DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The following information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on
July 15, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15: It is indefinite as to which one or both of the two independent clauses the dependent “wherein” clause is meant to depend on due to the use of the semicolons. Furthermore, if just one of the two independent clauses is the true condition as is implied by the use of “either of”, then there would be lack of antecedent basis for either one of “the first level” and “the second level” references in the “wherein” clause. Claim 16 depends on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pasotti et al. (US 2023/0326524; hereinafter “Pasotti”).
Regarding claim 11: Pasotti (FIG. 9 and one of FIG. 10-1 or 10-2; [0095-0113]) teaches an apparatus comprising:
a memory cell array ([0095]; matrix) having sets of memory cells (rows of memory cells 14);
a controller (word line driver circuit 18 and biasing circuitry 20) configured to:
program the sets of memory cells to store a signed weight in each set ([0095]; each memory cell 14 comprises a pair of bit-cells 14mnW and 14mnS, wherein a weight value is stored in the 14W bit-cell of each memory cell and a sign of the weight value is stored in the 14S bit-cell of each memory cell) ;
apply voltages to the sets of memory cells, the voltages representing signed inputs to be multiplied by the signed weights (voltages are applied on the bit lines BLW and BLS; [0099-0104]); and
determine at least one digital result based on summing output currents from the memory cells (result Zn; [0104-0105]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasotti et al. (US 2023/0326524; hereinafter “Pasotti”) in view of Zhang (US 2021/0232892).
Regarding claim 1: Pasotti (FIG. 9 and one of FIG. 10-1 or 10-2; [0095-0113]) teaches a device comprising:
a plurality of sets of memory cells (memory cells 14), wherein each set of memory cells is programmable to store a signed weight ([0095]; each memory cell 14 comprises a pair of bit-cells 14mnW and 14mnS, wherein a weight value is stored in the 14W bit-cell of each memory cell and a sign of the weight value is stored in the 14S bit-cell of each memory cell) for performing a multiplication ([0098, 0104]);
voltage drivers (biasing circuits 201W-mW in biasing circuitry 20) configured to apply voltages (voltages are applied on the bit lines BLW and BLS; [0099-0104]) to the sets of memory cells for performing the multiplication; and
at least one line (166 in FIG. 10-1 or 10-2) coupled to the memory cells in each set, wherein the line is configured to sum output currents from the memory cells to generate a result ([0105-0110]; a sum result Zn or the output of the ADC is generated).
Pasotti does not specifically teach the device comprises a semiconductor substrate.
Zhang (Claims 1 and 12; FIG. 5A-B; [0054, 0057, 0059, 0060]) teaches a neuro-processing circuit comprising a multiplier on a semiconductor substrate, wherein a memory array is a 3D array.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhang into the device and/or method of Pasotti in a manner such that the device would comprise 3D memory array of RRAM cells like those of Pasotti on a semiconductor substrate. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a substrate to fabricate memory cells like those of Pasotti on or in. Such a substrate was common or typical in the art of semiconductor memory before the effective filing date of the invention.
Regarding claim 3: Pasotti teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the memory cells of each set are configured so that the stored weight has a value of negative one, zero, or positive one (the sign can be positive or negative; see [0095, 0099]).
Regarding claim 4: Pasotti teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the voltages are applied so that a signed input has a value of negative one, zero, or positive one (the sign can be positive or negative; see [0095, 0099]).
Regarding claim 6: Pasotti teaches the device of claim 1, wherein: each set represents a 1-bit signed weight (suffix of S is a sign bit of a corresponding weight; each sign bit is in a bit-cell 14S; [0095]); the voltages applied to each set represent a 1-bit signed input (sign bits X1s-ms; [0099]); and the result for the set (Zn) represents a signed multiplication of the 1-bit signed weight by the 1-bit signed input.
Regarding claim 9: Pasotti teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the memory cells are resistive random-access memory (RRAM) cells (see 14mn of FIG. 9; each cell has a select transistor 14t and a programmable resistor 14r), NAND flash memory cells, or NOR flash memory cells.
Regarding claim 10: Pasotti as modified above teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the RRAM cells are arranged in a memory cell array in vertical tiers extending above a semiconductor substrate (see FIG. 5a-d of Zhang), and the memory cell array further includes a respective selector in series with each RRAM cell (see 14t of FIG. 9 of Pasotti), wherein the selectors are configured for selecting RRAM cells on any one or more of the tiers, and wherein the RRAM cells are selected based on a multiplication operation to be performed (as is disclosed by Pasotti so perform a MAC operation).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasotti et al. (US 2023/0326524; hereinafter “Pasotti”) in view of Wu et al. (US 11,953,966; hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 17: Pasotti (FIG. 9 and one of FIG. 10-1 or 10-2; [0095-0113]) teaches a method comprising:
programming sets of memory cells (rows of memory cells, wherein each memory cell has a programmed resistivity in each of two bit-cells, one that stores a weight value and another that stores a weight sign; [0095, 0100-0103]);
applying voltages (voltages are applied on the bit lines BLW and BLS; [0099-0104]) to the sets of memory cells, the voltages representing signed inputs (input bits X1V-mV having corresponding sign bits X1S-mS) to be multiplied by signed weights (weight bits stored in 14W bit-cells and their signs stored in 14S bit-cells);
summing, using at least one common line (166 in FIG. 10-1 or 10-2) coupled to the memory cells in each set, output currents from the memory cells ([0105-0110]; a sum result Zn or the output of the ADC is generated); and
generating, using at least one digitizer (ADC and DSP in FIG. 9), at least one result for the multiplication based on the summed output currents from the memory cells.
