DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the previous interpretation of the prior art Schafer of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 1 and 15 have been amended to recite, “ wherein the first layer further comprises a tacking agent configured to at least temporarily tack the base and the solder preform onto each other, the tacking agent comprising a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a terpineol.” The Applicant asserts that the amendment overcomes the prior art, Schafer et al. (US 8925789) herein referred to as Schafer. However, Shearer et al. (US 20140131898) teaches in [0020] a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a flux. The combination of acrylic and terpineol typically refers to a solvent-based blend in which terpineol acts as a co-solvent or viscosity modifier for acrylic polymers or resins. Terpineol facilitates adhesion, smooth film formation, and even drying of acrylic-based formulations. The flux in the Schafer device acts as a co solvent or terpineol. Therefore, the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1 and 15 is upheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. All obviousness rationales stated below are rationales that would have been obvious prior to the earliest effective filing date of the application.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik et al. (US 5352629) herein referred to as Paik, in view of Schafer et al. (US 8925789) herein referred to as Schafer and further in view of Shearer et al. (US 20140131898) herein referred to as Shearer and further in view of .
As to claim 1, Paik teaches a solderable electronic device, comprising:
a base comprising one or more of a semiconductor die (Fig. 2 [col 3 line 51] chip 26, Paik)
a first layer (Fig. 2, layer 24, Paik) arranged over the base,
the first layer comprising a solid reducing agent (Fig. 2, solid flux layer 24, Paik) and
a solder preform (Fig. 2, solder preform 20, Paik) arranged over the first layer, wherein
Paik teaches a base and a substrate but does not appear to expressly disclose "a base comprising one or more of a semiconductor die and a power electronic substrate”.
However, Schafer does teach a power electronic substrate ((col 3 lines 53 - 67.” The term "substrate" is generally understood as an object connectable to an electronic component. According to a preferred embodiment, the substrate is selected from the group consisting of leadframes, DCB (direct copper bonded) substrates, and ceramic substrates. (7) According to a preferred embodiment, the following pairs of electronic component and substrate are connected to one another: LED/leadframe, LED/ceramic substrate, die/leadframe, die/ceramic substrate, die/DCB substrate, diode/leadframe, diode/ceramic substrate, diode/DCB substrate, IGBT/leadframe, IGBT/ceramic substrate, IGBT/DCB substrate, integrated circuit/leadframe, integrated circuit/ceramic substrate, integrated circuit/DCB substrate, sensor/leadframe, sensor/ceramic substrate, cooling element (preferably copper or aluminum cooling element)/DCB, cooling element (preferably copper or aluminum cooling element)/ceramic substrate.”
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a power electronic substrate in the device of Paik as described in the device of Schafer. Power electronic devices are used in semiconductors to efficiently manage, convert, and control electric power with minimal energy loss so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device.
Paik also does not appear to expressly disclose “the solid reducing agent is configured to reduce a solder material of the solder preform during a soldering process”.
However, Shearer does teach in [0029] a description of the solid reducing agent flux. "Flux" as used herein, refers to a substance, often an acid or base, used to promote fusing of metals and in particular, removes and prevents the formation of metal oxides.”
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the solid reducing agent of Paik so as to reduce a solder material of the solder preform during a soldering process, as is described in the device of Shearer. The flux as described by Shearer is configured to reduce a solder material of the solder preform during a soldering process. Flux of preferred mixtures, including salts of carboxylic acids and tertiary amines due to their synergistic flux activity, provide a synergistic effect, combining the oxide-removing capability of the acid with the high thermal stability and metal-complexing ability of the amine. This combination acts as an efficient, low-residue activator that improves wetting and reduces metal oxides during soldering so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device/process/material.
Paik also does not appear to expressly disclose that “the first layer further comprises a tacking agent configured to at least temporarily tack the base and the solder preform onto each other,
the tacking agent comprising a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a terpineol “
However, Shearer does teach in [0092] a description of the flux. In semiconductor manufacturing, a tacking agent serves as a temporary adhesive used to securely hold components in precise alignment before and during the thermal bonding process (reflow soldering or sintering). The tacking agent is composed of both the resin and the flux. As described in [0092] “in some embodiments, the means for inerting the flux is to incorporate a thermosetting resin that is reactive with functional groups in the flux molecule(s) and thus rendering the flux immobile. The thermosetting resin may be any species that can react with and effectively immobilize the carboxylic acid functional groups.”
