DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device/method claim(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse of Group II, claim(s) 1-14 in the reply filed on 8/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramaneti et al. (US publication 2019/0314766 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ramaneti, in view of Chowdhury et al. (US publication 2026/0250881 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chowdhury.
Regarding claim 1, Ramaneti teaches a method of fabricating a nanocrystalline diamond (NCD) film (fig. 1 and related text), the method comprising: loading a nanodiamond-seeded substrate into a microwave plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (MWPECVD) chamber ([0087-0092], fig. 1).
Ramaneti does not explicitly teach and processing the nanodiamond-seeded substrate with a plasma of C.sub.xH.sub.y (y≥x), CO.sub.2 and H.sub.2, at a temperature less than 300 degrees Celsius, to form a layer of nanocrystalline diamond thereon.
Chowdhury teaches and processing the nanodiamond-seeded substrate with a plasma of C.sub.xH.sub.y (y≥x), CO.sub.2 and H.sub.2, at a temperature less than 300 degrees Celsius, to form a layer of nanocrystalline diamond thereon ([0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramaneti with that of Chowdhury so that and processing the nanodiamond-seeded substrate with a plasma of C.sub.xH.sub.y (y≥x), CO.sub.2 and H.sub.2, at a temperature less than 300 degrees Celsius, to form a layer of nanocrystalline diamond thereon so that diamond layer is grown with diamond grains configured to provide a degree of phase purity of not less than about 90% ([0035]).
Regarding claim 3, Chowdhury teaches wherein a stage temperature of a stage in the MWPECVD chamber is maintained between 150-250° C. throughout the processing of the nanodiamond-seeded substrate ([0035]).
Regarding claim 4, Ramaneti and Chowdhury do not explicitly teach wherein a gap between the stage and a plasma source of the MWPECVD chamber is greater than 10 mm. However, this value is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon when forming nanocrystalline diamond using plasma and will depend on plasma energy, temperature, growth rate etc. So, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize this value to meet customer requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re AIler, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Chowdhury teaches wherein processing the nanodiamond-seeded substrate is performed at a power greater than 50 W ([0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Chowdhury teaches wherein the plasma is a continuous wave plasma ([0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Ramaneti teaches a method of fabricating a nanocrystalline diamond (NCD) film (fig. 1 and related text), the method comprising: loading a bare substrate that has been surface-treated and incubated into a microwave plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (CVD) chamber ([0087-0092], fig. 1).
Ramaneti does not explicitly teach and processing the bare substrate that has been surface-treated and incubated with a plasma of C.sub.xH.sub.y (y≥ x), CO.sub.2 and H.sub.2, at a temperature less than 300 degrees Celsius, to form a layer of nanocrystalline diamond thereon.
Chowdhury teaches and processing the bare substrate that has been surface-treated and incubated with a plasma of C.sub.xH.sub.y (y≥ x), CO.sub.2 and H.sub.2, at a temperature less than 300 degrees Celsius, to form a layer of nanocrystalline diamond thereon ([0035])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramaneti with that of Chowdhury so that and processing the bare substrate that has been surface-treated and incubated with a plasma of C.sub.xH.sub.y (y≥ x), CO.sub.2 and H.sub.2, at a temperature less than 300 degrees Celsius, to form a layer of nanocrystalline diamond thereon so that diamond layer is grown with diamond grains configured to provide a degree of phase purity of not less than about 90% ([0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Chowdhury teaches wherein a stage temperature of a stage in the MWPECVD chamber is maintained between 150-250° C. throughout the processing of the bare substrate ([0035])
Regarding claim 11, Ramaneti and Chowdhury do not explicitly teach wherein a gap between the stage and a plasma source of the MWPECVD chamber is greater than 10 mm. However, this value is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon when forming nanocrystalline diamond using plasma and will depend on plasma energy, temperature, growth rate etc. So, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize this value to meet customer requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re AIler, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 13, Chowdhury teaches wherein processing the bare substrate is performed at a power greater than 50 W ([0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 14, Chowdhury teaches wherein the plasma is a continuous wave plasma ([0056-0057]).
Claim 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramaneti in view of Chowdhury, as applied to claim 1 or 8 above, and further in view of Schirmann et al. (US publication 2024/0208858 A1), hereinafter referred to as Schirmann.
Regarding claim 5, Ramaneti and Chowdhury disclose all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Ramaneti and Chowdhury do not explicitly disclose wherein the layer of nanocrystalline diamond has a surface roughness of less than 10 nm rms.
Schirmann discloses wherein the layer of nanocrystalline diamond has a surface roughness of less than 10 nm rms ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramaneti and Chowdhury with that of Schirmann so that wherein the layer of nanocrystalline diamond has a surface roughness of less than 10 nm rms to allow for optically clear, smooth, and scratch resistant diamond coatings ([0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Ramaneti and Chowdhury disclose all the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Ramaneti and Chowdhury do not explicitly disclose wherein the layer of nanocrystalline diamond has a surface roughness of less than 10 nm rms.
Schirmann discloses wherein the layer of nanocrystalline diamond has a surface roughness of less than 10 nm rms ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ramaneti and Chowdhury with that of Schirmann so that wherein the layer of nanocrystalline diamond has a surface roughness of less than 10 nm rms to allow for optically clear, smooth, and scratch resistant diamond coatings ([0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims contain limitations that none of the prior art of record discloses, teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combinations when taken in combination with all other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897