Detailed Action
Specification Objection Withdrawal
Applicant’s amendment of the title of the invention is acknowledged. Thus, the objection to specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0126337) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Kim discloses a power semiconductor device, comprising: a high voltage circuit (30) configured to output high voltage; a low voltage circuit (35) configured to output low voltage; a capacitor (20) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit, the capacitor being configured to provide power to the high voltage circuit while the high voltage is output; a switching circuit (10) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit and the capacitor, the switching circuit being configured to connect the capacitor to a driving power supply (VCC) to charge the capacitor while the low voltage is output, the switching circuit being configured to prevent the high voltage circuit and the driving power supply from being electrically connected to each other while the high voltage is output; and a resistor (15) configured to be electrically connected between the switching circuit and the high voltage circuit to allow a current (50) to flow from a high voltage circuit side to a switching circuit side and from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side, the resistor being configured to drop the high voltage to a voltage lower than a breakdown voltage of the switching circuit while the high voltage is output, wherein the resistor (FIG. 3) comprises: a deep well region (112) of a second conductivity type (n) [0044] disposed within a substrate (101); a field oxide film (150) disposed on a surface of the substrate [0050]; and a P-TOP region (180) spaced apart from the field oxide film and disposed within the deep well region [0049], wherein the P-TOP region is disposed below the field oxide film and spaced apart from a bottom of the field oxide film.
The recitation “a current path is defined between the P-TOP region and the field oxide film, the P-TOP region being configured to prevent the current flowing from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side from bypassing the current path” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the device. The Kim structure is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses the P-TOP region (180) is disposed within the deep well region (112) and spaced apart from a bottom surface of the deep well region.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses the switching circuit a bipolar junction transistor [0048].
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 7 of Kim discloses the resistor further comprises: a first electrode layer (181) configured to be electrically connected to a ground terminal (185) on the field oxide film on an area adjacent to the switching circuit; and a second electrode layer (280) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit on the field oxide film on an area adjacent to the high voltage circuit.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 7 of Kim discloses the resistor further comprises: a first contact region (120) disposed in the deep well region (112), the first contact region being configured to be electrically connected to the switching circuit [0049]; and a second contact region (140) spaced apart from the first contact region within the deep well region, the second contact region being configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit [0051].
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses the resistor further comprises: a buried layer (105) of a second conductivity type disposed below the second contact region [0043].
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses the resistor further comprises: a single electrode layer (250) disposed on the field oxide film (150).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses the switching circuit comprises: a diode (D3) disposed on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 1 of Kim discloses a power semiconductor device, comprising: a high voltage circuit (30) configured to output high voltage; a low voltage circuit (35) configured to output low voltage; a capacitor (20) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit, the capacitor being configured to provide power to the high voltage circuit while the high voltage is output; a switching circuit (10) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit and the capacitor, the switching circuit being configured to connect the capacitor to a driving power supply (VCC) to charge the capacitor while the low voltage is output, the switching circuit being configured to prevent the high voltage circuit and the driving power supply from being electrically connected to each other while the high voltage is output; and a resistor (15) configured to be electrically connected between the switching circuit and the high voltage circuit to allow a current (50) to flow from a high voltage circuit side to a switching circuit side and from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side, the resistor being configured to drop the high voltage to a voltage lower than a breakdown voltage of the switching circuit while the high voltage is output, wherein the resistor (FIG. 3) comprises: a deep well region (112) of a second conductivity type (n) [0044] disposed within a substrate (101); a field oxide film (150) disposed on a surface of the substrate [0050]; and a P-TOP region (180) spaced apart from the field oxide film and disposed within the deep well region [0049], wherein the P-TOP region is disposed below the field oxide film and spaced apart from a bottom of the field oxide film.
The recitation “a current path is defined between the P-TOP region and the field oxide film, the P-TOP region being configured to prevent the current flowing from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side from bypassing the current path” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the device. The Kim structure is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 11 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hano (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0218186) of record, in view of Chan (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0191792) of record
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Hano discloses a power semiconductor device, comprising: a high voltage circuit (111) configured to output high voltage; a low voltage circuit (112) configured to output low voltage; a capacitor (C1) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit, the capacitor being configured to provide power to the high voltage circuit while the high voltage is output; a switching circuit (D3) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit and the capacitor, the switching circuit being configured to connect the capacitor to a driving power supply (VCC) to charge the capacitor while the low voltage is output, the switching circuit being configured to prevent the high voltage circuit and the driving power supply from being electrically connected to each other while the high voltage is output; and a resistor (Rn) configured to be electrically connected between the switching circuit and the high voltage circuit [0057] to allow a current to flow from a high voltage circuit side to a switching circuit side and from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side, the resistor being configured to drop the high voltage to a voltage lower than a breakdown voltage of the switching circuit while the high voltage is output, wherein the resistor (FIG. 2) comprises: a deep well region (106) of a second conductivity type (n) disposed within a substrate (105); and a P-TOP region (19, FIG. 7) disposed within the deep well region.
