DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is directed to a battery sensing unit and, as best understood by the examiner in light of the disclosure, has a scope that includes a battery sensing unit in planar form, e.g., a sheet-shaped flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) such as shown and described in connection with Fig. 5. For example, the battery sensing unit 400 of Fig. 5 (duplicated below) is characterized by a planar geometry and includes a sensing body 410 including a first end and a second end that oppose each other and extending from the first end to the second end in a transverse direction of the battery sensing unit, a first sensing bridge 421 extending forward from the first end of the sensing body 410, a second sensing bridge 422 extending forward from the second end of the sensing body 410, a first sensing connector 431 forming a shape extending from an end of the first sensing bridge 421 toward the second sensing bridge 422, and a second sensing connector 432 forming a shape extending from an end of the second sensing bridge 422 toward the first sensing bridge 421, with the first sensing connector 431 being positioned between the sensing body 410 and the second sensing connector 432. Fig. 5 also shows a fold line FL on each of the first and second sensing bridges 421, 422.
Claim 2 depends from claim 1 and recites “wherein upon folding of each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge, each of the first sensing connector and the second sensing connector forms a shape extending in a longitudinal direction of the battery sensing unit”. The scope of claim 2 is unclear in view of the phrase “wherein upon folding of each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge”. Under a first interpretation, claim 2 might be intended to affirmatively require a folding step(s) to obtain a battery sensing unit such as shown in Fig. 4 (duplicated below) as battery sensing unit 400.
Under the first interpretation the examiner notes that the folding step(s) in claim 2 would appear to remove affirmatively-required structural limitations of claim 1, e.g., “a first sensing connector forming a shape extending from an end of the first sensing bridge toward the second sensing bridge”, “a second sensing connector forming a shape extending from an end of the second sensing bridge toward the first sensing bridge” and “wherein the first sensing connector is positioned between the sensing body and the second sensing connector”, which is contrary to the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(d) (“A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers”). Under a second interpretation, the language “wherein upon folding of each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge” could mean that the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge are foldable (i.e., capable of being folded) into a state in which each of the first sensing connector and the second sensing connector forms a shape extending in a longitudinal direction of the battery sensing unit. If this meaning is intended, clarification of the claim language “wherein upon folding of each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge” is necessary. Under the second interpretation, the examiner points out that prior art meeting the structural requirements of claim 1 and further capable of being folded/bent in a way that would meet the required configuration of claim 2 may read on claim 2 and claims depending from claim 2. Clarification is required so that the scope of claim 2 is clear. For purposes of the present examination, the second interpretation discussed above is applied. Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Claim 5 recites “wherein in a state in which each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge is bent, the first sensing connector and the second sensing connector face each other”. The scope of claim 5 is unclear in view of the phrase “wherein in a state in which each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge is bent” for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 2, i.e., it is unclear whether claim 5 is intended to affirmatively require bending of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge or merely that the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge are capable of being bent such that the recited orientation of the first and second sensing connectors could be obtained. Clarification is required so that the scope of claim 5 is clear. For purposes of the present examination, the latter interpretation (i.e., the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge are capable of being bent such that the recited orientation of the first and second sensing connectors could be obtained) is applied. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of its dependence from claim 5.
Claim 15 depends from claim 11 and recites “wherein the battery sensing unit further includes a first sensing extension positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the first sensing connector”. As best understood by the examiner in light of the disclosure, “a first sensing extension” may be, for example, first sensing extension 451 such as shown in Fig. 11 (folded state of battery sensing unit 400) and Fig. 5 (unfolded state of battery sensing unit 400). The examiner notes that the position of the first sensing extension in claim 15 (“positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the first sensing connector”) seems to be reflected in the unfolded state of Fig. 5 in which the first sensing extension (unlabeled in Fig. 5) extends from the first sensing connector 431 and is positioned between the sensing body 410 and the first sensing connector 431. In the folded state of Fig. 11, the examiner notes that first sensing extension 451 does not appear to be positioned between the sensing body 410 and the first sensing connector 431. The examiner raises this as a potential issue for clarification because in claim 11 the battery sensing unit is clearly not in a planar/unfolded state, whereas claim 15, as best understood in light of the disclosure, appears to recite a position of the first sensing extension that is only present when the battery sensing unit in in a planar/unfolded state. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependence from claim 15.
