DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2018/0151472, hereinafter Chen) in view of Kubo (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2006/0113105, hereinafter Kubo) and Lewinson(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0249333, hereinafter Lewison).
Re claim 1 Chen discloses in Fig 1 a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate(109); an electronic component(103) disposed on the substrate(109); a cover(101b/101c) disposed on the substrate(109), covering the electronic component(103) and having a recess[0035];
Chen does not disclose a liquid metal formed between the recess and the electronic component(103); wherein the cover comprises: a plate having a first surface facing the electronic component; a surrounding portion disposed on the plate, protruding relative to the first surface of the plate and having an inner lateral surface; wherein the liquid metal does not protrude beyond the inner lateral surface of the surrounding portion.
Kubo disclose in Fig 3 a liquid metal(160) formed between the recess[0054] and the electronic component(102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kubo to the teachings of Chen in order to radiate heat transmitted [0020, Kubo].
Chen does not disclose wherein the cover comprises: a plate having a first surface facing the electronic component; a surrounding portion disposed on the plate, protruding relative to the first surface of the plate and having an inner lateral surface; wherein the liquid metal does not protrude beyond the inner lateral surface of the surrounding portion.
Lewison disclose in Fig 6, 9 wherein the cover comprises: a plate(240/239) having a first surface facing the electronic component(202); a surrounding portion(238) disposed on the plate, protruding relative to the first surface of the plate and having an inner lateral surface; wherein the liquid metal(244) does not protrude beyond the inner lateral surface of the surrounding portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Lewison to the teachings of Chen in order to have a lid that conforms to topographic fluctuation, warpage, or curvature of an associated IC device surface [0001, Lewison].
Re claim 2 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic component(103) has an upper surface, wherein the recess[0035] is recess[0035]ed with respect to the first surface, and the first surface is lower than the upper surface of the electronic component(103).
Re claim 3 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the recess[0035] has a first width, the electronic component(103) has a second width, and the first width is greater the second width[0034].
Re claim 4 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 3, wherein a ratio of the first width[0034] to the second width[0034] ranges between 1.05 and 1.10.
Re claim 5 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the recess[0035] has a plurality of first widths, the electronic component(103) has a second width, one of the first width is smaller than the second width, and another of the first widths is greater than the second width[0034].
Re claim 6 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the semiconductor device further comprises an adhesive layer[007] formed between the surrounding portion and the substrate(109).
Re claim 7 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the recess[0035] has a depth ranging between 20 μm and 500 μm.
Re claim 8 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the recess[0035] has a bottom surface and a lateral surface, and the lateral surface is inclined relative to the bottom surface (since the lateral surface is sloped and slanted towards the bottom this may be interpreted as inclined).
Re claim 9 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the recess[0035] has a bottom surface and a lateral surface, and the lateral surface is vertical to the bottom surface.
Re claim 10 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the recess[0035] has a lateral surface, the electronic component(103) has an corner(corner of 103), and the corner(corner of 103) is in contact with the lateral surface.
Re claim 11 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a binding promoting layer formed between the cover(101b/101c) and the liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058].
Re claim 12 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a binding promoting layer formed between the electronic component(103) and the liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058].
Re claim 13 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058] has melting point ranging between 100°C to 200°C.
Re claim 14 Chen discloses in Fig 1 a manufacturing method, comprising: disposing an electronic component(103) on a substrate(109); disposing a cover(101b/101c) on the substrate(109) to cover(101b/101c) the electronic component(103), wherein the cover(101b/101c) has recess[0035];
Chen does not disclose forming a liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058] between the recess[0035] and the electronic component(103); wherein the cover comprises a plate and a surrounding portion, the plate has a first surface facing the electronic component, and the surrounding portion is disposed on the plate, protrudes relative to the first surface of the plate and has an inner lateral surface; wherein the liquid metal does not protrude beyond the inner lateral surface of the surrounding portion.
Kubo disclose in Fig 3 forming a liquid metal(160) between the recess[0054] and the electronic component(102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kubo to the teachings of Chen in order to radiate heat transmitted [0020, Kubo].
Chen and Kubo does not disclose wherein the cover comprises a plate and a surrounding portion, the plate has a first surface facing the electronic component, and the surrounding portion is disposed on the plate, protrudes relative to the first surface of the plate and has an inner lateral surface; wherein the liquid metal does not protrude beyond the inner lateral surface of the surrounding portion.
Lewison disclose in Fig 6, 9 wherein the cover comprises a plate(240/239) and a surrounding portion(238), the plate has a first surface facing the electronic component(202), and the surrounding portion is disposed on the plate, protrudes relative to the first surface of the plate and has an inner lateral surface; wherein the liquid metal(244) does not protrude beyond the inner lateral surface of the surrounding portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Lewison to the teachings of Chen in order to have a lid that conforms to topographic fluctuation, warpage, or curvature of an associated IC device surface [0001, Lewison].
Re claim 15 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058] has melting point ranging between 100°C to 200°C.
Re claim 16 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 14, further comprising: forming an adhesive layer[007] between the surrounding portion and the substrate(109).
Re claim 17 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 14, further comprising: forming a binding promoting layer between cover(101b/101c) and the liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058].
Re claim 18 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 14, further comprising: forming a binding promoting layer between the electronic component(103) and the liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058].
Re claim 19 Chen and Kubo and Lewison disclose the manufacturing method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the liquid metal(160 of Kubo)[0058] has melting point ranging between 100°C to 200°C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812