Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomar et al. (US-20200280108-A1), hereinafter Tomar.
Regarding claim 1, Tomar teaches a battery pack comprising: a cell module including at least one cell ([0007] cell in a battery system); a first collecting module including at least one first collecting unit, the first collecting unit being arranged in the cell and being configured to collect first operation data of the cell ([0007] identifying sensor data; temperature sensor; [0035] sensors can be located within the cell); and a data processing module connected with the first collecting unit ([0042] management system 114 analyzes the measured metrics from the sensor data to detect failure event) and configured to perform a thermal runaway detection on the cell based on the first operation data to obtain a first detection result ([0007]; [0042] determine failure event from sensor data, failure event can be thermal runaway).
Regarding claim 3, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Tomar also teaches wherein: the first collecting unit comprises a temperature collecting unit configured to collect first temperature data of the cell ([0035]-[0036]; [0084] at least one temperature sensor to measure temperature of at least one cell), the first operation data comprising the first temperature data ([0035] measures temperature); and the data processing module is configured to perform the thermal runaway detection on the cell through the first temperature data, and under a condition that the first temperature data meets a temperature runaway condition, indicate the first detection result as the cell being at risk of the thermal runaway ([0085]; [0042]; [0035]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Tomar also teaches wherein: the first collecting unit further comprises a level-one collecting unit; the level-one collecting unit is configured to collecting second operation data other than the first temperature data of the cell, and the first operation data comprises the second operation data; and the data processing module is configured to perform the thermal runaway detection on the cell through the first temperature data under a condition that the second operation data meets a corresponding type of data detection condition ([0035]-[0036] can have multiple sensors for example pressure in addition to a temperature sensor).
Regarding claim 9, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Tomar also teaches further comprising: a second collecting module configured to collect electrical data of the cell ([0037]-[0038]; [0063]; [0090]), the electrical data comprising at least one of a voltage value and a current value of a loop where the cell is located and an insulation resistance value of the cell ([0037]-[0038]; [0063]; [0090]); wherein under a condition that the insulation resistance value is less than a resistance threshold, the current value is greater than a current threshold, or a dropping rate of the voltage value is greater than a rate threshold, the second operation data meets the corresponding type of data detection condition ([0037]-[0038]; [0063]; [0090]).
Regarding claim 10, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Tomar also teaches further comprising: a second collecting module configured to collect electrical data of the cell, the electrical data comprising at least one of a voltage value and a current value of a loop where the cell is located and an insulation resistance value of the cell;
wherein under a condition that the insulation resistance value is less than a resistance threshold, the current value is greater than a current threshold, or a dropping rate of the voltage value is greater than a rate threshold, the second operation data meets the corresponding type of data detection condition ([0037] voltage sensors; [0038]; [0048];[0063]; [0069]; [0090]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 11, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Tomar also teaches An electric apparatus comprising the battery pack according to claim 1 ([0059] electric vehicle).
Regrading claim 12, Tomar teaches a method for detecting a battery pack, the method being applied to a data processing module, the battery pack comprising a cell module ([0007] cell in a battery system) and a first collecting module ([0007] identifying sensor data; temperature sensor; [0035] sensors can be located within the cell), the cell module comprising at least one cell ([0007] cell in a battery system), the first collecting module comprising at least one first collecting unit, the first collecting unit being arranged in the cell ([0007] identifying sensor data; temperature sensor; [0035] sensors can be located within the cell), and the method comprising: acquiring first operation data of the cell collected by the first collecting unit ([0007] identifying sensor data); and performing a thermal runaway detection on the cell based on the first operation data to obtain a first detection result ([0007]; [0042] determine failure event from sensor data, failure event can be thermal runaway).
Regarding claim 13, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Tomar also teaches further comprising, after obtaining the first detection result: controlling a thermal management module to, under a condition that the first detection result indicates that any of the at least one cell is at risk of a thermal runaway, balance a temperature of the cell.
Regarding claim 14, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Tomar also teaches wherein: the first collecting unit comprises a temperature collecting unit ([0035]-[0036]; [0084] at least one temperature sensor to measure temperature of at least one cell) and a level-one collecting unit ([0035]-[0036] can have multiple sensors for example pressure in addition to a temperature sensor; pressure sensors); performing the thermal runaway detection on the cell based on the first operation data to obtain the first detection result comprises ([0035] measures temperature): acquiring second operation data collected by the level-one collecting unit and first temperature data collected by the temperature collecting unit ([0035] measures temperature; [0036] collects pressure data), the first operation data comprising the second operation data and the first temperature data ([0035]-[0036] temperature and pressure sensors collect temperature and pressure data); and performing the thermal runaway detection on the cell through the first temperature data under a condition that the second operation data meets a corresponding type of data detection condition ([0085]; [0042]; [0035]-[0036]; [0036] thermal and pressure signatures from the cells can be used to predict failure events).).
Regarding claim 15, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Tomar also teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to implement the method according to claim 12 ([0126]-[0128] computer readable program code stored on a computer readable medium such as a tangible non-transitory computer storage medium).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gulliksson (WO-2021071406-A1), as cited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 2, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Tomar fails to teach a thermal management module connected with the data processing module and configured to, under a condition that the first detection result indicates that any of the at least one cell is at risk of a thermal runaway, balance a temperature of the cell.
