Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Numerous instances throughout the specification of what appears to be a typographical error, “tape-adjustable roller” should be replaced with -- taper-adjustable roller -- throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informality on Page 1, line 15: it appears there is a typographical error and “ varying” should read – vary--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kedl et al., US5522785.
Regarding independent claim 1, Kedl et al. discloses a taper-adjustable roller (10, Fig. 1), comprising: a support shaft (18, Fig. 1); a plurality of support sheets arranged circumferentially around the support shaft (14, Fig. 1), circumferential surfaces of the plurality of support sheets at sides of the plurality of support sheets facing away from the support shaft being assembled to form a roll surface (12, Fig. 1), each of the plurality of support sheets having a first end and a second end in an axial direction of the support shaft (end of sheets 14 at 34, Fig. 1), and each of the plurality of support sheets being swingable relative to the support shaft (Column 4, lines 19-23); and a first push member (34, Fig. 1) provided on the support shaft (18, Fig. 1), the first push member being configured to push the first ends of the plurality of support sheets in a substantially radial direction (Column 4, lines 19-23), to move the first ends towards the support shaft and move the second ends away from the support shaft (Column 5, lines 18-21), or to move the first ends away from the support shaft and move the second ends towards the support shaft (Column 5, lines 18-21), enabling a diameter of the roll surface to gradually vary from the first ends to the second ends (Column 5, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 2, Kedl et al. further discloses, a converging member (42, Fig. 2) configured to press and/or tension the plurality of support sheets (14, Fig. 1) towards the support shaft (18, Fig. 1), enabling the plurality of support sheets to tend to converge towards the support shaft (Column 3, lines 53-58).
Regarding claim 3, Kedl et al. further discloses, a second push member (34, Fig. 1) configured to support the second ends of the plurality of support sheets in the substantially radial direction (34, Fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kedl et al. further discloses, the second push member (34, Fig. 2) has a second push conical surface (Column 4, lines 18-19), the second push conical surface having an axis direction parallel to the axial direction of the support shaft (Column 4, lines 19-23); and the second push member is movable in the axial direction of the support shaft, to bring the second ends of the plurality of support sheets to be into sliding contact with the second push conical surface (Column 4, lines 18-27).
Regarding claim 5, Kedl et al. further discloses, wherein each of the plurality of support sheets is provided with a second adjustment portion protruding towards the second push member ("free ends of the axial strips 14 rest against the tapered end rings 34" Column 4, lines 18-19), the second adjustment portion having a second contact surface in sliding contact with the second push conical surface (Column 4, lines 18-19).
Regarding claim 6, Kedl et al. further discloses, wherein each of the plurality of support sheets is provided with a swing support portion (20, 22, Fig. 2), the swing support portion being engaged with the support shaft to support the support sheet to swing on the support shaft about the swing support portion (20, 22, is engaged with support shaft 18, allowing sheets 14 to swing on support shaft 18 about swing support portion 20, 22).
Regarding claim 7, Kedl et al. further discloses, a limit portion (22, Fig. 2) provided at the support shaft (22 is on 18, Fig. 2) and configured to limit the swing support portion to swing within a range limited by the limit portion (22 limits movement of 14, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Kedl et al. further discloses the first push member (34, Fig. 1, 2) has a first push conical surface (Column 4, lines 18-19), the first push conical surface having an axis direction parallel to the axial direction of the support shaft (Column 4, lines 19-23); and the first push member is movable in the axial direction of the support shaft, to bring the first ends of the plurality of support sheets to be into sliding contact with the first push conical surface, and to push the first ends of the plurality of support sheets by the first push conical surface to move close to or away from the support shaft (Column 4, lines 18-27).
Regarding claim 11, Kedl et al. further discloses wherein each of the plurality of support sheets (14, Fig. 1) is provided with a first adjustment portion protruding towards the first push member (Column 4, lines 18-19), the first adjustment portion having a first contact surface in sliding contact with the first push conical surface (Column 4, lines 18-19).
Regarding claim 12, Kedl et al. further discloses wherein the first push member (34, Fig. 2) is threadedly connected (40, Fig. 2) to the support shaft in the axial direction of the support shaft (18, Fig. 2 via 30, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kedl et al. further discloses wherein: each of the plurality of support sheets comprises: a roll surface forming portion (portion of 14 near 12, Fig. 2), a surface of the roll surface forming portion at least partially forming the roll surface (Column 3, lines 30-45); and a positioning portion located at a radially inner side of the roll surface forming portion (22, Fig. 2); and the support shaft is provided with stop portions (26, Fig. 2), the stop portions being respectively disposed at two ends of the support shaft, the stop portions being engaged with the positioning portion to limit an axial movement of the support sheet (26 limits axial movement of support sheet attached to 22, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Kedl et al. further discloses wherein the support shaft comprises: an inner shaft (18, Fig. 1, 2); and an outer shaft (12, Fig. 1, 2) having a through hole in an axial direction of the outer shaft (12 has through hole in axial direction, Fig. 2), the inner shaft being disposed in the through hole and configured to rotatably support the outer shaft (18 disposed inside 12, and rotatably supports via 22 and 34, Fig. 2), and the plurality of support sheets being connected to the outer shaft (14, connected to 12, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Kedl et al. further discloses wherein the first push member (34, Fig. 2) is disposed between the outer shaft and the inner shaft (34 between 12 and 18, Fig. 2); and the plurality of support sheets (14, Fig. 1, 2) at least partially penetrates a sidewall of the outer shaft to be in sliding contact with the first push member (support sheets 14 partially penetrate sidewall of 12 and are in sliding contact with push member 34, Fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kedl et al. further discloses a strip conveying device (Fig. 4), comprising the taper-adjustable roller (10, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kedl et al., US5522785 in view Yang, Foreign Patent Document, CN110271896.
Regarding claim 8, Kedl et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above and the limit portion (22, Fig. 2).
Kedl et al. does not disclose the limit portion has a recess formed at the support shaft the swing support portion partially swinging in the recess.
Yang teaches a taper-adjustable roller wherein the limit portion (11, Fig. 5) has a recess (recess between prongs of 11, Fig. 5) formed at the support shaft (10, Fig. 5) the swing support portion partially swinging in the recess (13, Fig. 7 is swinging in 11, Fig. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the taper adjustable roller of Kedl et al. to add the recess and swing support portion partially swinging in the recess to allow the roller to adjust to different diameters smoothly without bending the support sheets.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kedl et al. teaches a taper adjustable roller. However modified Kedl et al. does not disclose wherein a contact portion between the swing support portion and the recess has an arc shape.
Yang teaches a taper-adjustable roller wherein a contact portion between the swing support portion (13, Fig. 7) and the recess (11, Fig. 5) has an arc shape (arc shape of 13 and 11, Fig. 5, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the contact portion to have an arc shape as taught by Yang to ensure smooth movement of the connection and limit interference with surrounding components during operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654