Hano is silent with respect to “a field oxide film disposed on a surface of the substrate; and a P-TOP region spaced apart from the field oxide film and disposed within the deep well region, wherein the P-TOP region is disposed below the field oxide film and spaced apart from a bottom of the field oxide film”.
FIG. 2 of Chan discloses a similar power semiconductor device, comprising a field oxide film (18) disposed on a surface of the substrate; and a P-TOP region (19) [0024] spaced apart from the field oxide film and disposed within the deep well region (12), wherein the P-TOP region is disposed below the field oxide film and spaced apart from a bottom of the field oxide film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hano, as taught by Chan. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hano in the above manner for purpose of scaling the output current based on demand ([0005] of Chan).
The recitation “a current path is defined between the P-TOP region and the field oxide film, the P-TOP region being configured to prevent the current flowing from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side from bypassing the current path” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the device. The Hano structure is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 2 of Chan discloses the P-TOP region (19) is disposed within the deep well region (12) and spaced apart from a bottom surface of the deep well region.
the resistor further comprises: a first contact region disposed in the deep well region, the first contact region being configured to be electrically connected to the switching circuit; and a second contact region spaced apart from the first contact region within the deep well region, the second contact region being configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 27 of Hano discloses the switching circuit (101) comprises a bipolar junction transistor (109).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 2 of Hano discloses the resistor further comprises: a first electrode layer configured to be electrically connected to a ground terminal on the field oxide film on an area adjacent to the switching circuit; and a second electrode layer configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit on the field oxide film on an area adjacent to the high voltage circuit.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 2 of Hano discloses the resistor further comprises: a first contact region (12) disposed in the deep well region (106), the first contact region being configured to be electrically connected to the switching circuit (6); and a second contact region (11) spaced apart from the first contact region within the deep well region, the second contact region being configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 2 of Hano discloses the resistor further comprises: a buried layer (n+) of a second conductivity type disposed below the second contact region.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 2 of Hano discloses the resistor further comprises: a single electrode layer disposed on the field oxide film.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of Hano discloses the switching circuit comprises: a diode (D3) disposed on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 2 of Hano discloses the switching circuit comprises: a field oxide film disposed on the surface of the substrate; and a positive electrode layer (connected to 14) and a negative electrode layer (connected to 11) disposed on the field oxide film on the surface of the substrate
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 1 of Hano discloses a power semiconductor device, comprising: a high voltage circuit (111) configured to output high voltage; a low voltage circuit (112) configured to output low voltage; a capacitor (C1) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit, the capacitor being configured to provide power to the high voltage circuit while the high voltage is output; a switching circuit (D3) configured to be electrically connected to the high voltage circuit and the capacitor, the switching circuit being configured to connect the capacitor to a driving power supply (VCC) to charge the capacitor while the low voltage is output, the switching circuit being configured to prevent the high voltage circuit and the driving power supply from being electrically connected to each other while the high voltage is output; and a resistor (Rn) configured to be electrically connected between the switching circuit and the high voltage circuit to allow a current to flow from a high voltage circuit side to a switching circuit side and from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side, the resistor being configured to drop the high voltage to a voltage lower than a breakdown voltage of the switching circuit while the high voltage is output, wherein the resistor (FIG. 2) comprises: a deep well region (106) of a second conductivity type (n) disposed within a substrate (105); and a P-TOP region (19, FIG. 7) disposed within the deep well region.
Hano is silent with respect to “a field oxide film disposed on a surface of the substrate; and a P-TOP region spaced apart from the field oxide film and disposed within the deep well region, wherein the P-TOP region is disposed below the field oxide film and spaced apart from a bottom of the field oxide film”.
FIG. 2 of Chan discloses a similar power semiconductor device, comprising a field oxide film (18) disposed on a surface of the substrate; and a P-TOP region (19) [0024] spaced apart from the field oxide film and disposed within the deep well region (12), wherein the P-TOP region is disposed below the field oxide film and spaced apart from a bottom of the field oxide film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hano, as taught by Chan. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hano in the above manner for purpose of scaling the output current based on demand ([0005] of Chan).
