Furthermore, the object being disinfected (e.g. the touch panel) is merely a functional/intended use limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 19, Clark discloses the frame is an elongated housing (housing 102 includes a window 114, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033]) where the base 118 can be mounted to a surface within a public or private space (see paragraph [0034]). Clark discloses the UV light disinfects the surfaces within the emission range of the UV light (see paragraph [0024]).
While Clark does not explicitly disclose the operation interface is a keyboard and the frame is positioned next to the keyboard, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to mount the base of the UV light such that a desired surface (e.g. keyboard) is within the emission range 105 for disinfection by UV light for the desired target of disinfection. Furthermore, the object being disinfected (e.g. the keyboard) is merely a functional/intended use limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 20, Clark discloses when the UV light source is not in the operation mode, the frame is in an idle position where the frame together with the UV light source, and when the UV light source is in the operation mode, the frame is moved to an operation position in response to the operation mode signal output from the controller (UV device 100 maybe portable and base 118 may be mounted and configured to allow the user to adjust the orientation and/or position of the housing 102, see paragraph [0034]).
While Clark does not explicitly disclose the operation interface is a keyboard and the frame is positioned next to the keyboard, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to mount the base of the UV light such that a desired surface (e.g. keyboard) is within the emission range 105 for disinfection by UV light for the desired target of disinfection. Furthermore, the object being disinfected (e.g. the keyboard) is merely a functional/intended use limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878