DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luan et al. US 2024/0420000 A1 (“Luan”).
As to claim 1, Luan discloses a quantum circuit designing apparatus comprising:
a processor (Figure 17 or Paragraphs 139-142); and
a memory configured to store at least one command to be executed by the processor (Figure 17 or Paragraphs 139-142),
wherein the processor removes devices according to importance of each of the devices in a programmable quantum circuit (Figures 1 or 11 or Paragraphs 16, 75 or 91 – e.g., prioritization according to possible gate elimination, see below).
Luan discloses many of the elements of claim 1, including the optimization of a quantum circuit by removing elements. Luan teaches prioritizing possible designs/configurations with removable elements, rather than prioritizing specific circuit elements. The examiner notes that this is equivalent to determining that removable elements are less important and nonremovable elements are more important. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to remove devices according to importance because doing so would allow circuit area and/or cost to be optimized while still maintaining functionality.
Claim 7 recites elements similar to claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luan as applied to claims 1 or 7 above, and further in view of Lahnteenmaki US 2024/0289672 A1 (“Lahnteenmaki”).
As to claim 2, Luan discloses the quantum circuit design apparatus of claim 1, including the use of quantum circuit elements. Luan does not explicitly disclose the additional elements of claim 2. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while disclosing quantum computing hardware. Lahnteenmaki teaches that a conventional way of resding qubit states involves the use of a phase and amplituede shifter which is then detected in order to determine state (Lahnteenmake Paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the device to include a phase shifter because they were commonly used in quantum circuits at the time.
Claim 8 recites elements similar to claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 9-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest an apparatus or method for quantum circuit design having the combination of steps/elements in the claims including, among other elements, the calculation and removal details of the claims, in combination with the analysis and manipulation elements of the claims.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851