Gulliksson is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thermal management systems for batteries (pg. 2, lines 1-6). Gulliksson teaches a thermal management module (pg. 21, line 11 – pg. 22, line 22; fire suppression system including three temperature detectors coupled to a control unit that compares the detected temperature with a pre-set temperature, signaling to adjust the temperature) connected with the data processing module and configured to, under a condition that the first detection result indicates that any of the at least one cell is at risk of a thermal runaway, balance a temperature of the cell (pg. 21, line 11 – pg. 22, line 22; fire suppression system including three temperature detectors coupled to a control unit that compares the detected temperature with a pre-set temperature, signaling to adjust the temperature).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomar such as to provide a thermal management module in addition to the data processing module such as in Gulliksson. Doing so achieves optimal cooling of the overheated battery cell (Gulliksson pg. 22, lines 8-11).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomar as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US-20140370338-A1), hereinafter Lim.
Regrading claim 5, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Tomar also teaches the level-one collecting unit comprises: a pressure collecting unit corresponding to the temperature collecting unit ([0007]; [0027]; [0036]), the pressure collecting unit being attached to the straight portion and/or the bent portion and configured to collect pressure data of the cell ([0036] mounted on the side or top of a given cell, meaning it would be on a bent or straight portion of a cell given the claimed shape), and the second operation data comprising the pressure data ([0007]; [0027]; [0036]); wherein under a condition that the pressure data is greater than a pressure threshold, the second operation data meets the corresponding type of data detection condition ([0007]; [0027]; [0036]. Tomar also teaches that the shape of the cell can vary ([0035] sensor locations depend on the shape of the cell, such as cylindrical or prismatic; [0110] jelly roll cell).
Tomar fails to teach wherein: the cell comprises an electrode plate wound around a winding axis to form a wound structure, the electrode plate comprises a plurality of straight portions and a plurality of bent portions, the plurality of straight portions are stacked in a first direction, the plurality of bent portions are at least partially bent in an arc shape and connect two adjacent straight portions of the plurality of straight portions, and the first direction is perpendicular to the winding axis. However, this cell configuration is common in the art.
For example, Lim is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of temperature control to prevent thermal runaway ([0093]). Lim teaches wherein: the cell comprises an electrode plate wound around a winding axis to form a wound structure, the electrode plate comprises a plurality of straight portions and a plurality of bent portions, the plurality of straight portions are stacked in a first direction, the plurality of bent portions are at least partially bent in an arc shape and connect two adjacent straight portions of the plurality of straight portions, and the first direction is perpendicular to the winding axis (fig. 2; [0049]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomar and implemented the control system of Tomar on a wound battery with straight and bent portions such as in Lim. Doing so is known in the art as a common battery shape. Further, pouch-shaped battery are advantageous over alternative battery shapes such as can-type batteries due to easy shape adaptation (Lim [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Tomar also teaches wherein the data processing module is further configured to, under a condition that the pressure data is greater than the pressure threshold and the first temperature data does not meet the temperature runaway condition, indicate the first detection result as the cell being under an abnormal pressure ([0088] pressure sensor detects pressure of the cell; [0036] thermal and pressure signatures from the cells can be used to predict failure events).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomar as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Engle et al. (US-20220085428-A1), hereinafter Engle.
Regarding claim 7, Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Tomar does not explicitly teach wherein: the cell comprises a bare cell, a case, and a top cover, the bare cell being accommodated in an accommodation space enclosed by the case and the top cover. However, Tomar does teach that various shapes of cells can be implemented with examples such as cylindrical and prismatic cells ([0035]; [0048]; [0051]). It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that, dependent on the shape of the cell, the cell would inherently comprise a bare cell, a case, and a top cover, the bare cell being accommodated in an accommodation space enclosed by the case and the top cover. For example, a cylindrical cell inherently comprises a can/body, interpreted as the case, and a cap assembly/lid, interpreted as a top cover, that accommodates a bare cell. This structure is similar for prismatic and pouch type cells as well.
Tomar also fails to teach the level-one collecting unit comprises a gas pressure and gas collecting unit arranged between the top cover and the bare cell and configured to collect gas pressure data and at least one type of gas concentration in the case; and under a condition that the gas pressure data is greater than a gas pressure threshold and any of the at least one type of gas concentration is greater than a corresponding type of concentration threshold, the second operation data meets the corresponding type of data detection condition.
Engle is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thermal runaway detection systems for batteries ([0001]). Engle teaches wherein: the cell comprises a bare cell, a case, and a top cover, the bare cell being accommodated in an accommodation space enclosed by the case and the top cover;
the level-one collecting unit comprises a gas pressure and gas collecting unit ([0025] gas sensor; [0029]; [0039]-[0043]) arranged between the top cover and the bare cell and configured to collect gas pressure data ([0029]; [0025]; [0039]-[0043]) and at least one type of gas concentration in the case ([0025] gas sensor and pressure sensor; [0027]-[0029] gas sensor detects concentration levels that accompany pressure spikes; [0039]-[0043]); and under a condition that the gas pressure data is greater than a gas pressure threshold and any of the at least one type of gas concentration is greater than a corresponding type of concentration threshold, the second operation data meets the corresponding type of data detection condition ([0039]-[0043]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomar to include a gas pressure and gas collecting unit such as in Engle. Doing so in combination with a temperature sensor can help prevent thermal runaway by allowing detection of both rapid thermal runaway as well as slower events (Engle [0035]; [0039]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Tomar teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Modified Tomar also teaches wherein the data processing module is further configured to indicate the first detection result as a gas generation abnormality of the cell under a condition that the gas pressure data is greater than the gas pressure threshold, the first temperature data does not meet the temperature runaway condition, and any of the at least one type of gas concentration is greater than the corresponding type of concentration threshold (Engle [0039]-[0043]).
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722