DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims presented have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,4,5,6,7,8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ramamoorthy et al. (US11355643B2).
Regarding claim 1, Fig.3 of Ramamoorthy teaches a spin-orbit torque material, having a spin-orbit torque effect, wherein a chemical formula of the spin-orbit torque material is ABO2 (col.22, line 5, PtCoO.sub.2 ); and wherein A and B are different heavy metal atoms (wherein in A is platinum and Co is cobalt), O is an oxygen atom, and a ratio between numbers of A, B, and O atoms is 1: 1: 2 (col.22, line 5, wherein PtCoO.sub.2 has a ratio of 1:1:2 ), and wherein the A is platinum, and the B is any one of cobalt and chromium (wherein in A is platinum and Co is cobalt).
Regarding claim 3, Ramamoorthy further teaches the spin-orbit torque material according to claim 1, wherein A is platinum and B is cobalt (col.22, line 5, PtCoO.sub.2, wherein A corresponds to platinum and B corresponds to cobalt).
Regarding claim 4, Ramamoorthy further teaches the spin-orbit torque material according to claim 1, wherein the spin-orbit torque material is an ABO2 thin film which comprises a single-layered or multi-layered ABO2 atomic layer; and wherein each ABO2 atomic layer comprises an A atomic layer and a BO2 atomic layer, and the multi-layered ABO2 atomic layer is formed by A atomic layers and BO2 atomic layers which are stacked alternately (col.19, line 46-52, wherein one or both of the first and second conductive or semiconductive oxide electrodes 304, 300 comprise an oxide having a chemical formula represented by C.sub.(p-u)C′.sub.uD.sub.(q-v)D′.sub.vO.sub.w, wherein C and C′ occupy interchangeable atomic positions in the perovskite crystal structure, wherein D and D′ occupy interchangeable atomic positions in the perovskite crystal structure).
Regarding claim 5, Ramamoorthy further teaches the spin-orbit torque material according to claim 4, wherein the ABO2 thin film is a single crystal thin film or an amorphous thin film (col.21, lines 66 and col.22, lines 1-2, wherein the crystal structure of one or both of the first and second conductive or semiconductive oxide electrodes 304, 300 may be a delaffosite structure, a spinel structure or a cubic structure).
Regarding claim 6, Ramamoorthy further teaches the spin-orbit torque material according to claim 4, wherein a thickness of the ABO2 thin film is 8 nm to 150 nm (col.20, lines 45-47, first and second conductive or semiconductive oxide electrodes 304, 300 can have a thickness between about 10 nm, 10 and 15 nm, 15 and 20 nm, 20 and 25 nm, 25 and 30 nm, 30 and 35 nm, 35 and 40 nm, 40 and 45 nm, 45 and 50 nm).
Regarding claim 7, Ramamoorthy further teaches a spin-orbit torque device, comprising at least one spin-orbit torque material according to claim 1 (col.37, lines 17-20, wherein the semiconductor device of embodiment 78, wherein one or both of the first and second crystalline conductive or semiconductive oxide electrodes comprise one or more of PtCoO.sub.2).
Regarding claim 8, Ramamoorthy further teaches the spin-orbit torque device according to claim 7, comprising a spin-orbit torque generating layer which comprises the spin-orbit torque material (col.37, lines 17-20, wherein the semiconductor device of embodiment 78, wherein one or both of the first and second crystalline conductive or semiconductive oxide electrodes comprise one or more of PtCoO.sub.2).
Regarding claim 9, Ramamoorthy further teaches the spin-orbit torque device according to claim 7, wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a storage device, a logic device, or a sensor device (col.1, lines 16-21, wherein it is indicated that the disclosed technology generally relates to ferroelectric materials and semiconductor devices incorporating the same, and more particularly to semiconductor memory devices incorporating ferroelectric capacitors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamoorthy et al. (US11355643B2) in view of Kim et al. (US20210119117A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ramamoorthy does not teach wherein the spin-orbit torque generating layer is configured to drive magnetization reversal, perturb magnetic moment, or excite magnetic resonance.
Fig.8A of Kim teaches wherein in the spin-orbit torque-based switching device, as the magnitude of an external magnetic field increases from 10 Oe to 150 Oe, the value of switching current (or current density) required for reversing magnetization decreases (para.0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the spin-orbit torque-based switching device of Kim in the teachings of Ramamoorthy because it helps in lowering the value of switching current (or current density) required for reversing magnetization (Kim, [para.0088]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT KIPKEMOI. RONO
Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/V.K.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891