Claim 16 depends from claim 11 and recites “wherein the battery sensing unit further includes a second sensing extension positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the sensing body”. As best understood by the examiner in light of the disclosure, “a second sensing extension” may be, for example, second sensing extension 452 such as shown in Fig. 11 (folded state of battery sensing unit 400) and Fig. 5 (unfolded state of battery sensing unit 400). The examiner notes that the position of the second sensing extension in claim 16 (“positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the sensing body”) seems to be reflected in the unfolded state of Fig. 5 in which the second sensing extension (unlabeled in Fig. 5) extends from the sensing body 410 and is positioned between the sensing body 410 and the first sensing connector 431. In the folded state of Fig. 11, the examiner notes that second sensing extension 452 does not appear to be positioned between the sensing body 410 and the first sensing connector 431. The examiner raises this as a potential issue for clarification because in claim 11 the battery sensing unit is clearly not in a planar/unfolded state, whereas claim 16, as best understood in light of the disclosure, appears to recite a position of the first sensing extension that is only present when the battery sensing unit in in a planar/unfolded state.
In claim 17, “the second sensing extension” lacks antecedent basis, rendering the scope of the claim unclear. It appears that claim 17 may have been intended to depend from claim 16 (which would provide the necessary antecedent basis support) instead of claim 15. This dependence is presumed for purposes of the present examination. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of its dependence from claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0261332 to Fukushima et al. (Fukushima).
Regarding claim 1, Fukushima discloses a battery sensing unit (relay FPC 150 of Fig. 9 as annotated below) for sensing a status of a battery module, comprising:
a sensing body including a first end and a second end that oppose each other and extending from the first end to the second end in a transverse direction of the battery sensing unit (see annotated Fig. 9 below, extension part 54B having first (left) end and second (right) end that oppose each other and extends from the first end to the second end in a transverse direction of the battery sensing unit);
a first sensing bridge extending forward from the first end of the sensing body (see annotated Fig. 9 below, intersection part 155A);
a second sensing bridge extending forward from the second end of the sensing body (see annotated Fig. 9 below, intersection part 55B);
a first sensing connector forming a shape extending from an end of the first sensing bridge toward the second sensing bridge (see annotated Fig. 9 below, extension part 54A in combination with first counterpart connector 51A); and
a second sensing connector forming a shape extending from an end of the second sensing bridge toward the first sensing bridge (see annotated Fig. 9 below, at least extension part 54D in combination with second counterpart connector 51B),
wherein the first sensing connector is positioned between the sensing body and the second sensing connector (see annotated Fig. 9 below, noting that first sensing connector (extension part 54A in combination with first counterpart connector 51A) is positioned between the sensing body (extension part 54B) and the second sensing connector (at least extension part 54D in combination with second counterpart connector 51B)).
Regarding claim 2, Fukushima discloses wherein upon folding of each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge, each of the first sensing connector and the second sensing connector forms a shape extending in a longitudinal direction of the battery sensing unit (Fukushima, e.g., Fig. 9, noting bending parts 56A and 56B which are bent/folded to produce the configuration of Fig. 10 in which first sensing connector (extension part 54A in combination with first counterpart connector 51A) and second sensing connector (at least extension part 54D in combination with second counterpart connector 51B) forms a shape extending in a longitudinal direction of the battery sensing unit).