Therefore, though not explicitly stated, the flux of Shearer is a terpineol. Further, [0018-0020] explicitly discloses the process and materials. “The die-attach material further comprises a polymer, such as one selected from phenoxies, acrylics, rubbers, polyamides, polyacrylates, polyethers, polysulfones, polyethylenes, polypropylenes, polysiloxanes, polyvinyl acetates/polyvinyl esters, polyolefins, cyanoacrylates, and polystyrenes.” Thus, Shearer meets the amended interpretation of claim 1 including a solvent comprising a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a terpineol.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a tacking agent comprising a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a terpineol in the Paik device such as is used in the Shearer device.
As to claim 2, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination discloses a solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above, and further discloses wherein
the solder material (preform solder forms intermetallic phase(s) with the base metal (substrate or die backmetal) in semiconductor packaging. See Fig. 2 solder preform 20, [col 2 lines 25- 27],” The chip is next placed on the solder preform, and the substrate is heated so as to melt the solder preform”, Paik) is configured to form an intermetallic phase with the base..
As to claim 3, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination discloses a solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above. The Paik/Schafer/Shearer device combination, does include a solid reducing agent that is expressly described in the Shearer device; however the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device does not appear to expressly disclose that “the solid reducing agent comprises an organic peroxide and/or an inorganic peroxide”.
Nonetheless, Schafer further teaches the use of a solid reducing agent comprising organic peroxide and/or an inorganic peroxide. See [col 8, lines 27-29] “According to the present invention, the sintering aid is selected from the group consisting of (b1) organic peroxides, (b2) inorganic peroxides...”
It would have been obvious that the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device includes a solid reducing agent, such as is further described in the Schafer device, expressly comprising an organic peroxide and/or an inorganic peroxide. These materials are essential in semiconductor fabrication primarily because they are exceptionally strong oxidizing agents that decompose into environmentally benign byproducts, such as water and oxygen, leaving no harmful residues on wafers so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device/process/material.
As to claim 4, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses wherein
the solid reducing agent comprises an inorganic acid. (See [col 8, lines 27-29, Schafer]. “According to the present invention, the sintering aid is selected from the group consisting of (b1) organic peroxides, (b2) inorganic peroxides, (b3) inorganic acids,…”)
As to claim 5, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses wherein
the solid reducing agent comprises a salt of an organic acid. (See [col 8, lines 27-30, Schafer]. “According to the present invention, the sintering aid is selected from the group consisting of (b1) organic peroxides, (b2) inorganic peroxides, (b3) inorganic acids, (b4) salts of organic acids,…”)
As to claim 6, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses wherein
the solid reducing agent comprises an ester of an organic acid. (See [col 8, lines 27-31, Schafer]. “According to the present invention, the sintering aid is selected from the group consisting of (b1) organic peroxides, (b2) inorganic peroxides, (b3) inorganic acids, (b4) salts of organic acids, wherein the organic acids have 1-4 carbon atoms, (b5) esters of organic acids,…”)
As to claim 7, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses, wherein
the solid reducing agent comprises carbonyl complexes. (See [col 8, lines 27-32, Schafer]. “According to the present invention, the sintering aid is selected from the group consisting of (b1) organic peroxides, (b2) inorganic peroxides, (b3) inorganic acids, (b4) salts of organic acids, wherein the organic acids have 1-4 carbon atoms, (b5) esters of organic acids, wherein the organic acids have 1-4 carbon atoms, and (b6) carbonyl complexes.)
As to claim 8, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above:
However, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device does not expressly disclose “the first layer further comprises a plasticizing agent.”
Shafer expressly discloses the use of a coating as a plasticizing agent. (plasticizing agent-coating [col 2 lines 38-44] “This object is achieved by a method for connecting at least two components in which: (i) a sintering preform is provided comprising a carrier having a surface having at least one structuring element that contains hardened paste, the hardened paste containing (a) metal particles having a coating containing at least one organic compound.”
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a plasticizing agent in the first layer of the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device, such as is used in the Shafer device. Plasticizing agents allow solder joints and delicate components to withstand stress from thermal cycling and mechanical shock, preventing failures like cracking or delamination so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device.
As to claim 9, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 8, as discussed above and further discloses wherein
the plasticizing agent comprises one or more of a fatty acid, a fatty acid salt, a fatty acid ester, an acrylic polymer and a terpineol (plasticizing agent- coating [col 7 lines 14-19, Schafer] “This at least one coating compound preferably comprises a compound selected from the group consisting of fatty acids, fatty acid salts, and fatty acid esters. These coating compounds are intended to prevent an agglomeration of the metal particles contained in the paste, and to contribute to the stabilization of the paste.”).
