DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first cover plate and the second cover plate" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 203707391 U.
In regard to claim 1, CN 203707391 U discloses an electrical connector 38, comprising:
an insulating body 40 defining a first receiving space (see annotated drawing below), a first mating port 401 and a second mating port 403; both the first mating port 401 and the second mating port 403 communicating with the first receiving space; the first mating port 401 being configured to receive a first mating module; the second mating port 403 being configured to receive a second mating module; the insulating body 40 comprising a top wall portion (see figures 3 and 4) defining a first opening 409 which communicates with the first receiving space; and
a first terminal module 42 installed into the first receiving space through the first opening 409; an opening direction of the first opening 409 being different from opening directions the first mating port 401 and the second mating port 403.
In regard to claim 2, CN 203707391 U discloses the opening direction of the first mating port 401 extends along a first direction (see annotated drawing below); the opening direction of the second mating port 403 extends along a direction opposite to the first direction; the opening direction of the first opening 409 extends along a second direction (see annotated drawing below) which is parallel to a thickness direction (see annotated drawing below) of the insulating body 40; and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
In regard to claim 3, CN 203707391 U discloses a projection 44 of the first terminal module 42 along the thickness direction of the insulating body 40 completely falls into the first opening 409.
In regard to claim 10, CN 203707391 U discloses the insulating body 40 defines a second receiving space (see annotated drawing below); both the first mating port 401 and the second mating port 403 communicate with the second receiving space; the insulating body 40 comprises a bottom wall portion (opposite the top wall, see fig. 6); the bottom wall portion defines a second opening 417 communicating with the second receiving space; the bottom wall portion is arranged opposite to the top wall portion; and the electrical connector 38 comprises a second terminal module 46 which is installed into the second receiving space through the second opening 417.
In regard to claim 11, CN 203707391 U discloses an electrical connector 38, comprising: an insulating body 40 defining a first receiving space (see annotated drawing below), a second receiving space (see annotated drawing below), a first mating port 401 extending through the insulating body 40 along a first direction (see annotated drawing below), and a second mating port 403 extending through the insulating body 40 along a direction opposite to the first direction; the first mating port 401 and the second mating port 403 being configured to receive a first mating module 42 and a second mating module 46, respectively, along opposite directions; the insulating body 40 comprising a top wall portion (see figures 3 and 4) defining a first opening 409 which communicates with the first receiving space and a bottom wall portion (opposite the top wall) defining a second opening 417 which communicates with the second receiving space; a first terminal module 42 installed into the first receiving space through the first opening 409 along a second direction (see annotated drawing below); and a second terminal module 46 installed into the second receiving space through the second opening 417 along a direction opposite to the second direction.
In regard to claim 12, CN 203707391 U discloses a projection 44 of the first terminal module 42 along the second direction completely falls into the first opening 409; and wherein a projection 48 of the second terminal module 46 along the second direction completely falls into the second opening 417.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd direction)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (thickness direction)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2nd receiving space)][AltContent: textbox (first receiving space)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (1st direction)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 203707391 U in view of Robbins (US 3086189 A)
CN 203707391 U does not disclose the first cover plate and the second cover plate are fixed to the insulating body 40.
Robbins teaches the cover plate 12 is fixed to the insulating body 11.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of CN 203707391 U by constructing the cover as taught by Robbins in order to protect the terminals from outside environment.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing a fastening mechanism for holding two members together which include hot melting are well known and expected in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
2/12/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834