The recitation “a current path is defined between the P-TOP region and the field oxide film, the P-TOP region being configured to prevent the current flowing from the switching circuit side to the high voltage circuit side from bypassing the current path” is only a statement of the inherent properties of the device. The Hano structure is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Or where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01-02.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Choi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0271079) of record.
Regarding Claim 9
Kim discloses Claim 8, wherein the single electrode layer (250) includes a polysilicon film.
Kim is silent with respect to “doped with impurities of a second conductivity type”.
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses a similar power semiconductor device, comprising single electrode layer (165) disposed on the field oxide film, wherein the single electrode layer includes a polysilicon film [0012] doped with impurities of a second conductivity type (n) [0101].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Choi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of improving conductivity.
Claims 9, 11 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hano and Chan, in view of Choi.
Regarding Claim 9
Hano as modified by Chan discloses Claim 8, wherein the single electrode layer is doped with impurities of a second conductivity type.
Hano as modified by Chan is silent with respect to “the single electrode layer includes a polysilicon film doped with impurities of a second conductivity type”.
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses a similar power semiconductor device, comprising single electrode layer (165) disposed on the field oxide film, wherein the single electrode layer includes a polysilicon film [0012] doped with impurities of a second conductivity type (n) [0101].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Choi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of improving conductivity.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses the switching circuit comprises: a field oxide film (140) disposed on the surface of the substrate; and a positive electrode layer (150) and a negative electrode layer (151) disposed on the field oxide film on the surface of the substrate
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 9 of Choi discloses the positive electrode layer (150) includes a polysilicon film doped with impurities of a first conductivity type [0094].
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hano and Chan, in view of Renaud (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0127305) of record.
Regarding Claim 13
Hano as modified by Chan discloses Claim 4.
Hano as modified by Chan is silent with respect to “the bipolar junction transistor comprises: an emitter region of a second conductivity type disposed on the surface of the substrate; a base region of a first conductivity type spaced apart from the emitter region, the base region being disposed on the surface of the substrate; and a collector region spaced apart from the emitter region and the base region, the collector region being disposed on the surface of the substrate”.
FIG. 3 of Renaud discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the bipolar junction transistor comprises: an emitter region (24) of a second conductivity type (n) disposed on the surface of the substrate (14); a base region (22) of a first conductivity type (p) spaced apart from the emitter region, the base region being disposed on the surface of the substrate; and a collector region (20) spaced apart from the emitter region and the base region, the collector region being disposed on the surface of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Renaud. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of providing ESD protection ([0012] of Renaud).
Claims 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hano, Renaud, in view of Liaw (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0181948) of record.
Regarding Claim 14
Hano as modified by Chan and Renaud discloses Claim 13.
Hano as modified by Renaud is silent with respect to “the base region and the collector region are configured to be electrically connected to the driving power supply”.
FIG. 13 of Liaw discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the base region and the collector region are configured to be electrically connected to the driving power supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Liaw. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of providing ESD protection ([0012] of Liaw).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 13 of Liaw discloses the emitter region is configured to be electrically connected to the resistor.
Pertinent Art
Pertinent art includes Uno (JP 2006005182), CN 113764281, CN 105321988, TW 201409691, KR 20230057074, KR 20190118225, US 20080087912, 20170148873, 20220037525, 20190013403, 20160071837 and 20180197991.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Kim have been considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that FIG. 3 of Kim does not disclose a resistor structure. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. A resistor is a passive circuit element that can provide electrical friction in the flow of electric current, and can dissipate some part of the total electrical energy in the form of heat, hence, reduces reduce the total amount of electric current in the circuit. The Kim structure is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions (resistance) are presumed to be inherent. Moreover, [0044] of Kim explicitly states the structure of FIG. 3 has resistance. Applicant's arguments with respect to Hano have been considered but they are not persuasive. Hano does not preclude that the buried p+ layer 19 can be extended below a field oxide film. [0079] of Hano merely states the buried p+ layer 19 is formed in the n- semiconductor layer 106 of the high-tension island. Thus, the effective depletion layer just under the n+ layer 12 can be reduced and it becomes possible to prevent the potential of the n+ region 12 from increasing high. Nowhere in Hano states the buried p+ layer 19 cannot be extended below a field oxide film. Furthermore, FIG. 4 of Han (CN 111696984) discloses a similar power semiconductor device, comprising a field oxide film (382) disposed on a surface of the substrate (310); and a P-TOP region (330) spaced apart from the field oxide film and disposed within the deep well region (320), wherein the P-TOP region is disposed below both the field oxide film and region 341, and spaced apart from a bottom of the field oxide film.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897