As to claim 10, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses wherein
The Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device does not expressly disclose “the first layer further comprises a filler”.
However, Shafer expressly discloses the use of a filler. One type of filler used in the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device is a plasticizing agent or coating. See [col 2 lines 38-44]. “This object is achieved by a method for connecting at least two components in which: (i) a sintering preform is provided comprising a carrier having a surface having at least one structuring element that contains hardened paste, the hardened paste containing (a) metal particles having a coating containing at least one organic compound.”
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a coating/plasticizing agent as a filler in the first layer of the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device, such as is used in the Shafer device. Fillers, such as plasticizing agents allow solder joints and delicate components to withstand stress from thermal cycling and mechanical shock, preventing failures like cracking or delamination so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device.
As to claim 11, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device teaches the solderable electronic device of claim 10, as discussed above and further discloses wherein
the filler comprises one or more of a fatty acid, a fatty acid salt, a fatty acid ester, an acrylic polymer and a terpineol. (plasticizing agent- coating [col 7 lines 14-19, Schafer] (39) “This at least one coating compound preferably comprises a compound selected from the group consisting of fatty acids, fatty acid salts, and fatty acid esters. These coating compounds are intended to prevent an agglomeration of the metal particles contained in the paste, and to contribute to the stabilization of the paste.”).
As to claim 13, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination discloses the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination device does not expressly disclose “a thickness of the first layer is in a range of 0.1µm and 20µm.”
Schafer further teaches a thickness of a paste on a first layer in the µm range. Optimizing paste thickness ranges within the layer and the thickness of the layer itself, is obviously leading to the Applicants thickness range of 0.1µm and 20µm. See [col 20 lines 39-42 Schafer] “The thickness of application of the paste is not further limited. Customarily, it is in the range of 10-300 .mu.m, preferably in the range of 10-200 .mu.m, and particularly preferably in the range of 20-50 .mu.m.” Optimizing the layer range and thickness of semiconducting materials is essential to balance electrical, optical, and thermal properties, ultimately maximizing device efficiency while reducing manufacturing costs.
Furthermore, the Applicant has not shown that a thickness of the first layer in a range of 0.1µm and 20µm is novel and would not have been found through routine experimentation. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the thickness of the first layer to 0.1µm and 20µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re AIler, 105 USPQ 233. )
As to claim 14, the Paik/Schafer/Shearer combination discloses the solderable electronic device of claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses comprising:
a second layer (Fig. 2, layer 22, Paik) arranged over the solder preform (Fig. 2, solder preform 20, Paik),
the second layer (Fig. 2, layer 22, Paik) comprising the solid reducing agent (Fig. 2, solid flux layer 22, Paik).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paik et al. (US 5352629) herein referred to as Paik, in view of Shearer et al. (US 20140131898) herein referred to as Shearer.
As to claim 15, Paik discloses a method for fabricating a solderable electronic device, the method comprising:
providing a base comprising one or more of a semiconductor die (Fig. 2[col 3 line 51] chip 26, Paik) and a leadframe (implicitly taught –A leadframe is a thin metal skeleton used in semiconductor packaging to physically hold a silicon chip (die) and electrically connect it to external circuits. It serves two main purposes: mechanical support for the fragile die and electrical pathways for signals to travel between the chip and a printed circuit board (PCB). Without a leadframe, it would be impossible to reliably connect tiny silicon chips to larger electronic systems.);
arranging a first layer (Fig. 2, layer 24) over the base, the first layer comprising a solid reducing agent (Fig. 2, solid flux layer 24, Paik); and
arranging a solder preform (Fig. 2, solder preform 20, Paik) over the first layer (Fig. 2, layer 24), wherein
the solid reducing agent (Fig. 2, solid flux layer 24, Paik)
Paik also does not appear to expressly disclose “the solid reducing agent is configured to reduce a solder material of the solder preform during a soldering process”.
However, Shearer does teach in [0029] a description of the solid reducing agent flux. "Flux" as used herein, refers to a substance, often an acid or base, used to promote fusing of metals and in particular, removes and prevents the formation of metal oxides.”
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the solid reducing agent of Paik so as to reduce a solder material of the solder preform during a soldering process, as is described in the device of Shearer. The flux as described by Shearer is configured to reduce a solder material of the solder preform during a soldering process. Flux of preferred mixtures, including salts of carboxylic acids, and tertiary amines due to their synergistic flux activity, provide a synergistic effect, combining the oxide-removing capability of the acid with the high thermal stability and metal-complexing ability of the amine. This combination of salts and acids acts as an efficient, low-residue activator that improves wetting and reduces metal oxides during soldering so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device/process/material.