Regarding claim 3, Fukushima discloses wherein the battery sensing unit includes a first face and a second face formed opposite the first face (Fukushima, e.g., Fig. 9, FPC 150 necessarily includes a first face, e.g., bottom face, and a second face, e.g., top face, opposite the first face), and wherein in a state in which each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge is folded, a first portion of the first face corresponding to the sensing body faces upward (Fukushima, e.g., Fig. 10, in folded state a first portion of the first face corresponding to extension part 54B faces upward), and each of a second portion of the first face corresponding to the first sensing connector and a third portion of the first face corresponding to the second sensing connector faces downward (Fukushima, e.g., Fig. 10, in folded state each of a second portion of the first face corresponding to the first sensing connector (extension part 54A in combination with first counterpart connector 51A) and a third portion of the first face corresponding to the second sensing connector (at least extension part 54D in combination with second counterpart connector 51B) faces downward due to the folds at bending parts 56A and 56B).
Regarding claim 4, Fukushima discloses wherein in a state in which each of the first sensing bridge and the second sensing bridge is folded, the sensing body is disposed between the first sensing connector and the second sensing connector (Fukushima, e.g., Fig. 10, noting that sensing body (extension part 54B) is disposed between first sensing connector (extension part 54A in combination with first counterpart connector 51A) and second sensing connector (at least extension part 54D in combination with second counterpart connector 51B)).
Regarding claim 9, Fukushima discloses wherein the sensing body, the first sensing bridge, the second sensing bridge, the first sensing connector, and the second sensing connector are formed as a unibody (Fukushima, e.g., paragraph 84, “In the foregoing embodiments, the FPCs 60 and 160 are divided. However, the present disclosure is not limited to this, and an FPC may be provided as a single body”).
Regarding claim 10, Fukushima discloses wherein the sensing body, the first sensing bridge, the second sensing bridge, the first sensing connector, and the second sensing connector includes a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (Fukushima, e.g., paragraph 84, “In the foregoing embodiments, the FPCs 60 and 160 are divided. However, the present disclosure is not limited to this, and an FPC may be provided as a single body”; also see Fig. 9 and paragraphs 76-80, with FPC 150 being a flexible printed circuit board).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0348720 to Oh et al. (Oh).
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses a battery module comprising:
a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells arranged in a front-rear direction of the battery cell assembly, each of the plurality of battery cells including a first electrode lead and a second electrode lead that protrude in a first direction and are formed opposite to each other (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11 (annotated below), cell assembly 300 of the battery module 1);
a first bus bar unit coupled to the first electrode lead (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11, bus bars 500 on left side of Fig. 11);
a second bus bar unit coupled to the second electrode lead (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11, corresponding bus bars 500 on right side of Fig. 11); and
a battery sensing unit configured to connect the first bus bar unit and the second bus bar unit and operable to sense a status of the battery cell assembly (Oh, e.g., Fig. 11, flexible circuit board 100; also see paragraph 142, flexible circuit board 100 disposed along the upper plate 410 and the side plates 420 to sense voltages of the battery cells),
wherein the battery sensing unit includes:
a first sensing connector coupled to the first bus bar unit (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7 (annotated below) and 11, and paragraph 134, third connection circuit portion 150 as shown in annotated Fig. 7 on left side of Fig. 11);
a second sensing connector coupled to the second bus bar unit (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7 (duplicated below) and 11, corresponding third connection circuit portion 150 on right side of Fig. 11);
a sensing body extending in the first direction (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7 (annotated below) and 11, central portion 110);
a first sensing bridge configured to connect a first end of the sensing body to the first sensing connector, the first sensing bridge being folded and bent (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7, 11, first connection circuit portions 120 in combination with second connection circuit portions 130 on left side of Fig. 11; also see Fig. 5 (annotated below), disclosing a fold and a bend); and
a second sensing bridge configured to connect a second end of the sensing body to the second sensing connector, the second sensing bridge being folded and bent (Oh, e.g., Figs. 7, 11, corresponding first connection circuit portions 120 in combination with corresponding second connection circuit portions 130 on right side of Fig. 11; also see Fig. 5, disclosing a fold and a bend).
Regarding claim 12, Oh discloses wherein the battery sensing unit includes a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (Oh, e.g., paragraph 142, flexible circuit board 100).
