DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
For Examiner’s Interview fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html).
Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
Independent: 1 and 11.
Pending: 1-20.
Amended: 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 16-18
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to claim 1-10 filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue reference Cho et al., 20210036060 fail to teach the first organic structure has a column shape Applicant argue that 5313 and 5315 is a scattering particle so it does not have a column shape, however Examiner disagrees, as shown in figure 30 of Cho et al., structure 513 (first organic structure) has a column shape extending along a direction perpendicular to the substrate, therefore, Cho et al., does teach this limitation.
With respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-20 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been considered and are deemed persuasive. Therefore, this rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn. In light of Applicant's amendment, the rejection of claim 2-4 and 12-15 under 35 USC 112, second paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho et al., US PG pub. 20210036060 A1.
Re: Independent Claim 1, Cho discloses a substrate (10e, fig. 30) including a first transparent area (area LA11, fig. 30) and a second transparent area (area LA12, fig. 30); a color filter layer (540, fig. 30) disposed on the substrate (10e, fig. 30); a light-blocking layer (513 and 521, fig. 30) disposed on the color filter layer (540, fig. 30) and defining the first transparent area (area LA11, fig. 30) and the second transparent area (area LA12, fig. 30); a first organic structure (531, fig. 30) in the first transparent area (area LA11, fig. 30) and including a scattering particle (5315/5325, fig. 30); a first color conversion (5313, fig. 30) part in the first transparent area (area LA11, fig. 30) covering the first organic structure (531, fig. 30), the first color conversion (5313, fig. 30) part including a first color conversion (5313, fig. 30) particle; and a transparent part (5321, fig. 30) in the second transparent area (area LA12, fig. 30) and including the scattering particle (5315/5325, fig. 30), wherein the first organic structure (531, fig. 30) has a column shape extending along a direction perpendicular to the substrate (10, fig. 30).
Re: Claim 2, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the scattering particle (5315/5325, fig. 30) is absent in the first color conversion part (5311 and 541, fig. 30).
Re: Claim 3, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein, the first color conversion part (5311 and 541, fig. 30) has a first height (height from top surface of 5311 to bottom surface of 541), and the first organic structure (531, fig. 30) has a second height (height from top surface of 5311 to bottom surface of 5311) that is different from the first height (height from top surface of 5311 to bottom surface of 541).
Re: Claim 4, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 3 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the first height (height from top surface of 5311 to bottom surface of 541) is greater than the second height (height from top surface of 5311 to bottom surface of 5311).
Re: Claim 5, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the height of the transparent part (5321, fig. 30) is equal to the height of the first organic structure (531, fig. 30).
Re: Claim 6, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the first organic structure (531, fig. 30) is one of a plurality of first organic structure (531, fig. 30)s in the first transparent area (area LA11, fig. 30), the plurality of first organic structure (531, fig. 30)s have a same height.
Re: Claim 7, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the first organic structure (531, fig. 30) is one of a plurality of first organic structure (531, fig. 30)s in the first transparent area (area LA11, fig. 30), the first organic structure (531, fig. 30)s has different heights.
Re: Claim 8, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the transparent part (5321, fig. 30) is one of a plurality of transparent part (5321, fig. 30)s in the second transparent area (area LA12, fig. 30), the transparent part (5321, fig. 30)s has a height smaller than a height of the light-blocking layer (513 and 521, fig. 30).
Re: Claim 9, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the transparent part (5321, fig. 30) includes a same material as the first organic structure (531, fig. 30).
Re: Claim 10, Cho disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 9 on which this claim depends. Cho further discloses: wherein the transparent part (5321, fig. 30) and the first organic structure (531, fig. 30) includes a light-transmitting organic material (310, fig. 30).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to current application disclosure.
* (“Amemiya et al., US PG pub. 20060104084 A1”) Discloses a view angle controlling sheet to be disposed between the light source and the liquid crystal panel of a liquid crystal display apparatus, wherein the view angle controlling sheet has lens parts having a trapezoidal cross sectional shape arranged by a predetermined interval and the wedge parts between the adjacent lens parts is filled with a light absorbing material such that the wedge part has the top end disposed to the observer side and the bottom surface to the light source side and a light reflection layer provided to at least the bottom surface part on the light source side of the wedge part and with the premise that the angle formed by the slant face portion of the wedge part and the normal of the light output plane is .theta., .theta. is in a range of 3.degree..ltoreq..theta..ltoreq.15.degree..
* (“Chang US PG pub. 20080043455 A1”) discloses an optical plate (20) includes a transparent plate (21) and a light diffusion layer (22). The transparent plate includes a light output surface (212), a light input surface (211) opposite to the light output surface, and a plurality of spot-shaped recessed portions (213) formed on the light input surface. The light diffusion layer is coated on the spot-shaped recessed portions. A backlight module using the optical plate is also provided, a plurality of point light sources of which being positioned in one-to-one correspondence with the spot-shaped recessed portions. The backlight module using the optical plate can have a thin body with a good optical performance.
*(“ Lim et al., US PG pub. 20150102325 A1”) discloses an optical sheet includes a transparent substrate. The optical sheet further includes light-scattering elements randomly and nonperiodically distributed in the transparent substrate. Each light-scattering element of the light scattering elements includes a binding-material member and light-scattering particles dispersed in the binding-material member. A weight percent calculated from dividing a total weight of light-scattering particles of the light-scattering elements by a total weight of the light-scattering elements is in a range of 5 wt % to 40 wt %.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Re: Independent Claim 11 (and its dependent claim(s) 12-20), the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: a light-blocking layer disposed on the color filter layer and defining the first transparent area and the second transparent area; a first organic structure in the first transparent area, and including a scattering particle and an organic dispersion part in which the scattering particle is dispersed; a first color conversion part in the first transparent area and covering the first organic structure, the first color conversion part including a first color conversion particle dispersed in a first dispersion part that is separate from the organic dispersion part of the first organic structure; a transparent part in the second transparent area and including the scattering particle; a second base substrate coupled to the first base substrate; a display device layer disposed on the second base substrate; and a filling layer disposed between the display device layer and the light-blocking layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSZ K CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Tsz.Chiu@uspto.gov
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898