Paik also does not appear to expressly disclose that “the first layer over the base comprises providing a tacking agent configured to at least temporarily tack the base and the solder preform onto each other, the tacking agent comprising a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a terpineol “
However, Shearer does teach in [0092] a description of the flux. In semiconductor manufacturing, a tacking agent serves as a temporary adhesive used to securely hold components in precise alignment before and during the thermal bonding process (reflow soldering or sintering). The tacking agent is composed of both the resin and the flux. As described in [0092] “in some embodiments, the means for inerting the flux is to incorporate a thermosetting resin that is reactive with functional groups in the flux molecule(s) and thus rendering the flux immobile. The thermosetting resin may be any species that can react with and effectively immobilize the carboxylic acid functional groups.”
Therefore, though not explicitly stated, the flux of Shearer is a terpineol. Further, [0018-0020] explicitly discloses the process and materials. “The die-attach material further comprises a polymer, such as one selected from phenoxies, acrylics, rubbers, polyamides, polyacrylates, polyethers, polysulfones, polyethylenes, polypropylenes, polysiloxanes, polyvinyl acetates/polyvinyl esters, polyolefins, cyanoacrylates, and polystyrenes.” Thus, Shearer meets the amended interpretation of claim 1 including a solvent comprising a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a terpineol..
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a tacking agent comprising a mixture of an acrylic polymer and a terpineol in the Paik device such as is used in the Shearer device.
As to claim 16, the Paik/Shearer combination discloses the method of claim 15, as discussed above, and further discloses wherein
arranging the first layer (Fig. 2, layer 24, Paik) over the base comprises:
Paik does not appear to expressly disclose “spaying a solution onto the base”.
However, Shearer further teaches the use of varnish that can be cast onto the carrier substrate.
([0078] “Typically, the sintering die-attach film of the invention is manufactured by first formulating a varnish that can be cast on a carrier substrate. Casting of the varnish may be accomplished by any suitable method such as screen printing, stencil printing, doctor blading, curtain coating, spraying, extruding and the like. The varnish will typically incorporate a fugitive solvent to facilitate the casting operation.) Spaying a solution onto the base serves to create a durable, protective layer, improving solder wetting, preventing tin whiskers, and ensuring high electrical insulation.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to spay a solution onto the base of Paik by a method as described in the device of Shearer, making soldering faster and easier, eliminating cold solder joints, protecting the surface during high-temperature reflow and providing necessary dielectric properties, which prevent short circuits and protect against conductive debris.
Also, Paik does not appear to expressly disclose “the solution comprising constituents of the first layer dissolved in a solvent.” However, Shearer further teaches the solution comprising constituents of the first layer dissolved in a solvent ([0078, Shearer] The varnish will typically incorporate a fugitive solvent to facilitate the casting operation.); The solution or varnish used in the Shearer device includes the use of a solvent so as to remove surface oxidation, reduce surface tension for better wetting, and protect components from environmental contaminants.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the solution comprising constituents of the first layer dissolved in a solvent in the Paik device as in the Shearer device because solutions dissolved in solvents provide for better wetting, and protect components from environmental contaminants. Dissolution in the solvent lowers viscosity for easy application and evaporates during heating, leaving a protective, reliable connection.
Also, Paik does not appear to expressly disclose “evaporating the solvent.” However, Shearer further teaches evaporating the solvent ([0075, Shearer] “Alternative b-staging strategies including evaporation of a fugitive solvent, or other traditional b-staging strategies, are known in the art.) Evaporating the solvent during semiconductor soldering (reflow) is a critical step, primarily designed to remove the liquid carrier from the solder paste, leaving behind only the active flux and metal alloy to ensure strong, clean bonds.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to evaporate the solvent as is performed in the Shearer device so as not to leave behind ionic residues that cause corrosion, current leakage, and premature circuit failure.
As to claim 17, the Paik/Shearer combination discloses the method of claim 15, as discussed above, and further discloses wherein
arranging the first layer (Fig. 2, layer 24, Paik) over the base comprises:
providing the first layer (Fig. 2, solid flux layer 24, Paik) in solid form; and
applying the first layer to the base and/or to the solder preform (Fig. 2, solder preform 20, Paik) under mechanical pressure ([col 4 lines 57-68 and col 5 lines 1-6, Paik).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/SHAWN SHAW MUSLIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2897