DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections set forth in the prior Office are withdrawn.
The prior art rejections of claims 1-4 and 7-10 set forth in the prior Office action are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 1.
Applicant's arguments pertaining to amended claim 11 been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In this regard, the examiner notes the language “on the right side of Fig. 11” used in connection with the mapping of the claim elements “a second bus bar unit coupled to the second electrode lead”, “a second sensing connector coupled to the second bus bar unit”, “a second sensing connector coupled to the second bus bar unit” and “a second sensing bridge configured to connect a second end of the sensing body to the second sensing connector, the second sensing bridge being folded and bent” to features of the Oh reference means the corresponding elements on the right side of Fig. 11 of Oh (near the reference number “100”) that correspond to and oppose the left-side elements detailed in annotated Figs. 5 and 7. Accordingly, the right side of Fig. 11 of Oh will have a second sensing connector the faces the first sensing connector on the left side of Fig. 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0348720 to Oh et al. (Oh).
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses a battery module comprising:
a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a front-rear direction of the battery cell assembly, each of the plurality of battery cells including a first electrode lead and a second electrode lead that protrude in a first direction and are formed opposite to each other (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11 (annotated below), cell assembly 300 of the battery module 1);
a first bus bar unit coupled to the first electrode lead (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11, bus bars 500 on left side of Fig. 11);
a second bus bar unit coupled to the second electrode lead (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11, corresponding bus bars 500 on right side of Fig. 11); and
a battery sensing unit configured to connect the first bus bar unit and the second bus bar unit and operable to sense a status of the battery cell assembly (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11, flexible circuit board 100; also see paragraph 142, flexible circuit board 100 disposed along the upper plate 410 and the side plates 420 to sense voltages of the battery cells),
wherein the battery sensing unit includes:
a first sensing connector coupled to the first bus bar unit (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7 (annotated below) and 11, and paragraph 134, third connection circuit portion 150 as shown in annotated Fig. 7 on left side of Fig. 11);
a second sensing connector coupled to the second bus bar unit (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7 (duplicated below) and 11, corresponding third connection circuit portion 150 on right side of Fig. 11);
a sensing body extending in the first direction (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7 (annotated below) and 11, central portion 110);
a first sensing bridge configured to connect a first end of the sensing body to the first sensing connector, the first sensing bridge being folded and bent (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7, 11, first connection circuit portions 120 in combination with second connection circuit portions 130 on left side of Fig. 11; also see Fig. 5 (annotated below), disclosing a fold and a bend); and
a second sensing bridge configured to connect a second end of the sensing body to the second sensing connector, the second sensing bridge being folded and bent (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7, 11, corresponding first connection circuit portions 120 in combination with corresponding second connection circuit portions 130 on right side of Fig. 11; also see Fig. 5, disclosing a fold and a bend),
wherein the first sensing connector and the second sensing connector face each other (see Oh as applied above, corresponding third connection circuit portion 150 on right side of Fig. 11 will face third connection circuit portion 150 as shown in annotated Fig. 7 on left side of Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 12, Oh discloses wherein the battery sensing unit includes a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (Oh, e.g., paragraph 142, flexible circuit board 100).
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses wherein the sensing body, the first sensing bridge, the second sensing bridge, the first sensing connector, and the second sensing connector are formed as a unibody (Oh, e.g., Fig. 2 and paragraph 117, first connection circuit portions 120, the second connection circuit portions 130 and the overlapped portions 140 may correspond to portions of the flexible circuit board 100 and may be integrally formed with the central portion 110 to constitute one flexible circuit board).
Regarding claim 14, Oh discloses wherein the first sensing bridge is bent between a folded portion of the first sensing bridge and the first sensing connector, and wherein the second sensing bridge is bent between a folded portion of the second sensing bridge and the second sensing connector (Oh, e.g., Fig. 5 as annotated above, noting bend between folded portion and first sensing connector; note that this feature will also be present in the second sensing bridge on the right side of Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, Oh discloses wherein the battery sensing unit further includes a first sensing extension extending from the first sensing connector (see annotated Fig. 7 above).
Regarding claim 16, Oh discloses wherein the battery sensing unit further includes a second sensing extension extending from the sensing body (see annotated Fig. 7 above, temperature sensing portion 111).
Regarding claim 17, Oh discloses wherein the battery sensing unit includes at least one of:
a first temperature sensor connected to the first sensing extension and operable to measure a temperature of the battery cell assembly; or
a second temperature sensor connected to the second sensing extension and operable to measure a temperature of the battery cell assembly (see annotated Fig. 7 above, temperature sensing portion 111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh.
Regarding claim 19, Oh discloses that the flexible circuit board 100 is configured to sense a voltage of a battery cell (Oh, e.g., Fig. 2 and paragraph 113). Oh is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing wherein the battery sensing unit includes a battery sensor that generates a signal indicative of a battery charge status or a battery discharge status of the battery cell assembly. The examiner takes Official notice of the fact that the use of voltage sensors and current sensors in battery modules of the type disclosed by Oh for the purpose of generating a signal indicative of a battery charge status or a battery discharge status was well-known and conventional before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Oh such that Oh’s flexible circuit board 100 includes a battery sensor that generates a signal indicative of a battery charge status or a battery discharge status of the battery cell assembly for at least the reason that this would enable a battery management system (BMS) to manage the charging and discharging of each battery cell in the manner disclosed by Oh in paragraphs 4 and 158, for example.
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-10 are allowed.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858