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses wherein the sensing body, the first sensing bridge, the second sensing bridge, the first sensing connector, and the second sensing connector are formed as a unibody (Oh, e.g., Fig. 2 and paragraph 117, first connection circuit portions 120, the second connection circuit portions 130 and the overlapped portions 140 may correspond to portions of the flexible circuit board 100 and may be integrally formed with the central portion 110 to constitute one flexible circuit board).
Regarding claim 14, Oh discloses wherein the first sensing bridge is bent between a folded portion of the first sensing bridge and the first sensing connector, and wherein the second sensing bridge is bent between a folded portion of the second sensing bridge and the second sensing connector (Oh, e.g., Fig. 5 as annotated above, noting bend between folded portion and first sensing connector; note that this feature will also be present in the second sensing bridge on the right side of Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima in view of US 2021/0184379 to Jung et al. (Jung).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Fukushima is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing a first sensing extension positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the first sensing connector (claim 7) and a second sensing extension positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the sensing body (claim 8). In related art, Jung discloses in Fig. 4 (see below) an FPCB assembly 10 for use with a battery module in a manner substantially identical to that of Fukushima (compare FPCB assembly 10 of Jung, Fig. 4 with relay FPC 50 of Fukushima, Fig. 1). Jung discloses that the FPCB assembly 10 includes sensing extensions in the form of temperature sensors distributed over its length for sensing temperatures of battery cells (Jung, e.g., Figs. 3-4 and paragraph 42, temperature sensors 25). As shown in the comparison of Fig. 4 of Jung with Fig. 10 of Fukushima reoriented to the view of Jung, Jung’s temperature sensors are distributed over the length of the FPCB assembly 10, with at least two of the sensors generally coinciding with the first sensing connector (extension part 54A in combination with first counterpart connector 51A) and the sensing body (extension part 54B) of Fukushima, respectively. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Fukushima such that Fukushima’s relay FPC 150 of Fig. 9 includes a first sensing extension positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the first sensing connector (claim 7) and a second sensing extension positioned between the sensing body and the first sensing connector and extending from the sensing body (claim 8). In this way, when Fukushima’s FPC 150 of Fig. 9 is folded to obtain the FPC 150 of Fig. 10, a first sensing extension in the form of a first temperature sensor on Fukushima’s first sensing connector and a second extension in the form of a second temperature sensor on Fukushima’s sensing body can be obtained in order to obtain the benefit of battery cell temperature sensing disclosed by Jung.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh.
Regarding claim 19, Oh discloses that the flexible circuit board 100 is configured to sense a voltage of a battery cell (Oh, e.g., Fig. 2 and paragraph 113). Oh is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing wherein the battery sensing unit includes a battery sensor that generates a signal indicative of a battery charge status or a battery discharge status of the battery cell assembly. The examiner takes Official notice of the fact that the use of voltage sensors and current sensors in battery modules of the type disclosed by Oh for the purpose of generating a signal indicative of a battery charge status or a battery discharge status was well-known and conventional before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Oh such that Oh’s flexible circuit board 100 includes a battery sensor that generates a signal indicative of a battery charge status or a battery discharge status of the battery cell assembly for at least the reason that this would enable a battery management system (BMS) to manage the charging and discharging of each battery cell in the manner disclosed by Oh in paragraphs 4 and 158, for example.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/0078487 to Shin et al. relates to a battery module including a battery cell stack having a plurality of battery cells or unit modules connected in series and/or in parallel to each other in a state in which the battery cells or the unit modules are stacked in the lateral direction, voltage sensing members provided at ends thereof with connection terminals electrically connected to electrode terminal connection parts of the battery cells disposed at the front and rear of the battery cell stack to sense voltages of the battery cells or the unit modules, an upper case provided with mounting parts, in which the voltage sensing members are mounted, and a lower case provided at the front thereof with external input and output terminals; see, e.g., Fig. 9.
US 2016/0141712 to Choi et al. relates to a battery module array including battery modules, which may have improved space utilization; see, e.g., Fig. 1.
/DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863