Pasotti does not specifically teach:
receiving a command from a host system to write data; and
in response to receiving the command to write the data, programming sets of memory cells.
Wu (FIG. 1; lines 14-67 of column 5 and lines 1-20 of column 6) teaches a neural network processor receiving a command from a host system to write data; and in response to receiving the command to write the data, programming sets of memory cells. Wu also teaches the computing environment or system 100 can be implemented as a system-on-chip (SOC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wu into the device and/or method of Pasotti in a manner such that the circuit 10 of Pasotti would be included in a compute engine like that of Wu, wherein a command from a host system to write data would be received, and in response to receiving the command to write the data, sets of memory cells 14 would be programmed. The motivation to do so would have been to use the circuit 10 of Pasotti in a neural network processor like that of Wu.
Regarding claim 18: Pasotti (FIG. 9) teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the at least one common line is at least one digit line (166 in FIG. 10-1 or 10-2 may be referred to as a digit line), the system further comprising:
bitlines (BLW and BLS in FIG. 9) coupled to the memory cells in each set; and
select transistors (14t) configured to electrically connect the bitlines of each set to the at least one digit line.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasotti (US 2023/0326524; hereinafter “Pasotti”) as modified by Wu et al. (US 11,953,966; hereinafter “Wu”), and further in view of Saxena et al. (20220309328; hereinafter “Saxena”).
Regarding claim 19: Pasotti (FIG. 9; [0032, 0076, 0089, 0104, 120]) teaches using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) but does not specifically teach the method of claim 17, wherein the digitizer includes at least one integrator that accumulates current on the at least one common line for each set, and the digitizer provides the result as a binary number (Zn).
Saxena ([0084]) teaches using an integrator stage within an ADC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Saxena into the device and/or method of Pasotti as modified by Wu in a manner such that the ADC would include an integrator stage to accumulate current on the at least one common lines for each set, and the digitizer would provide the result as a binary number (Zn). The motivation to do so would have been to use an integrator stage in the ADC as exemplified by Saxena.
Response to Arguments
After some time investigating why Applicant’s arguments had nothing to do with the reference of Pasotti relied upon by Examiner in the body of the non-final rejection and properly cited in the PTO-892 by Examiner, Examiner figured out that there was a one digit typographical error made when typing the PGPUB number of the Pasotti reference in the Office Action. In particular, US 2023/0326534 as typed in the Office Action was meant to be US 2023/0326524 as correctly typed in the PTO-892 form.
It is unknown why it was not apparent to Applicant that the PGPUB number typed by Examiner in the Office Action had a one digit typographical error since the name Pasotti is NOT any of the inventors of US 2023/0326534, there are no figures of FIG. 9, 10-1, and 10-2, as cited by Examiner in the rejection, even appearing in the document US 2023/0326534, and the reference of Pasotti 2023/0326524 was correctly cited/typed in the PTO-892 form. Furthermore, Applicant did not raise issue that the reference US 2023/0326534, referred to in Applicant’s arguments, was not cited by Examiner in the form PTO-892. Considering the above, it is unknown why the typographical error was not apparent to Applicant and was not brought to Examiner’s attention in Applicant’s arguments.
Regardless of the above, Examiner is sending a second non-final rejection herewith, which re-considers the claims and corrects the typographical error(s) made in the first non-final rejection to correctly cite the reference of Pasotti 2023/0326524 while considering the newly amended claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 7, 8, 12-14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation of the voltages are supplied so that the memory cells are kept in a sub-threshold mode during the multiplication in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 5: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation of the signed wight and signed input are each represented by a respective 2-bit number having possible values of 01, 00, or 10 in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 7: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation of the result is a 2-bit number having a value of 01, 00, or 10 in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 8: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation of a first memory cell of first set has a first threshold voltage programmed to represent a value of one, and a voltage applied to the first memory cell is less than the first threshold volage
in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 12: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation of each memory cell is configured to output either of: a predetermined amount of current in response to an applied voltage when the memory cell has a threshold voltage programmed to represent a value of one; or a negligible amount of current in response to the applied voltage when the memory cell has a threshold voltage programmed to represent a value of zero in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 14: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation of the voltages are limited so that the memory cells are kept in a sub-threshold mode in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 20: The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation of the at least one common line is at least one bitline in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Conclusion
JAY W. RADKE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2827
/JAY W. RADKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827